Bolgatty Island Resort (KTDC)

3 Star  

Mulavukadu, Cochin, Kerala - 682 504

Bolgatty Island Resort (KTDC), Cochin - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.9/5 Good
(Based on 12 reviews)

91.7% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.9)
  • Service Quality (3.9)
  • Dining Quality (3.6)
  • Cleanliness (3.8)

Bolgatty Island Resort (KTDC) - Individual ratings and reviews:

VISHAL from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Aug 2010

5

Memorable Stay....Highly recommended

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJAY from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jul 2010

5

excellent resort on the island.liked everything except veg food.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SMITA from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 Feb 2010

2

The name suggest a grand old Palace and to be honest in its day it would have been exactly that. Now sadly, however its has been neglected. When we arrived at night, the main road up to the hotel was shut, which meant we had to go down a back route. I have to say that driving this way filled me with dread as we went down a very narrow lane, surrounded closely by run down houses. I was beginning to think that I would never see another day when we rounded a corner to be confronted by the hotel. At first glance we was very relieved by the look of the hotel. The reception areas is OK but is looking a little dirty and neglected. We was then shown up to our room. The walk up is actually at night quite enjoyable with stone/marble floors leading us to our room upstairs. Its easy to see that in it day this would have been a very grand palace. However we was not prepared form the room that awaited us through the big wooden doors. The room size was good however that is probably the best thing that I can say about this room. The carpets were a horrible green colour, stained in places, dusty and dirty. We was surprised to find that we was not alone in the room either. There were mosquitoes everywhere. Now I would have expected a few bearing in mind that your right on the lake, however the room was full of them, dead ones and alive. Many had been killed against the walls and were still there to be seen. the rest just kept on dive bombing us during the night. We called reception and they did quickly bring us one of those mossie repellent plug in things. The rooms are very basic and do not have simple things like tea and coffee making facilities or a fridge. Bearing in mind the very obvious mossie problem a simple mossie net over the bed would have been such a relief. We then went to check the bathroom, and I really wished we hadn't. The furniture there was very dated and dirty. There was a black stone work top that would have looked very nice if somebody had of just wiped off the dirty water marks. Then there was the bath/shower that was again very dated and on closer inspection had numerous small black curly hairs and a number of dead bugs in the bottom of it. To make matters worse I just happened to glace to me left as I was looking at this to see on the side of the toilet. I will spare you the details but there was something there that had obviously run down the side that should never have been there. It was disgusting. To make matters worse when we called reception and the man came up to look at it he picked at it with his finger and tried to tell us it was a crack or mark on the toilet. I can honestly tell you it was not, and I could have died when the man without washing his hand then went back to continue to change the bedding. The following day we went to breakfast. The room does have a fantastic view and the food was nice. However there was dust everywhere. And there seemed to be a man employed purely just to walk around with a fly swatter. Hearing the electric zap every 30 seconds when your trying to eat is most off putting. We complained and was moved to a better room however it still was dated and lacking general cleanliness and basic facilities. The staff here were very accommodating, and helpful when we spoke to them. This hotel could be a very nice place if it was given some TLC. On numerous occasions staff were seen hanging about chatting and could easily have been used to clean the hotel and help make it back to what would have been a very nice palace at some stage. In all it was a very disappoint stay in what could with a little work be a stunning building and location.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

ASHOK from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Dec 2009

4

Lovely property. Nice rooms. Service a little indifferent.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

YASHWANTH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Oct 2009

4

Really good place to stay. It's a resort in the heart of the city but still very peaceful because it's on a small island. The pool and beer parlor were awesome. Also, the hotel architecture and room quality was excellent. Food was OK, not too great but manageable.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ABRAHAM from kottayamL, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Sep 2009

3

I had visited Bolghatty Island Resort ages ago, when it was not so fancied...and this visit did not go a long way in proving that it had improved. Right from the time the bellboy(aged about 60) came to pick the bag till the time I departed, the feeling was of staying at an old Government Guest House, which it really is. Check in was smooth and we were immediately ushered to the room. The corridoors had seen better days with the paint and the plaster peeling at many places. The room was nice and big, but the A/c controls were stuck at one place with the result that all of us had to hug each other for comfort! A pleasure definitely but not fully part of the plan! The Bathroom had a tub but was not in a condition, one expects in a star resort. We went for a stroll in the evening and found the garden area to be poorly maintained. The resort boasts of a golf course, but I could only imagine how impoverished these putters had to be, playing here. Morning breakfast was a disaster..some on account of the guests as well. There were many wearing lungi and night gowns! But the food which incidentally was quite tasty and lavish, seemed to run out. We had to call at least thrice for the poori and sausages to be replenished and the eggs to order had to be literally taken out from the chef's pan by force. I do not think paying Rs 4500/- odd for such service is fair. The location of the hotel is perfect and if it is entrusted to a good hotel chain, it can prove to be a hidden gem.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

JS from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jul 2009

5

The moment I landed in Kochi, I experienced the excellent service of the Hotel staff. The boat was at the Jetty within 3 minutes. Their front office staff who were present at the jetty coincidentally offered to help me at the jetty with my luggage. The check in was smooth. And wow!the room was excellent, big, neat, up-todate and with a nice balcony overlooking the balcony. The Hotel is very well spread out, scenic with water on one side andlush greenery all round. The pool is in a perfect setting. Staff is exemplary in their service and responsiveness. Kudos to the KTDC staff managing the hotel. Being on a business trip, it was a refreshing experience especially when you wake up in the morning and being surrounded by the beauty of nature. The hotel is not far from the city and quite convenient even for a business traveller.I am surely going to make Bolgatty Palace my permanent fixture at Kochi whenever I visit the place.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JITHESH from Australia, Australia recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2008

5

Location was excellent. Our room was well furnished with modern furniture. Also the breakfast was superb in taste. The service provided by the staff was wonderful. We would love to visit this place again future.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJESH from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 May 2008

4

Everything about the hotel is excellent, great Indian contemporary dining, great lobby area, rooms are well kept, bathrooms excellent, great smell around the hotel. Plenty of activity to keep you in the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMIT S from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Mar 2008

3

We enjoyed our stay here, service was very good. Location was fine.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANAND from Indore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2008

3

Rooms were very neat and clean and the service, which was provided in the room, was very nice. Staffs behavior was very nice and helpful. It was very easy to find the hotel. Over all experience was very nice.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR VIJAY from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Oct 2007

4

It was a very good experience with this hotel. Staff are there to help when you buzz them. Comfortable and clean room with basic facilities provided.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5