The Checkers Hotel

3 Star  

Guindy, Chennai, Tamil Nadu - 600 015

Starting from Rs. 3,862
Choose Dates

The Checkers Hotel, Chennai - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.7/5 Good
(Based on 132 reviews)

89.4% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.6)
  • Service Quality (3.5)
  • Dining Quality (3.5)
  • Cleanliness (3.5)

The Checkers Hotel - Individual ratings and reviews:

RAJA from MADURAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2014

5

good

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ASHOK from Bahau, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Mar 2014

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SIVA from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Mar 2014

3

Location is big plus for this property. Its in middle of the city. So that you can move around anywhere you want. They are having valet parking. Rooms and wash room are big enough with all amenities. Room service is good enough. Front office staffs are very helpful and co operative. Food taste and cleanliness are much improved when compare to my last taste. In the morning breakfast buffet lot are options are available now. Still they dont have any south indian dishes for dinner. The biggest problem with this hotel is Mosquito's. You can see mosquitos everywhere. And small insects also there in the rooms. Thats really turn you out.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ASHOK from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Mar 2014

4

Only one towel for double bedroom. Mosquitoes in room. Could not sleep due to loud music of marriage function in hotel till 1.30am. Poor maintenance of electrical sockets(broken)

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

CHITHARANJAN from KOCHI(COCHIN), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2014

3

Old classic but struggling to keep the standards. The carpets are dusty and the blankets are itchy. I amazed to see the waiters asking for tips. Sound from the bar distracts sleep. Breakfast not up to standards.Not worth to money. But good building and good ambiance. Except everything is bad

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

DHIRAJ from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jan 2014

5

Quality of room was very good. Service was excellent. Dining was super. Cleanliness was too good.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ROSHAN from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Nov 2013

4

~Unclean balcony ~very slow service from house keeping ~Very good complimentary breakfast ~rooms are good but as renovation in progress makes room for loose wire and untidy ares

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GANESHAN from MADURAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Oct 2013

4

good

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DEEPAK from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Aug 2013

4

Nice Place, good ambience, but staff were ok.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MOHAMMAD from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Aug 2013

3

good value for money if combined with free stay for 1 night otherwise not recomended

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SURENDER KUMAR from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 May 2013

4

Frankly, I was quite apprehensive after reading comments of few travelers to the hotel.I even phoned the Hotel regarding those comments by previous guests.To my surprise hotel did not suffer from all those observation as reported .All the amenities as advertised were in order. Bathrooms were clean and fully functional.Room and loinen provided was clean .The only thing missing in Room was a ceiling fan.One feels the need of a fan when one comes from outside in sweltering heat of Chennai to the room . Hotel kept all the promises made while booking.Next time,if I happen to go to Chennai ,I will definitely stay if the tariff remains round about that.I DO RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR BUDGET AND BUSINESS TRAVELERS AS ITS LOCATION IS VERY GOOD EVEN CONSIDERING THE CONSTRUCTION OF METRO RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL. SURENDER KUMAR SHARMA

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DINESH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2013

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAGDISH from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Apr 2013

3

40 percent marks overall

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MAYANK from SURAT, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Mar 2013

4

The hotel are in good area of chennai. But Housekeeping Staff in not well. In hotel room moisture smell very high. All other Staff like reception, restaurent , travell desk. are very exite to help.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

HITESH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Mar 2013

4

Good deal for price we paid, hotel is neat and clean,Club room was spacious, just like a suite.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VARUN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Feb 2013

4

I have not received Invoice copy for my room booking in CHeckers Classic CHennai from 4th to 6th Jan.'13. I need to claim the boarding and lodging from my co and hence need the invoice scanned-copy. Pls arrange to send it to my email-ID mahajan.varun.a@gmail.com. I requested hotel team to provide the voucher but they refused to do so. I am having inconvenience and struggling to get the invoice copy of my stay. You may contact me @ +91 96995 39493. Pls do the needful asap.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUMIT from VARANASI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jan 2013

4

I didnt had a pleasant experience with the travel guru booking as my Check in date was 24.01.2013 and check out date was 26.01.2013. I checked in the hotel at 0030 hrs of 24.01.2013 and i confirmed the reception about my checkout time at 0900 hrs of 26.01.2013. Later on on 25.01.2013 i got a call from reception stating that i have to check out at 0030 hrs of 26.01.2013 !! Kindly tell me that if my check out date is 26.01.2013, then how the hell i have to check out at mid night?? The hotel staffs also took extra additional charges for my stay on 26.01.2013 .

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANJAY KUMAR from Gurgaon, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 26 Jan 2013

2

One of my saddest stays in my life in a 3.5 star rated hotel. A room for Rs 4500/- per day should deliver the basics. The problems I faced in the hotel. 1. There is a stale smell in the room and common areas of the hotel ( a full can of room freshner was used in the room) 2. I had to change the room 3 times at check in due either A/C not working or cockroaches in the room. 3. No one at the breakfast buffet, so had to request the reception for hot milk !!!! 4. The uniform worn by all the staff was not washed for atleast 3 days. 5. The curtains in the room are also not washed for atleast 2 years, by mistake I put it to one side, the dust which came out I was sneezing for the next one hour due to heavy dust. 6. The window glass is very dirty, not cleaned. 7. The lifts are also not cleaned. 8. soiled lenin of the room is regularly stored in the corridors. 9. The light fitments in the room are hanging. 10. I had only 5 channels in the room TV, the remote was also missing, had to get up everytime to switch on and off. 11. No General Manager in the hotel, the front desk staff does not give his phone no as well. 12. Travel Guru should abstain from selling these rooms. 13. No response from the hotel till now on my written compaints. 14. Atleast 10 mosquito bites in a day. Killed atleast 25 of them by hand in the room. Did not count the no of cockroaches in the room. Plenty. 15. Thank you for reading.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

MANISH from ALIGARH, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jan 2013

4

smell in the room

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AJAY from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jan 2013

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

COL A from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jan 2013

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJAY from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Dec 2012

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MOHAN from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2012

3

How I wish I could have given better ratings. Checkers experience was pretty awful. Had sleeping partners in the room on my bed, crawling all over me were cockroaches of all sizes. Room services, well was lucky that requests were met on the same day rather than getting serviced the next day - for as simple as drinking water. Restaurant - the one on the top floor had incourteous staff. The one on ground floor had better staff, but food quality was very ordinary - considering they charge 599

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MUSTAFA from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2012

3

average but surely it's not 4 star

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GOUTHAMAN from TIRUCHIRAPPALLI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jun 2012

4

Rooms are clean but due to maintenance work corridor was unclean.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JUSTIN from MADURAI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 21 May 2012

1

I would never ever make the mistake of choosing checkers hotel for stay. I really wonder how this hotel was given 4 star..(actually a star!). I could right hell a lot of reviews about this hotel. But I do not have patience to type in everything. the hotel was horrible, stinking smell everywhere, food gets over very soon, they don't know the meaning of cleanliless, no AC at all!!!.I took my fiance for a birthday surprise and he insulted me coz of the hotel and said he was very disappointed. That is a real humiliation for me! Felt very bad. guys, pls don ever choose this hotel just because you get it for a lower rate.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

UNNIKRISHNAN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 May 2012

5

I have stayed at Checkers umpteen number of times & I have chosen this hotel after trying out various options in Chennai. This has been the finest hotel and I am impressed with the quality of service. Friendly staff, good food and clean rooms.Good Job Checkers Team.. Keep it up

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JAGDISH from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2012

4

This was my second stay at the hotel, so that should say that atleast its not a bad hotel!! Everything was good except for the usual, what I call, the undesirable Indian Meantality. ( yes, its MEANtality and not a mistake) When they give you something good, they dont like to keep up the bargain, but would want to make some things difficult for u. Like I paid for 1 night and got another night free. There were no ifs and buts to this offer, but I was asked to pay for for one dinner that my child took, but which was supposed to have been free as per the package. It is another thing that I spoke to the manager at the reception and had it waived off, but it unmistakably shows that they wanted to charge something for having given something free!! I would therefore request you to advise the hotel properly, and also make it unequivocally clear in your package language so that the hotel does not have any leeway to manipulate. (this should apply to all hotels). Another point i'd like to highlight is bec it happened during both my stays. Hot water was not flowing in the taps. On one occassion i was provided in a bucket, and thid time a housekeeping hand tweaked the faucet and had a trickle flowing.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAMAKRISHNA from TIRUPATI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Apr 2012

3

checkers hotel is centrally located. however due to metro rail project there is alot of traffic jam,one way traffic. The hotel is also under rennovation,because of this they are offering discounts/deals.Room service is almost not there.Limited menu breakfast is avilable.However for the amount paid by me(Pay 1 N & Get 2nd N Free)the accommodation is reasonable. If you are looking at 4 star hotel facilities,better skip this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NANDU from RAJAHMUNDRY, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Apr 2012

5

The hotel was good overall..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MUHASSIN from muscat, Oman recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2012

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMKUMAR from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Mar 2012

5

My stay at The chekers was very very pleasant in the form of cleanliness, room service and all. I prefer to stay next time in the same hotel. Overall the Hotel the was excellent.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VIDYA SHANKAR from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Mar 2012

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ATUL from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Mar 2012

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

AKANKSHA from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Mar 2012

4

i feel the hotel was awesome. Right from the room, to the terrace swimming pool, to the breakfast, everything was good quality. It is indeed a 4 star hotel. They offer free pickup drop from chennai airport which is very cost efficient as otherwise the rates are very high in chennai for public transport. Its a must stay for the price

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PROSENJIT from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Mar 2012

5

It is a good Hotel to stay next time my trip to Chennai

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR TARUN from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Mar 2012

4

Overall experience was good...if i will go chennai next time then i will stay in the same hotel ...improvement is required in the room service..and wifi was not working

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

CHANDRASHEKAR from BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 29 Feb 2012

2

The hotel is unclean, the carpets are dirty. The air-conditioners cannot be regulated, the lift doesn't work normally. You will have to wait for the lift to go down to the ground floor or to the top floor and then come back to you floor. The hot water is not available in the day time. The food from the room service is of Ok quality and isn't great. Breakfast is fairly good, however one needs to be on-time before 10am for breakfast. Else by 10:05am the breakfast is cleared. The location of the hotel is good and within vicinity of business locations. The Gym is a functional one and is just sufficient. There is a spa that offers massage services. I haven't tried the same. The Wi-fi service is horrible in the rooms, whereas it works in the lobby. However if you manage to get the hotel at a discounted tariff as obtained on travel-guru, it is value for what you pay and you cannot expect a better hotel at this cost, in this category of hotel. And that is why i stayed in the same property for the second time.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

UTTAMGOPAL from BARODA, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 28 Feb 2012

2

The hotel was just okay

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SATYANARAYANA from VASAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Feb 2012

4

Overall happy with the Hotel location, ambience and the cleanliness. However, the reception guy gave us single bed instead of Double-bed and it took several hours for them to change it. One of the lifts was not working. Still I would recommend.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VINAY from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Feb 2012

5

It�s an excellent property I traveled on business, but I guess even for family stay it would be good. The airport pickup and drop were perfect. Not a word of fuse by the drivers in terms of tips etc. Rooms excellently maintained. Carpeted floors. My visitors next day had no problem in finding the hotel, its 15 minutes from airport. But they had not heard of it earlier, possibly the property is new. When I was late yesterday night the desk was courteous to ask my where about etc by calling. Food (dinner taken as room service) was good and reasonably priced. It took some time before getting delivered in spit of request to deliver it early. But the room service desk apologized for the delay and never made me feel bad. Only complaint is that the mini bar is too costly, a 250 ml Mirinda is priced Rs.320/- and there is no price display in the room or mini bar. Stayed for 2 nights- practically a total of 12 hours and couldn't taste breakfast though it was complimentary. Next time I would definitely stay in this hotel- first class.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SHAMPA from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Feb 2012

4

The room was big and spacious, but the furniture was quite worn out. There was a lot of renovation going on.The front desk was very helpful. Dining options are limited but food is decent. Easy connectivity with the city is an added advantage. The hotel pick up and drop was prompt.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GEETESH from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jan 2012

4

Hotel is not so far from the airport. The location was very good as it was located in the city. Rooms are very good and the services are also good. They have good dining options.The staff are very good and the co-operative. My stay was very good. I think they need to improve the A/C.. I would surely recommend thsi hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANGESH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jan 2012

3

Room had a carpet which did not look like it had been clean since a long time. The bed linen was torn and soiled and the rug was not washed since days. It is being used without washing for all customers. The faucet in the bathroom was damaged and not working properly. Overall it was a bad experience at the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SRIJIT from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jan 2012

4

The overall ambience of the hotel was excellent but the rooms need improvement in terms of cleanliness. The bed sheets and towels could have been neat & clean. The hot water in the restroom could at best be described as lukewarm. The sofas in the room and lobby have room for improvement. The food in the restaurant was tasty but a wee bit too spicy, though the food at the Chinese restaurant was much better. Buffet breakfast was good. You do get value for money, particularly in terms of being situated close to the airport. However the hotel does need better maintenance in order to ensure customer loyalty.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

UNNIKRISHNAN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2011

5

I was really impressed with the superb service that the staff at checkers hotel provided. Good decor, well maintained rooms and good food. Hotel is quite close from the airport and on time airport transfers, I am a business traveler and will definitely come back to checkers. Thanks for the deal Travelguru.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PAUL from SILIGURI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Nov 2011

3

The staff behavior of the hotel was good overall it was a very good stay at the hotel I will recommend this hotel to my friends for future bookings.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANAND from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Nov 2011

4

The hotel is close to the airport, will take you 25-45 mins depending on traffic - which has become unpredictable in Chennai because of the infra projects and the digging. Hotel lobby is maintained much better than the rooms! The rooms have clearly seen better days. Check in is smooth and they already had my reservation on their systems. Room is spacious and carpeted. The bathroom / toilet accessories and fittings are of poor construction. But it is clean and well maintained. Overall good hotel with some shortcomings. Stay there for the proximity to airport..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GAURAV from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Nov 2011

3

Hotel is OK. Staff at reception is always in a hurry. Bedsheets were not fresh when I arrived and they were not changed the next day also. I had to ask for a change of pillow covers and bedsheets. Room size is small and not enough for two guests.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ARAVINDAKRISHNA from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Nov 2011

3

Average hotel given its 4 star status, need to improve on the cleanliness front, minibar was not functional, even after complaining it was not fixed. Check in check out time was quick and easy. Very noisy inside room because it is not sound proof and its not acceptable. Bathrooms definitely needs interior work as the walls are in pathetic condition.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

BHASKER from HYDERABAD, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 27 Oct 2011

1

I will surely not recommend anyone to this Hotel. The quality of the rooms and service is very bad, the hotel claims to have a lot of stuff but none in reality. NO wifi, stinking washrooms, stained bed covers, water leakage in the rooms..

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SAUMYA from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Oct 2011

3

The room was average, TV was not working and in spite of repeated request nobody bothered to attend. Room was not cleaned everyday. Half of the necesscities were not kept in the room like soaps etc, when cleaning was done. Not a good experience with respect to house keeping.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SATINDER from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Oct 2011

5

i hav nothing to say all is excellent.I think value for money hospitality,location,staff,best housekeeping,room service.I would be too happy to stay at these prices regulary.I visit 10 to 12 times a year .

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NAWIN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Oct 2011

5

The hotel is quite centraly located and hospital staffs are quite helpful. I will love to stay during my next visit

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BALA from TIRUNELVELI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Sep 2011

5

Food and Beverages are quite costly. Room service and cleanliness are extremely good. I got a good package(Stay for one night and get the next night free) for me and making my time in Chennai so good and comfortable.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ROBERT from United recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Sep 2011

4

Having read previous reviews we were very concerned about going to this hotel.However our experience was much better than expected by reading the reviews. Yes the common areas are in need of upgrading and the swimming pool was awful, but the main things were fine. The room was comfortable with a good bed and bathroom.The food was fine and the service was very good.One review said avoid at all costs. We totally disagree

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOHAMED from COLOMBO, Sri does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 20 Sep 2011

1

Dirty, Rubbish, Unclean hotel and looked liked an insect factory.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SHAJI from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Sep 2011

5

I booked The Checkers hotel. It was full value for money and a wonderful experience. Hotel location is very good and it is centrally located surrounding with all major industrial areas. Hotel is very near to airport and hotel is offering pick up and drop facility. Staff are very helpful and gave good service, except in coffee shop, service was not very good due to shortage of staff. Rooms are very good with all facilities. Food also is very good, you also have buffet option for Lunch and Dinner. Breakfast is complimentary I will give excellent rating to the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

CHARITRA from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Sep 2011

5

It was a nice experience. The hotel is nice if always available at the price which I got last time.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DEEPAK from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 12 Sep 2011

2

No i will not stay in future in this hotel because the reception staff was not good.Hotel staff has not send the taxi to pick up from airport where as i had clearly mentioned at the time of booking by which flight i am coming.Next time i will prefer to stay in Park Plaza at Egmore.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SANDEEP from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Sep 2011

4

The hotel staff was quite adjusting & cooperative, if the dining options were more business traveller friendly, it would have been really fantastic. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KATHER from MADURAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Sep 2011

4

The front desk staff could smile a little to the customers. Lot of improvements required in terms of cleanliness and house keeping.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARJUN from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Aug 2011

5

This hotel matched its standards as expected by myself, Nice comfy room & all amenities as mentioned were available. Staffs were very helpful & services were @ your footsteps in seconds. My special requests on booking were also taken care of perfectly. Food options were limited through room service but they have plenty of options @ their 2 restaurants & bar. B.fast buffet was great too. All together a fine experience & would surely recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SRINIVAS from GUDIVADA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Aug 2011

4

Room is excellent.We opted for Buffet and food is tasty. Hotel is in a good center and also close to airport and City.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NARASIMHA from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Aug 2011

5

it was a wonderful experience. Service was realy good. We enjoyed with a lot.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SREEKANTH from Englishtown, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jul 2011

3

They have a nice building but needs finishing. They have a decent restaurant that good service. They have nice people as staff, but lacks good management to take care of the building, facilities and customers makes this place undesirable. I had very good help from some of the staff and am extremely happy about that. My room got to be changed as the first one assigned was still work in progress. However, I got a nice replacement.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SURAJ from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jul 2011

3

Stay was Fine.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHRIDHAR from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Jul 2011

4

The hotel is located near railway station therefore there was a bit of noise because of trains. The staff people are nice and the rooms in this hotel arte very big but not well arranged and the ambience in this hotel is also good. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and my family.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.SUNIL from PUNE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 25 Jul 2011

2

Hotel room had lot of mosquitoes Room was very small and congested. Room service was very slow. Staff were not professionals.Hand shower was broken in the bathroom. We had a very pathetic experience. We would definitely not recommend this hotel to any one. We cannot give a rating of 1 out of 5 for this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUNIL from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jun 2011

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SIMON from city, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2011

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ANOOP from Patiala, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2011

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MOHD. from PATIALA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jun 2011

3

BAD EXPERIENCE - THE HOTEL IS NOT EVEN A 2 STAR THOUGH CLAIMED BY YOUR WEBSITE AND THE HOTEL AS THEY SAY THEY ARE A 4 STAR ! I SHALL EVER BOOK THIS HOTEL AS THIS WAS A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE !

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SIMON from PATIALA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2011

3

One of the worst experience. In no way its a 4 star hotel. It can be rated a 2 star. Manager was very rude. I had booked 5 rooms from 26th. to 30th. for my international guests & our worst experience was that my guest were told to vacate the room at 8.30 AM citing that the checkout time is 24 hrs., where as we had directly requested the hotel for early check in which they agreed but no where it was mentioned that the hotel has a 24 hrs. check out policy. The worst is that the Hotel tariff leaflet kept on their reception also said check out time as 12 noon, still they insisted that it was their policy. I shall never stay there again neither i shall recommend anyone to this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SIMON from PATIALA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2011

3

One of the worst experience. In no way its a 4 star hotel. It can be rated a 2 star. Manager was very rude. I had booked 5 rooms from 26th. to 30th. for my international guests & our worst experience was that my guest were told to vacate the room at 8.30 AM citing that the checkout time is 24 hrs., where as we had directly requested the hotel for early check in which they agreed but no where it was mentioned that the hotel has a 24 hrs. check out policy. The worst is that the Hotel tariff leaflet kept on their reception also said check out time as 12 noon, still they insisted that it was their policy. I shall never stay there again neither i shall recommend anyone to this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ANOOP from PATIALA, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2011

2

One of the worst experience. In no way its a 4 star hotel. It can be rated a 2 star. Manager was very rude. I had booked 5 rooms from 26th. to 30th. for my international guests & our worst experience was that my guest were told to vacate the room at 8.30 AM citing that the checkout time is 24 hrs., where as we had directly requested the hotel for early check in which they agreed but no where it was mentioned that the hotel has a 24 hrs. check out policy. The worst is that the Hotel tariff leaflet kept on their reception also said check out time as 12 noon, still they insisted that it was their policy. I shall never stay there again neither i shall recommend anyone to this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SUNIL KUMAR from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2011

3

The room service was pathetic. I need to request for almost everything to get what should be already stationed. Technical persons requested to repair shower and technician was found to be drunk in both the occassions. However, location wise the hotel was quite suitable for me. Hotel reception attendants were quite supportive, understanding and cordial. Food quality was found to be very good and hygeinic. With the bad experience overweighing the good experience, i would not like to visit the hotel in future again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MUJIBUR from Thanjavur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 May 2011

3

Hi all, Regarding Hotel checkers in Chennai, Location: The hotel is located in a prime area and biggest dis-advantage is located in a center place of a ONE-WAY !! Value: The hotel in my experience is definitely not qualified for a 4star. It should be re-categorized to 2-3 star only. Not a value for money !! They have to re-do the hotel once again. Friendliness of the staff: Should educate the staff to be friendly with the customers Attitiude: They give a free pick-up and drop to airport but not to Railway station or Koyambedu Busstaion !! Restaurant: Food can be graded to just an average. Overall: 3 / 10

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ABDUL RAHMAN from Bahrain recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 May 2011

4

Overall not a standard at all Room is very small. Food and service was good Front Office and Airport service was good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MAHESH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 May 2011

5

The stay in the hotel was good.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JACOB from Dubai, United does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2011

2

Well I cannot recommend Hotel Checkers as a 4 star. The rooms are shabby and i had to change my room thrice in 2 days.The telephonews were not working, no channels in the TV, forget hot water, no safe locks and worst of all the housekeeping guy popped in when the room was tagged "privacy please". The ceilings had leaks and cracks. The reception team did their best to accomodate me, however they had limited options as the hotel had very poor maintenance. The restaurants were good though but the location is not ideal. There are no pharmacies nearby and the hotel has limited first aid stuff. Will never recommend to anyone

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

MR ROHIT from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Nov 2010

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AUGUSTINE from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Aug 2010

4

Was travelling with my 18 month old kid and hence we wanted to avoid any unpleasant surprises. As promised at the time of booking we had a taxi waiting at the ariport with a placard and the drive to the hotel took hardly 15 minutes ,an advantage becasue we had to catch an onward flight the next morning to Port Blair and we did not want to stay too far away from the airport. The check-in was fast and uncomplicated.The room was spacious and the bathrooms were clean and well fitted.The kid enjoyed the Bath Tub!!A good option for someone looking for a hotel near to the airport!!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUNIL from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jun 2010

3

Checkers is a good hotel for a business traveler. The rooms are old fashioned but have all the basic amenities required. The desk does not ask if one wants a smoking or non smoking room and hence a non smoker like me got a distinct smell of tobacco in the room that was give to me. positives: very friendly and efficient staff. Gym and Spa is a bonus. Taste of food was above the average hotel fare. negatives: On going renovation causes smells of paint to remain in the lobby and corridors. the room decor could do with a bit of improvement. Overall rating : will consider it an option again when traveling to chennai

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIJIT from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 May 2010

4

It was not as i had expected for a 4 star hotel. the room was Average and they had round beds which i did not feel comfortable. There was heavy music being played by around 3 in the morning and i had to call the reception and complaint then i found out that there was a party going on but 3 in the morning was ridiculous.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MP from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 May 2010

5

An excellent hotel with great facilities will go again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SULAKSHANA from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2010

2

The hotel has good structure but has fallen into disrepair. The room was damp though large for the 2750 rupees per night I paid for it. However, the main issue was the bad quality of food and the behaviour of the reception staff. On the first day I did not have the breakfast but on the second day when I had breakfast (which was almost inedible) I was told I need to pay for it after I had finished. The reception staff was extremely rude and shocking. I refused to pay and threatened to call the cops and they simmered down. This was very stressful and not at all something I recommend. I will never stay there again.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

UMA from Coimbatore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Apr 2010

3

For a 4star hotel this one was not up to the standard. The carpets were not clean. The morning breakfast although had enough options only a few of them were eatable.The double bed was comfortable but not suitable for a family, the extra bed they provided was uncomfortable.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

VINOD from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Apr 2010

3

I stayed for 2 nights. Room is average but charge is high comparitively. Rooms stink due to old carpets.Location is not too good. I wont stay here in future.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUDHANSHU from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Apr 2010

4

Had trouble with a/c during first night 'the a/c got locked', except for the goofup rest of stay was expected. Slightly skeptical about a 'cyclostyled' menu, food actually turned out better. Last but not least, location was excellent for someone with business activities around south chennai/OMR/Airport etc.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

YAMINI from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2010

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PATRICK from SAN, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Feb 2010

5

The hotel is close to airport and it is very clean. The food are pretty expensive otherwise everything is good

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

YOGESH from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Feb 2010

3

My experience of stay at the hotel was just Ok. Room service was not good. Food quality was also average.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

JOSEPH from KOCHI(COCHIN), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jan 2010

5

Nice location, great service and nice room. This hotel gives excellent value for money. Also unexpectedly offered 24-hour check-in check-out. I arrived at 10 a.m. for a 2-day stay and had no problems. When asked, the staff were also very helpful in suggesting various options in the city for dinner, night-clubs, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRADEEP from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jan 2010

3

The hotel is Not Far away from the airport,No market place and also no scenarios are there, The staff are also not good, I can not recommend the hotel to my family and friends,I am not happy with the hotel service.and the hotel is also not good for bussiness trip.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

CHIRANJEEVI from NOVATO, United does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 30 Oct 2009

1

�Housekeeping was horrible. Unclean balcony with black dust sticking to our feet, no foot mats, given only on demand (even you need to ask 10 times then only they will Give)�Room Service is also Horrible. If you call them on their ext number no body will answer. If you are luck is good, you may get them after 2 or 3 attempts. Toilet Flush was broken and requested for service.. nobody showed up for 2 days. Really horrible service here Better to carry mosquitto coils for safety. We had seen lot of mosquittos in Reception area or in Rooms... I strongly suggest not to go for this HOTEL any time. Whatever you pay for the hotel is 100% waste... if you pay 500-700 INR for any hotel besides on the road you will get better service / quality and pleasant stay... STRONGLY SUGGEST NOT to go for this HOTEL. First time i had seen horrible service

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

MR. PIYUSH from New delhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 04 Aug 2008

2

It was not a pleasant stay overall. The staff service was not satisfactory. There was a water problem in my room, after informing them repeatedly they could not fix it & also we haven't got the complimentary fruit basket :(

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

DEEPAK from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jul 2008

4

The food was not upto the mark but the other things like the room quality and service was great. Overall good stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIJAY ANAND from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jun 2008

4

I had a comfortable stay with this hotel. The room was very spacious and full of facilities. The staff was supportive and service was consistent. The location was also convenient and food was tasteful. It was a perfect hotel for a business travelers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SURENDER from Panchkula, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 11 Jun 2008

2

Some of the rooms were not so clean and there was seems to be a shortage of staff was service was bit slow. Otherwise rest was quite desirable. The location was quite convenient and arrangement was systematic.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. ANUJ from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 May 2008

4

Staff were quick and prompt in their service. Room was well furnished with all the basic facilities. The breakfast was superb in taste. The property is really very nice to stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

HARMEET SINGH from new delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2008

4

I stayed in superior single room it was presentable. The food was hygenic and good to taste. The room service did an appreciative job. The hotel is central in the main city.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. ANIL from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Apr 2008

3

The staff was not well trained. They used to delay even to get the bill copy. The location was not so great. It was not in a proper city. Apart from that the rest was quite comfortable like room facilities and food provision. It was not a suitable to the business travelers.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR CAMPEN from Hydarabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Apr 2008

3

I was not pleased with the transfer facilities as the arrangement was pathetic. The staff was not responsive and meal No special. The room quality could have been better. The location was the only good thing. In all, not happy with the stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJEEV from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Apr 2008

4

I HAD A GREAT TIME AT THE CHEKKERS AND THE ROOM SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. THE STAFF HOSPITALITY WAS GOOD.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SHAILENDER REDDY from hydarabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Mar 2008

4

It was a wonderful stay. I like the room service as it was instant. The staff was decent with always smile on their face and they helped me throughout. I taste the food in the restaurant it was exotic. The experience just got bitter in the end as the reception people delayed my check-out unnecessarily. Anyhow I would prefer this hotel in future also.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR.SUKESH KUMAR H from Hariyana, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Mar 2008

5

The experience was excellent. We stayed in superior single room it was fantastic. The staffs were helpful. The food was superb in taste.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VELU from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Mar 2008

4

Superior double room was excellent with all the modern facilities. Staff were quick and cheerful. The restaurant was decently maintained with clean table and chairs, food was fantastic to taste.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VELU from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Mar 2008

5

Room was very comfortable and clean. Service was quick and prompt. Staff are well trained and polite. Food served was delicious. Overall, it was an excellent stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VELU from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Mar 2008

4

Staff were prompt and quick in their service. Room was decent & well maintained. The breakfast was very good in taste.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAYACHANDRAN from Thane, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Feb 2008

4

I enjoyed myself here. Food was very delicious and room was spacious. Cleanliness was very good. It?s highly recommendable to others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GIRISH from Jaipur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2008

4

Room was well maintained with all the modern facilities. Hotel has restaurant, we dint enjoyed the food. The location was very nice.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANIL from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2008

4

Good business hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

INDRANEEL from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2008

3

Staffs were average in their service. Room was fine having all the facilities. The breakfast was not so good in taste it needs to be improved. It was just an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

BHARATKUMAR from Ahmedabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2008

4

Room was spacious with all the basic facilities. Staffs were kind and polite in their work. The location was wonderful near the hotel. I had my breakfast in the hotel it was fabulous in taste.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRASHANT from Nagpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2008

4

GOOD COMFORTABLE STAY. WELL MAINTAINED ROOM & CO-OPERATIVE STAFF.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAGANMOY from DIST., India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Feb 2008

4

Information given at the reception regarding Dinner timing was in-correct hence Dinner was not upto the mark. Otherwise, The staff were co-operative & very helpfull. The pick-up & drop arrangement was excellent. Room, Toilet Decor were excellent.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RITU RAJ from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2008

4

My stay was quite good in The Checkers. Superior Single room was great. Service was very good. Food was fine and the location was just ok. Overall its worth staying.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KESHAV DAS from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Feb 2008

3

My experience from the time I landed at Chennai Airport was not a pleasant one. To start with, there was no car for me to pick meup. After wait of almost 45 mins and making few calls to the hotel, a car was arranged to ferry me to the hotel and I was given a room. The room no starts from 2.., accordingly I was hunting for the room on the 2nd floor but actually the room was on the 3rd floor(wrong numbering)???On entering the room, to my dismay it was a used room and house keeping was not done. I lost my temper and rushed down to the reception. The receptionist was at a loss and did not know what to do. I lost my cool and then the Lobby Manager came in the picture, took me to the so called 'Checkers Club' room and finally I retired.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJIV from Baroda, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Jan 2008

4

It was an excellent stay in this hotel. Staffs were caring and always ready for any help. Rooms were well furnished with modern style interiors. Hotel has restaurant which serves great food. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

CHANDAN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jan 2008

5

The stay was excellent in this hotel. The hotel is located centrally in the main city. Rooms were spacious with all the facilities. Staffs were quick and prompt in their work. I had my food in the restaurant it was nice in taste.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

A V from Hassan, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jan 2008

4

Overall it was average stay in this hotel. Rooms were basic but it was clean and neat. The food was average in taste needs improvement. Staffs were not so quick in their work but it was manageable.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

INDRANEEL from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jan 2008

4

The hotel is pretty good value for money. New property and they have maintained it well.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PAARIKA from Surat, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jan 2008

4

I was dubious about "the Checkers" after reading the reviews on other sites. However, I decided to try it out, and lo and behold! it was a major surprise! The hotel is just 6 months old and the upper floors are still under construction but what they have done with the decor and the ambiance is other-worldly. Its hard to believe its a 4-star and not a 5-star. The furnishing in the room as well as the lobby is very classy. The rooms are equipped with everything you can think of and when you call up room-service, they will be more than eager to help you out. They whipped a delicious dal-fry at 1 in the morning for me.The staff is very polite and warm. I almost didn't want to leave the hotel. And they produced a car to drop me off (apart from the complimentary transfers) at the very last minute. Even if there are tiny, minor glitches here and there,the staff's warmth would make up for it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chennai. Close your eyes,trust me,and book it! You'll get freshly baked cookies,compliments of the hotel,and whats more! if you finish the whole jar,there's a refill!! P.S. If you're going to Chennai for the first time,and you are not from the southern part of the country, don't order anything north-Indian even in the classiest of restaurants. You will be disappointed. But at the Checkers,be rest assured,you'll feel like its made in by your mom! Three cheers to the chef!

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAMADAGNI from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jan 2008

4

Superior room was neat n tidy. Complimentary buffet breakfast was great, also had dinner it was fine - big choice in the menu. Service was fine. Location was very convenient for us as its close to the airport. Overall my sty was good and its recommendable for other travelers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

S A from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jan 2008

3

Hotel is very close to the airport. I can only say that it's an average hotel. Rooms were clean but the service level was very slow of the staffs. The food also needs to improve a lot.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AJITH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jan 2008

3

Our stay was fine. It is a very good hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR HRUSIKESH from Cuttack, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Dec 2007

3

I booked Executive club single room and that was perfect. It was very simple and comfortable. I have no complain about hotel. I had South Indian breakfast; it was good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR ARPIT from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Nov 2007

3

Please note this hotel was in construction phase and initially we were checked-in in wrong room, then later on the services in another room were really inefficient.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AMIT from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Nov 2007

4

Complete stay was perfect.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANJAY from Jamshedpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Oct 2007

3

The infrastructure was good. However, one looks for hospitality as well. Not very much attractive. However room was comfortable. Breakfast, airport transfer and welcome drink were complimentary.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DANAE from Rosemead, United States recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jul 2007

3

The Checkers was a good hotel not one I would go back too, though!

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5