Backwater Retreat

2 Star  

Aymanam, Kumarakom, Kerala - 686 004

Starting from Rs. 2,367
Choose Dates

Backwater Retreat, Kumarakom - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.5/5 Good
(Based on 80 reviews)

77.5% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.4)
  • Service Quality (3.4)
  • Dining Quality (3.3)
  • Cleanliness (3.4)

Backwater Retreat - Individual ratings and reviews:

AYAN from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jan 2014

4

Pros - Spacious rooms, very helpful staff and manager who organized houseboat and local transport, relaxed environment like homestay Cons - location was a hindrance esp. from commuting point of view, drainage and leaking tap respectively in bathroms, limited food options

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VINKAL from AHMEDABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Mar 2013

4

Not a worth of money, location is good and peaceful, but very very costly, nothing much to enjoy as per tariff except "peace"

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NAGARAJA from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2012

4

Owner is a good man and staff are also helpful. But our stay was marred by constant blabbering of loud speakers from the church beside.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BIJO from THIRUVANANTHAPURAM, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jan 2012

5

Very nice and silent place for mostly Honeymoon couples. I went there with my family, We really enjoyed the stay and their hospitality was great. Rooms are very clean and neat.The room service is was also very good.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SACHIN from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Dec 2011

3

The hotel location was secluded and had no option to rome nearby. Felt like, it was a house stay rather than a comfort hotel. Good for bag packers but not for couples on a vacatio.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

T. SATISH from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jul 2011

5

Very nice place to stay....I felt like home at this place...

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SURAJIT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2011

5

The hotel seemed like a heritage building with wooden structure. The arrangements and services were quite amazing with amazing people around.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUNIL from Hooghly, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Feb 2011

4

Overall my stay in the hotel was very pleasant. The hotel is located at a place where you can find peace for yourself. The hotel is very huge with well furnished interiors. The decor is simply great. I will definitely plan my next trip to Kumarakom and will stay in this hotel only.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHANMUGAM from COIMBATORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 07 Sep 2010

1

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SIDDHARTH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jul 2010

4

The hotel was a good place to chill and relax. Very Economic also. Food tastes home made unlike other hotels. The hotel owner Mr. Kurian treated us very well and was very helpful to us while planning our stay. He also got us a good deal for houseboat. Just be sure to call n take driving directions from the hotel. Overall a good experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SURESH from KOCHI(COCHIN), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jul 2010

5

If Kerala is gods own country, then here he stays.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DR RAMESH from Chandigarh, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jun 2010

5

A royalhomely stay in the middle of a jungle,extreme of hospitality that anish waited by his own car at kottyam railway station for two hours as our train was late without any extra charges, Mr kudian was all the way along to serve in a best way,madam is master of kitchen with delicious south Indian homemade disheshight of hospitality he enquired about our stay in other places two days after to solve our language problem a geat stay with love at home i salute them

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANDEEP from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jun 2010

5

Just returned from a 3-daysnight long stay at Backwater Resorts. To sum it all upput it in a single line, it simply is not possible. So, read on. Location/Getting There ====================== First, about getting there. Our host whom I describe later, was grateful enough to have us picked up despite our train running late ( Make sure you contact them before your visit as the resort cold be difficult to reach otherwise). Once, reaching the resort, we met our host, this lovely couple in their mid life but so young at their heart. The welcomegreeting made us feel we reached home after a long journey. Tip/Expectations ================ To be clear, if you are expecting Backwater Resort to be yet another hotel, puba commercial kind of noisy resort with all the booze, drinks, bartenderswaiters, this place is not for you. Then, my advice is this is do not waste your money herefor that matter even on a trip to this part of Kerala. ResortRooms ================ Backwater Resort is set in serene, country-side of Kumarakom, Kerala. The cottagesrooms are largespacious with a TV. There is an attached bathrooms/bath are kept clean. The rooms at the resort overlook palm-trees, a free-flowing river, fishermen busy with their nets wading through the waters with their proud catch of the day. Also across the river, is a garden nurtured by a neighbourly professor with a lovely collection of exotic variety of spicescondiments. The aroma of spices from the garden is just freshlovely (You could buy some of the seasonalof the finest quality spices too). To keep the pace of life low, we were provided with fishing rods for fishing in the river. When it�s not-raining, the water is clear flowingfishing is an unforgettable experience. (Tip: Because the resort is beside a river, keep the doorswindowsyour room shut since evening for mosquitoes). The walk through the village is again an experience in itself in evenings. If lucky, you might see kingfisherother birds fishing in the mornings. Service/Host ============ The host is this lovely couple who will do everything to make your holiday relaxing, enjoyableunforgettable. Anything, reasonable you need, you could un-hesitatingly ask themyou should have it. They do everything like a parent who is gladjoyful to have their child for their holidaypamper them with all the weird requests you might have. So, just think of it like how much energy they put into to make your holiday. Sometimes make you feel you aren�t a gueststranger any more. Even, the people(SubinVeghese) who work at the resort provide excellent servicehospitability. Cuisine/Dining =============== If you are foodie, trust me, you won�t miss out. You could let your choice knownavailability pertaining, could have what you want like chicken, fish(karimeen fry)prawns. The cuisine served is freshly available vegetables, slow cooked into a typical homely kerala delicacy which is healthya rewarding experience for the self-proclaimed connoisseur. The breakfast too is a collection of delicious kerala food like Aapam/DosaPuttu. For best experience, enjoy the breakfast overlooking the river outside rather in your room. Experience ========== Our host also provided with a car at a very nominal charge to show inaround the village. Subin, drove usbeing a good guide showed usexplained everything around. Finally, we spent a day on the houseboat arranged (not included in package) by our host which has been an experience in itself . Summary ======= Thank you for a lovely stay. I certainly recommend Backwater Retreatalso for a stay on the houseboat.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

YOGESH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 15 Mar 2010

1

Not a place to stay. Nothing is there. Please dont go i wasted almost 4000 to reach here. This not a resort old house belive me.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

PRADEEP from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2010

3

Although some might insist this place in not in Kumarokam, Mr. Kurien made travel to and from this retreat very simple. A no-nonsense setup which is good enough for spending a couple of nights. Food options need careful consideration.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARNAB from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Feb 2010

4

This is a good place to stay except there is nothing to in the evening..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RUKU from JAMNAGAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Feb 2010

4

The stay at he hotel was ok,staff behavior was also Ok.The Hotel was a bit far away from railway and Airport.hotel recammended for both family and Busines travellers.The food was also fine.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRABHAT KUMAR from JAMNAGAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Feb 2010

4

Mr.Prabhat Kumar Ghosh was not available her daughter gave the feedback (Ruku Ghosh).The stay at he hotel was ok,staff behavior was also Ok.The Hotel was a bit far away from railway and Airport.hotel recammended for both family and Busines travellers. )

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.GANESH from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2010

3

Hotel is 5 minutes walk towards the temple and because of the same morning aartis there is lot of noise and its disturbing.Staff is friendly, but very limited and they do not serve tea while at breakfast.Property is placed in crowded place as its closer to the temple, hence 1 night stay is what can be prefered.A property is economical and an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DHARMESH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jan 2010

3

First of all, this place is NOT in Kumarakom!!! It is 12 kms away in some remote village. Swimming pool was empty. Food was very basic and sometimes not enough in quantity (Forget about appetizers or deserts). There are no other options around as it is in a remote village. On the slightly brighter side, they made excellent arrangements for our massage and boating(of course 12 km away). So, go to this place if you do not have any option left and ask for the room on the first floor.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANJALI from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Sep 2008

5

Our stay in Backwater Retreat was an excellent experience. Lovely place, best food, fine hospitality. spotlessly clean and spacious rooms. The broad veranda gives long vistas of a net-work of rivers. A splendid escape from the smoky pollutions and noises of city life to a very serene and quiet atmosphere. The canal cruising through small hamlets to Kumarakom Lake provided fantastic spectacles of Siberian cranes in the dense green paddy fields and also flocks of ducks floating in the rivulets. Full value for money. Very much recommended for honey- moon couples and families who wish to spend a couple of days away from the boredom of hurry-burry city life.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

CHARLES from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Sep 2008

3

The stay was not that great in this property. Our room interior was not so appealing but it was clean and neat. The food was average in taste but the choice was also very less. Staff was courteous and polite towards the guest. It was just an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR.SAJITH from BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 03 Sep 2008

2

The location was good near the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable but their was no ventilation in the room. There was not much variety in the food and it was too expensive. Staff was co-operative. It is not worth the money.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR SUSHANTH from MANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 19 Aug 2008

2

It was a horrible experience with this hotel. Our room was not that great in looking as the interiors were not so appealing. There was a lecage of water in the bathroom. But the food was homely made. We won't stay in this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. MANJUNATH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Aug 2008

4

The hotel was quite reasonable yet well facilitated and service was prompt. Staff was responsive and service was instant. Food was well prepared and served elegantly. I also like their cleanliness and maintenance. It was a recommendable property for sure.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JIJO from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Aug 2008

4

The stay was desirable and service was prompt. Room quality and food arrangement was also well up to the standard. Management was responsive and location was also perfect. It was worth to stay over there.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PARVEEN from Delhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2008

1

It is no where close to Kumarakom. We did not liked anything here. Overall, stay was very disappointing.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

DORAISINGH from bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jul 2008

3

This property is not located in a proper Kumarakom, its away and close to Kottayam. You will get a home cooked kind of food, which was very fine but no choices. The room was comfortable and the service was good. Cleanliness was fine too.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR RAMAN from haryana, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2008

1

This is the most pathetic hotel i have ever seen. First of all it was very difficult to located it. Then the hotel as such is in a pitiful state, there is lack of maintenance. The room we were provided was totally shabby. We left within no time.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

D.BALAJI from Coimbatore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jun 2008

4

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was well equipped with all the necessities. The room service were active & friendly. Also the food served was delicious. We would love to visit this place once again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

CHANDARSHEKHAR from Sikandarabad, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 21 Jun 2008

2

Our room was not so great in looking, the interiors were not appealing. Also it was not cleaned properly. The service provided by the staff was very slow. We had our breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, it was pathetic in taste. It is not value for money.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SHANKAR from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jun 2008

4

Our room was not so great in looking, the interiors were not appealing. Even the food was decent in taste. But only the service provided by the staff was excellent. Altogether this is an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJ from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jun 2008

3

The hotel was worth the price charged. Room quality was not so great and facilities were limited but you can not expect royal treatment in such rates. Otherwise food was up to my expectation and location was useful.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

HARI KRISHNA from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 May 2008

3

We are unhappy with the food part, there was no choice for the breakfast or dinner as we were on package. Rest other things were fine. But it was not a worthy stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

LITTY from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2008

5

Our stay was excellent, indeed its one of the best properties that we have stayed during our Kerla trip. Our room was great and the hospitality provided was wonderful. Also we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and dinner. Overall a great deal for the price.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VENKATARAMANI from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 May 2008

5

Staying in Backwater retreat is an excellent experience. The place is nearer to Kottayam and not exactly in Kumarakom. But the owner Mr.George will guide you nicely. Boat ride arranged through the canals is an unique experience which may not be available in other resorts. Good, clean rooms. Best part was the vegetarian food. Unbelievable. Mr. Raju the man friday was very helpful. Worth visiting again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. MANISH from MUMBAI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 18 May 2008

2

Our experience was bad. The locality was not a decent one and property was pathetic. There was no good arrangement for rooms or service. I will strictly regret my stay at this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

M K from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 May 2008

5

Had an excellent stay in this hotel. The location is wonderful for a vacation. My room was very well maintained. Also the room service were very honest, customer satisfaction was their only goal. The food too was divine. I will give full marks to this property.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ASHA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Apr 2008

5

The food, treatment and hospitality in Backwater Retreat were excellent. Very much homely. We got the maximum personal care here. The staff is at your service at any time of the day or night. The property is located on the brink of a river flowing into the Kumarakom Lake. The scenic beauty is fantastic, Rooms are spacious - elegantly and tastefully furnished. There is reasonable ambiance and cleanliness is up to the mark. The atmosphere is quiet and serene. It is not a very big property and there is no vast area of land as you see in other big properties. So the personal care we get here is unmatched unlike other big properties. We went for a cruise in the mechanised boat owned by the Retreat, through canals and rivers to the Kumarakom Lake. We boarded the boat right from the front of the property and it was a delightful and pleasant experience. The complimentary breakfast and lunch were much better than what we expected. The stay here is worth the money you spend. Very much recommended for HoneyMoon couples and families who wish to spend some time in a natural setting, away from the maddening noises of city life.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VINOD from Gaziabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Mar 2008

4

Backwater retreat is a good property but it could have been better if the river was close to the property is what we felt. However it was a good stay. We could recommend this property for others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. VISHAL from New Delhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 24 Mar 2008

2

This was probably the worst experience I ever had. The location was not as exotic as we expected. The room was small. The food was pathetic. The staff are poor in hospatility.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MS. KALYANI from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Mar 2008

3

It is a bungalow converted in to a hotel, its not a resort at all. Ambiance was very bad, there is just a canal behind the property, unlike waterscapes. Our Luxury Deluxe A/C Room was okay but there was no room service. Only good thing is the food in the restaurant, chef was amazing in preparing the food. However not recommended for honeymoon couples.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. CHINMAY from Kolkatta, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Mar 2008

4

There was only one thing great at this property and that is food except dining all the area is just so so. Room was very ordinary. Cleanliness needs to be improved. On whole its an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJESH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Mar 2008

3

Location is not good the property is far away from KUMARAKOM. Room was very ordinary. Food was ok in taste. Staff was so so at the service. Over all its an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARSHDEEP from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Mar 2008

3

The stay was average in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR.JIGAR from mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 06 Mar 2008

2

It was the worst experience on a honeymoon stay. Room was small and a/c was not working. In the evening it used to get full of mosquitoes. Moreover there was a partition between the room and the toilet. We went in the winter there was no facility for a decent breakfast is well. It was not a good property. Basically it was a bungalow converted into the hotel. The staff was limited and always used to give us excuses for inconvenience. I will never even think of that hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MRS ZENOBIA from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 06 Mar 2008

2

The staffs were lazy in service. Room was unclean and the breakfast was horrible in taste. I won't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. VIVEK from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Mar 2008

3

Stay was not that satisfying over all the property needs to improve a lot. They need to pay attention on each area. Its just average.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GAURAV from New Delhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 03 Mar 2008

1

It was the worst experience. Room was filthy and staff are untrained. I will never recommend to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SONAL from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Feb 2008

4

The room that alloted was not that clean there were lots of mosquitoes. Food served was very tasty. Service and staff was nice at their. Location is very convenient. Its recommendable to others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

YASH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2008

3

We stayed here for a nights in a Luxury Deluxe Room and it was a comfmortable. But we dint enjoyed the food in the restaurant & cleanliness needs to be improved.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

UJJWAL from Kolkata, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2008

1

Approach to hotel is pathetic. Room was small and very dirty. Service was very poor. Staff was not trained. Food served was bad to taste. Its an worst hotel i will never recommend to any one.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

EMRAN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Feb 2008

5

Its a good property. Food prepared was very delicious. Quality of room was great. Entire property was neat and clean. Staff was well trained and polite. Service was quick and perfect. Location is very convenient. I will highly recommend to every one.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ANIRBAN from DARJEELING, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Feb 2008

3

The property is not in kumarkom its 40km away from that. Food served was pathetic. Room alloted was good. Staff and service was ok. Over all the stay with this hotel was just average. Needs to improve a lot.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DHAVAL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Feb 2008

3

The service was very slow of the staffs they used to take 1 hour to serve the food in the room. Rooms were clean but the gyser was not working in the room. The food quality was fine.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RITESH from kolkata, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 05 Feb 2008

2

It was a bad experience. The property is not in the kumarakom its in the village which is near by the city. The property is below average. Food was not good in taste. There was no service. I will never recommend to any one in future, its a below average property.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. SOMENATH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Feb 2008

4

The food was average in taste but the varieties were less in food. Rooms were spacious with all the facilities. Staffs were co-operative and helpful. It is value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MRS. KIRAN from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 31 Jan 2008

2

It was the worst stay in this hotel. Rooms were dirty not cleaned properly. There was only one staff in the hotel he was very lazy in the service. The food quality was very bad in taste.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

ANIKET from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jan 2008

3

Rooms were small and good, the interior was also good. I had my food in the room, it was good. Staffs were very helpful.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PUNIT KUMAR from FARIDABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jan 2008

3

Facilities were minimal in the property, there was no much space only there was a little space behind the hotel down the stairs. Food was good. Room was also fine. Service was okay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

YUSUF from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jan 2008

3

Hotel was good, also the service. When we called any staff member for service, they came within a minute. I must say that they keep maintaining that. Recommend to all type of travelers.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR SUSHANTO from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jan 2008

5

The atmosphere and the service was completely homely type. They had a kitchen in which they prepared the food it was very delicious. Room was like a home flat but it was comfortable. I will surely recommend to others.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. ABHIJEET from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2008

5

The stay was wonderful in this hotel. Staffs were fabulous in their service. Rooms were well maintained having all the facilities. I had my food in the hotel it was delicious in taste. Would like to visit again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. PRASHANT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jan 2008

3

Over all my experience was good. And also we took our food in hotel restaurant itself and that was not so tasty. So I must suggest improving the quality of food. Room was perfect for 2 adults with river facing. Service was also as per expectation.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIVEK from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jan 2008

5

Rooms were excellent of the hotel. I had my meal in the room it was fantastic in taste. Service was very good of the staffs quick and always co-operative. On my next visit I would certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DR MUKESH from Baroda, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jan 2008

3

Hotel is located in a jungle it was very difficult to find the hotel. The rooms were good. The hotel has a small kitchen were they used cook the food and serve it in the room. There were lots of mosquitoes in the hotel. I won't stay in this hotel again in future.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. NAGESH S from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jan 2008

5

Rooms were spacious with all the facilities. I like the housekeeping of the staffs. Hotel has a small kitchen were they used to cook the food. The food was fabulous in taste. It is highly recommendable.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MRS PREM from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jan 2008

5

I would like to mention that the resort is located at a lovely spot perfectly blending with ecocity. The food and service are excellent. The staff is extremely helpful, courteous and co-operative. The place is quite safe. I recommend the resort backwater retreat to all those who intend to travel to kerala backwaters.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ROHIT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Dec 2007

4

There is no public transport available and if you want to travel anywhere in Kumarakom then you need to tell the hotel manager who will immediately arrange a rickshaw for you. Since the hotel is deserted you have no option but to hire a return journey rickshaw as no other rickshaw wala will be able to get you back to the hotel. So if you are going for sight seeing then you may hire rickshaw from the hotel in the morning get down at a Vembanad lake/Bird sanctuary which is the only attraction in Kumarakom and give a call to rickshaw driver in afternoon/evening that you are done with sight seeing and he can come and pick you up. For all these services you will have to pay an enormous amount of Rs. 320 to the Rickshaw driver. It should also be noted that this kaccha road which takes you to the hotel is very deserted and you will not find a single vehicle or a person on the road hence it provides a very horrifying experience. Rooms at the hotel are good and are tastefully designed but the bathroom is pathetic with lot of water logging. In the evening you can't stand in the balcony or keep your room door open as there are lots of mosquitoes & small insects. Television set in the hotel does not work and you will be lucky if you could even watch one single channel with proper reception quality. HOWEVER, hospitality at the hotel was phenomenal. Staff was extremely courteous and very polite. Staff even went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They even took us to spice garden in their own boat. They also brought some fresh fruits for us from this spice garden. They even took us for a ride in the canal in their own boat giving us the option to row the boat. Food at the hotel is also very good but you need to tell the cook in advance that you do not want to have coconut based food. To be very honest though the hotel is located at a deserted place but it provides a comfortable stay in a peaceful atmosphere away from the civilization, traffic and pollution. In fact after looking at the hospitality of the staff you will forget all your complaints & worries. I would give this hotel a rating of 3 out of 5. But for the hospitality I would rank it 5 on 5.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. SWAPNIL from mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2007

2

It is not a hotel. It is not in kumarkom. Bathrooms are pathetic.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SYED from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Dec 2007

4

Hotel was very good. The room was well done and spacious. Amenities were fine & staff service was good. We had food in hotel restaurant and that was good. In lunch they offered south Indian dishes. Service was also fantastic. I strongly recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ATUL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Nov 2007

5

Backwater Retreat in Kerala - it proved a delightful place to stay, in a beautiful and tranquil setting. The owner was very keen to ensure satisfaction, putting a library, internet and canoe at our disposal. The manager could not have been more helpful an d took us to a spice garden and on a boating trip. He was knowledgeable and good company. Food and ambience excellent for a relaxed stay. Highly recommended and a place we hope to revisit.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUBHRANSU from mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 22 Nov 2007

2

This is not exactly at Kumarkom, actualy it is in Aymanam which is in a village near by Kumarkom. We plan our holiday keeping the location in mind and when this does not happen our mood gets spoiled. The food quality is very bad, they should not give such quality as they are giving it as complimentary.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAMIR from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 21 Nov 2007

2

Worst hotel, room was untidy with lots of insects, location & service was below average, food was below average as we had no choice. I suggest not to stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SUNIL from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Nov 2007

3

Not a good option at all - primarily due to its location. It is nowhere close to Kumarakom backwaters. Located in a residential colony - a kuccha road under bridge.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. DHARMESH from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Nov 2007

4

Good location calm & quite. Staff is friendly and behavoiur is good. Over all a good experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR P S from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Nov 2007

4

Overall the hospitality is excellent. They havetaken care of their customer. Only the food part has to be improved. We are satisfied with the services provided by the team of Backwater Retreat.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. VIJAY BHUSHAN from Hydrabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Nov 2007

4

When there are more than three guests the hotel is not able to do better service as it is used to do with less guests.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHREEKANTH from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Oct 2007

5

We had been to Backwater Retreat, Kumarakom. The resort is wonderfully located. Service and staff are excellent. Rooms are cosy and beautiful with very good view. Resort has options for many activities like library, ayurvedic massage, canal cruise, fishin g etc. Food was excellent. We had a very relaxed time at resort. The experience was unforgettable esp. canal cruise and ambience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJESH from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jun 2007

5

I visited Kumarakom and stayed at BackWater Retreat for a night with my wife ....a really fantastic hotel. It has basic rooms but a lovely atmosphere, beautiful scene of the Kumarakom lake. Being vegetarians we ate vellappams with some vegetable stew. A must visit to all travelers looking for a place one with nature.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5