Samudra Residency,Behind Chennai central railway station

1 Star  

Central Railway Station, Chennai, Tamil Nadu - 600 003

Starting from Rs. 850
Choose Dates

Samudra Residency,Behind Chennai central railway station, Chennai - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.8/5 Good
(Based on 49 reviews)

91.8% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.8)
  • Service Quality (3.8)
  • Dining Quality (3.3)
  • Cleanliness (3.9)

Samudra Residency,Behind Chennai central railway station - Individual ratings and reviews:

SURESH from GUWAHATI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Dec 2014

5

good experience

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJIB from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Dec 2014

4

In general this hotel is Ok.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BINNY from TIRUNELVELI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jan 2014

5

very nice & thanks to hotel room srevice

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VIJAY from NAGPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jan 2014

4

I booked hotel SAMUDRA RESIDENCY NEAR CHENNAI CENTRAL,FOR basic purpose of night halt,rooms was okay,but to my surprise I was informed that, hotel does not provide bed sheets.also hot and cold water arrangement was not there.refreshing facility out side room or common facility, appered to be not there.As we have stayed in room for night time only,there was not much occations to test their haospitality. It appeared that staff do not care much about customers, who had paid entire money in advance while booking through net.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

THANIGAI from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2013

2

Lot of cockroaches(small) in the room. It was roaming around my nose & mouth during night. The wool bed sheet was not washed for long time. Bad odour. Poor ventilation.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SHRAVAN from KOCHI(COCHIN), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Oct 2013

4

i was a little doubtful when i booked the room just a day ahead of the travel date, but then i decided to go on and do it. i had further troubles finding out the contact number of the hotel as the mobile number listed was not functional. apart from that, everything went as planned.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ASHOK from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Sep 2013

4

GOOd HOTEL, BUT DIFICULT LO FIND HOTEL. ITS NOT IN MAIN ROAD AND NOT SHOWING ANY SIGN BOARD IN MAIN ROAD.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARUN from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Sep 2013

4

The Hotel stay was fabulous. I had a real good stay right up there. The shockingly surprise was that the entire Hotel was Wi-fi - ed. so i could really use my time effectively to look after my business mails apparently. on the whole, it was a real good experience that i had. my rating should be 4 on 5.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AYAN from TIRUNELVELI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Aug 2013

3

Good Budget hotel near Chennai central railway station

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAVI KUMAR from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jul 2013

4

Since there was no restaurant facility, food was being got from outside. so no comment on food.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUBHADEEP from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jul 2013

4

Landed in Chennai Central station on 16th May. The first thing that I did was go out of the station and have a look around hoping to find the hotel or its name nearby but alas! So went to the prepaid auto counter and took a ticket to Samudra residency stating its near to the station.After about going around the place in a frenzy i stopped near a hotel-Samudra Inn. The driver had made a mistake!! Thank god I had my mobile-went to by booking history and gave him the complete address. This time he took me straight to the hotel. I was relieved at last to see the hotel. Check in was pretty good, all services digital. Submitted my booking receipt and we were taken straight to our room. We booked a Non-Ac double bed room. Room was clean with two beds with clean-white bed-sheets sprawling across. A large mirror overlooked the room. Intercom facility was available. Bathroom was neat and clean.Food on call i think was not available. Room service was pleasant. Hospitality was good. We freshened up a little and went out to the Beach. Had food, came back, took a nap and set out again to take a train to Howrah. Overall it was a pleasant stay at Samudra residency.I must recommend this hotel to all fellow travelers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

CHRISTOPHER from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jul 2013

4

This is a simple Budgeted Hotel which Is within its premises Kept Clean. This Hotel is good for small business entreprenuers who can have easy access to other parts of Chennai since its located Near the Chennai Central.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAGHU from HYDERABAD, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 10 Jul 2013

1

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SYAMAL KUMAR from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jun 2013

3

The hotel room in which we stayed was well furnished and clean. The staff members were cordial and helpful. We did not come across any dining option. So we cannot comment on its quality. The foregoing Item 3 is defective. You should have another circle. Omit Item 3 from our review completely. However, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MATHEW from CALICUT, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jun 2013

5

I am happy

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SIDHARTHA from BHUBANESWAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2013

4

There was no dining option as the food tht one order is brought from a nearby hotel so the food depend upon what you order. the quality of room service was good n it cleanliness,its really nearby the railways station n if one knw his/her way in chennai then he/she can travel wid comfort in the local sub urban local trains..which is a gr8 n cheap option of travelling.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BHARTHISH from MYSORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 May 2013

5

Good hotel for a short stay! perfect booking without any confusions or conflicts. Thanks for your help!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAPHEL from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 18 Mar 2013

2

Had not so good experience staying at this hotel for below reasons 1) Rooms are really small, you feel suffocated even in AC room .really really small room . 2) Bathroom are bad and emit some foul smell 3) No hot water arrangement, need to call housekeeping everytime you need hot bathing water Though this hotel has 24 hr check in /checkout options , in my case the Manager did not bring to my attention that additonal 1-2 hours will attract half day to full day charge !! I had spoken to manager on two occasions before checking out and neve once he alterted me about this . He was waiting for me to miss the checkout out time so that he can charge me for extra day .. This was horrible Yes , the lane outside the hotel is filthy..Wish I could have taken picture of same.. its full of shit and overflowing gutter.. believe me am not exasgerating .. Not recommended at all for any one expecting decent stay in hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MANOJ from GHAZIABAD, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 18 Mar 2013

2

Rooms not properly cleaned and only one towel for a double bedroom. Even on repeated demands before 10 am and between 8pm to 10pm, the bed sheet was not changed. Further there were also crochoroaches in the room, running hither and thither on the bed.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

BHARAT from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Mar 2013

3

Front Reception- Very good welcome. Hotel Boys- Very bad, we paid them each time they got us food. They did not wash the vessels properly. Was very disappointed by the room service. AC- The AC was not functional for sometime and hence decided to take non AC the second day. Overall- Good budgeted place but the room service needs to be a little more better. Would want to go back to this place..

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRADIP from SURAT, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Feb 2013

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAGADEESH from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2013

4

Positives 1) 5 minutes walk able distance from Chennai Central railway station. 2) Rooms are kept clean with furnished wooden cots and cupboards. 3) Bathroom is kept clean. Reception and travel-desk service is good. Negatives 1) Rooms are very compact and allow maximum of a person to walk-around freely. 2) In bathroom, wall hangings were broken. Overall I would say Samudra Residency as a good and descent hotel and recommend for people who visit Chennai.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

HARI from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Feb 2013

4

The boooking was confirmed and the Hotel is very close to the Central Station, the only disadvantage is that we have to vacate at 12noon , if we book on our own checkout time is 24 hours. Hari Govind

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SHINOY OOMMEN from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Feb 2013

4

Its a good hotel to stay

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MADHAN from MADURAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Nov 2012

5

The stay was a pleasant one for a one day transit in chennai .. bathroom was clean and room was a bit small for a family, but perfect for a person in transit, price for the transit for single person is the best in town.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PAWAN from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Oct 2012

4

However the rooms were small but it was clean & easily accesible to the nearby restaurants & Railway station..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SADASIVAM from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Sep 2012

5

I have marked excellent on all paramters considering the costs that I paid. It was a very good value for money and the staff were courteous. Sadasivam

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JEEVADEEPAN from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Sep 2012

4

Value for money. Best budget hotel I'd say. very close to chennai central station(10 mins walk). Room service was good. Rooms are clean. No dining facility at the hotel. But you can order from the restaurants nearby through the room service. Overall a good place to stay and absolute value for money!!!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAKESH from KOCHI(COCHIN), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Sep 2012

5

this hotel is very good for stay . staff is also very helpful. room are new and clean .room interior is also very marvels

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

CHIDAMBARAM from UDUMALPET, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jul 2012

3

1. a/c is not functioning reported the same to reception but there is no response. 2.For staying 3 adult the allotted room is very very smal as single bed room 3.getting food service is delayed

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RICHARD from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jul 2012

4

Usually when I reach late nights I used to frantically search for a decent hotel to stay. Since for the first time I booked my room at Samudra Residency Infact, the hotal accommodation is really good. Unlike other hotels, the rooms are spick and span and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NIROJ KUMAR from BHUBANESWAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jul 2012

5

The room was spacious and very clean.It is very near to the railway station.There are very good restaurants nearby to dine.There is travel desk in the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NIROJ KUMAR from BHUBANESWAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jul 2012

5

The room was quite spacious and very clean.It is very near to the railway station.Even though there was no dining in the hotel, there are very good restaurants nearby to dine.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KARTHIKEYEN from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jul 2012

4

Decent hotel. The double a/c room was very small in size, but clean. Though we were charged extra of Rs.150/child for 2 children, 1 extra bed was provided only on insistence and after repeatedly pointing out that we had paid for the same. Just enough space to put 1 extra bed after pusing the cots to one end. We dined outside as there was no restaurant. Service was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHIBIN from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jun 2012

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAMAKRISHNAN from Thanjavur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jun 2012

3

Good loaction and average facilities for the given price.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

LOGESH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jun 2012

3

nice

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MUTHU from MADURAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jun 2012

5

it is a good hotel in the heart of the city with affordable cost

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

INDRANIL from DAMAN, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jun 2012

5

I had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The ambeince was very nice and the staff courteous. I would like to visit the property again indranil

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

THIRUMALRAM from MADURAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 May 2012

3

QUALITY OF ROOM : ---------------- THE RECEPTION NEEDS TO BE TO TONED UP. THE ROOMS ALLOTTED WERE NEAT BUT ROOMS GAVE BAD ODOUR DUE TO NON VENTILATION AND KEEPING THE RO0MS CLOSED WITHOUT ANY AIR CIRCULATION FOR A LONG OF PERIOD. SERVICE: ------- NOT TO COMMENT AS THE PERIOD OF STAY WAS OVER NIGHT. DINING OPTION : NO DINING FACILITY IN THE HOTEL, BUT NEAR BY THERE ARE SOME GOOD HOTEL TO DINE. CLEANLINESS: ------------ MAINTAINED NEAT AND CLEAN -BOTH INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE ROOM IN THE GROUND FLOOR. COMMENT. ------- QUALITY OF SERVICE AT THE COUNTER NEEDS TO BE IMPROVED WITH BETTER RECEPTION FOR THE VISITOR. FACILITIES PROVIDED IN THE ROOM ARE GOOD BUT FOR THE STINKING SMELL EMANATING INSIDE THE ROOM DUE TO LACK OF PROPER VENTILATION/AERATION.BUT FOR THE ABOVE IT IS VALUE FOR THE MONEY.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANIK from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 May 2012

5

Very nice hotel and clean too. Room size could be increased to make it a best buy

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ARUN REJI from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Apr 2012

4

A decent hotel at a decent price

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KUMAR from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Mar 2012

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRATHISH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Feb 2012

3

Hotel is close to the station but it is not on the main road. Ii is in a lane just off the main road. Service was quick and efficient. I got a room on the second floor. The lift is very slow. The room is small but clean except for the bed sheets. Bed sheets looked like they were washed but still had stains on them. There were mosquitoes in the room but no mosquito repellent machine. The bathroom was decent but be warned there is no hot water in the bathroom. The hotel has no in house restaurant but they can get you food from the restaurants near by.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANAND from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Feb 2012

4

Hotel is good and cordial however there is no inhouse dining facility and hot water provision and also rooms have to be maintained to free of insect menace. Location is perfect being near to Chennai railway station. For the paid money it is worth for a shorter stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAIKISHAN from ROURKELA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Feb 2012

3

The room size compared to a standard double AC room is very small. There was hardly any space to move. The bathrooms were clean, but the dustbins were not cleaned from previous stay. Also the floor was not clean. However, the location of the hotel , i.e. very near to rly. station makes it a matter of convenience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMESH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2012

4

Overall Good

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

UMA from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jan 2012

3

Rooms are too low space and there is no restaurant in hotel. You have to go outside and search for food. Even if you want a cup of tea, you have to wait for a long time as the staff arranges it from outside.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANJAY from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Dec 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5