Shelter Beach Resort

2 Star  

Chennai, Tamil Nadu - 603 104

Starting from Rs. 4,005
Choose Dates

Shelter Beach Resort, Chennai - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.5/5 Good
(Based on 11 reviews)

90.9% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.3)
  • Service Quality (3.4)
  • Dining Quality (2.8)
  • Cleanliness (3.6)

Shelter Beach Resort - Individual ratings and reviews:

MANISH from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jan 2012

3

I had taken the deluxe cottage and all deluxe cottages are supposed to be sea facing, but seems like there are 4 of them, 3 are sea facing and one is in the middle of the property, facing their grounds where they hold company outings. This seems to be the worst room (and the most expensive) and was offered to us. Not to mention that the other sea facing rooms were available but were not given, argument being that someone has come to their property, have a look at the rooms and booked that specific room. Given that I had made my booking 5 weeks earlier that seems a bit far fetched. Booking was clearly for 2 adults and 2 children and mentioned in the contract. Breakfast was included. On top of providing their worst room possible, they asked for payments for extra beds even when 2 children are on the contract, and for extra breakfast, even when on the contract. It required a lot of yelling and screaming to get these charges off. Service was pretty decent, apart from the above issues and the rooms were reasonably clean. Food options were very ordinary, and given that there is nothing close by, you are stuck with the food there. Location was very good, right next to the beach and could be reached easily by taxi. Water is a bit rough, so people going with kids, please beware, it is not a friendly beach and the guard will not let you enter the water. Given the price of the rooms, they can make a bit of an effort to hang some hammocks, put up some chairs on the beach with umbrellas and make it more of a resort. The current state of the affairs is, this is a hotel next to a beach, not a resort. Given the price and for what they offer for that price, would not go there again, unless there is nothing else available.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DIPTENDU from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Sep 2011

4

The rooms at the hotel was good and well maintained. Staff's were helpful and cooperative towards us. Food items was not satisfactory as they had limited option which was a concern. Cleanliness was maintained as hotel premises and surroundings were clean and tidy. Hotel should improve on bringing more variety in food items.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SURESH from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Mar 2011

3

Just could not sleep with window AC making so much noise. Toilet flush did not work. Service guys had no idea of making it alright. We were just two occupants in such large property giving insecure feeling. We had to wait for bearer to come from home to take our order and serve Complimentary Breakfast. As if this was not enough, reception was quoting higher tariff Wish I never had booked this place.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

BHUVANESH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 May 2010

4

The hotel is located on the Scenic ECR. It is about 14 Kms before Mahabalipuram. The hotel has sufficient parking space. We had booked for Costal Cottage. The cottage was spacious and clean. The Beach was also very clean. The best part was that they had shower at gate, thus reducing the sand that comes in. The rooms service was slow, but the food was ok. The tariff was inclusive of Breakfast. The bad part was that there was no specific information that the complementary Breakfast was only for 2 persons per room, we had kids with details in the booking. I would recommend this hotel for those who want a peaceful time by the beach.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SHIBABRATA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 May 2009

4

Pros: The hotel was clean and good looking and we had a nice experience in general. The hotel is very near to the beach and we had a memorable experience dining on the beach. Cons: But one of the flaws was that the quality of food served was average and doesn't match up to the price. Also service for the restaurant is pretty slow. I think that the hotel is slightly overpriced.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAHUL from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jan 2009

4

Dining options are terrible. Also, quality of towels can be improved. The hotel can also take initiative in keep the beach clean. There was not drawing stand to hang wet clothes and hotel did not provide any despite the request. Staff was prompt otherwise. Location is good - hotel is on the beach.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PREM K from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jan 2009

4

The hotel surely needs to improve on the maintainince. The a/c was not functioning and the gyser was not fine. But over this the staff was very kind and helpful. They escorted me to a better room in no time. The hotel is located at a decent distacnce from the beach, so our stay was very nice. The continental food served in the restaurant was very tasty. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I would definately like to recomend this hotel to other people for their leisure trips.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.JAGPAL from Bhatinda, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Feb 2008

5

It?s very good beach resort all the the basic fecelities also dining option were fantastic. Room was very comfortable. Service was quick n prompt. It's recommendable to everyone.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PADMANABHAN from bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Nov 2007

3

My experience was just fine.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR SHANKAR from Chennai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 25 Oct 2007

1

Staff were not behaving properly they did not respond to anything. The room which was given to me was the shelter club room it was not sea facing. After request then they shifted me to a cottage room and that room was sea facing but in that room the T.V was not working. Rooms were dirty and the service was horrible.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

D N from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 May 2007

3

Hotel service was very poor. The staff do not listen to the guest. The masala dosa for breakfast was good. My sea facing room was really beautiful. It is close to the bus stand and is easy to reach by taxi.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5