The Oriental

2 Star  

M G Road, Gangtok, Sikkim - 737 101

Starting from Rs. 3,978 Rs. 3,618
Choose Dates

The Oriental, Gangtok - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.2/5 Excellent
(Based on 21 reviews)

100.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4.1)
  • Service Quality (4.1)
  • Dining Quality (4.1)
  • Cleanliness (4.2)

The Oriental - Individual ratings and reviews:

CHANDAN from PATNA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 May 2013

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJESHWAR from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Jun 2010

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NIRAJ from BHILWARA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2010

3

Only good thing is with this hotel is location & room cleaniness. Good Location as situated on Main M.G Market.Room is clean but are small. Bathroom is extremely small.Housekeeping & other services are very very poor.complementary tea is not served before 6.30 AM at any cost.you can keep ringing phone in the morining but nobody picks up till 7 AM. It takes at least 1 hour to serve ordered food in the room.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMITAVA from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 May 2010

4

The location of the hotel is very good, right on the M.G.Marg.The rooms are small but neat and compact .Normally the hot water is available only up till 10 in the morning. Again for few hours in the evening. But on our second day of the stay , the hot water system was not working and we were provided with bucket of hot water in our room.The shower attachments in the bathroom came off the wall when I tried to adjust the temperature of the water. The decor of the hotel is very tastefully done . The staff are well behaved and good but the hotel does not have enough staff. Often there is no one to answer the phone or to attend to the room service . The dining room on the ground floor provides good food . Our stay was pleasant in this hotel .

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BAL KRISHAN from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

4

It is a small hotel but its maintenance and cleaniness is very good. Food is good but its options are limited. Room service and deallings with staff was excellent. On the whole we were quite happy with our stay there and would not repeating our visit if we get a chance again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JIGNESH from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2008

4

Its a very good property with wonderful rooms. The services and the food options were quite good. Its really a value for money property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUHSIL from new delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2008

3

My room was maintained well. Staffs were very good in their service. Breakfast and dinner was tasty. I recommend this hotel to anyone. Rest all the things were in order.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AVISHEK from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 May 2008

5

The hotel is located in a very strategic place which is close to all the happening places of Gangtok, yet it is in silent surroundings. Food, especially the breakfast in the morning is very good and the service is great.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NIMITA from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 May 2008

5

The room was not only beautiful, but extremely comfortable. Staff was well equipped with all the facilities. We had food in the hotel it was lovely in taste. It is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

GOPALANA from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Apr 2008

5

The hotel is very good, located close to the central mall (M.G. Road) and convenient. Room service was very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler who wants to stay in Gangtok.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

OP from Dehradun, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Mar 2008

4

The stay was fine. The room was common but comfort level and cleanliness was up to the mark. The staff was energetic and quite alert. The service was very smooth. I tasted the food, it was average in taste. The location was somehow manageable. It was a good budget hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BHANU from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Mar 2008

4

The standard double room was excellent, good interiors. Staffs are helpful and friendly. The food was very good in taste in the restaurant. It was a lovely stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANAND from Faridabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jan 2008

5

The room was in general good, but what surprised me was that there was no heating! Thankfully this was not a particularly cold winter, but its unthinkable that a 3 star hotel at such a cold place does not have heating! Apart from that the attendants were pretty well behaved and helpful, the service was also as expected..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJAY from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Aug 2007

4

The rooms are neat, the bathroom was also clean but the toilet was very small so it was not comfortable to sit. Staff service was very helpful. We had our breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant. For breakfast we had cornflakes, but it was a buffet. Dinner was dal, hapatti and some mix vegetables which was very tasty. From each and every room of the hotel the view is not good as you can only see the road. The lobby was very small of the hotel but whatever I paid was value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. KAUSHIK from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jun 2007

3

Had a nice stay at the hotel. It is near to a taxi stand and has a market close by. A very averge hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DHATTATRI from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jun 2007

3

Located in the heart of the city this hotel is easily accessible to many places. A journey from bagadora for 4 hours to reach this place. The hotel is a good place to stay they provided complimentary breakfast. Room service was fine however the hot water.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DR. ROHIT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jun 2007

4

I must say that the hotel was very impressive. We stayed for 2 nights at the Oriental. The room was comfortable and clean. Staff were very helpful and polite. We ordered food in our room. Would definitely stay there again if I visit Gangtok in future.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

P K from Jaipur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2007

5

This place is good for relaxation and peace. The place is totally green and pollution free. Its law and order is wonderful. The atmosphere is healthy. Chinese food is great. Service is good. Staff is polite. However it is not good for shopping. Nathula, xangu lake and zero point is worth visiting. Valley is great. Kids enjoy at these places.angu lake and zero point is worth visiting. Valley is great. Kids enjoy at these places. PK Jain

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DR.G from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2007

4

Hotel Oriental is centrally located in the city. We stayed in a standard room with attached bathroom. It has hot and cold water facility, telephone, television and refrigerator. The polite hotel staff served us with a complimentary bed tea and breakfast (paratha & bhaji).

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJKUMAR from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 May 2007

5

FANTASTIC......one hellavu hotel in this part of the north east.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRIYA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2007

4

Gangtok is a fantastic place to visit. Hotel Oriental was a very good place to stay which was very neat and clean. Probably serving the best food in Gangtok. My stay there was real value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5