Snow Lion Homestay

1 Star  

Gandhi Road, Darjeeling, West Bengal - 734 001

Snow Lion Homestay, Darjeeling - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.1/5 Excellent
(Based on 24 reviews)

100.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4)
  • Service Quality (4.2)
  • Dining Quality (3.7)
  • Cleanliness (3.9)

Snow Lion Homestay - Individual ratings and reviews:

ATANU from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Oct 2011

4

Overall experience in Snow Lion Homestay was a nice experience. The stuffs were very supportive apart from few problems. The bed linens and the towels were never replaced during my 5 night stay. On the last day I had to ask the room service to change the towels at least. The rooms were never cleaned also. Apart from these issues, it was overall a nice experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DONALD RICHARD from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2010

5

One of the few hotels near everything that you can drive up to. They even have parking available. We were greeted with a slik scarf and a pot of tea. Our room was clean and it had wifi internet for free. Breakfast is served in the owners own dining room. They made us feel welcome from the moment we entered. We would definately stay there again!

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PAUL from SERRIERES, France recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Nov 2009

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. PUSPEN from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jun 2009

4

The hotel is in very consusted place,there is no window scene ,all around is building.the rate of these hotel is much high than other hotel.we at last change the hotel and stay in seven seas which is very good compairing this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SATYANARAYANA from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jan 2009

4

I booked this hotel after looking at the very good feedback(rating) from others. Well they were right!! .. The hospitality and service awesome. The rooms are very clean and well furnished.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAY from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jan 2009

5

Hotel is really in safe hands of Mr. Gailly. Exceptional Hospitality at display. Prompt service. More than perfect for a Budget Traveller. Add ons is its Proximity to Chourrasta and Taxi stand.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NISHANT from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Dec 2008

5

I've lived in a number of hotels before and though I've had mixed reactions for all of these, I must say, the Snow Lion Home stay truly is a cut above the rest. Its a 3 star property ( by Darjeeling standards), clean, convenient but most of all it deserves 7 stars for the staff alone. The staff here are so courteous, polite and helpful. Every response came with a gleaming smile first and then a perfect solution always. Darjeeling has a hilly landscape and we wanted directions to a particular restaurant. The very helpful reception lady promptly dispatched a person with us to help us overcome our direction pains. This is one hotel that truly delighted me - DJ is very cold during winter and we were treated to hot water bags during the night to keep the bed and our feet warm. These small nuances go a long way and I hope this home stay continues to be patronized by client�le. Its located about 3 mins walking from the "Chowrasta" which is the center of DJ. There are number of good restaurants nearby and one can hear the clock tower beeping every hour on the hour. Was like living in London next to Big Ben! Great going Snow Lion.....You Rock!

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PIETER from Haarlem, NETHERLANDS recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Nov 2008

4

Above Average

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RK from kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2008

4

Our stay in this hotel was right up to the mark. The location of this hotel is favorable for a vacation stay. The room we stayed in was very well arranged. The room service was brisk. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant so can't comment on the food. But overall this is an above average property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ELVIS from MARGAO, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jun 2008

4

We had a fantastic 3 nights stay here in Snow Lion Homestay. The service provided by the staff was excellent. The location was good. Overall we had a comfy stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SRINIVASAN from hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jun 2008

4

This is an excellent hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was beautiful near the hotel. Our room was nicely arranged, the room service were friendly too. Even the food served was very delicious. Given a chance we would like to come back again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANTHANA from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2008

5

Nice being their.. will sugest others to go their to stay for...

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MADHU from bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 May 2008

4

The room and the bathroom was fairly large and comfortable. Staff was well trained. The breakfast was awesome. Overall, good property to stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIKAS from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2008

3

The cleanliness of the hotel was satisfactory. The staff was very nice. The restaurant is quite clean.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VITTAL from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Apr 2008

4

A very good budget option in Darjeeling. Very friendly staff and excellent location. Neat and clean rooms. They helped us to arrange for a Taxi and Hotel option in Gantok. Highly Recommended by us.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ROHIT from noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2008

3

This hotel is perfect for average budget travelers. The rooms are ok. The food at all the restaurants was tasty.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SRIHARI from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Feb 2008

5

Snowlion Homestay is an excellent choice amongst the many mid-range hotels in Darjeeling. a) It is close to the Mall, the commercial centre of Darjeeling, which is a really good thing. b) The rooms were spotless - they had everything to beat the chill of late January and a minus 2 deg C temperature. c) Room heater was present d) Hot water bags were made available every night. e) 3 layers of blankets ensured that we were kept warm. f) Hot water supply was continuous. g) Room service was prompt. h) The complimentary breakfast was substantial and good too. i) Since it is a homestay, they don't cook within and the room service menu is that of a nearby hotel - inspite of which orders are serviced pretty fast. j) The front desk staff and the hotel owners are always smiling and there to assist with most things - this to me is the best part of the homestay. I can't really think of any minuses of our stay at the Snow Lion Homestay. At a price tag of Rs.1200 per night in the off season, one must certainly not miss staying here while in Darjeeling

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JULIANA from Skillman, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jan 2008

5

The Snow Lion homestay was an excellent choice. The family was very accommodating. They served us breakfast every morning, and woke us up with a steaming pot of tea. Electric heaters and hot water bottles at night made the cold weather bearable. We defintely reccommend this home stay to anyone travelling to Darjeeling!

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SHEKHAR from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Dec 2007

5

An excellent value for the money for a budget travelers. Services were fascinating. I was highly impressed by the room size with dressing table in it, also beautiful hill views from the window. The bathroom was very much comfortable. It never took more than 10 minutes for an order to arrive.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ROHIT from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Nov 2007

4

The quality of service and room was outstanding, much better than we expected. Overall great value.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR S K from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jul 2007

3

There are hardly 6 rooms available in the hotel. Hotel is newly constructed and they need to renew some rooms. Only location was good with hill view.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GOPAL from Meerut, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jun 2007

3

Hotel is good. Not happy with the breakfast as there was no variety. Staff is good and polite. It is situated near the market. It was very clean and a great place. We will remember our experience. I also promised to go back, but for a longer stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. SAURABH from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jun 2007

3

We have just returned after a stay of 2 days at this wonderful place. The staff did their best to make our stay as comfortable & enjoyable as ever. Please do not expect star rated facilities here, but the efforts these wonderful guys & gals take to make s tay comfortable more than makes it up for me. We are glad we stayed at this location, and would surely want to stay at the same place if we were to visit Darjeeling again.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR S K from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2007

4

We stayed at a Tibet hotel, snowlion homestay and it was our first time actually experiencing their culture. Very hospitable and efficiently managed. We loved the tibetan dishes and the sheets were always fresh. We were presented tibetan scarves by the fa mily when we left, so touching anyway will cherish this trip for a long time.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5