The Oberoi Grand

5 Star  

Dharmatala, Kolkata, West Bengal - 700 013

The Oberoi Grand, Kolkata - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.4/5 Excellent
(Based on 45 reviews)

97.8% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4.5)
  • Service Quality (4.3)
  • Dining Quality (4.2)
  • Cleanliness (4.5)

The Oberoi Grand - Individual ratings and reviews:

SUKHJINDER from JALANDHAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 May 2011

5

My booking at this hotel was very exciting and pleasurable and I truly enjoyed my stay at this resort. Staff's were very polite and co operative and the location of the hotel was excellent. I will truly recommend this resort for my colleagues and relatives.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. DEEPAK from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Aug 2010

5

I STAYED IN THIS HOTEL IN YEAR 2006 , TODAY ALSO IT HAS THE SAME REPUTATION AND SERVICES AS BEFORE. I LIKE THE STAY THERE

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KAMAKHYA from city, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jun 2010

5

Beautiful hotel supported brilliant food awesome roomsexcellent support staff always at your service. Ambience is very nice.I stayed here for Second time for 2 nights/ 3days with my friend We had booked a Luxury room. It is located in one of the most happening streets of Kolkata 15, Jawaharlal Nehru Road,Prestige of entire KOLKATA,

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KARTIKEYA from Gangtok, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Apr 2010

4

I was almost surprised to stay in such a peaceful hotel admist of so much hustle bustle of the Chowringhee, Kolkata. Marvelous lobby decorated with greeting staff and very ecstatic ambience delighted me with a surprise as got my internet booking done and didn�t visit the place before....It was a leisure trip, perfectly ended in superb pleasure...

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SHRI DEOKISAN from NASHIK, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Feb 2010

3

The stay was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUHAS from Navsari, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Mar 2009

5

The visit was very pleasing right from the entrance till entering the assigned room. All the staff including the security personnel were extremely polite. The service and quality of the food is really top class. The hotel is worth the price.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SHASHI from Bhilai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jan 2009

5

My stay in hotel was very pleasant. The people in the front desk, reception were very courteous & ready to serve with a smile. Room Service: I did not ask anything for the room service. House Keeping: The house keeping dept was very prompt in there service. Dining: The foods in the restaurant was good & the people served with a smile. Room: My room was neat & tidy & was up to the expectation. Spa: I was not satisfied with the spa service as the massage was not free & was more on the shier side. Over all an excellent stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

WILLIAM from PATNA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Oct 2008

4

The property was reasonably well. Room service was quick and staff was attentive all the time. Room was luxurious and cleanliness was maintained to the perfection. Food was also delicious and location was decent is well.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SYAMAL from NAGPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Sep 2008

4

This hotel is perfect for the above average traveler. The rooms are very clean and well furnished. I was not happy with the condition of the TV and the programmes. The bathroom was like a regular 5 star hotel look but lacks few basic things like exhaust fan, floor traps. Very clean, had bath tub, all the shampoos, moisturizers, shower caps etc. I ordered room service and the Macher Paturi was excellent with the roomali roti. The room service has some inherent problem with In-room dining services as i had to wait for 30 mins for a bottle of water. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler who wants to stay in Kolkata but expects the implementation of my views.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AMOL from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Sep 2008

5

The location was prime. I stayed in deluxe room, it was clean and comfortable with all the necessities. Staff were willing to help us anytime. I only had breakfast in the restaurant, it was good in taste. It is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

TILAK from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Aug 2008

5

It was an excellent stay in this property. Our room was well furnished with all the necessities. The staff was caring and polite n their work. The food was excellent in taste. We would love to recommend this property to our friends and relatives.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJ from UDAIPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Aug 2008

4

Overall it was a great stay. The room was excellent and the ambiance was lovely. Staff were friendly and hospitable. But the food options were very limited.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JOHANNES from new delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Aug 2008

3

It was a decent stay and I was happy with the overall arrangements. Room was well facilitated and service was prompt. Nothing wrong with the location also. It was a recommendable hotel for all class of travelers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMESH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Aug 2008

5

Hotel is located in the heart of the city. My room attractive with modern furniture. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Even the breakfast was awesome in taste. It is worth the money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAMESH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2008

4

Hotel is located centrally in the main city. My room was clean and spacious with all the facilities. The room service were helpful. Also the food quality was good. This is an above average property for sure.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARINDAM from guwahati, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jun 2008

5

Hotel is located in the heart of the city. Our room was well furnished with modern furniture. Also the food was superb in taste. Staff did their work honestly. We would like to visit this place again in future.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAMESH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2008

4

Had a very satisfactory stay in this property. The room I stayed in here was quite adequately maintained. The room service did an honest job. Also the food quality was appreciative. This is a recommendable property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANIL from noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jun 2008

4

I only stayed for 6 hours here & during that time the service provided to us was of appreciative quality. My room was adequate, the room service was efficient. It was value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KUMAR from Ranchi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2008

5

The service was excellence. Our room was very fine with all the needs. Overall a great property to stay at.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAURABH from bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2008

4

The room was good with clean bed sheet and pillow. Staff was quick and prompt in their service. The location was excellent near the hotel. We had our meal in the restaurant it was superb.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR HANUMAN from rourkera, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2008

2

The management was pathetic. They charged me unnecessarily for airport transfer and breakfast. The people were rude and not at all helpful. I never had such an unpleasant experience in my life. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SARITA from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2008

4

It was an excellent property. The hospitality was wonderful. The staff were professionals and room well up to the class. The food was also delightful and location convenient too. I am pampered with overall stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

INDIRA from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2008

4

Room was well organised with all the necessities. Staff were caring with friendly nature. We relished our food throughly. The hotel is located centrally in the main city.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANKARNARAYAN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2008

5

Our experience at The Grand, Oberoi was excellent. Very friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

WILLIAM from Hajipur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Apr 2008

3

I had a bad experience. Normally Breakfast is provided free with room. We were charged Rs.1400 extra. Unpleasant staff who did not even care to notice the shock on their customers face. Dental kit when asked for was purchased from a local shop, not customised one.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DINESH from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Mar 2008

3

NEVER SAY "NO" BUT NEVER DO THE ERRAND.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJIB from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2008

5

Good furnishings. Restaurant very good. We would definitely recommend the hotel for those who want character and good service. Hotel is nice. And I didn't find any problem in one night stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

N RAMESH from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jan 2008

5

Overall from check in to check out it was a pleasure staying at this hotel. What I like best is that none of the staff had their hands out for tips any time. Excellent system that you put your tips in a cover and leave it at the reception while checking out. In room dining was good and fast. Again location is excellent with a huge market right next doors. Overall a great experience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PROF.DR.PETRO from Riedering, Germany recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jan 2008

5

Xlent stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KUMAR from JP Nagar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Nov 2007

4

Rooms have an elegant appeal. Spic n span hotel. Not very happy with the food. But indeed a great hotel for stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AVERILL from Bedsord, United Kingdom recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Nov 2007

5

Awesome and splendid hotel stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAKESH from Navi Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Nov 2007

3

Hotel is good but it is under repair.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANGLA from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Oct 2007

5

Fantastic place.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MS RAMILA from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Oct 2007

5

Everything was great. I will like to give it OR should I say it just deserves a 5/5.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

YAKUB from Guwahati, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Sep 2007

5

This property is beautiful with excellent staff and service. Great location. Looks of hotel building was wonderful. Whenever I visit to kolkata, I like to stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. MADAN from Ahmedabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Sep 2007

5

Service is great. Room was perfect in size and very comfortable. It is very clean. Can be recommend to any high class traveler.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MAYANK from Guwahati, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Sep 2007

5

The interiors of The Oberoi Grand is a refreshing sight. The service is great with well trained staff. Bathroom was smaller. Recommend to all high class and business people.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. CHITAN from Ahmedabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Aug 2007

5

Great experience staying at The Oberoi Grand.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ABHIJIT from Guwahati, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Aug 2007

5

On a business trip to kolkata, spent a night in luxury.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AJAY from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jul 2007

3

Not bad but better properties available at this price.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ABHIJIT from Guwahati, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jul 2007

5

Just a great hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BHUSHAN from SOMERSET, United States recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jul 2007

5

It was a great experience, I recommend it to anyone, who is newly married or wish going to the US consulate, as it is pretty close to the US consulate.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NILADRI from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jun 2007

5

Great hotel in the midst of Kolkata. Location excellent, near all the sight seeing places and 10 minutes away from Park Street. The hotel is peaceful. Rooms are old style. Clean room with great bathroom. Service is outstanding and the staff are friendly and superb people. Spa and pool facilities were great.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JASDEEP from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2007

5

Entrance of the hotel is fantastic. Rooms are clean, tidy and large too. Toilets were clean. Size of the bathroom was very large and very nice. Service was good and quick. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They provided us a fantastic buffet breakfast. The South Indian dish was very tasty. The whole ambience of the hotel was very good.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

HIMANSHU from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2007

4

The hotel is very good. The rooms are very large and the cleaning fantastic. But the toilets were a little dirty. They did not give any complimentary food which was disappointing. There was a swimming pool in the hotel and a nice health club. The food was very tasty specially the thali's that they serve. The service was good. The staff members were very helpful and polite.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5