Hotel Varun

3 Star  

Kashmir Road, Katra, Jammu & Kashmir - 182 301

Hotel Varun, Katra - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.8/5 Good
(Based on 53 reviews)

94.3% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.8)
  • Service Quality (3.8)
  • Dining Quality (3.7)
  • Cleanliness (3.8)

Hotel Varun - Individual ratings and reviews:

MANAN from AHMEDABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Feb 2014

4

reasonable and good hotel for stay. and also best price given.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NAVNEET from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jan 2014

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MANOJ from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jan 2012

5

The stay was very good and the food and location also was value for money

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SURAJ from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Dec 2011

4

The location of the hotel was good, the staff behavior was also good at the hotel , overall it was a good stay at the hotel I will rate this hotel as above average hotel I will recommend this hotel to my friends for future bookings.its a budget hotel with true value for money.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANOHARAN from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Nov 2011

3

overall it was a very good stay at the hotel I will recommend this hotel to my friends for future bookings.The staff behavior of the hotel was good,Location of the hotel was good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

CHINTAN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jun 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DEV from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2011

5

The hotel is excellent for person on pilgrimage to Katra. The room was quite clean with geyser, TV and excellent view of the hills. I was fasting hence I ordered Zeera Potato. The preparation was brought to me quickly and was quite tasty. Hotel Manager was very courteous to guide me to undertake my Yatra. When requested for transport to drop me and pick me up from Helipad, I was provided a Taxi without any extra charge. THAT WAS REALLY A VERY GOOD GESTURE ON PART OF HOTEL VARUN. On the last day after I checked out I was provided car upto Katra Bus Stand. I would love to stay in Hotel Varun in my next visit.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAHUL from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Mar 2011

4

Good value for money. Hotel staff is very courteous and cooperative. Complimentary drop to the central Bus stand and Ban Ganga was a value add. Breakfast was also good. Overall a good experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

YOGESH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 19 Aug 2010

2

One can't even think of going to stay in a jungle with junglee's but at hotel varun I have stay. The worst part was the room very dirty, food was worst. We had infant with us but honestly room service was so terrible. Guys don't visit it as this hotel is bit far from main Market and the hotel don't even provide drop facility, they just give excuses for not dropping to Market.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SATISH from SOLAN, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jul 2010

4

The hotel people are very co-opeartive and honest. Locationwise also, the hotel is quite good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR SANDEEP from LUDHIANA, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 05 Jul 2010

2

Hotel was easily accesable While arriving at the hotel we checked infound the room was too dirty to live in we changed to roomsecond room provided to us also not very clean. We ordered for a pair of cup of tea to get refesh but it took around 30 minute to tea to come. We orderd for the lunch which came to us in more than 1 hour. In the evenning we ordered milk for our baby which came to us after 45 minutes that too a powder milk . Keeping in view the above said we decided to have our denner out side. Over all experience staying in hotel was bad.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

VIPUL from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jun 2010

4

Hotel located nicely within the market.Staff & cleanliness is very good.Although dining at the hotel is not a good option.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. R.N. from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2010

3

everything was ok.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARUN KUMAR from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jan 2010

4

My room was very well maintained and clean.Staff was polite and service was good. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SATISH from PANCHKULA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Dec 2009

5

Against the tariff charged the quality of the room was fantastic. The guys at the reception were ever smiling & extremely helpful. The service was quick. The room scores 8.5 out of 10. Note: the complementary mini soap provided in the bath room needs to be changed. It looked & to some extent worked like a washing soap.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DHAVAL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Dec 2009

4

The Rooms are good for the price they are offered, good option for short stays (2-3 days). Hotel staff are also co-operative. We went during the winter and required heater, which was promptly provided by the Hotel authorities. Room service was good.`

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHUBHRA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Nov 2009

4

Very good option for the budget and quality service. The staff was polite and helpful and helped us in a timely manner. The rooms were neat and provided a comfortable stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANDEEP from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Mar 2009

4

Good hotel, a bit far from the bus stand, otherwise very good hotel. Breakfast was however pretty bad. That needs improvement, and we were made to wait in the lobby for a long time, before we could get the room.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJESH from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jan 2009

4

The hotel is conveniently located, walkable distance to the market and bus stand. The room was clean and adequately furnished. Food options are good and whatever ordered was tasty. The staff was helpful and courteous. Biggest drawback is the hotel does not have power backup and electricity supply was erratic during our stay. It was very cold and we could not get hot water to bathe. It is a big problem and should be addressed. Otherwise we would rate this property above average in all other aspects.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIJAY from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Nov 2008

3

Average

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHASHANK from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Aug 2008

5

It was an amazing experience. The room quality was great and the hospitality was really commendable. The food options were very good too. In short, excellent value for money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAVI from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jul 2008

4

Hotel is located centrally in the main city. We stayed in deluxe room, it was clean and spacious with all the necessities. We had breakfast in the restaurant, it was lovely in taste. Staff members were efficient and polite in their work. It is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DRON from KATRA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jul 2008

4

Our stay here surpassed our expectations, this is a good property to enjoy your vacation. The A/C Deluxe room was spacious & cleanly maintained. The room service did a good job but I think they can better their cleanliness level a bit. We enjoyed our food as well. I will give it above average ratings.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

BINOD from Patna, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2008

4

Had a satisfactory stay in this property, it was extremely convenient for us. The room that we were provided was neatly maintained. The room service did an appropriate job, also the food served tasted good. This is an above average hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MUKUND from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2008

4

We enjoyed our stay in this property. The room we stayed was basic. The room service did an honest job. Also the food was good to taste. This is an above average hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRANAV from goosecreek, United States recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2008

4

Had a convenient stay in this hotel. The locality around it was really pleasant. The room we were provided had all the needful facilities. The staff members were helpful, also the food served was hygienic. I will say this is an above average property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUMIT from Agra, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jun 2008

5

Our stay here was no less than Perfect. Firstly we were awestruck by the location around the hotel, it was wondrous. The room that we stayed in was very cozy & comfortable. The room service was completely accurate. Most of all we were totally impressed with the food here, the restaurant here is so famous that even the localities here visit it only for the food. I am definitely giving it full marks.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJEEV from New delhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2008

2

The management and the service was poor. The room quality was fine. Complimentary breakfast was bread n butter.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

NAGARAJU from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jun 2008

4

This is a very good property to stay in. We enjoyed our vacation here. The room we were provided was up to mark. The staff members were very helpful, even the food served was decent. I will give it above average ratings.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MITESH from gandhi dham,, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2008

3

The room was fresh and clean. The food and service was also upto the mark. I will definitely come back here again.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHYAMAL from Jamshedpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2008

4

The people were very courteous and loyal. I was quite pampered to receive such a service. Room was also comfortable and food was delightful. Breakfast was so delicious & very tasty. It was truly an amazing experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJESH from KARWAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jun 2008

3

It was a decent property with lovely arrangement. The staff was supportive. Food facility was also satisfactory. I will surely recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAVI from Lucknow, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2008

4

The room was well furnished with modern facilities. Staffs were quick and prompt in their service. The breakfast was delightful in taste. The location was wonderful near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KAILASHWATI from Hisar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 May 2008

3

Only hiccup was the a/c in our room was not working on the very first day due to electricity fluctuation. Otherwise, the room was neat and clean. The quality of the complimentary breakfast was good. Good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SANDEEP from Alwar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 May 2008

4

Staying in Katra was an absolute pleasure. I was quite fascinated to experience the wonderful arrangements. The room was well arranged and service was prompt. The food was also delightful and staff was active. I will surely come back to this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUDHIR from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 May 2008

4

Hotel is centrally located close to the main market. The deluxe room was clean and neat with beautiful interiors. Breakfast was delightful in taste. The staff was active and quite attentive.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANISH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 May 2008

4

The stay was reasonable. The room was comfortable but service was not impressive. The staff need to be alert but they were not so trained. The food was simple but cleanliness was maintained properly. It was an average property with nothing great to offer.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

UMESH from Kolhapur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2008

4

The room were very clean and comfortable. The staff were warm, friendly people who went out of their way to make us stay pleasant. The location was perfect near the hotel. Food was well prepared and served very well by the waiter of the restaurant.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANISH from paravani, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Apr 2008

5

Very friendly and helpful staff with smile on their face. Room was extremely really good with decent look. In breakfast we had chole puri it was delicious in taste. The location was nice near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BALACHARI from Aurangabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Apr 2008

5

Hotel staff is extreamly courtesious. Hotel in all respect is satisfying the requirement of customer in a holy place like Katra. Our best wishes to the Hotel Mnagement and staff for providing us a pleasant stay and helping in arranging facility for nearby sight seeing trips.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DEEP from Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Apr 2008

3

I was not happy with the food as it was bit oily and not tasty. In spite of that the rest was fine like the room facilities and service. The location was very convenient. I will certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANURAG from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2008

4

The management was seems to be well prepared to attend the guests. I didn't had nay problem during the stay. The hotel was clean and full of modern amenities. The staff was courteous and service was more than expected. The room was decent and the ambiance was relaxing. I hardly checked the meal, but breakfast was warm and tasty. I was happy to choose this hotel as it met my all the expectations.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHAILENDRA from Ahemedabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2008

4

The service was wonderful of the staff. The food was good in taste. Location was superb near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMBER from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Mar 2008

3

It was just an average stay in this hotel. Staffs were fine in their service. The food was nice in the restaurant. Room was not up to my expectation as the interiors were of old style.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAWAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Mar 2008

4

The staffs were helpful with friendly nature. Room was spacious with all the basic facilities. The breakfast was wonderful in the restaurant. I would like to visit this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

INDRADEO from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Feb 2008

3

Deluxe Room was good though it was small it was neat and tidy. Food which they provided was okay. Overall its price worthy.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AJAY from Bhuvneshwar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2008

5

Staff service was excellent. Room was fantastic with all the facilities. Hotel has restaurant where I had my breakfast it was delicious. I would love to stay in this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR ANOOP from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2008

4

The property is great. Room alloted was decent and clean. I didn't tried the food. Staff was polite and helpful. Service was fast and perfect. Location was very convenient. I will definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BISWAS from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jan 2008

4

Our stay was wonderful. A/C Family Deluxe was comfortable n clean. Location was fine & the service was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHILPI from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Dec 2007

3

We enjoyed our stay here, room was comfortable & food was great.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANISH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Oct 2007

4

Great hotel experience. Had a nice hoilday.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SMITA from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jul 2007

3

Experience was very good with the hotel. Good clean rooms. Staff friendly and their service was also good. We had our breakfast and lunch in the hotel and the food served was very nice.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VISHAL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2007

4

This is a nice hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable. The furniture is well laminated. The air conditions were working properly. The cleaning was also done well. But the service was not good. We were supposed to get the complimentary breakfast but di d not get it. The location of the hotel is near to the station so it reduced our travelling expenses. The ambience of the hotel is very good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5