Hotel Oriental AC

2 Star  

Park Street, Kolkata, West Bengal - 700 016

Starting from Rs. 1,761
Choose Dates

Hotel Oriental AC, Kolkata - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.3/5 Good
(Based on 57 reviews)

84.2% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.4)
  • Service Quality (3.4)
  • Dining Quality (2.8)
  • Cleanliness (3.3)

Hotel Oriental AC - Individual ratings and reviews:

ABIR from NEW, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jul 2014

3

Clumsy and packed little bit but given some sort of cleanliness of the rooms. No option of fooding in the hotel premise. No option of Veg Food around the area of the hotel. Lift of the hotel broke down and had to go to the 4th floor by stairs. No PAID Channels in the cable. Only free channels i.e. worthless to watch. No good quality blankets were available. In a whole it was 6.5/10. So many hotels were there in around 0.5 kms diameter in best rates.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

D V RAMA from prathipadu, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Mar 2013

4

its very nice

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SIDDHARTH from PUNE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 28 Oct 2012

2

The rooms were cramped with seepage in the wall. Linen was dirty and had worms. The only good thing was the AC and the location is well connected. Not advised if you are travelling with family

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

KHAIRUL from Dhaka, Bangladesh recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jun 2012

4

Overall experiences with this Hotel was satisfactory. Only think, this hotel can put mini soaps/ mini shampoo at bath room with minimum cost for customer comfort & convenience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AMARESH from JAMSHEDPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jan 2012

3

The stay in the hotel was average.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANJU from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 29 Nov 2011

2

Over all it was not good stay at the hotel. I may not recommend this hotel to my friends for future bookings it was a below average hotel

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

JAYANTA from BHUBANESWAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Nov 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

N VIJAYAN from BILASPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Sep 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

UDAYKUMAR from Patna, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2011

4

I stayed in Hotel Iriental in Kolkata from 21 to 23 May 2011. Its fantastic staying there. Only problem is there is no Parking space and in morning form till 8 am no one was available for serving tea.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KARTIK from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 May 2011

3

Rooms were very untidy and pathetic. We stayed there only because we had no other choice. We complained to the hotel management but nothing came our way. I am totally dissatisfied and will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRAKASH CHAND from JAMSHEDPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Apr 2011

3

I booked this hotel because it is situated in the center of the city so it was close to the shopping area, market place is very near to this hotel. Room provided by the hotel was very good but it was not so clean. I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends and overall this hotel is above average.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SOUVIK from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 25 Apr 2011

2

Stay was good. Rooms were Small, stuffy and congested. Staff were not that good and were not friendly at all. Would still recommend people to stay here.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

PRABHUDUTTA from BHUBANESWAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Apr 2011

3

The hotel is quite Ok. Room service is very poor. Rates are too high compared to the poor service they offer. Rooms was nice, spacious for a single person. Double bed was provided. Would definately go here if they reduce the rates.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SURENDRA from VARANASI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Apr 2011

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MICHEL-LYN from Bangkok, Thailand recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Apr 2011

4

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and willing to help. The room was simple, but adequate. No Internet was available, but I knew that going in. There is an Internet cafe not far away. There was no restaurant on the premises but there were several close by. All in all it was a satisfactory experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUDHAKAR from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Apr 2011

4

actually the rule for the hotel is to check in 12 noon and check out is 12 noon the next day...but i checked in the hotal at 3 a.m of 7 th morning and they have not charged for me...The staff was reasonably helpful...they gave a double deluxe room with good hot water supply...but in my suggestion the cleanliness of the room will be to improve...i dont know hindi or bengali but the helpdesk helped me to manage how,and also they said about the visiting places nearby...the locality is not good but staying in hotel oriental is well and good....the great advantage is there is a good market nearby this hotal i.e walkable distance of 5 min...and in the market we can find different south and north indian restaurants...and in this market there havin an inox and also roxy theatre...k.f.c restaurant,dominos pizza cafe,sub way restaurant....and for apparel shopping is also comfortable here...and nearby this market it is having esplanade metro station connecting to all tourist places in kolkata...but the hotel area i.e is mirza galib street or 9/a marques street not known by many one...it is better say sir hoggs new market area or esplanade metro station area....

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

TIRTHANKAR from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Mar 2011

4

Stay at the hotel was good.The staff were helpful. A/c was functioning properly. Hotel staff informed that the bed sheets are changed only once in two days which was unacceptable. The room though small was comfortable.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PUNEET from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jul 2010

4

Good & cooperative staff and its services

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PUNEET from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Jun 2010

5

It was pleasant experience staying there, indeed I have re-reserved it for my next visit to Calcutta.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MAHESH from LUCKNOW, Indonesia recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Apr 2010

4

The hotel is located in a narrow lane although it is near city centre. Taxi driver asked 3 times about street of the hotel from airport in way. Room cleanliness and services was good. Overall it is a reasonably good budget hotel according to its rent. I recommended my friends to book this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

K from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Mar 2010

3

it was nice,once again thanks for travelguru.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUDHIR from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Feb 2010

3

The hotel is near form the railway station,the staff behaviour was good ,its a family hotel. The hotel arrangements & rooms i like most.overall i would rate 3/5 for this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. SANJIV from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Feb 2010

4

The hotel is centrally located in an old, crowded and busy part of the city. Taxis, shopping, restaurants, etc aplenty in the vicinity. The hotel itself was surprisingly good for the price of about 800/- per night for a double AC room with attached bath. The two things I look out for i.e. clean bed and clean toilet can be rated at 4 out of 5. The hotel staff were friendly, cooperative and helpful. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to my budget conscious friends, relatives and colleagues.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. ARUN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Nov 2009

3

The room was though small, it was clean. When I reached, the room was ready. The front desk person talked nicely and made immediate arrangement. he food they serve is non-veg. I am pure veg, so the food has to come from outside. However, the food quality was satisfactory. A.C. and hot water facility was very good. The room was clean and reasonably decorated, considering the rate. Overall the stay was satisfactory, rates are reasonable and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GIRDHARILAL from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Nov 2009

4

Hotel is located near main shopping center about 20 kms from airport. Except tea service in the room, dining options were null as there is no restaurant attached to hotel. Approach to hotel is not up to mark. This deficiency is more than made up by courteous staff who guide you properly and always helpful. Bathroom facilities are poor with flush not working properly and no place to hang your clothes and a tiny wash basin which can be improved upon. As a budget hotel it is a fairly decent one to stay with your family.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SATISH KUMAR from ALLAHABAD, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 30 Aug 2009

2

first of all the locaion of he hotel was displayed near the sealdah station...which was incorrect and is a clear case of cheat on the map the location is worngly displayed...

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

NIKHIL from Ranchi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Apr 2009

4

Cleanliness was good but there was no option of restaurant, we have to go outside for food.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VILAS from BELGAUM, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Feb 2009

4

A/C was not working...other facilities okay

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

TANAJI from Pondicherry, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Feb 2009

4

Its really good. Located in the heart of the city.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BHASKAR from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2009

3

Location on the hotel is perfect. Housekeeping was horrible. Floor was sticky & their was no dining facility. But as per the room rate it was all ok.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRASHANTH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2008

3

Hotel is located in busy market area. At first it looked like an apartment converted into hotel, Room was average in terms of all basic needs. Hotel does not have restaurant of its own however there are quite large number of restaurants near by. Another advantage is hotel is near to few of the major tourist attractions (Indian Museum and Victoria memorial). Overall it is an average budget hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. VIJAY from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Sep 2008

3

I am staying quite regularly in this hotel so I am used to it. Their room quality and service are quite suitable. Location is also decent one. Good property for single budget travelers.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. ZAHIRUL from MORADABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Sep 2008

3

Hotel is located in the center of the city. My room was well maintained with all the facilities. The hotel do not have its own restaurant, they used to bring the food from outside. The room service were active. It's a nice hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. VIJAY KUMAR from NEYVELI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Aug 2008

3

Hotel is located in the main city. My room was decent with all the facilities. The service provided by the staff was good. I had food in the restaurant, it was nice in taste. Overall an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARVIND from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Aug 2008

4

I didn't stayed for too long as we checked out immediately after three hours but I think it was a decent property. Room quality and service was well up to the mark. Location was also suitable. Overall a good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIJAY KUMAR from Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jul 2008

3

Hotel Oriental in very econiomnical & decent budget hotel in Kolkata. It was fine altogeather & also nothing great about it.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

CHANDRASEKHAR from Thrissur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2008

4

There was no restaurant in this hotel which was the only disappointed. Apart from this our stay here was decent. The room we stayed in was decent. The room service too was up to the mark. We were satisfied.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

CHANDRASEKHAR from Thrissur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jun 2008

3

There was no issue throughout the stay regarding the arrangement. The only thing which disappoint me was there was no food facility. Apart from the that the staff was obedient and always keen to assist. I will refer this hotel to my friends and relatives.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. VIJAY KUMAR from Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2008

4

It was a budget hotel but still a good one. The room was large and clean. The service was also prompt and food was decent. It was an ideal hotel for a single travelers and I will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAPNA from grudago, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Apr 2008

4

We find our stay comfortable. Room was non AC, but it was comfortable. We booked 3 rooms with 2 adults in each room and we all like the hotel. Service was also nice and there is always some one who was helping to us.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUBHAMOY from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2008

3

Had a decent stay in this property. My room & service were up to mark. Although i feel that the management can do a better job with the cleanliness. Apart from that, i would say its an average hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SATYARTH from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 16 Apr 2008

2

Good just in case you don't want to spend 3-4 hours in railway station or airport launge before catching the connecting train or flight. Toilet not cleaned - soap case hanging. No lights in the coridoor or in lift. Need to wake up house keeping for turning on the lights. Good part was TV was working / fan working. Reaonably clean bed. Good enough to spend 3-4 hours

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR GURUNATH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Feb 2008

5

Stay was amazing in this hotel. Room which was alloted to me was wonderful with modern style interiors. Staffs excellent in their service. I had my meal in the restaurant it was fabulous in taste. I would love to stay in this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AMAL from GUWAHATI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2008

4

Hotel is very good the only problem is they don't have provision for food. Room was very spacious and well kept. Service quick and prompt. Staff was helpful and polite. Location is very convenient.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PUNEET from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 16 Feb 2008

1

Its not worth the money charged. Basic things were missing like towels, soap, etc. Entire property was very dirty. Room alloted was small and stuffy. When i went for dinner they said the restaurant is closed. I will never recommend to any one.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

MR. AHMED from srinagar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2008

3

Location is not very much impressive. Expensive room rate. But, clear and comfortable. Nice hotel with good service and room condition.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR SUBHAMOY from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Feb 2008

4

Staffs were very kind and polite in their work. All the rooms in the hotel were spacious. Hotel has restaurant but I had my food outside hotel. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NEERAJ from faridabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jan 2008

3

I would say that the hotel, its location and facilities were all good. Standard of service we received from the staff was also good. Most of them seemed friendly, which is a good from hotel point of view.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MUDDAPU from visakhapatnam, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jan 2008

3

The rooms were quite clean. Room service was quite prompt and the toilets are western style. The attendants all could speak English well. Nice hotel in the city.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANIL KUMAR from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Dec 2007

4

The hotel does not have good house-keeping. For basic needs as towels etc. We had to call them and still were not provided with bath-soap and towels. The reception were not keen to provide any local information sought from them. Despite the several disappointments it was a satisfying experience as other hotels in the range were worse.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AMITESH from New Delhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 Nov 2007

2

Room was not good-uncleaned bathroom, service was ok, location was nice, according to the price its quite average.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

BUDDHI from Patiala, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Oct 2007

3

The hotel is in the vicinity of most places of tourist attaractions. The Hotel does not even serve tea. There are many restaurants around. For vegetarians there might be some problems, though.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

HARSHIL from mumnai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 26 Sep 2007

2

Not happy with the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

CHOUDHARY from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Aug 2007

3

The room was very comfortable. Staff where very much co-operative and their service was pretty nice. The lobby was small but it was comfortable to walk. I like the location as it was in a decent area. We had just spend few hours in the hotel but it was nice.ce.ce.ce.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAMEER from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 09 Jul 2007

2

Hotel is located in the city. Room service is not available in hotel. I had to go to reception again and again for any minor requirements. Fan was not working. And after my request, hotel staff changed my room.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SANJAY from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2007

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MISS SUSHREE from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 May 2007

3

The location of hotel was not very good but the lobby, rooms, restaurant was clean. The check-in, check-out was smooth. The breakfast is fine with a good variety in both Indian and Continental options.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5