Hotel Victoria

3 Star  

Opp Egmore Railway Station, Chennai, Tamil Nadu - 600 008

Starting from Rs. 3,254
Choose Dates

Hotel Victoria, Chennai - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.5/5 Good
(Based on 34 reviews)

94.1% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.5)
  • Service Quality (3.4)
  • Dining Quality (3.4)
  • Cleanliness (3.3)

Hotel Victoria - Individual ratings and reviews:

INGRID from Parkville, Australia recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Nov 2008

3

New Victoria is under renovation and is therefore very dusty and noisy during the day time. The lift was out of service, and every time it rained the lobby entrance would flood. The room itself was clean and had a couch and TV but the bathroom was quite dirty and had no toilet paper (we asked for more but they didn't give us any). The reception staff were helpful when our taxi did not arrive. This hotel may scrub up nicely once the renovations are completed but is well over-priced for what it is. If I was to stay in Chennai again I would not stay at this hotel but I would probably not stay in the area of Egmore either.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

A from THIRUVANANTHAPURAM, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Sep 2008

3

The room is enough spacious and comfortable but the bath room and AC are in terrible condition. AC they have only one vent inside the room and it will sure make you feel that now you are in Chennai. There is no fan in the room. I couldnt locate any extra plug for my mobile to get charged. Bathroom, ohhhh I dont know why they set up a bath tub which is of no use and makes the room cramped. You will find room inside bathroom to have a pleasant bath. Of course some maintenance is going out in the hotel and due to that, the premises doesnt look great and the breakfast arrangement inside the Bar doesnt appear as a good option. Overall the Hotel is in a good accessible location from all shopping localities. The service is good but its not worth for the price you pay. I dont know the future condition until it is done with all its repair works.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMAKRISHNAN from THANJAVUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Sep 2008

5

The room (deluxe room) is excellent and the service is good. I enjoyed the stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

WILLIAM from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Aug 2008

4

The hotel is situated in a convenient location. Transportation to any point in the city is convenient as there are buses, electric trains and auto rickshaws available close by. The regular room is alright for on person but will be tight for two. The rooms can be a little cleaner. The lift did not work at all and also the a/c was not at all effective and so the room was quite warm. The age of the guest should be respected and allotted rooms on the ground floor especially when the lift is not working. I was given a room on the second floor and there was no advance intimation as to the problem with the lift.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SIRISH from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Aug 2008

3

The maintenance of this place was not at all up to the mark. My room was quite dirty, moreover the staff members didn't pay much heed to it. They also delayed a lot. But one good part about it was the breakfast that I had, it had good options & it tasted nice as well. But then with the kind of maintenance this place has, I will give it below average ratings.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MAHINDER from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Aug 2008

3

The regular room was just basic. Have not tried the food over there but the staff service and the cleanliness was fine.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

G M from Jagadhri, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Aug 2008

3

We spent 2 nights here and it was a normal stay. Nothing great to mention.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DEEPAK from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jul 2008

3

I didn't like the service and staff was bit slow with their effort. Except that everything else was up to the mark. The room was well organized and food was also good. I will surely prefer to stay here again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR.ASWIN from haydrabad, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 29 Jun 2008

2

It was a hopeless property. The room was congested and there was no a/c in the room. The staff was not co-operative and service was disgusting. The location was fine but food arrangement was definitely unsatisfactory. I will never go back there again.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

HARI from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jun 2008

3

Room was ok. I went there with my family and like to recommend this to families. We visited the hotel restaurant and food was fine, but Saturday night they did not have more options on the menu. Service was nice.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRITHWIRAJ from kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Jun 2008

4

We are happy with our stay here. The Regular room, service & food all was very fine. The location was good too. We recommend this property to all.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NARAYANRAO from jalgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 May 2008

3

Expected to b a better hotel. Rates for taxi, auto hiring from the hotel r too high. Its kind of duping the customers. Its the case wit indians then wat bout foreigners? no hospitality. Non informative. Overall bad experience. Not satisfied.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMESHKUMAR from Ernakulam, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Apr 2008

4

This hotel is perfect for the busy biz traveler. The rooms are very clean and well furnished. The bathroom was like a regular 5 star hotel look. Very clean, had all the shampoos, moisturizers, shower caps etc. Separate shower cubicle, no bath tub though. I ordered room service and the butter chicken was excellent with the roomali roti. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler who wants to stay in chennai.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAADUDDIN from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Apr 2008

4

Everything was nice about this hotel like.. The quality of rooms, service, food, ambiance etc but there was a problem. On second floor there was an ongoing renovation and it was noisy and disturbing even in the nights. I suggest them not to work in in the night or shift us to some other floor but management just turned there back on us. They set up a poor example for themselves in spite of all the arrangements.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

HARISH from hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Apr 2008

4

The location of the hotel is very close to the heart of the city, from where one can reach any desired place at ease. Due to some reason that the hotel is under repair work some sort of untidiness can be observed, but that may not be a permanent one. The breakfast buffet is a wonderful experience over here with fresh juice served as one in the menu. Overall its a good experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SATISH from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Apr 2008

4

Staff had gone out on their way to help me. The room is very spacious with modern interiors. The location was perfect.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SREENIVAS from Patiala, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Apr 2008

4

The hotel is centrally located. Room was beautifully decorated with all the necessities. Service was courteous and polite. It was a great experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJEEV from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Mar 2008

4

It was reasonable hotel for a budget travelers. The room was decent up to its standard. The interior was innovative. The food was crunchy especially the Chinese menu. The service was instant and the staff was friendly. I would surely suggest this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

TVR from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Mar 2008

3

The staff were average in service. Room was nice and the food was not so good in taste, it needs to improvement. Overall an average hotel to stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ASHIK from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Feb 2008

5

It was a pleasant stay at this hotel. Food was very tasty and the room was spacious n clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. On whole the stay was great.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ANAND from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2008

4

Very good room. Quick staff servic. Food was tasty. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GIRISH from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2008

3

Room was average type. Location was nice and everything was perfect. We really enjoyed our stay here and would like to recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR SURENDRA from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2008

3

Room was clean and comfortable. Food was very fine in the hotel's restaurant. Service was average. Overall, its value for money. Recommendable for budget travelers.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR ATUL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jan 2008

3

It was a wonderful stay in this hotel. Rooms were neat and clean. Staffs were very nice and good in their service. The food was also very good of the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMESHKUMAR from KOCHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jan 2008

4

This hotel is located in a congested place of egmore. However, the railway station and bus stand are very much available withing few yards from the hotel. The rooms are pretty neat and well maintained. However, the service is not upto the mark, it needs a lot of improvement. The USP of this hotel is check out time 24 hrs. Unlike most of the hotels in the city are 12:00 hrs check out time. The food is pretty good. I wish the the persons in the reception and service boys need to be trained in communication and hospitality. Despite a few draw backs, i wish to recommend this hotel due to the proximity of the city and transportation and check out time of 24 hrs.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ANIL from Trivandrum, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Dec 2007

4

Room was basic, food was good specially indian cusine. Service was good, staff were very polite. I'd like to stay here again in future.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

K K from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Nov 2007

4

It is a very good place to stay at, very neat and clean rooms. Food was good. Overall real value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANANTHRAO from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Nov 2007

3

Quality of the Food is not good in this Hotel, and travel services also not upto the mark.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ATUL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Oct 2007

4

Good and nice stay at this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

HARI PRASAD from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Oct 2007

3

Good hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANOJ from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 31 Aug 2007

2

It was a bad experience with this hotel. Rooms, bathroom and toilets were not at all clean. There was a water problem in the hotel when I was taking bath, the water suddenly stopped which was such a problem. Staff were very slow in their service. I did not enjoy much the breakfast at their restaurant.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

MANOJ from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Aug 2007

3

We had our breakfast in the hotel restaurant as it was South Indian, generally I dont like South Indian normally I like North Indian food. Rooms are nice of the hotel but the service which is provided by staff was not very prompt. The hotel was located in congested area and it was just opposite to railway station. One morning when I asked the hotel people to make arrangement for taxi they had to bring taxi from some other hotel, as there was no taxi available in their hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DHARMENDRA from Ghaziabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jul 2007

4

A hotel with good rooms which offer decent facilities.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUNDARAM from TUTICORIN, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2007

4

Lovely hotel. Clean rooms. Good service. Complimentary fruit basket...simply loved it.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5