The Astor Hotel (Heritage Hotel)

3 Star  

Shakespear Sarani, Kolkata, West Bengal - 700 071

Starting from Rs. 6,753
Choose Dates

The Astor Hotel (Heritage Hotel), Kolkata - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.8/5 Good
(Based on 60 reviews)

88.3% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.6)
  • Service Quality (3.6)
  • Dining Quality (3.7)
  • Cleanliness (3.6)

The Astor Hotel (Heritage Hotel) - Individual ratings and reviews:

DHRUB from bokaro, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Mar 2012

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AMIT from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Mar 2012

3

1. I didn't get the same room what I had booked, Photos shown on website are different than the actual room. 2. Room service of this hotel is bad. They don't even clean rooms properly. 3. This hotel doesn't even have debit/credit card reader. I don't know how this hotel is 3 star hotel. I will never visit this hotel in future.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NARENDRA N from city, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Apr 2011

4

Hotel is not so far from the airport and is located in the city only. The staffs are very co operative,rooms are good the services are also good I think this hotel is good for bussiness tour and also the family tour In future I will definately suggestt this to my family.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MADELINE from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 10 Mar 2011

2

My stay at the Hotel Astor was unacceptable and I will not stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone. I had to call the front desk for internet access card 3 times each time was told it would be brought up in 10 minutes. After an hour in the room waiting for internet card, my companion started to have allergic reaction to the mold. Realizing calling the front desk did not yield results I went downstairs and asked to rebook and got an internet access card myself. After the internet card fiasco the internet went down for a day and half when I called the front desk to ask why the internet was not working they informed me that it would be restored right away. Switched to less moldy room on the 2nd day, the AC did not have temperature / vent control and we had the option of freezing air blasting on the beds or the muggy heat. Upon checkout was charged twice by the desk clerk for room expenses. After running my credit card the desk clerk told me the payment had not processed and the system was down so I paid in cash (4500Rs). After returning to Delhi and checking my bank statement I discovered I had in fact been charged. I called the Astor and the desk clerk was unhelpful and dismissive, I disputed the charge with my bank. Fortunately I kept the receipt from the cash charge.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

AMIT from UDAIPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Apr 2010

4

Good service, nice Location, Comfortable rooms, Delicious food, small parking. Being a heritage hotel therefore lessspace, carpet in the loby stinks.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAUMITRA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Feb 2010

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ASIMA from Londonderry, United Kingdom recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2010

4

The hotel was good with service , location & food also the room was fine.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. SURYAKANT from GOA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Feb 2010

5

Our stay was really good.Hotel is nice and even the restaurant was nicely maintained. Most of the entertainment places are near to the hotel. I will certainly suggest this property to everybody.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJEEV KUMAR from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jan 2010

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAVI from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2010

4

service was excellent,staff behaviour was good,location of the hotel was good,above all the experience at the hotel was excellent.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJESH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2010

2

Room was very small,staff was not helpful.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

CHAITANYA from Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2010

4

Over all stay is satisfactory

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ENNO from Kolkata, Germany recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jan 2010

4

Liked the fact that the hotel building was a little back from the road so it was quiet at night. Staff was friendly & helpful. Location of the hotel was very central for our needs. Breakfast was disappointing. The taste was not good at all.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SCOTT from Hurst, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jan 2010

3

Provide a tipping box at the reception so the helpers are not standing around waiting for bokshish. Replace the hot water pot so that it does not look like living organisms are swimming around. Provide 3 in 1 coffee mix not scanty little nescafe mix. Make the doors automatically locking on exit. Locking every time was cumbersome. Best feature was the omelette maker. Good location for shopping. Sandwich on our early morning departure was sub-standard. Full room-service breakfast would have been better like omelettes and paratas. Make it clear which switch is for hot water heater. Provide two free waters daily for the mini-bar. These things should have been standard for the rate we paid.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ABHISHEK from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Dec 2009

3

Room and service was good, however the dining facility and breakfast was bad.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DHRUB from JAMSHEDPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Sep 2009

5

nice and comfortable, sober and smiling staffs, perfect to stay with family.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJAY from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Aug 2009

5

As we drove into the drive way of Hotel Astor, a very beautiful Quaint kind of a feeling came in .. the hotel has a heritage look with a very British type Dark Red Exterior and exudes the look of a Castle. Has beautiful ornate wood furniture inside and everything inside looks very Colonial era types .. The front office staff was very good and even accomodative to the extent of allowing us extra time for check out the following day .. Very nice, clean room with courteous and efficient staff who were there at every beck and call. Nice ,neat and clean bathrooms and a good A/c was what made the room and stay very comfortable. One thing though !! do not depend on the hotel to give you a wake up call - I was not given a wake up call even though I woke up on my own ... over all a good experience and a nice option for both business and leisure traveller

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JOEDHA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Apr 2009

4

The Hotel can improve the quality of dining options. The staffs were over courteous. Cleanliness and other stuffs were good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANJAY from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Sep 2008

5

Perfect location for busy traveler. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Service could be better. Ac's do not work during load shedding.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SAURAV from Bhubaneswar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2008

4

Our stay went really smooth, there were no complaints at all. The room that was provided to us had all the required facilities. The room service was prompt, even the food served was impressive. This is an above average property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

FONG FEE from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jun 2008

3

I had a pretty average experience with this property. The room was quality was not so desirable and didn't like the facilities also. The service and food arrangement was also not much impressive and location was just fair enough.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARUN from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jun 2008

4

The hotel is located in the heart of the city. My room was well maintained with all the facilities. Staff did their work honestly. I had breakfast in the restaurant it was fantastic in taste. Would love to visit this place again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NIRAV from Navi mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jun 2008

4

My overnight stay was good in Executive Single Room at The Astor Hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAMIR from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 May 2008

4

I am a commercial traveler so I am always looking out for a new hunt but this property was well up to my expectation. The people were courteous and helpful. The room was spacious and cleanliness was properly maintained. I hardly taste the food over there but I was happy with my overall experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAURBH from LUCKNOW, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 May 2008

4

My Deluxe Single Room was absolutely perfect. I really liked both the service and food in the restaurant. It really worth it.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MILAN from pondicherry, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Apr 2008

4

The service was impressive and the management was superb. The staff was obedient and always stand by. The room was neat and clean. The food arrangement was fascinating but location was not so comfortable. Overall it was a bit expensive hotel in terms of the quality of the service.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUDIP from KOLKATA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Apr 2008

4

Location of the hotel is very good but the room was not spacious. Considering the quality of room, the price is on the higher side. Not sufficient towels in the bathroom.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MUKESH from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2008

5

Perfect is what my stay at this hotel was. The service lived up to my expectation. My room was more than what i wanted it to be, the food i had was amazing, the room service was upto the mark. I am looking forward to come back again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

CHANDRAPRAKASH from Nagpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Mar 2008

4

The staffs are co-operative and helpful. Room was clean and neat with all the facilities. I had my breakfast in the restaurant it was xxlnt in taste. I would like to visit this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARINDAM from BANALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Mar 2008

3

Executive room was spacious and clean. Staffs were caring and helpful. Overall, my experience was average.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

JAIDEEP from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2008

4

The stay was wonderful in this hotel. Room was well maintained. The breakfast was amazing in taste of the restaurant. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHRIKUNJ from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2008

4

Small Hotel centrally located but the room given had no air light ventilation no window otherwise fairly ok.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIDYASHANKAR from Bangalore-, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2008

4

A very cosy hotel in the central part of the city. A big plus for us was that it was close to atleast 3 vegetarian restaurants including Haldiram's where you can get even Jain vegetarian food and dosas. It is a bit quaint built during the British Raj, with carpeted stairs and no elevator. The helpful staff lugged our suitcases up two stairs. Rooms are not large but clean. Hotel staff helpful but restaurant service slow at odd hours. Tariffs a bit on the higher side but would stay there again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ZHANG from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jan 2008

3

Friendly place with attentive and accommodating staff, very good value. Highly recommended. I found this to be a good hotel as a three star hotel, friendly staff and good location, clean room. This is a very good hotel. Maybe some services should be improved.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR SAJI from Kochin, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jan 2008

5

Excellent

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR.NAVEEN from Hari, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jan 2008

4

It was nicely located in the heart of the city. good hospitality. Even security guard at entrance was nice looking sardi, his eyes never ask for any tips, that was really great comparatively.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR PONNUSWAMY from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jan 2008

3

Average.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. RAJUL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Dec 2007

4

Hotel was very nice and comfortable. The room was elegantly furnished, shower was lovely. It was a great stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SURAJIT from Bhubaneswar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Nov 2007

4

The hotel was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. ASHOK from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Nov 2007

4

Hotel was excellent. Deluxe room was comfortable and neat. Service and food was great. It was worth staying.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NIRAV from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Nov 2007

4

Liked to stay here again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ASHOK from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Nov 2007

4

Good hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ALOK from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 08 Nov 2007

2

hotel stand some where rating 2 instead of 4.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. ASHOK from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 09 Oct 2007

2

Service of the hotel is the pitts.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ARINDAM from Guwahati, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Oct 2007

5

My short stay at Astor was indeed very good. Thank you for making my stay memorable.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SATYJIT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Sep 2007

3

The hotel is located in the main city. Rooms are clean but very small. The hotel food was good with nice staff to serve you. Satyajit roy

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR RAJESH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Aug 2007

4

Decent hotel with best location and value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NEVILLE from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Aug 2007

4

Hotel is located in the city center, very convenient to reach the hotel. Food in the restaurant was very tasty. Housekeeping was very nice.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

V. from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Aug 2007

4

It is a good and value for money hotel but it is very costly as a bisleri bottle will cost you around Rs.50 and the food too is very costly. The rooms are small but comfortable. Staff are very good and polite in their conversations. There is a lot of parking space near the hotel. The hotel restaurant serves decent breakfast and lunch/dinner I had it at a joint outside.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

UDAYAN from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Aug 2007

3

The problem I faced with this hotel, is that there is no lift to go to the top floor. The lobby was so small, as it was raining the water came inside the lobby. I had only breakfast in the hotel restaurant it was very clean.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANGESH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Jun 2007

4

I had a comfortable stay here. Room service is prompt and food is tasty. Will come back again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VISHAL from Ghaziabad, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2007

2

Hotel is centrally located in the city. But hotel building is very old. Room was also old, small, without window and smelly. Hotel restaurant was good, but meal is very costly. Hotel staff is very helpful and this is the only thing which impresses me.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ANMOL from Purulia, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jun 2007

4

The room was very spacious, it had a TV, fridge, AC and attached bathroom. I must say it is really good value for money. It is centrally located and convenient for getting around. Security is very good. The kids made as much noise and no one complained. There is always a guard to open the gate however late, even at 4a.m. Room service was prompt and friendly. We saved a lot of money. Will definitely go back again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MOHAN LAL from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2007

4

A nice heritage hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAVI from Hyderabad, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 24 Apr 2007

2

Will not recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SAURABH from Lucknow, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Apr 2007

4

Goon clean rooms. The staff are friendly. Service is prompt. Food is tasty especially the sondesh.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAURBH from Lucknow, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Mar 2007

4

The room has a safe, tea/coffee maker, hair dryer, minibar. The staff are quick in service. Restaurant is good...I enjoyed the doi maach and rasmalai.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

R K from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Mar 2007

4

Very good hotel. I will visit this property in future.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ASHOK from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 29 Mar 2007

2

Not a nice place to stay.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MURLIDHAR from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Mar 2007

4

Hotel stay was Great!!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5