Taj Homestay

3 Star  

Old Idgah Colony, Agra, Uttar Pradesh - 282 001

Taj Homestay, Agra - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.8/5 Good
(Based on 10 reviews)

80.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4.1)
  • Service Quality (3.5)
  • Dining Quality (3.3)
  • Cleanliness (3.9)

Taj Homestay - Individual ratings and reviews:

RAMCHAND from INDORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2012

4

Reasonable in all respects except food & tea which is priced very high.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AKSHAT from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 26 Nov 2011

2

The staff & the owner were very rude & unhelpful for even basic needs such as travel & food.On complaining to the owner about the service he in turn blamed us for not co-operating. The food was expensive & they charged 150Rs in addition to the cost written on the menu. On asking the reason the manager simply told us that it is the way they operate & that we can either take it or leave it. On complaining to the owner he said that I could not complain as he is a very senior retired government officer. The hotel had an unprofessional approach towards its guest & was a bad experience to stay there. We will rate 1.5 on 5 , only because of low cost otherwise 0.5 on 5. I would not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PIYUSH from AHMEDABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Sep 2011

5

I really appreciate this hotel, its an awesome hotel with good location, at a very reasonable rate along with all modern amenities, staff is too courteous. We reached around 6.30am in the morning, but without any hassle the hotel staff had allotted room even though check in time is 12.00noon It was worth staying in this hotel. I think u cannot expect more than this in such a rate, really too good. Highly recommended to stay in such a beautiful hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean and washrooms were also clean. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VAMSI KRISHNA from city, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 25 Aug 2011

2

Hotel Categorization and location: To start with, it�s not a homestay in any sense. It�s a small hotel in a residential area. You are not staying with any family either. That should clear the confusion. In case you are looking for a homestay, then this is not the place. Agra is a very small city. For someone coming from big cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore and such places, its very easy to get carried away when we see distances like 4 km from Taj mahal, 5 km from Agra Fort, 2 km from Station etc. The distance chart of every hotel will look the same. So what one has to look at is the locality in which the hotel is located. Either its on the main road, or in the interiors or in the old part of the city, etc. If you do not have a vehicle of your own or hired one, it can become difficult for you to get one if your hotel is not located in the right location. Taj Homestay is in the interior lanes of Agra. Commuting to and from that place can become a challenge. Hotel Owner & Staff Attitude: The owner displays a lowly attitude towards Indians for reasons I could not comprehend. In the very beginning he told us that 90% of the occupancy is normally by foreigners and it�s rare that any Indians stay over there. Again I found it hard to understand why such a statement was sounded to me. . somewhere out of India and not in your own country. A couple of examples: (quote unquote) When asked about the roof top restaurant, he said �We normally do not tell or encourage Indians to go there as there are foreigners drinking� � As if Indians are teetotalers. I felt given a chance he would display a board outside his hotel �Indians not allowed�. Another startling statement allegedly made by the hotel staff was regarding our driver. �Yeh Indians ke saath aaya hai, isko yahan�� something that I don�t remember but certainly not positive. On any other day I would have left the hotel immediately had I not paid up for the 2 nights. Food: Coming to Food, it was good. Simple stuff, not many options but palatable. Breakfast was complimentary. But only limited and for 2 people only. If you are a family with kids, I wouldn�t suggest this hotel as Kids are not considered to be breakfast eaters by the hotel guys. When asked about it, they flatly told us to share our portion with the kid. Luckily we had just one kid and that too a 5 year old. And if you fail to place an order for Parathas or Puris you will be served Bread, Butter, Jam as again we were told that �Indians have to order if they want to eat something specific� (read it as parathas and puris only). Room: Room is nothing great to talk about. Imagine any simple double room of a budget hotel. Clean, period. There is a Split AC without the remote. When asked, the hotel staff told us that we can either switch it on or off. There is no remote. Never know ACs were getting sold that way. In the washroom they had a bathtub without a stopper. If you go by the pictures on their site, you might imagine yourself relaxing in a bathtub after a tiring day but that won�t be the case. Atleast that was the case in our room. Have no idea about the rooms given to foreigners. Basic Facilities: Doubtful laundry facility. When asked, the owner said there is a laundry guy who comes in at 11 but he cannot guarantee if the clothes will be returned on the same day or the next day or the next. Soft Benefits: DO NOT use the hotel staff or the owner�s IQ to plan your day in Agra. They have no clue of when the monuments open and close for the public. We almost missed Taj Mahal because of the owner�s confident statement that it was closed for the day. And the heights of arrogance is when we told him that he was wrong, after actually visiting the Taj, he insisted on getting it checked himself. Final Remark: Except Food (that too if you are a simple eater and some one happy with half a page menu), I find no reason why anyone should actually book a night in this hotel�oops HOMESTAY.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PUNEET from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Aug 2011

4

It's good...

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANKIT from MEERUT, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Jul 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DHIRENDRA P S from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Mar 2011

4

I booked this hotel in consultation with your executives. The hotel was good at their services but my main concern was that there was limitation. Food served was good and highly recommended for stay in Agra.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DEVAKUMAR from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jan 2009

5

We had booked a standard triple room and reached Agra late in the night ( around 10 PM). Was able to locate the hotel with not much trouble after talking to the hotel a couple of times. Was pleasantly surprised to see that our Room was upgrade to a suite room. I was not sure about what to expect reg the New year dinner. Amarjeet and his friends who own and run this home stay excelled in their hospitality and willingness to go the extra mile to make the guests comfortable. The food ( kabab's were great) and we had a great time. The place is well maintained, bathrooms are clean and we had to leave in the morning after breakfast.. I would recommend this place to anyone on a short stay with family.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.SANJAY SHRIPAD from Chandigarh, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Sep 2008

3

The hotel is very close to the Taj Mahal. Our room was decent but the bathroom was stinking very badly. But the service was quick and prompt. Also the breakfast was good in taste. We told the owner of the hotel to wake up us at 4:00 am in the morning and he was shouting simply because we were not leaving the hotel early. Overall an average property to stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR.K from hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2008

5

My stay here was perfect. There were no complaints whatsoever. The ambiance was just perfect for a vacation. My room, the room service & the food were all just flawless. Would like to come back again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5