Deccan Plaza (US Consulate)

3 Star  

Royapettah, Chennai, Tamil Nadu - 600 014

Starting from Rs. 3,707
Choose Dates

Deccan Plaza (US Consulate), Chennai - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.1/5 Excellent
(Based on 46 reviews)

100.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4.1)
  • Service Quality (3.9)
  • Dining Quality (4)
  • Cleanliness (4.1)

Deccan Plaza (US Consulate) - Individual ratings and reviews:

HIREN from NEW, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Sep 2014

4

Location is good close to all market . Must need to improve in interior n flooring .

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAKESH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Aug 2014

4

Location: The hotel is in a very convenient location for the US consulate. The Front desk: The staff was reasonably helpful. We booked an double room with an extra bed and when we reached the hotel at 12.30 PM, the room was ready, including the extra bed. The Room: Room was small but neat and comfortable. The linen was clean, air conditioner was running and taps and flush were working. The bathroom was compact and reasonably clean. Food & Room Service: Since we booked through the Travel Guru. There was no Complimentary breakfast. We have to pay separately. Overall: On the whole, the hotel is a good option for the budget traveler and for short stays..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MOHIT from DummyCity, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2014

5

The hotel & the services are excellent except the fact that the AC's does not work as per the expectations. We changed the room thinking that there might be a problem with the installed AC. We were taken by surprise when the AC of second room also did not do its required function. The management should seriously think about it.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DEVANANDA from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jan 2013

5

The hotel Deccan Plaza where we stayed is in the midst of the city close to American Embassy, Mylapore, Anna Salai etc., The ambience is good, food was very good, courtesy of the staff was very good. Only the autos near to the hotel were charging more compared to other autos nearby. Over-all we were happy during our stay at Deccan Plaza. Devananda.G from Bangalore

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GNANAVELKANDAN from malboro, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Dec 2012

4

Nice place to stay. there was a water leak from the shower but hotel offered another room. Overall good experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JOSEPH GODFREY from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Mar 2012

4

The hotel is located atleast 2 km from the us embassy and not 1km as the management claims. Finding the hotel itself was a bit of a challenge as the road or hotels name is not well known even to local beat cops!!! Apparently it is still known by its famous previous avatar called hotel Ajanta. Everyone seems to know Ajanta. We arrived at about midnight and room service was limited to plain sandwiches, curd rice and sambhar rice. Breakfast is supposed to be from 0700 but at 0710 the choice was again very limited. Idly vada dosa and chutney and sambhar, maybe later on more dishes are served. I almost missed my US visa interview as the distance was too great and not 1km. Aircon was nice rooms n bathroom clean. Quite close to Mount road etc if you know your way about or have a vehicle. Staff are very friendly polite and helpful. Did not have any regular meals as we were there for less then a day. 24 hour checkout policy is very convenient. Plenty of parking available on the premises.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

HARINATH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2012

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ALAM from singapore, Singapore recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Mar 2011

3

Location is good. Parking and Reception is very bad. Food is not good. Facilities are a few. No grand look. Totally do not get the return for what you pay. For the same price you can get better hotels.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SURESH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jul 2010

4

Very pleasant experience. Posh restaurant. Open car parking as well as covered parking available - valet parking too. Excellent food - buffet breakfast had lots of variety. Regular dinner buffet too was very good with us having a tough time due to pletora of choices. Very clean rooms with good facilities. The room maintenance staff was pretty prompt in cleaning and replacing bedsheets/toileteries etc. Certainly a good place to reside in and enjoy.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRADEEP from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jul 2010

5

- The hotel is located close to US consulate. - Take a prepaid auto in Chennai from Bus stand / Railway station (should cost you around Rs. 70)/ Airport. - The hotel is very well maintained. - Staff speak decent English - Food quality is good.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJEEV from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jun 2010

5

I had gone to Chennai on a business trip, never being sure about where I would be the next day. So I had been hopping from hotel to hotel. The stay at Deccan Plaza has been a pleasant experience. The location is quite centralthe local markets are readily accessible, just outside the entrance. I found the ambience greatstaff very courteous. The wide variety of complimentary snacks at the GF bar actually surprised me as never before. Keep it up.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ANIRUDDHA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jun 2010

5

1)The quality of the room was excellent. It had wooden flooringa nicecomfy feel. The bathroom was neat with all toileteries. 2)Service quality was goodthe complimentary breakfast was also very nice with great varieties to choose from. 3)I needed to use the internetthe front desk immediately arranged for a cable which i could plug in inside the roomcheck my mails. Also there is an option for accessing internet from the business centre in case you do not carry a laptop. This is a very useful feature esp for people travelling on business. 4)Only thing i disliked is that the travel desk charges a hefty amount when you want to book a taxi.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SURESH from TIRUPPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jun 2010

4

I had a pleasant stay at Deccan plaza. The overall hospitality is good. But as mentioned in the advertisement, the fully loaded mini bar is not provided.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PAWANDEEP from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jun 2010

5

This is a pure vegetarian restaurant- thats about the only things negative about this hotel. It is centrally located, excellent rooms (for the price)fairly new property. As a discerning person for hygieneinteriors- the rooms were clean- well laid out- good wooden flooring in all rooms- alleys are carpetted.two good things: 1. broadband internet is free in all rooms. 2. breakfast is a nice south indian fare.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. KANDA from Coimbatore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jun 2010

4

hotel deccan plaza is placed near to city center The rooms are very clean and toilets are neat and clean linen were kept house keeping was good but only veg food was avilable in the hotel but veg options are exelent. breakfast though veg was good. front desk and customer relations are courtious.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SURESHBABU from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 May 2010

3

Pros * Service is good. Cons * Food is VERY expensive. * Bathroom not clean, broken mug

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SANDRA from Naperville, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Mar 2010

4

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The staff was warm and welcoming, and as a single foreign woman traveling alone, I felt safe, and that there were always helping hands near-by. The food was AMAZING. Really, no kidding. Very fresh, beautifully prepared veg dishes and buffets. Healthy, nice. The only problems I had were there was a bit of street noise. Nothing horrible, but the windows are not soundproof and the honking does come through a bit. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Bed's a bit hard, but that's common in Asia. Here and there, a few suggestions of peeling paint, but one can tell that the staff works hard on the building's upkeep. The location is good. Near the Shiva temple and beach. About 20 minutes away from shopping in T-Nagar. There's a travel agent in the building who can arrange for taxis, train tickets, etc. for a reasonable fee. Much more reasonable than the agencies within the big and fancy international hotels. All in all, I would very much recommend the Deccan Plaza. Hope you have as good a stay as I.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMAR from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Feb 2010

4

Nothing special, stay was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRASANTHI from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jun 2008

4

I had a decent experience with this property. The staff assisted me perfectly and dining facility was also convenient. The location was also comfortable for me and I like their management as there was no inconvenience throughout the stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHASHI KANT from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jun 2008

4

It was a good business hotel for the single travelers. The location was well attached to the city and facilities were also sufficient. The staff was supportive and room quality was just perfect. I will surely recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DEEPAK from KOLKATA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2008

4

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this hotel. My room was well equipped with the needful amenities. The food served was really tasty, also the staff members were friendly & guided me accurately. It is value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR VENKASTESH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2008

5

This hotel is centrally located in the main city.The room provided to us was excellent with all the basic facilities. Staff was helpful, they were of friendly nature. Even the breakfast was tasty. It is highly recommendable.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VIPIN from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2008

4

I went on an official trip so I was just expecting a comfortable room and they provided me with the standard room which clean and spacious with relaxing bed. The staff was active even in the night and complimentary breakfast was tasteful.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJ from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 May 2008

5

The hotel is centrally located in the main city. Room was excellent as well as well furnished with modern amenities. Staff wwas efficient and polite in their work. The food was superb in taste.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PAUL from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 May 2008

4

The staff is very personable and happy to help. The rooms are neat and clean with all the necessities. Breakfast was very tasty and freshly prepared.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIPIN from New delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Apr 2008

5

The people are kindest, sweetest and always there is a smile on their face. Food was tasty. Room was furnished very well with all the necessities. We liked the place very much.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

HEMENDRA from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Mar 2008

3

Nothing great about this property, everything is okay. I have just stayed their for 1 night and food was average.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VINEET from Panchkula, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Mar 2008

4

It was a great property. I am extremely happy with the stay, everything was just fine. Its worth to stay here & i suggest this place for other travelers for comfortable stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. SATYA from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Feb 2008

4

The stay was wonderful in this hotel. Room was clean and neat with all the basic facilities. Staffs were prompt in service. Hotel restaurant serves different varieties of tasty food. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRABHAT from Yamuna Nagar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2008

5

I would love to stay again in this hotel. Room was well furnished with beautiful interiors. Staffs were prompt and quick in their service. The breakfast was superb in taste of the restaurant. Location was wonderful near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

THOMAS D from Carnel, United States recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2008

4

WE ENJOYED THE STAY, VERY GOOD SERVICES, THANKS TO HOTEL. TRULY VALUE FOR MONEY.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NILANJAN from Ghaziabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2008

4

The location of the hotel was not far from the heart of the city, but far from the Business District, and also far from the IT Corridor. Rooms are nice, with good decor and nice lighting. Toilet was decent, though on the moderate side. Service was pathetic. Check-in took more than 20 minutes, and that too after reminding them that I was in hurry. The room given was on a floor, where some exam was also being conducted. You can expect as lousy an ambiance in the corridor, as you can think of.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NIKHIL from DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Feb 2008

3

Hotel was quiet good. The worst thing is the Toilets.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. ANUPAM from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Feb 2008

3

Room was fine, service & food was okay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR KRISHNA from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2008

5

The hotel is located in a very convenient place. Food was very good in taste of the restaurant. Rooms were spacious with all the facilities. Staffs were very helpful with friendly nature. The hotel people had arranged a pick-up and drop facility that was really good.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SAITH from Abu, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jan 2008

4

My stay in Deccan Plaza, Chennai was a pleasant one. The room was neat, clean and tidy. I never expected the stocks and variety of toiletries kept in there. Had a good breakfast with a vide range of South Indian and continental menu. We faced two problems in the hotel, the travel desk, the rates for cars are very high. The front desk - One day after I checked out I got a call from the hotel asking me to pay the early check in and late check out charges. In fact I have double checked with the front desk while checking out for any extra charges. Excluding these two things the stay was very pleasant and I will always advise my friends to stay in Deccan Plaza.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.SHYAM from bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jan 2008

5

This is a perfect option for those looking for a hotel accomodation in the heart of the city. You get high quality room and high quality service at a very nominal price. Similar accomodation at other hotels would be far expensive. In short it is a perfect value for money accomodation available in the very heart of the city.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AJAY KUMAR from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Dec 2007

4

Deccan Standard Double room was spacious and modern. Hotel service was very good. Staff was very helpful. I had lunch at hotels restaurant, it was fine.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.SUNIL from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Nov 2007

4

Wonderful stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BALJINDER from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Sep 2007

3

Staff were very much helpful. Rooms were neat and clean and well maintained by the people of the hotel. Near the hotel there is no market and shopping mall. I had my food in the hotel restaurant, was good but less in variety.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RUSSELL from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Sep 2007

3

As it located, in the heart of the city makes it a definite choice.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

REMITH from COCHIN, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Sep 2007

4

Good hotel. Liked to have the tea/coffee makeer in the room. Rooms were very comfortable to stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANJAN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Aug 2007

4

I stayed there for official work. But from the check in time to check out time the service at the main reception was very good. This place will cater to every type of traveler. It is located in the heart of the city. Deccan Plaza is well connected to various business centers, with the famous Marina beach and the US consulate being less than a kilometer away. Its well decorated and comfortable room offer amenities like, air-conditioning, refrigerator, a mini-bar, telephone and television.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KRISHNA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Aug 2007

3

I had stayed here during my business tour. The hotel staff service was quick and the rooms have been spacious. The saving grace is the balcony to enjoy Chennai skyline.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. SIDDIQUE from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jul 2007

4

The hotel is centrally located and within convenient reach from the city. The Marina Beach is minutes away from Hotel Days Inn Deccan Plaza. Room was well furnished. It is about 14 km from Airport and 6 km from Railway Station.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUNIL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2007

4

Hotel staff delivered prompt service and the rooms have been neatly cleaned. Room too was spacious.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5