Hotel Samudra (KTDC)

3 Star  

G V Raja Road, Kovalam, Kerala - 695 527

Hotel Samudra (KTDC), Kovalam - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.6/5 Good
(Based on 16 reviews)

93.8% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.6)
  • Service Quality (3.4)
  • Dining Quality (3.3)
  • Cleanliness (3.5)

Hotel Samudra (KTDC) - Individual ratings and reviews:

SUMAN KALYAN from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Mar 2012

5

This hotel location is excellent any the location is the best in kovalam. The hotel resort is nicely decorated. I have booked delux type room. Room was very good. One flat scren LCD TV was in my room.Sea is also visible from every room of the hotel.food quality of Breakfat, lunch and dinner was excellent but the cost of the food is bit high. In every evening hotel authority arrange for a live performace program by local artist. You can enjoy your dinner with this program.Hotel and the rooms were very clean. Overall very good experience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BALAKRISHNAN from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jul 2011

4

Hotel is not so far from the railway station the location was good also the hotel was very good the rooms are up to the mark. Staff are very co-operative and the services are very good so I will definately suggest this hotel to my family.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ABHISHEK from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Mar 2010

3

The water in the bathroom was very unclean and muddy in color. On complaining the hotel staff simply said it is due to some problem in their water tank. We could not even take bath.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

T YATHI from AHMEDABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Feb 2010

4

I was on my honeymoon and it would certainly be memorable.KTDC Rocks !!! Food, Staff, Location, Rooms everthing was just great adn to the mark.Beach is very from the hotel and in a very quite place than your usual crowded area.Property made for family travellers..Visit and know yourself ...WOW !!!

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAHUL from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Feb 2010

3

Its very good hotel i really very enjoy in this hotel i dont like food that much but the resort is well maintain its a near by beach resort i will visit in this hotel again

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ARAVIND from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Feb 2010

3

This is very fabulous property located on the beach in peaceful ambience. this is not near to railway station airport or busy shopping places as this beach itself around some 18 km from trivandrum city There are total 3 beaches and this hotel is located on 2 nd beaches.giving very good view of the sea .but please note the food is typical and very expensive not upto the mark The staff was helping and courtius but food please tell them to improvise.Otherwise i will say everyone in search of relaxation should goto this place

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VINOD from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2010

4

The location of this hotel is awesome. It is on a small hill that overlooks the ocean and the beach. The landscape view from the room is breathtaking. The pool is great. On the downside, since it is maintained by the Kerala government, the service is not great. The complimentary breakfast buffet is nothing to write home about. The check-in experience seemed like going to a government office for getting some official work done. The staff are indifferent at the reception. On the other hand, whenever I called house keeping for extra towels or any issues, they were prompt. The pool and the hotel grounds are very well maintained. The hotel is not quite value for money in the peak season. The rooms are outdated and need updating. There is no Internet access. The air-conditioner is central and we did not have much control over the temperature. The temperature controls in our room were set to the lowest cooling and it was still a little warm. We had to turn on the fan to stay cool.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRAMOD from DEHRA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jan 2010

4

The hotel was a quiet comfortable for a stay. The room was good and cleaned on demand. The bathroom was cleaned but was in style not suitable for average Indian as no jet/water facility was available in the toilet seat. Food quality was average as no north Indian dishes prepared properly even south Indian dishes were not of the standard being in South India. The location and landscaping was very excellent and I'll recommend the hotel for stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BHUVNESH from noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Dec 2009

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

NITIN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Dec 2009

4

The location is good but the food quality is not up to the mark.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

UMAKANTA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Oct 2008

4

Good Value for the Money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ILKA from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2008

4

Above Average

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GAURAV from Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Feb 2008

3

I stayed at Hotel Samudra for 1 night during my honeymoon. I will post this review based on quality of room, service & dining experience. Firstly, the deluxe room i had was ok in size but had a stale air in it. AC was terrible and it was more of a blower than an AC. The room had a stink which is normally present in dated hotels and poorly maintained properties. I had expected a mini bar in the room as it was a deluxe room but it wasn't there. Also the TV was making a buzzing sound when switched on. Coming to the service levels, i would say the hotel is just OK. We ordered tea in the room which came quickly however tea quality could have been better. Our request for changing the TV set was never entertained. Buffet dinner in the open garden was good and we enjoyed live music performance there. Overall, i would say that its not the best places to stay and it doesnt justify its high price. This property enjoys good views of the sea and i would say that this is the only scoring point of the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. KARAM VEER from New Delhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 05 Feb 2008

1

I will not recommend this property to any one. Basic cleanliness was missing in the room. There was no facilities. Food was pathetic in taste. Staff and service was not upto the mark. Below average property.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SUMAN from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2007

4

Everything is great. The view from the rooms is breathtaking. The beach is at hand and there are hammocks to relax in the garden. In the evenings there is usually a cultural programme. Put your feet up and enjoy.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MADHUSREE from Stamford, United States recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Dec 2007

5

We had an excellent experience. I would highly recommend.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5