Grand Hotel

3 Star  

M G Road, Cochin, Kerala - 682 011

Grand Hotel, Cochin - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.1/5 Excellent
(Based on 28 reviews)

96.4% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4)
  • Service Quality (4.2)
  • Dining Quality (4)
  • Cleanliness (4)

Grand Hotel - Individual ratings and reviews:

BABU from CHANGANACHERRY, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 May 2012

4

I have checked in at Hotel "Sagara" in Kovalam on 8th May by 1300 hrs.The approach road leading to the hotel was in terrible condition.We had welcome drink and we ushered in to our rooms.The hotel is located in a serene and beautiful place in Kovalam near Light House,away from the hustle bustle of the city.Eventhough I had booked Standard A/C rooms,we were allotted Deluxe rooms.I was told that the occupancy rate is only 30%.The lunch was not so good.But the dinnar and breakfast was nice.The whole hotel area is beautifully landscaped and maintained well.Room service was excellent and also the receptionist.Overall the stay was pleasant and enjoyable.I would again come here in future.I would recommend it to my friends as well.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MITHUN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2012

3

Hotel is very near by the station and the location was also good located near MG road. Rooms are good and also the services are good. The hotel is good both for the family and for the business but more for family as the food was nice.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SARAVANAN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 19 Sep 2011

1

The paid & pre-booked hotel room was given to another person. While at the time of check in, nobody was able to answer. No meaning of pre-booking a reservation.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

DEEPAK from gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jul 2010

4

Room service was very slow, had to remind thrice on most occasions.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NITIN from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jun 2010

4

A very good Hotel, bang on MG Road. The room was very goodclean. Staff was polite. However, there were not many dining options for vegetarianswe had to venture out in search of food. A computer to access internet would have been very helpful.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SAMUEL from kawasaki, Japan recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jan 2010

5

This is a perfect place. The front office people have a world class service.The room was very clean and spacious. I recommend this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ARUL MURUGAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Apr 2009

5

We stayed at the Grand Hotel only for a day and a night. The hotel room was quite spacious. Bathroom had some bad smell but it was immediately corrected as soon as I reported it to the house keeping. We had booked an Indigo through the travel desk, but got a free upgrade to Tavera. The reception staff were courteous enough to provide us a room for changing our dress, almost 6 hours after we checked out. The food was delicious, especially we liked their 'Karimeen Pollichathu' and 'Alleppey Fish Curry'. But it required lot of patience to taste the food since the restaurant was crowded most of the times. But it was worth waiting.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DEVDAS from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Feb 2009

3

The hotel was good but it was old fashioned. My room was basic and the cleanliness was ok. Other services provided were quick and prompt however, I would not suggest this hotel for family and groups.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

UDAY from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jan 2009

5

It is very good hotel to stay, room quality is very good, with good service, only problem with is that there is not enough options for vegetarian food. Otherwise its value for money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

TANAY from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Dec 2008

5

Hotel Grand Kochin is one of the old and famous hotel in Kochin and it lived up our expectations. We reached their at 7 in the evening after a tiring journey from Delhi to Kochin. All what we need is a clean, furnished room and a good dinner. Grand hotel not only met our expectations but exceeded. We have booked a Standard room but due to unavailability they gave us a suite. It has separate drawing with minibar and TV. The bed room was pleasant with centrally air-conditioned facility and Wooden flooring. The bathroom very clean, had all the shampoos, moisturizers, shower caps and multi utility kit. Separate shower cubicle with hot and cold running water. Food.. I was bit surprised by the quality of food As I was not expecting good north Indian food in south. The service was very good. The free breakfast was also good having eggs, toast, Hot and cold milk ,cornflakes,fruits and juices and north Indian dishes like poori and kauchauri. Overall, stay was good and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JAYARAM from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Nov 2008

4

Grand is a good value for money. Excellent refurbished rooms and good dining with typical Kerala cuisine. Staff with more than 25 yrs of working experience in the same hotel shows their dedication. Mr. James at Dining hall is very co operative. Overall my stay was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for any one looking for centrally located hotel in Ernakulam.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DK from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Aug 2008

4

Location was prime. My room was well organised with all the facilities. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Even the breakfast was very well served by the waiter of the restaurant, it was delicious. I was quite happy with this property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SURJO from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jul 2008

4

We had a fabulous time in this hotel. Our room was marvelous with pleasant atmosphere. Also the breakfast was lovely in taste. Staff was quick and prompt in their service. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHIVARAM from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jun 2008

4

My stay here was decent. Location-wise I found this hotel very convincing. The room that was provided to my had all the basic facilities. The staff members were cooperative. Also the food served was hygienic. This is a recommendable property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

V K from Trivandrum, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 May 2008

4

Food was very good in taste. Room was perfectly all right with all the basic facilities. Staff were outstanding in their service.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MAHESH from Coimbatore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Apr 2008

5

I have been to this hotel 4th time and my stay was excellent. Room was clean and neat with all the facilities like tea/coffee maker, minibar, fridge etc. Staff tried their level best to keep the guest happy. Breakfast was lovely. I am regular guest of this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SAURABH from Ghaziabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Mar 2008

4

The standard double room was clean and neat with all the facilities. The food was excellent. Staffs are courteous and polite. I liked the property very much.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SATHYA SEKHAR from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Mar 2008

4

The food was below standard. It was oily and not even warm while serving. The staff was supportive and they treat me like a proper guest. The room was clean with clean bed sheet and towel. It was a business tour so I didn't get a chance to try any amenities but overall stay was comfortable.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARINDAM from gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Feb 2008

4

The hotel is good and located at the heart of MG Road. It is generally a busy business locality and still you get quality stay at affordable price. Remember to dine in the restaurant if you are interested in Kerala food, particularly if you think AVIAL is the only kerala food, I strongly reccomend that you have your dinner there...surely you will be pleasantly surprised. Overall I guess it is good value for Money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIKAS from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Feb 2008

5

Standard room was pretty good, service was decent. I am very happy with the stay. Its Value for money. Would recommend this hotel for other travellers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJU from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Dec 2007

3

Hotel was fine. Room was good and basic.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

C S from Thane, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Nov 2007

4

Everything were fine. It's located in heart of the city, rooms were spacious and comfortable with all basic facilities. Also service was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GORANG from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Sep 2007

4

I must say it was great. Staff was very helpful. Excellent service.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

FRANCES from Brisbane, Australia recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Sep 2007

4

The Grand is a very clean and comfortable hotel with a popular restaurant.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. RAMESH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Sep 2007

4

Would like to revisit.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MARIYAPPAN from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Aug 2007

5

It was a excellent experience staying in this hotel and I have already recommended this hotel to my friends and relatives. The food was very tasty of the hotel (chicken and appam). Lobby was very nice of the hotel and it was spacoius to walka around. The hotel is located in the centre of the city. Near the hotel their was a auto stand, bus stand etc.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MAHESH from Coimbatore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 May 2007

4

The Grand Hotel has one of the best restaurants I have been to in Kerala. I recommend it as a great place to try authentic Keralite cuisine, where the menu is easy to follow and has full descriptions in English. Same day laundry is available. Internet facility behind and outside the hotel available for a moderate price. Though a bit shabby for emergency purposes it will do.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MAHESH from Coimbatore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Apr 2007

5

Not only were the rooms nice, but the staff were very helpful. We were also able to book all of our excursions extremely easily. The Grand Hotel has one of the best restaurants I have been to in Kerala. I frankly would recommend this hotel to all as it gives you real value for your money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5