Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

3 Star  

The Mall, Darjeeling, West Bengal - 734 101

Starting from Rs. 3,211
Choose Dates

Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, Darjeeling - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.8/5 Good
(Based on 40 reviews)

97.5% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.6)
  • Service Quality (4)
  • Dining Quality (3.6)
  • Cleanliness (3.6)

Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling - Individual ratings and reviews:

VINAY from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Feb 2014

5

One of the best Hotels in Darjeeling!! Food is not so great but yes compared to other foods avail;able in Dargeeling is way better. the rooms are very clean but accessibility its little way off from the main points but very nearby to Chowrasta.... Very helpful staff!!! Most recommended for stay in dargeeling

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

TIRTHA PRATIM from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jan 2013

5

Good spacious room , clean . The staff was very helpful . Good location , it is just near the mall . Food is good . Overall a good experience .

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ANIRBAN from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2012

4

Enjoyed the stay at the hotel, a decent one. The rooms were relatively big and clean and services provided were satisfactory. The location of the hotel is quite close to the Darjeeling Mall which is a distinct advantage, although the rooms did not offer and good view. Food at the hotel was decent and staff was friendly. Overall a good experience

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VAIBHAV from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2012

3

This hotel holds big name but their service is poor. The quality of the deluxe room given to us was not well maintained. There was dust in and around the room. The geyser at the hotel was also not working properly. TV placed inside the hotel was not working properly. Even for breakfast they had their own timing, although we informed that we need to leave early to catch our flight from Bardogra, they didn't keep the breakfast ready & just provided bread & tea. Only advantage we found while residing in this hotel is that it was close to Mall Rd & Chowkie. So it takes only 5 min walk to go to market area for any work. But very poor room service.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

PRANAV from Katihar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Dec 2011

4

I liked the hotel, location and room service was really good. I will recommend my frnds.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANSHUL from Faridabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Oct 2011

5

The hotel room was too small for a family with kids. Dinner/breakfast was excellent. Location was right in the city centre. Taxis were available in plenty. Hotel staff was cooperative and nice. Overall, its best you can get in this price tag.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MRITUNJOY from Chandannagar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Oct 2011

5

In a word 'Excellent', this hotel situated near mall. Room was well furnished,bed was too much good . All staff was well mannered. We have spend a golden moment with homely atmosphere .

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

GOURAV from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jun 2011

3

They need to improve the quality of their rooms.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DHANANJAY from jagdalpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 May 2011

3

This hotel was shown as a 3 star hotel but is not a 3 star property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRANIL from NAGPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2011

3

Staff were cooperative. Market place is near by. But room tariff is costly and I would not suggest this hotel to family and friends. I would suggest an improvement in the room infrastructure as rooms were small and not very spacious.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SIMON from Arnhem, The recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Apr 2010

4

We booked for two nights in this hotel in the middle of Darjeeling, but due to health conditions we extended our visit with 3 days. The staff was very helpful in arranging this and making our stay comfortable. The hotel is old, but clean and proper. Disadvantages were the bad sound isolation and regular power cuts (it takes some time before the generator is powered up). This last disadvantage however is something that not only troubles this hotel, but almost the entire Darjeeling region. Verdict: pleasant place to stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SOMESH from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Apr 2010

5

Best Hotel to stay in darjeeling according cost, comfort,location and fooding.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAMESH from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2010

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJESH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jan 2010

4

The Deluxe room comes with daily Breakfast which was excellent and tasty. Though the Breakfast is fixed menu, the quality and promptness is well appreciated. Room was neat and with necessary facilities. Linens were okay. But bathroom towels had stains. We asked replacement towels, but that too had stains. Room service was prompt and good. Overall I feel it is good for travelers who doesn't worry too much on the coziness and quality of stay, but worries more on sightseeing in and around the city. The hotel is situated in a very comfortable location with easy access to Taxi, Shops, Mall area, and other sightseeing places in and around Darjeeling.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIKTORIA from Braunschwig, Germany recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Nov 2009

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

PRAKASH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Nov 2009

4

Centrally located , clean rooms and efficient staff. The service was really good considering the holiday season rush. The staff were very helpful to ensure that we had a comfortable stay, and made all the arrangements for our travel and sight seeing. Overall a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MOHAN from Karwar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Oct 2009

4

good and nice atmosphere.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JWALANT from Surat, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Sep 2009

4

Room was very nice though appeared bit old.Not a very excellently maintained one.The best thing about it was the veiw from its window. amazing... About the service- they were quick to respond but room service was not availabe 24 hours. Food was excellent especially the breakfast.We just loved the Alu parathas.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DR NILANG from RAJKOT, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jun 2009

3

Can have better option for the money spent.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIVEK from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Oct 2008

3

Staffs are not that cooperative.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAURABH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jul 2008

3

It is located in the city but there was no good views. If not it is a decent place to stay.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SATISH from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jun 2008

5

The hotels is located in a very convenient place and has easy access to shops, cabs etc. The hotel is well maintained and the staffs are very polite and always ready to help you out. You can have very nice food from the in-house restaurant itself. We found the food very tasty and it is not very expensive also. However you will need to order it in advance and give them about half an hour to prepare it. The good thing is you get hot food of your choice ready for you to come and consume. I would strongly recommend this hotel for stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RUMANULLAH from DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2008

4

It was a well developed property and people were very courteous. The room was maintained properly and service was prompt. The food arrangement was also decent. Its a recommendable property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

N from hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jun 2008

4

We had a decent stay here. There were no complaints as such. The room we were provided was basic. The room service did a good job & the food served was of acceptable quality. This is an above average property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANAHITA from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2008

3

Overall stay was fine. But restaurant should have been more cleaner and more varieties in the menu could add value also service could have been faster. Otherwise our rooms were well kept. Location was very fine.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

KULDEEP from new delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 May 2008

4

This hotel was really worth the price charged. The room was well maintained and service was response on time. The staff was prompt and food was tasteful. The location was decent and no trouble with the arrangement at all. It was the best property at reasonable rates.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.SHRIKANT from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 May 2008

4

The atmosphere was outstanding. The hotel was clean and ambiance pleased me a lot. The room was well maintained and staff was helpful. The food arrangement was also decent and location was exotic. It was an ideal place for summer vacation.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KRISHNA KUMAR from VELECHERY,CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2008

5

This hotel provided excellent service in terms on room, hotel, site tour arrangement etc. Rooms are clean and we had pleasant stay at the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

CHANDRA RAMAN from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2008

4

The hotel is located close to the main market. Rooms were spotlessly clean. The staff was very accommodating and nice. The food was great in taste.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANOJ from New delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 May 2008

3

My super deluxe room was just basic with No good views. Other than that everything was fine, they gave us a choices for complimentary breakfast for 4 days. Service and the location was fine too.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PANNA LAL from Banagalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 May 2008

3

The location was not so convenient. From outside it look like a pretty average property but inside the arrangement was fine. The room was comfortable and food was tasteful but room service was extremely frustrating. The staff was not so responsive and always delay the order.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DR. SUBHASH from Kolhapur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 May 2008

3

The service was prompt and quick. Breakfast was superb in taste. It's quite a nice property. Food was good of the hotel and breakfast was included in my package.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DEEPAK from delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2008

5

The staff were excellent in their service. The hotel is located in the main market close to all shopping areas. We had punjabi food it was amazing in taste. Room was furnished very well with modern furniture. We would love to stay here again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RANJIV from durgapur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2008

3

This is an average property. Our deluxe room was neat, the room service did a decent job. Also the food quality was acceptable. It is an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. ANKUR from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Mar 2008

3

Our Standard Room was fine. Stay was comfortable.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RUPESH from Ranchi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Mar 2008

4

Location was good & we enjoyed our stay for 3 nights. Standard room was fine. Its worth staying.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUBRAT from hyderabad, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 03 Feb 2008

2

Facilities and service was very poor, and they kept on giving excuse every time for late service. Food was ok in taste. Room was very basic and cleanliness was not upto the mark. Its an below average property.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SAURABH from Jaipur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Dec 2007

3

Overall stay was fine. Decent hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MAHESH from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Nov 2007

3

It is an average property. Room was comfortable with all facilities. Staff service was great.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NAGENDER from secunderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Oct 2007

3

It was an Average stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5