The White Hotels

5 Star  

Reasi Road, Katra, Jammu & Kashmir - 182 301

Starting from Rs. 4,635
Choose Dates

The White Hotels, Katra - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.2/5 Excellent
(Based on 31 reviews)

100.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4.2)
  • Service Quality (4.1)
  • Dining Quality (4.1)
  • Cleanliness (4.1)

The White Hotels - Individual ratings and reviews:

PARESH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Sep 2014

5

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff were very cooperative and specially Duty Manager, Mr. Jaspreetsingh, helped in scheduling our Mata darshan. Food is also good. Although they provide free transfers for darshan they should provide free shuttle till market since the hotel is situated quite inside.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJINDER from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Mar 2014

4

The hotel is beautifully located and well kept. Rooms are spacious and well kept, though certain snacks and beverages (chargeable) could have been provided. Commode base was not shiny clean and jet knob was leaking when operated. this was politely told at reception counter on check out. Buffet breakfast was delicious, certain items like khichari or live dosa station and some sweet could have made it more interesting. Overall a good Hotel and full value for the money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAHUL from LUDHIANA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Mar 2014

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRABHUDEV from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Apr 2013

3

This is a hotel on the outskirts of Katra., close to the helipad. The hotel primerily serves piligrims visiting the shrine of Mata Vaishnodevi, as a base camp. Accessibility: The prepaid charges from Jammu airport is Rs 1800/- for an Inova (as on March 2013) The hotel provides inova transport back to Jammu airport at the same rate. The hotel is located off the Katra-Resai road. The hotel offers free ride to the helipad / ban-Ganga, this is a necessity for piligrims as the property is located outside Katra where there are very limited transportation options available. Don't book this hotel if you plan Other transport or private taxies are not available in the vacinity. In case you wish to go to Katra town, you'd have to walk down almost a kilometre to the main road to hail an Auto or cab. Food / Room Service: Normal vegetarian food available which was clean and tasty. The published menu is extensive, however most of the 'cuisines' were not available during our visit for one reason or the other. We had a tough time getting bottled water from room service even though we were willing to pay, this was disappointing because there are no outlets selling food / water nearby. It is advisable to carry adequate bottled water and snacks for such eventualities. One can pick up these supplies in Katra on the way to the hotel. The Restaurant 'Vally View' provides good service. There is a nice garden restaurant that serves coffee / tea. Liquor is banned in Katra. House keeping; We found the rooms reasonably clean. Beds are comfortable, Showers are clean and hot water is available round the clock. The other service is poor to non-existant. They couldn't properly wash our babies feeding bottles, the bottles that were taken for washing were returned in dirty condition. Internet: No wifi in rooms. Wifi in the lobby failed to connect on both the days that we stayed. 3G is not available in J&K state. The Edge network on my phone was very slow. Internet is available at the business center on the ground floor. We could not reserve a spa treatment as there was a rush. The hotel has adequate open parking facilities. Reception: Checkin is pleasent. Checkout was slightly tedious and slow. Cloak rooms are available. To summarise, this is a piligrim hotel that can be rated between no-frills to 3 Srar. The hotel has excellent facilities, however the service levels were wanting and quiet ordinary.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANIL from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Oct 2012

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PUNEET from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jan 2012

4

I had a good experience in this hotel as the rooms are well maintained and with nice furniture�s. There is a peace and silence maintained in this hotel and the best thing about this hotel is its staff was very nice and helpful. I have recommended this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ATUL from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jan 2012

4

While I had booked a room for three people stay, no service was available for three people. Bath towels for three people had to be asked to the housekeeping everyday. Bathroom slippers only one pair for three people?...I think they have no system of informing the housekeeping that we have charged for three people and facilities should be extended without asking for them.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIJAY from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jul 2011

4

Look No Further one of the best hotels in Katra. The hotel is well staffed and professional . Room are clean good and spacious. Bathrooms are also very clean.Only drawback in the bathroom was hot water there seems to be a problem with the supply of hot water housekeeping did try but no success. Food quality and taste is very good. In room service is also good. The hotel transfer to banganga and pick up is valued. Overall a good five star hotel well maintained.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JANAK RAJ from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jul 2011

4

I had a very nice experience in this hotel. Especially because of the staff behavior they are excellent and very helpful. This hotel is located in the center of the city but the only thing I didn�t like in this hotel was only food. I was quite unhappy because of the dining quality.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VARUN from NOIDA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jul 2011

4

The room was nice, clean and spacious but the housekeeping service was no where near 5 star. There was no running hot water in the bathroom at night and in the morning when it was required the most. On complaining the housekeeping service advised us to keep the water running for 2 to 2.5 hours to resolve the issue which was a criminal waste of natural resources. Unfortunately speaking to the manager on duty did not resolve the issue and in turn got a small apology for this issue. In another housekeeping incident the room refrigerator was not working as we checked in and I promptly advised housekeeping staff who promised to look into it ASAP. Since we assumed that housekeeping would either make the fridge working or replace it so that the milk items for the children would not get spoilt, to our utter shock when we returned at night - the fridge was not working and all the items we had stored in the fridge gone bad. On taking up this matter with the duty manager - he reluctantly agreed to compensate us with a glass of milk for the toddler with us and not charge for the same. I would never recommend this hotel for my stay and would not be in my preferred hotels during my visit to Jammu in the future.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JITENDRA from CHANDIGARH, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Aug 2010

5

EXcellent 5 Star Hotel , Food , Health Club etc is excellent . Also I thanks Travel guru for giving us an excellent deal in the hotel for our stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAHUL from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Aug 2008

4

The toilet and wash area was poorly designed. Every bath or flushing the WC would cause the loo to flood. The problem (with the flush) was partly corrected but was still not 5 star quality. - Food options were very limited and expensive. Because of low occupancy the buffet had been closed down (even though we were charged for it). - Room AC was not up to par.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DR MOHIT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Aug 2008

5

The White Orchid is the Best according to the Katra standard. The ala-carte food was excellent. The deluxe room was great. Cleanliness was impressive.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. PYUSH from Kolkatta, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jul 2008

4

Food was awesome in taste and available in different varieties also. The staff was dedicating and service was instant. The room was also well kept and interior was attractive. The location was also comfortable. I will recommend this property to the all class of travelers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIJAY from HARYANA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jul 2008

4

It was a very good hotel. The property was well located and service was excellent. The room quality and food arrangement was also fantastic. It was a recommendable property for all class of travelers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANJEEV from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Jul 2008

4

I was pampered to receive such a pleasant service. The room quality was well up to the standard and food was well prepared. The location was also not an issue. It was a recommendable property for sure.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

IQBAL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jul 2008

4

Location was beautiful. Our room was clean and neat with all basic facilities. Staff was quick and prompt in their service. Also the food was very tasty and it was well served. It's quite a nice hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHASHI from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jul 2008

5

Good Food, quality service, excellent ambience and valley view. What else do you look for?

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJEEV from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jul 2008

5

Nice place to stay in the holy city Katra. Excellent ambiance, great food, service & spectacular view of valley.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR MAYANK from new delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jul 2008

3

Hotel is located centrally in the main city. Our room was clean and neat but the corridor was very dirty. Even the food was decent in taste. There is no room service. It was just an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUSAN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jul 2008

5

The White Orchid Hotel had sent us a car to pick up at the airport, a local taxi service on charged basis; excellent Innova car and with even better driver, Mr. Ranjit Singh. The journey from Jammu airport to the hotel was extremely pleasant. Upon our arrival at the hotel, we found an alert doorman and hotel security quickly receiving us and moving our luggage into the hotel. The front office staff was courteous & efficient and our rooms were ready to occupy. Our luggage was quickly transferred into the room. This is the service were most hotels are slow. The White Orchid property is amazing. We are a big fan of Orchid hotel at Mumbai airport and had all smiles seeing White Orchid. It?s a very beautiful property, well laid out in the green valley at the foot hills of Mata Vaishnodevi. White Orchid is an extremely modern hotel with a huge lobby, having a shopping arcade and segregated seating areas which brings in sense of largeness, comfort as well as privacy. The hotel has a pretty swimming pool, health club (however no Jacuzzi) and a complete spa with massage services & steam sauna. The spa area & health club is well laid out with a professional doctor manning the spa services. The beauty of the hotel is in the surrounding green grass top overlooking a deep lush green valley from where we saw one of the prettiest sun set of our lives; where White Orchid at 7.00 pm was set in a dark valley, rainy clouds at our heads and far away the sharp orange of sun set on brilliantly lit mountains one behind the other, a scene lasting for more nearly an hour. The White Orchid room given to us was a full size double room with extremely comfortable beds and the view from the window was picturesque. All the equipments & switches in the room were functioning. My husband says it is one of the first few hotels were he found a bed side phone charger plug point. The toilet & bath facility areas were well stocked with towels, hand tissues, hand towels & bath robes. The wash basin was not splashing water all around as it happens in most hotels. The shower was very effective, however the hotel will do good to have a shower cabin as there are no bath tubs; to keep the rest of the bathroom reassuringly dry. The hair dryer, moisturizers, shampoo etc. was of high quality. Surprisingly the bathing soaps were very small which in most five star hotels are bigger in size than the hand soaps (bath gel was anywhere there) Most importantly the rooms centralized air conditioning maintained perfect temperature right-through and was not noisy. The bed side light controls were excellent if ever you woke up in night. The morning alarm service was working. The mini bar and tea coffee maker was very convenient & well stocked. The room also had a locker facility, very crucial, with easy functionality for use. The room also had a good writing desk, single seater sofas with a center table with reading material where you could leisurely sit sipping your morning tea overlooking one of the best valley & mountain views. Hygiene & cleanliness all around especially in the room was of very high standard although we felt that maintenance was little low that can deteriorate a high standard hotel very fast. The room, toilet area, windows, corners of the tables, bed etc. everything was absolutely clean and the house keeping staff was agile. Food: The restaurant services were excellent including breakfast, evening snacks & dinner which we tried over two days. Breakfast was tasty, healthy & a well presented buffet with options of continental, north Indian & south Indian food. Evening snacks were even possible to be made to order, very well presented, quickly delivered and tasty. The dinner menu is elaborate with lot of innovation thrown in; portions are huge and delivered through very alert services of the restaurant manager and the chef themselves. In the north Indian, Italian & south Indian preparations, the ingredients & cooking medium used were original. We found the food in White Orchid healthy & sumptuous. Most of the staff in Front Office, Concierge, House Keeping & room service were courteous, quick and forth coming in delivering their services. Our sight seeing, some purchases and helicopter booking were all handled with lot of care. Their in-house car drivers are excellent. One thing my husband found lacking, which he says is present in most resort hotels, is that the General Manager or the Front Office Head of White Orchid were conspicuous by their absence in meeting the guests. He says that since resort hotels are smaller (i.e. under 200 rooms) most resorts have the General Manager keeping a warm touch with the guests. We will recommend White Orchid hotel as such and the fantastic arrangement to any discerning traveler, families or corporate conference managers.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAGHUVINDER from Greater Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jun 2008

4

It was a good value for money. The room was clean and spacious enough to stay with the family. The staff was helpful and service was efficient. The food was also desirable and available in different varieties is well.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

CHANDRAPRAKASH from Nagpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jun 2008

4

The location was fair enough but service was more than expected. The room was well facilitated and food arrangement was also decent. It was a worth while property suitable for all class of travelers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. DEEPAK from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jun 2008

4

Our stay was really great with this property, we loved the location & the serenity. All the arrangement and the hospitality was amazing.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GAURAV from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Jun 2008

4

Room was comfortable enough. Housekeeping was also was very nice. I didn't used any hotel amenities. Service was also prompt and quick.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANKUSH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jun 2008

4

We had a pleasant stay. Its an above average Hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SIDDHARTH from luknow, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 May 2008

4

Hotel is good. Rooms are comfortable, service is good reception is very polite and the hotel is neat and i recommend it to families.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUBASH from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Apr 2008

4

It is a typical five star hotel with all the luxuries and standard. The room was royal and well maintained with all the amenities, there was a huge swimming pool wh was cleanly maintained. The staff was professional and service was quick. The food was an absolute treat. I had a great time with while i was here. I would strongly recommend this gorgeous property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUPRIYA from Nagpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Apr 2008

4

Our stay was very good, ambiance was nice and the quality of room and the service was great, but they took little more time to take us to Katra. Rest everything was fine. It worth staying here also can be recommendable for other travelers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GANESH from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2008

5

It was the best hotel in katra that I ever stayed. Room was decorated very well with modern furniture. Staff were ready to help any time to the guest they are so quick in their service. Food was declicious in taste.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DR SHAMPA from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Mar 2008

3

Room was nice and the staff were average in service. The food was fine in the restaurant. Overall, it was a decent property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5