Sun Village Resorts and Spa

4 Star  

Arpora, Goa - 403 518

Sun Village Resorts and Spa, Goa - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.1/5 Excellent
(Based on 32 reviews)

96.9% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4)
  • Service Quality (3.6)
  • Dining Quality (3.8)
  • Cleanliness (4.1)

Sun Village Resorts and Spa - Individual ratings and reviews:

MUKESH from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Nov 2011

3

This Was My Second Stay at this Property. My Prime Reason was the Connectivity this Property It Offers around to The Prime Locations It Offered. I Checked In at 10 am and thanks to the Hotel for Offering Me a Room that Very Moment Considering Check in Time is 2 pm which I never Saw while making a Booking at that Time. After Getting Into the Room I was Shocked that They have offered Me a Twin Bed Whereas I Checked In With My Wife. I called Up the Reception and Was Told Not to Make the Room Dirty and They Will See to the Request.The Way It was Told to Me Was a Pure Instruction rather a Request? Anyway My Room was Changed at 2 Pm.But When I entered the Room I Found the Look and Feel along with Amenities Not to the Standard Of the Last Room Offered To Me To which When I Complained To the Housekeeping they Said this Room is Standard Where as I Booked a Superior Room.I Complained on this to the Hotel Management to Which I got a Assurance that Requested amenities Will Be Provided But Same was Never Done. Hotel Certainly need Improvement in Area like. BATHROOM -AS BAD AS ANY 2 STAR OR HOTEL NEAR BY RAILWAY STATIONS. EVERY NOOK AND CORNER EXTRA BEDDING KEPT IN PASSAGE. I EVEN SAW OLD UTENSILS CLEARENCE LYING FOR 2 DAYS CATS ROAMING AROUND SWIMMING POOL AND INSIDE RESTAURANTS STAFF SEEMS NOT TO UNDERSTAND YOUR REQUESTS IT WAS A HOTEL WHERE THEY WERE PROVIDING FACTORY SERVICES. I STRONGLY BELIEVE THAT THIS FEEDBACK WILL NOT MAKE A DIFFERENCE TO THEM . MY RECOMMENDATION FOR FELLOW TRAVELLERS DO CHECK OTHER PLACES THE ONLY GOOD THING SUN VILLAGE OFFER IS BETTER ACCESABILITY.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMESH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2011

4

This hotel is pretty old. The room is big enough but the bed& the bathroom are very old. There is no bathtub or hand shower in the bathroom. My room was given at 4th floor. actually from the reception it is 5th floor. There is no lift in the building. It is very tough to go every time. Travel Guru should give option as With Breakfast and Without Breakfast while booking. It will really helpful for the pure veg guys like me.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NARENDRA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jun 2011

4

The hotel is located some 40+ Kms from the airport, it takes almost 1 hour to reach there. Its a huge property. The rooms are spacious and maintained neat and clean. Room service is not up to the mark in the varity of food and service standard. It takes almost 30 minutes for ready made tea and empty cups are removed the next day. A live band plays at poolside in the evening and tourists enjoy free style shaking them selves with it. The bar is self service one and one has to help him/her self. The buffet lunch/dinner/breakfast served at the restaurant consists many varity of food and sumptuous. The chef Mr.Josef himself pays attention to every guests and ensure the satisfaction of each guest. Overall, its a good hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PURUSHOTTAM from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Apr 2011

4

Due to terrible services & limited dinning we restricted our needs required for one day stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ZUBER from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jul 2010

3

hotel is located at very good areaalso nice environment, but room provided us is on 3 rd flooralreadt that building is on top so almost 5 floor stairs we have to pass to reach the room, food only indian available all the time ni italina mxicancontinental food availabletaste also no that kind. hotel not provided even pickupdrop

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAURABH KUMAR from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 May 2010

3

Room quality was good and so was the location of the hotel (close to Anjuna, Baga and Calangute beaches). Bathroom curtain had some signs of fungus but it was overall clean. The food was really bad and it was hard to choose even a single thing to eat in the buffet spread. Housekeeping was also poor and we had to wash the cups ourselves every time we made tea. The housekeeping staff simply did not turn up when called.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRASHANT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Feb 2010

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MADAN from Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jan 2010

5

I am very much happy with this hotel its fantastic.Will definately visit this same hotel for my next visit to Goa.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. ASHISH from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Nov 2009

5

The resort is just excellent and also located conveniently at quiet place and away from Hush bush of crowd. The overall ambiance of resort, facilities and especially the dinner arrangements are fabulous..and is ideal place for those who want to chill out in North Goa.. Room was very big with all amenities.. But yeah ambiance was bit basic.. I mean Bathroom was not at all up to mark if I compare with resort.. So anybody fond of good bathroom, may get disappointed.. Otherwise all in all it was wonderful stay there..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NEELIMA from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Nov 2009

5

The hotel is a wonderful place for couples as well as families. We extended our stay for 3 more days. The facilities are excellent and all guests are given homely treatment. It was a home away from home for us. Though we think the staff quality has some scope for improvement. Close to baga and calangute beach, one can book a motor bike and roam in the interiors of goa as well. Overall an experience to cherish.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NISHANT from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Oct 2009

3

I am surprised how this hotel is given a 4 star rating. We had booked 4 rooms and had a horrible experience with staff and service. Though the rooms are decent for the price, the staff is pathetic. They are slow and have no idea about most things at the hotel. Breakfast was bad and food below average.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ADITYA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Dec 2008

5

Value for money for sure.. Like most of us i read many mixed reviews about this property before I finally decided to book it. I felt that the rooms were spacious, neat, clean and well decorated. The room service could do better in terms of more options for veggies, but I guess thats a problem with most hotels in Goa. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating and went out of their way to please us. I went with family, so wanted the place to be quiet and solitary. The location of the hotel seemed perfect. Though they say that the Baga beach is near by, I must say it seems to be not true. It takes the hotel cab about 10 mins to reach Baga beach, so the distance certainly cannot be what the hotel says it is. There are not many shops around the hotel so again for shopping one has to take a cab. The food in terms of breakfast (which is complimentary in all plans) was excellent with many veg and non veg options. The lunch is not much, mostly just a buffet option at 325 each, which seems over priced. Same goes for the dinner as well (priced at 375 for a buffet). The hotel facilities were the best part of my visit. The swimming pool is very clean, neat and temperature controlled. The crowd is very nice and comforting. The steam, jacuzzi and massage are reasonably priced and value for money. The games room and recreation options are good. One may argue if its a 4 star property, but this was my 3rd visit to Goa and I had stayed in 3 stars previously. So i can definitely say that it is far better than them and definitely a 4 star by Gaon standards. I would like to mention the fact that the hotel staff is very nice. We checked out at 12 noon as per the schedule, but our bus was to leave from MAPUSA at 9:30PM. So we had about 9 hours to kill, mapusa bus stand is only about 20 mins from this property. With the Ind-Eng ODI on the same day we asked the hotel if they could help us. The hotel provided us with their Bar (called sundowner) which has a television and is air conditioned. We were allowed to sit there and watch the cricket match till 9PM and it was really very helpful. All in all its a great place and good value for money!

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VEERA from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Oct 2008

4

Overall the stay was pleasant. The hotel is clean and located in a prime area very close to Baga and Calangute. A lot of activities are available for guests and the swimming pool is nice. - The things that can be improved upon are placing stuff in rooms like toiletries and drinking water. - Service can be a bit more personalized. Staff can be more friendly/personal. - In a place like Goa which is so hot the hotel should allow comforts like AC. Moreover, the cab was not at the airport after repeated reminders and we had to wait for 45 minutes. This was the case with a lot of guests. Also, the drivers are very curt.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRADEEP from Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Oct 2008

3

I would rate our stay in Sun Village as an average property. The room size is very good and it is very convenient. The service is average as repeated follow ups were required most of the times. They seem to have taken it lightly and respond at their convenience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAUGATA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Oct 2008

3

The Hotel: The Hotel is decent but quite far from the beach, though they have a two-hourly beach pickup and drop service. The hotel is reasonably spread-out and is presumably a 4* property. The facilities were decent, but may not qualify for a 4* rating, in my perception. The Room: The first room that we were put-in were smelling badly and then we asked for a change of room, which was much better than the previous room. The room facilities are quite good. Dining Options: We were in AP, and all the meals were included. The breakfast was the high point of the dining options, the lunch and dinner can only be termed average (both on options and quality of food). The Staff: The front office staff was rude in one occasion, but otherwise, the staff was reasonably helpful. Overall: Overall, a decent stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VAIBHAV from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Aug 2008

4

Location was exotic. The beach was close to the property so it was quite enjoyable. Service was prompt and staff was attentive throughout the stay. Food was also tasteful and room alloted to me was clean one. I was impressed with their overall arrangement and probably select the same hotel next time also.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KARAN from INDORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Aug 2008

5

Hotel is located very close to the beach. Our room was clean and spacious with all the necessities. Staff members were willing to help us anytime. Also breakfast was tasty and it was served very well by the waiter of the restaurant. This is an excellent hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VINAY from CHANDIGARH, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Aug 2008

5

Very beautiful location. Very close to beach but far away from airport. In total good stay and nice experience. Keep it up. Great time in sun village Goa.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJAY from Ahemedabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2008

4

The service is good and the staff is helpful and polite. The food was very tasty but very few items were available. The location of the hotel was nice.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PREETI from DAHISAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2008

4

The management was poor. They didn't provide any pick up from the airport and I reach there early morning they didn't provide any breakfast. Otherwise there was no problem at all. The staff was obedient and food was delightful. The property was located near the Baga beach so it was quite enjoyable stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AMEET from secunderabad, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 24 May 2008

2

Room was not up to my expectation as the interiors were of old style and the cleanliness was also missing out in the room. Service is poor of the staffs. The food was pathetic in taste. The beach was far from the hotel. We used swimming pool only that was clean.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SANDEEP from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 May 2008

4

We booked the room with package, which has many inclusions & It was a pleasant stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SRUSTHTI from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2008

5

Staff were willing to help us anytime. Room was excellent with modern interiors. Food was fantastic. It is worth the money charged.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NAVEEN from Faridabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2008

3

The beach was too far from the hotel. Room was fine having all the facilities. Staff are nice in their service. The food was average in taste. Overall it was an average stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. SHAILENDRA from Indore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Mar 2008

5

Wonderful stay at the resort. Room was large. Service was upto the mark. They had a attached restaurant in which they served different varieties of food with great taste. Staff was very helpful and to co-operative with all the guest.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR.RAKESH from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Mar 2008

5

It was up the mark.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DR ALAIYI from NEW DELHI, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Dec 2007

5

Most things were good, but I was disappointed with the recurring problem I had with the TV (losing signal intermittently on all channels!) which never got looked into despite my complaining to reception twice and being told they would sort it out!!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR GAURAV from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Dec 2007

4

We stayed at hotel for 3 nights. I booked a standard room, which is very spacious. The room service and cleaning staff seems to be persistent with service requests. Food was ok. The reception staff and the Manager was very good and helpful. The location is good. We would stay again in this hotel, on our next visit to Goa.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PARESH from Mumbai, Indonesia recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Nov 2007

4

Extremely rude managerial staff. Poor in interaction and communication with customers. So much so that our drop vehicle to airport left without us, just becoz we were not present at reception at that minute! I guess they give a damn about customers who have paid in rupees and not dollars. customer satisfacton is definitely NOT their motto!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VINEY from ludhiana, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Oct 2007

4

Room was fine. Service is friendly. We had a real good time.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUNIL from Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jun 2007

5

Good experience with hotel stay. We had lunch/dinner at hotel restaurant and the food was very nice and tasty.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VAHAGURU S. from Chandigarh, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Mar 2007

5

Wonderful hotel. Every year, I visit Goa I just book this hotel. I recommend it to all travelers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5