Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

5 Star  

G V Raja Road, Kovalam, Kerala - 695 527

Starting from Rs. 7,323
Choose Dates

Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, Kovalam - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.1/5 Excellent
(Based on 29 reviews)

100.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4.1)
  • Service Quality (4)
  • Dining Quality (3.8)
  • Cleanliness (4.1)

Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa - Individual ratings and reviews:

ABHISHEK from MEERUT, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Feb 2013

5

Excellent. Can recommend without any second thought.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ABHINAV from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Oct 2012

4

It is a very good place to stay at. but some things that i would like to bring to your notice- 1. This hotel is on samudra beach which comes before the main kovalam beach wen coming from trivandrum city. so do remember to bargain with the cab/auto wala accordingly. 2.The hotel location is vry good, and at the beach itself. 3.room service was good, and quick. so was house keeping. 4.for breakfast, try and go as early as possible, because the guests end up messing up the area where the food is kept..there is chutney spilt around..the cornflakes are kept open in bowls and become stale, the fruits too. and inspite of me asking the chef to clean up, they did not bother to do so. 5.The ayurvedic centre..i got a shirodhara done, but i had read somewhr that the oil needs to fall at one point on ur forehead.but here, they were just pouring the oil all over.which was quite disturbing..considering they are charging premium rates. 6.Their other reataurants..the grill and the cafe lounge are decently priced and should be tried.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AMIT from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Feb 2012

3

This hotel is definitely not a 5 star as they claim but at best it can be termed as a decent 2-3 star hotel. They should price appropriately. The 'suite' was not actually a suite but a normal standard type one. We paid almost 9000 per room to book expecting a good room, but was no better than any tourism department's room with very average finishing, an old style TV, sticky flooring, and average bathroom. The price of this hotel should not be more that 3000-4000/night. Not a good property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ABHILASH from THIRUVANANTHAPURAM, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Feb 2012

4

Nice experience truly value for money especially in Kovalam. Excellent location, good housekeeping,courteous staff buffet dinner needs improvememnt Overall great stay at udaya samudra.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VIKRAM from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Sep 2011

5

For me the hotel was a good value for money. Hotel is awesome along with very good service and food. I loved it.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RITESH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Sep 2011

3

The food quality is very good but it is very expensive, Services at this hotel was average. The staff behaviour was average. Overall it was a good stay at the hotel I will rate this hotel as above average hotel I will recommend this hotel to my friends for future bookings.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

JAYATHEEPAM from Scarborough, Canada recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Sep 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

TAPENDU from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Aug 2011

5

Room service was excellent. break fast needs to improve a bit...Overal we enjoyed staying in that hotel. I recommend this hotel for all.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR VINAY from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jun 2011

3

As we drove on the Kovalam Bypass road looking for this hotel, though there were lot of signages to guide the traveller or guest towards its property but the main diversion doesn't have the impressive big signage as the adjacent Taj Vivanta has. The entrance to the hotel is immediate but impressive lobby and reception. The welcome was nice. We were escorted to our rooms which were facing the sea. The view was nice and the property has been nicely built and laid out with three swimming pools , restaurants and dining areas. Rooms gave away that the property is old as the furniture and TV were not up to the mark. The bathrooms needs a overhauling as the mirror was old , bathtub had cracking and the faucets on the taps were coming out. Service was good but a we were late though maybe due to the size of the property. Food seemed average as they can do much better in this department especially in the breakfast. Bar needs to be more equipped with variety of beer & Scotch. First bar I have seen which does not allow any snacks to be served there except peanuts. The visit to Ayurvedic massage centre was nice as they offer a variety of massages. Overall Experience: Though they claim its a five star award winning property but clearly I do not understand how as the rooms need serious makeover if it needs to compete in the 5 star segment. The location of hotel is very nice right on the small beach. If they put in 30% more effort it can truly be world class resort.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PATRICIA from OSWESTRY, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Mar 2011

3

was certainly not a 5 star hotel as your website suggested,public toilets smelt,no extractor fans,no windows,no attendant.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAHUL from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2011

5

I loved my stay in the hotel, it was just awesome. The rooms are very nice with well maintained furniture�s. The hotel is located just nearby the beach so I enjoyed my stay in the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR ADESH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jul 2010

5

The hotel was excellently laid out giving a feel of space and surroundings. The room did not however have any view of the sea which is what travellers go to see in Kovalam. The welcome drink was pleasant and the lobby was vast and offered a good way for teh

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DEEPAK from gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jul 2010

4

the only thing i didn't like about the hotel they will charge you 30rs for dental kit though in all the other hotel it was available for free.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MARGARET from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Mar 2010

3

Requested a doctor for my husband. In reception they advised the cost would be Rs.500 - the doctor charged Rs.1200 (brief medical check and some direct pills). We received no receipt and believe we were overcharged.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JOHN from London, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Mar 2010

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMIT from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Feb 2010

4

Very good hotel. Value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ROWAN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2010

4

The Hotel is far away from the Trivandrum International Airport, near there are good market place also beaches are there, the staff people are very good, I can recommend the hotel to my family and friends.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.SHISHIR from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2010

4

My stay at the hotel was great and I liked the rooms and teh service was also nice. The hotel is overall a very clean hotel. Would recommend this hotel for business travellers as well as people who travel with their families.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SAAYANTAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Feb 2010

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AZAD from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jan 2010

4

very nice ambiance,Service,facilities&location. But the only draw back was the Food menu was a bit overly charged. Any Ways Bottom Line is..... "Definitely Worth the money Spending" ..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. BHAVESH from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2010

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JYOTI SINGH from roukera, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jan 2010

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MILIND from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jan 2010

5

room service takes a lot of time, & would sugest to have pool side rooms

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DANISH from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Nov 2009

5

Hotel Approach and Reception: Easily accessible and next to Taj Green Cove resort. Pickup can be arranged from hotel it slef and is advisable for tourists. Friendly staff at reception ensuring a fast check-in. Rooms: I had booked an AC Suite but due to come leakage, was transferred to a Presidential Suite!!! Needless to say, it was breathtaking with a great view of the sea. All modern facilities were available in the suite. Housekeeping: Staff is very quick and good. Dining: Quality is average but very few options are available. Out of 4 restaurants, only one was working. Juices in buffet breakfast were like water. Very low score in terms of food. Overall: Value for money hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AKASH from LUDHIANA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Nov 2009

5

All the trip is very good, we have enjoyed!

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ALKA from Ghaziabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Mar 2008

4

Room service was excellent and the staff was polite. The rooms were quite convenient and the decor was fabulous. I also checked the food it was awesome. It is well located in the city so no trouble at all. I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUJEESH from Boston, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jan 2008

3

The hotel is located on Samudra Beach which is a smaller beach next to Kovalam Beach. Check-in and Check-out experience was terrible. The resort staff were friendly and helpful and the pool areas were clean and had enough chairs available inspite of it being peak season. It was also nice to be able to walk to the beach though it was quite a dirty beach. The rooms were small and not very clean, the bathroom was dirty. There was also some construction going on so there was a lot of noise during the day. There are a few food options in the resort however I would recommend them for only snacks. We ended up only having breakfast at the resort which was good.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. RAMNEEK from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Nov 2007

3

Our room was comfortable & good. In restaurant south Indian food was pretty good. Staff service was efficient and friendly.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

K M from bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Nov 2007

3

Rooms are decent. Staff are friendly and helpful. The food was bit spicy though.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5