Hotel Chanakya

2 Star  

Shaid Nagar Crossing, Agra, Uttar Pradesh - 282 001

Starting from Rs. 1,065
Choose Dates

Hotel Chanakya, Agra - Guest Reviews & Ratings

2.6/5 Average
(Based on 12 reviews)

50.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (2.8)
  • Service Quality (2.1)
  • Dining Quality (2.6)
  • Cleanliness (2.3)

Hotel Chanakya - Individual ratings and reviews:

SANKARDAS from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 01 Feb 2010

2

That was very bad hotel room quality is very dull. Flush is not working. Service is also not good. They are not say even the work is done or not. They come and listen & go they don't take a action.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

PRADEEP from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 03 Jan 2010

2

The only good thing about this hotel was the spacious room but what's the use. The room was on 3rd floor and the lift was not working, I doubt if it ever works. There were frequent electricity cuts and the whole hotel goes into darkness for a few seconds till the backup supply comes up. Breakfast was very ordinary, very oily paranthas, it gives the feeling of having breakfast at a hostel mess than a hotel. Room service was very poor - you have to call at least 5 times to get a thing done. The Towels and bedsheets were very dirty, the blower was not working, hot water was not always available and there is not enough light in the room. The worst part is that you are talking to deaf ears, the hotel people don't care for your convenience even if you are travelling with young kids. They charge very heavily if you wish to book taxi thru them, they guide you wrongly - so can't take their advice also. If you are staying at this hotel you have got a place to stay - that is it - don't expect anything more. I strongly recommend that avoid staying here if possible!

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

RAVI from PUNE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 02 Jan 2010

2

The hotel looks good from outside. Room is not clean. Black dust on the room floor. Bathroom is also not clean. Not hot water (just warm). Lift doesn't work. The room was not cleaned, bedsheets and towels were not changed. The staff is very unfriendly, doesn't respond to the calls. I won't recommend if you are going with family and kids.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

HIMANSHU from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 31 Dec 2009

1

Its a pathetic hotel to stay. I had my parents traveling with me & it took them 1.45 hrs to get an extra blanket after 5 calls & lot of harassment to us. The bed mattresses were just 1.0 inch thick & you could feel the hard wood inside. The rooms were terrible with mushy walls & soggy bed linen. No arrangement for hot water & the dustbins were smelly & full of dirt. The security staff was greedy, the room service guy chewed tobacco & questioned everything you ordered in dinner or breakfast.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SAIKAT from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Dec 2009

3

The location of the hotel is good as it is about a 15 minutes drive from the Taj. It has parking space for about half a dozen cars. The hotel looks good from the outside but the moment you step into it the inadequacies strike you. The lift works from the first floor onwards and was not working for the two days we stayed there. The people at the Front Desk are not informed and were not able to help us in our travel plans. The check in was quick but the rooms were average. However the linen was horrible.The blankets had cigarette holes and were torn. There was no warm water in the bathrooms and we were told that the boiler was not working. However even after rectification of the fault the water we received was not warm enough to have a bath. A bucket of hot water for the kid came after two hours and seven calls. The breakfast was complementary but was limited to the number of people. There was no buffet and was served at the room. The food prices were exorbitant keeping the quality in mind. You can get much better food at lower costs from resturants outside. Overall it was a pretty pathetic stay and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I would also request Travel guru not to recommend this hotel on their website.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

VIJAYAKUMAR from VIZAG, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Sep 2009

4

Hotel is good , service is good but we had a sweaty night in the room as there was power cut and the hotel and we can not use the AC with the hotel DG set . We fail to understand how they can charge me for an AC room when AC is not provided on the pretext that there was a power cut.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUDIP from Lucknow, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jan 2009

3

At the price the hotel is charging, we expected a better service & attitude from the Hotel management. The waiters were good, but the service was sluggish. Especially the attitude of the reception desk was cold. The response of the manager whom we approached for travel arrangements was negative & almost rude. They made such a fuss accepting credit card payment with the excuse of machine out of order. But when I stood firm, they accepted. How could the machine suddenly become ok? This hotel is surviving just because Agra is such a hot destination for travelers. The room was ok ; the food was ordinary but expensive compared to the standard of the hotel. Our stay at Agra could have been better if we received better attention & behavior & at least a welcome attitude at the Hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VINOD V from Chennai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 03 Apr 2008

2

I had booked it for deluxe room they gave me some different room. The room was not that great in looks. I did not check out the food in the hotel. Service was bad of the staffs. I did not liked the place either.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SAURABH from noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2008

3

Rooms are comparatively large. The service was satisfactory. Food was also very nice. Will recommend to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR.J S from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2008

3

Staffs were very caring and always ready for help. Food was good in taste. Room was maintained well.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHIKHA from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Feb 2008

4

Room given to me was awesome it was very spacious and well maintained. Otherwise every thing was average, basic facilities were missing. Food was very bad. Staff and service was ok. Overall it was an average experience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AJAY from newdelhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 11 Nov 2007

2

Need to improve a lot.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5