Umaid Mahal Heritage Castle

3 Star  

Bani Park, Jaipur, Rajasthan - 302 016

Umaid Mahal Heritage Castle, Jaipur - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.8/5 Good
(Based on 47 reviews)

91.5% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4)
  • Service Quality (3.7)
  • Dining Quality (3.4)
  • Cleanliness (3.9)

Umaid Mahal Heritage Castle - Individual ratings and reviews:

ASHOK from JAIPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Dec 2014

5

I did it first time but amazingly it was hastle free . I would like to make this option of booking regualr affair. Ambience excellent.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AKSHAY from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Mar 2014

4

This is a very very good hotel. It is exactly as advertised, actually a little better than advertised! We were pickup from the airport in an Ambassador (which I consider a vintage car) brought back fond memories of childhood days! While approaching the hotel we were skeptical about the the condition the hotel would be in and what deviation (from the hotel website & other information on this site as well as Tripadvisor) we would find. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived there. The checkin was smooth, the bags were delivered to the room in time and the staff was courteous. The room was spick & span and so was the entire hotel and its premises. We were a little disappointed with the breakfast on day 1 because of the spread. However, day 2 breakfast spread did not let us down. During dinner staff's perception of "spicy food" was not in line with our perception. But once we told them, the subsequent "Laal Maas" had the right about of spice. I do not consider this an issue at all because it is natural for food to be made with very little spice in hotels where non-indians stay. The only issue we faced at this hotel was during the city tour. The driver had provided false information about some of the landmarks and had also over-charged us parking fees. However, I'm happy that once it was brought to the notice of the Manager and the travel desk it was promptly addressed and investigated. I do not know what the action taken was but I hope they will have introduced some checks & balances to make sure this type of event does not occur in the future. Also, I would've rated "Room Quality" as Excellent instead of Good if it had a four poster wooden bed and a bathtub :)

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAMEER from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jan 2014

4

Overall it was a good stay in a quiet and clean area. there are no shops around the hotel so be prepared before you get in with all your requirements.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

CHRISTABELLE from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jul 2013

5

The hotel was a surprise for us. The service was value for money. The room was awesome and well done to keep in mind the traditional look. The reception and the staff were excellent. They helped is book tickets to Agra and were very efficient. The breakfast again was awesome and had quite a variety. Amazing service and ambience for such a low tariff.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MANU from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Oct 2012

4

The Hotel is located in Bani Park area which is a residential area. This area is outside the tourist places and we had to ask for directions many times as we were driving on our own. It is not a heritage hotel but rather a hotel created in a heritage design. The hotel itself is quite small. The rooms are done up tastefully and have all things in rajasthani style. Room was comfortable and clean. Dining menu was expensive though the breakfast was quite good and included in the room rent. It was an OK hotel though we were a bit disappointed because of the claim of being heritage.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MONA from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Oct 2011

3

Being new to Jaipur it was a little difficult for us to find the hotel, but once there it was a pleasant sight with the beautiful ornate doorway. being less than 5km from old Jaipur, hawa mahal, city palace and jantar mantar are very easy commutes. it took us a while to settle into our room becuase we really liked the first and second flors but our rooms were assigned on the ground floor which is not as beautiful as the other two. booking almost a month in advance i had expected to be assigned the best ones available! We were 4 adults and one 8yr old and had booked two delux rooms. one of the rooms had some problem with the a.c. plug so i had to change the room to a corner one which was slightly smaller than the original.we were not provided the third towel for the child, and the towels were not changed the next day inspite of reminders because due to heavy rain their laundry was not dry. at the time of checking out they demanded extra payment for the 8 yr old child and i told them we had already paid the same at the time of booking. travelling with the elderly and children, i had requested the hotel to let our luggage be in one room if it was not let out so we could freshen up before leaving after a day of site seeing, but they had our luggage out inspite of the rooms being vacant. after much persuasion and half an hour of waiting they did open one room for 10 minutes so that everyone could use the toilet as the common lobby toilet is not too clean. we had wanted to have a round of tea before leaving but as it took me almost an hour to sort out the extra payment matter that the rest of the group decided to skip the tea. at my request, they did tag our bags and leave it behind the reception instead of the leaving them in the open lobby as per their system. so, although it being a nice hotel its service left much to be desired.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOHIT from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Oct 2011

5

Very nice property, I enjoyed my stay there and frankly telling its worth for money. If I'll go to Jaipur again then will stay only at Umaid Mahal.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VAMSI KRISHNA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Aug 2011

3

Hotel Categorization and Location: Umaid Mahal is not a heritage property and is located in a residential area of Jaipur. The hotel is located well in the interiors but I guess is reasonably well known. You may not have a problem reaching it. The hotel interiors and exteriors are well done to give it a palatial look. Room: The room (Royal Deluxe) we got was small than what we expected going by the pictures on the site. When asked we were told that all the 30 odd rooms they have are different in size and layout. So be careful when you opt for rooms. All the rooms have balconies but again one has to be sure what is in front of the balcony. Our room had a dirty wall of the neighbors staring at us. When we asked them for a change, they refused saying all other rooms were occupied. However, as I walked around, I found most of the rooms unoccupied. Some of the rooms were bigger and more spacious that what we were provided. However, the rooms are all artistically done. Once in the room you feel nice about the stay. Basic Facilities: The bath linen they provided was dirty and we had to actually make a couple of calls to actually get them in the first place. Laundry service is available though I felt the prices were a tad on the higher side. The TV was not working when we switched it on. It got fixed only after 7-8 calls and three technician visits. There is a DTH connection available so you will get most of the popular channels. Food: The food we ordered for lunch was not up to the mark. The remaining meals we had outside the hotel. But the breakfast spread was excellent. Taste wise again, I may not give very high rating to it but the choice was there (Continental and Indian). I am a simple eater and i get easily pleased with anything that is palatable. The food here failed to do that. In case you love food, and seek perfection then there are better eating options in the city. Service: This is one area the hotel needs to improve a lot. You do not find a smile on their face. And nothing comes to you without making an effort. You have to demand for service they do not offer any on their own. Final Remark: It is not among the cheaper hotels in the city. You can stay there but eat out. Don�t go to it assuming it to be a heritage building. It is new but built in the old style. Expect basic minimum service. No one is going to delight you.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIVEK from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2011

5

No Doubts...Please..

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

WASIM from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Apr 2011

5

The hotel was well built and with basic amenities in the room. Staff were very cooperative and helpful. There were varieties in food items both indian and continental. Surroundings were clean and hotel is easily located.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ABHINEET from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Mar 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR.SANJAY from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Feb 2011

3

This was my personal trip I went with my family. Hotel was very good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PREM from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2010

4

Hotel was not really a Mahal but they have made the so and it was an excellent which actually valued for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. VIRENDER from Faridabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2009

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. SHYAM from Faridabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2009

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. YASHPAL from Faridabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2009

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DEBASHISH from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Oct 2009

4

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October 2009. This is indeed a very nice hotel. The rooms are very spacious, with granite flooring. The bathroom is also very neat and clean with most of the modern amenities available. The spread of breakfast is not that good and I find that the service quality is not upto the mark. However, it is a good value for money and I would definitely recommend this for the next visit.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SATEN from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jan 2009

4

The rooms were well kept and bathrooms were also nice..the property is excellent value for money and well located...good if one wants to have an economical stopover...food was very average..the terrace eating area was clean and good ambiance. We felt quite comfortable considering this was the first time we stayed in a less then 5 star property...we stayed for a night to break our journey to Ranthambore from Delhi.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KRISHNA KUMAR from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jan 2009

5

The hotel is in excellent area of Jaipur. The roof top arrangements are excellent. To sum it I would say its an excellent hotel for the price one has to pay. Its much above then a three star hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SATISH from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Oct 2008

3

It was very difficult to locate the hotel. The passage from the room to the lobby was very congested and the room was also very small in size. The breakfast was average in taste and it is served in an open area. There was no a/c at the reception and the lobby, and the service was very poor.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

LUCA from angone, Italy recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Sep 2008

4

Very good hotel with green marble pavements. Nice furnitures and esthetics. Breakfast too small and slow service.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AYAN from Faridabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Sep 2008

4

Staying in Umaid Mahal was a very satisfying experience. The hotel is is located very near to station as well as heart of the city. Even if you do not want to hire car, you will always get auto-rickshaw just outside the hotel gate. The best part of this heritage hotel is its rooms - very specious, with a small balcony, excellent bathrooms & dressing rooms. The hotel interior is traditional Rajasthani and very gorgeous and it has all modern amenities like a nice swimming pool, excellent roof top restaurant. There is a very good Ayurvedic massage parlor very near to the hotel and it has a free pick-up from the hotel. Hotel provides a healthy complementary breakfast and the food quality is good. My only suggestion is the hotel should be a bit professionally managed, adequately manned in kitchen to ensure a quick delivery. Hotel also arranges for car for visit to Chowki dhani and City tour.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHEKHAR from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Aug 2008

4

Location was beautiful. Our room was well equipped with the needful amenities. The food served was really tasty, also the staff members were friendly & guided us accurately. It is worth the money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SURESH from Hawda, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 30 Jun 2008

2

The stay was not so desirable as there was trouble throughout the stay. The room was not so decent and service was slow. The food arrangement and location was also not satisfactory. I will never recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

VEENA from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jun 2008

4

It was a great experience with this property. Our room was lovely with all the amenities. We would recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

YUSUF from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 May 2008

4

We had a satisfactory stay in this property. The ambiance was very pleasant. My room was very beautiful & well arranged. Also the food quality was appreciative. The housekeeping was quite good. This is an above average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PHANI from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 May 2008

5

The room was marvelous with all the amenities. All staff members were approachable. Its a well known property in Jaipur. Overall great stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.SAJJAD from Gurgaon, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 10 Apr 2008

2

Everything was not upto the mark, its not even close to the 3* property. Basic thing were missing in the room. Staff service was poor and the food was bad in taste.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

KARAM ALI from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Mar 2008

4

We stayed in Umaid Mahal-it was really awesome place to stay at, all was well especially the service and the ambiance. Food was good too. Royal Deluxe Room was pretty good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MARINA from staines, United Kingdom recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Feb 2008

3

This is not a 5 star hotel. The facilites were very limited. The service at the bar and restaurant were not good. We wanted to book treatments and were told the only therapist was away for a wedding!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GURBACHAN from Farmington, United States recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Feb 2008

4

Above Average

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAM from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Feb 2008

3

We planned for two nights stay in Jaipur. The check in was efficient, and the room very nice. I was particularly happy with the bed, which were quite comfortable. Breakfast was complementary.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AVINASH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2008

4

The Royal Deluxe Room in where we stayed was excellent. Staffs were caring and always ready for any help. The breakfast was wonderful in taste in the restaurant. The location was very good near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. P K from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2008

5

The stay was wonderful in this hotel. Staffs were very kind and polite in their work. Rooms were clean and neat with all the facilities. I had my meal in the hotel it was excellent in taste. It is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRADEEP from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Feb 2008

4

Identifying/Locating hotel at jaipur is very difficult. Hence map indicating direction will be helpful to identify. Reception is to be improved.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JATINDER from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jan 2008

5

Hotel is located centrally in the main city. Rooms were excellent with all the basic facilities. Staffs were co-operative and helpful. I had my breakfast in the restaurant it was very good in taste.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AJAYA from delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Dec 2007

3

My two night stay was average. Food options needs to be improved in the restaurant.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANOJ from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Dec 2007

5

The room are spacious and clean, and reasonably well appointed. Staff were quite helpful. The restaurant is a bit expensive for dinner and not that great, but complimentary breakfast was fine.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MANUJ from faribadad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Nov 2007

3

The hotel was awesome. The bad part was the dining options and the slow service.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MONA from noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Oct 2007

3

Overall stay was good, but we were little disappointed, as it is more of a guest house not a hotel. No garden, completely enclosed. Parking is another problem.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

REKHA from THANE WEST, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 29 Aug 2007

2

The hotel does not even have a restaurant. how is it then a 3 star hotel?

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SANJAY from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Aug 2007

4

Over all my experience was good. But it is not near to airport. The food at the hotel restaurant was not so tasty. So I suggest improving the quality of food. Room was perfect for 2 adults.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. AMIT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Aug 2007

5

Our room which had a small balcony was spectacularly decorated. Room was clean and tidy. There is a small dinning room and one can also dine on a large communal balcony. The owner was extremely helpful. No alcohol is served or permitted on the premises.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRABHAKAR from faridabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Aug 2007

5

This hotel makes for exciting stay. We were truly satisfied.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BABU LAL from HDFC, does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 11 Jul 2007

2

If the hotel improves their dinning facility and quality of food it will be further opportunity to enjoy this hotel with full satisfaction and worth of money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. MUNISH from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Mar 2007

3

Good hotel with beautiful interiors.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHADDIK from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Mar 2007

5

I enjoyed staying at this property with my family. Very clean hotel and the dining was memorable.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5