The Park Chennai

5 Star  

Anna Salai, Chennai, Tamil Nadu - 600 006

Starting from Rs. 5,346 Rs. 4,346
Choose Dates

The Park Chennai, Chennai - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.8/5 Good
(Based on 16 reviews)

100.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.4)
  • Service Quality (3.6)
  • Dining Quality (3.7)
  • Cleanliness (3.9)

The Park Chennai - Individual ratings and reviews:

SUMEET from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Apr 2013

5

I usually stay at the Park in other cities also, as I like the vibrant colours that the hotel uses in its decor. The design is very avante-garde & modern. The service & rooms is usual is excellent. I would love to stay again at the hotel. At the price which they offer it is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PAWAN from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Sep 2011

4

I had high hopes for Park hotel, after all it was a known hotel for biz traveller. But the moment I entered my non-smoking room, I started coughing as the room was stinking with cigaratte smoke. I shouted at the reception and they upgraded me to a superior room. That was a good part. The breakfast was included in the tariff, but the quality of service was not of a five star hotel. Go there if you do not find anything in the city, else you may want to utilize your money at some place else.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJESH from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jul 2011

4

Pleasent stay and comfortable staying there.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MOHAMMADALI from TIRUCHIRAPALLY, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Aug 2010

3

Problems: I was surprised when I realized that swimming pool was not reachable due to maintenance, and the hotel not only did take any action to provide free of cost facilities in another location, but also did not refund the money which earned in this regard as a 5 star hotel. One of the most important things in any trip is relaxation in swimming pool and my first priority in selecting the hotel was the same, that unfortunately destroyed my two days off for getting rest.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.SUNIL from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 May 2010

5

Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRAKASH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Feb 2010

3

The hotel is good,its a business hotel,basically all is average in this hotel like service, quality of food.its a average hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KYLE from dubai, United Arab Emirates recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Feb 2010

5

The stay was very good

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

TEJASWEENI from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Aug 2009

3

This place has a 5 star rating but I would equate it with a 3 or 4 star hotel. The hotel is located on a busy street and this is good for business travelers and short stay but if you want some quiet time and leisure this is not the place stay at since it can get quite noisy even at night. I mean you can hear street sounds all the way up the 5th floor where I stayed at. The security and doorman are dismal. Cleanliness of doors and lobby is average. The room they initially assigned me was a back room and the view was blocked by an incomplete run down building, so when I open my windows there is no sunlight but a dark rundown monstrosity looming. There was work going on in the room right next to mine and on the floor. When I requested the reception via telephone to change my room, they flatly refused saying their rooms only face buildings and they have no rooms with a "view" and in general there were no rooms available at all. I wasnt looking for a "view". I was aware that it is in a business area and room view was not their strong point but I didnt want to look out some huge monstrous gray, ominous building and have the sunlight to my room blocked, besides the noise from the work next door was unbearable. To get their attention, I had to walk to the reception and complain loudly enough that the other guests sympathized with me and the reception staff had to reconsider and magically they had rooms available. I wasnt the only one complaining at the reception though. There were guests with other concerns there too, smoking rooms filling up with smoke for example was one concern I heard. My new room was a bit better and a whole lot less depressing. They had no Wi-Fi per se but a plug and play device which allowed me to use the internet smoothly, although the rates were very steep. Room service was dismal. The coffee we ordered though highly priced was horrible, the milk had gone bad. The staff speaks very basic English and just nods or "okays" at everything. I had to call twice and thrice for someone to collect my laundry. The breakfast had a good spread. Again this 5 star place which is frequented by world travellers has waiters and staff finding it difficult to understand English in a neutral accent. My husband ordered eggs and they were served at the wrong table. So we had hot toast waiting for eggs to show up for quite a while. The buffet dinner was a wonderful spread but very expensive. The room and the hotel decor was lovely and contemporary. There are old film posters everywhere including the rooms. The best part of the room is there bed or rather the mattress. This is the very very best mattress in all of the hotels in India. You just slip down into it and get comfortable. The bathroom is separated from the room by opaque glass but with the lights on one can see the silhoutte of anyone in the bathroom. A little quirky I think but not too disturbing unless you share the room with someone other than your spouse. The pub is very happening place of Chennai and is quite loud and crowded. I think it could be a wonderful place if they could fine tune their service, give English lessons to their staff and have a stricter cleanliness in common areas.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JIBIN from shelton, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2009

3

Not worth for the money

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

S from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Mar 2009

4

The hotel was over all OK. I stayed here some 3/4 years back and at that time it used to be better. I had a sort of different experience in the bar. First, they did not serve any menu card, instead simply asked what I would like to drink. After insisting on the menu card, I ordered normal Chivas Regal double given in the menu card. The bartender told me that there was no normal Chivas Regal and only 18 years old was available which was some three times the cost shown for normal one. I asked why this was printed on the menu when it was not stocked. There was no answer. I ordered a Talisker double and as soon as he poured, he immediately put some 5/7 ice cubes in the glass with out checking with me the number of ice cubes required. When I told I needed only one ice cube, he removed the remaining from the glass. After this, I told him to pour soda. He immediately retrieved one soda bottle which was having only 25% of the remaining and he poured the remaining liquid into the concoction. That soda did not have any fizz and definitely, must have opened the previous day or so. When I told them that there was no fizz in the soda and I did not want that drink, he only looked very helpless. This bar was one of the best in Chennai as claimed by many local magazines and travel write ups. The experience was totally disappointing. This kind of treatment is not expected from a 5 star bar where we end up paying the price of the bottle itself for 2 large drinks!!! Anyway, this is The Park, Chennai for you.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIKRAM from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2009

5

The Park is one of the hotels in Chennai that I stay in a lot. I usually stay in the Residence floors because the service is very good and you get free refreshments in the evenings. The rooms are decent, although we did notice some warping off the laminated wood flooring. But it was not a big deal. The service at the hotel has always been exceptional - definitely better than at the Park in Bangalore. I have tried room service several times and would definitely suggest that discerning palates should avoid their South Indian fare and instead go for their European food. I particularly like their Greek salad and Italian food. I have never had breakfast at the Park even though it is included in the room rate because I know a place in Chennai that serves the very best South Indian snacks. Finally, I need to mention that the Park probably has the best location of all hotels in the city - right at the junction of two of the most important roads in town. (It is across the street from the U.S. consulate, so that's a big plus for those who have to go to the consulate.)

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUVRANGSHU from noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Mar 2008

3

The property was excellent but the room provision was poor. I was embarrassed with the uncomfortable bed and toilet facilities. The staff was attentive. The room service was fast. I checked the breakfast it was average in taste. I stayed in the same group of hotel in bangalore and it was excellent. But this was probably below standard.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAURAV from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Dec 2007

3

Our stay was good in The Park. Deluxe room was basic & fine. We observed that the service was slow and staffs were not efficient, which was not acceptable for five star hotel. Otherwise everything was perfect.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RVR from Domalguda, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Sep 2007

3

It was my official visit. This is a great looking hotel, with excellent interiors. All arrangement was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR.HARSH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Aug 2007

4

The bed was so comfortable that we actually slept better. The food was excellent, especially at the Thai restaurant. I had an excellent stay mainly because of the rooms and the food. This hotel is new, and will probably improve over time. I would expect it to be a great experience in future.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

THOMAS from Monroe, United States recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2007

3

Although this hotel bills itself as a boutique hotel. It appears that the upkeep of the rooms is exceptionally poor. Cracked windows, moldy caulking around the shower, filmsy towels, nothing comes close to the pretensions set by the lobby and the decor. Overpriced cosidering how far it is, slipped since it was first opened.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5