Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort

3 Star  

Kumarakom North, Kumarakom, Kerala - 686 563

Starting from Rs. 7,956
Choose Dates

Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, Kumarakom - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.9/5 Good
(Based on 31 reviews)

90.3% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.9)
  • Service Quality (3.8)
  • Dining Quality (3.6)
  • Cleanliness (3.6)

Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort - Individual ratings and reviews:

VIPIN from VELLORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Oct 2013

5

nice experience with good supporting staff. nice place for short term stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NARENDRA from AHMEDABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Mar 2012

3

The rooms are very good but the surroundings needs proper maintenance, which is currently lacking. A very good location, but lack of attention to details. Could not reach restaurant via phone for some reason for room service, so has to go circles via reception which took more than an hour to deliver the order and on top of that was not upto the mark of 3 star hotel. Pakodas were cold, sugar instead of syrup for Fresh lime soda (ofcourse sweet). Also, atleast the one receiving the call should be able to understand and communicate in english/hindi, which was not the case. Some little attention to details can earn great numbers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NIKET from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Dec 2011

5

The hotel here was good. I was satisified. Reading the reviews proved to be right. So I was assured that my trip was going to be pleasant. As I entered in the Reception, I was welcomed with welcome drink and was guided to the rooms. The Cottages were too good. The location of the cottages were excellent. The ambience was perfect for honeymoon couples like us. The view from the Restaurant was also very refreshing. One could see the Houseboat sailing throught he Vembanad lake and backwaters. There was not a single moment when we felt bored in the hotel. One could spend time in the presence of nature. In all it was worth for the money spend on this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUNIL from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Oct 2011

5

We enjoyed our stay.it was a very good experience with a great ambience...

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RITESH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Sep 2011

4

The location of this hotel is amazing. The staff behaviour was average. Service was not so good at the hotel I will rate this hotel as above average. Will recommend this hotel to my friends for future bookings.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANJAY from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2011

4

Hotel is in good location,Staffs are very cooprative,For restaurant was very clean,staffs are very co-oprative.i can suggest this hotel to my family also friends.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DEEPAK from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jul 2010

3

Housekeeping was horrible. Unclean balcony with black dust sticking to our feet.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

V RAVI KUMAR from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2010

4

My stay was good. Hotel location is excellent. Food is averagethey have only buffet option at dinnernot worth the money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANJAY from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jul 2010

4

It was a good experince in staying this hotel.cottages are well desinged facing canal.overall good property to stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NITIN from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jun 2010

3

Hotel Experience Waterscapes is a nature lovers paradise. The theme of waterscapes hotel is nature - As close to nature as it can get. I was looking for a relaxingrefreshing vacationwaterscapes did not dissappoint me. It is a perfect location, surrounding Kerela backwater canalsoverlooking the Vembanad lake. Cottages are build several feet over ground levelwater canals (Man made) running underneath. The hotel gives a perfect experience of living in a jungle. Location,reaching here Waterscapes is located on the banks of river Vembenad. It is situated in Kumarakom area of Kottayam district which is about 80 minutes drive from Ernakulum railway stationabout 30 minutes drive from Kottayam railway station. Nearest airport is Cochin airport. Fascilities Internet - Available on request Indoor games - Pool, Carrom, Table Tennis Restaurant - Too expensive for its quality

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

HARIKRISHNAN from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jun 2010

5

I cant find something to say other than 200 % Value for Money.. Stay in waterscapes was an awesome experience. Clean , wooded cottages near the Lake, wast facilities close to Nature. I visited in June , the nights were filled with the cries of Cicadas, felt so close to earth. The staff were very friendly , and courteous. I would say a must visit to any one who want to go to Kumarakom. Just the resort would even do. Hats off to the KTDC for the quality of the service they provide. The only con I can say might be about the menu in restaurant. @night they seem to only have dinner buffet if not many guests are currently in house. But in a word "Fantabulous" and a must visit.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JAYARAMAN from CHENNAI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 01 Jun 2010

2

Staffing There are so many other state visitors at this hotel. The staff cannot communicate in basic english due to their malayi pride. So it was extremely difficult to convey our complaints to the staff. Hotel room The hotel rooms were very bad in shape. We were given room no 401 which was a horrible room. The a/c was not working, there were no tea cups (the staff do not know the difference between coffee and tea cups), there was short supply of toilet rolls. My wife got injured from the protruding nails of the bamboo furniture. The switches near the plug points were meant for switching on the lights !!. Many of the bulbs, electrical connections DID NOT WORK. Overall A POORLY MAINTAINED ROOM BY A TYPICAL GOVERNMENT AGENCY. Food The waiters were smelly. The food served was horrible. In the morning there was a mad scramble to get the poori / masala and the toasts. None of the waiters felt for the clients and did a refill in the buffet. Except for the restaurants location everything else was bad. Swimming Pool There was short supply of towels. The pool was not clean. During my stay i say the pool being cleaned maybe twice. The ONLY GOOD THING about this restaurant is the location. Apart from this it was a VERY BAD CHOICE by us.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

GEETANJALI from city, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2010

5

We were a little lost trying to search for the hotel and were pleasantly suprised when we were at the entrance of the santctuary leading to the periyar lake.the hotel is beautifully located.In the forest area with the periyar lake just a hop away.the staff was excellent and willing to help at any given point.the only problem being that you had to be back in the hotel by 6 as cars were not allowed inside the santctuary after 6.it was a very peaceful and quite atmosphere with my room overlooking the forest.given a chance i would love to go back there just to be with nature itself.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

GEETANJALI from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2010

2

Excellent property,very good location.but the least they could have done was to keep the rooms neat and clean.you can stay over here if you fancy the idea of sharing the bed with lizards and lizard poo.on my complain of the same,they took over 3hours just to get me a clean room.the staff was not courteous and far from being helpful.the room service had nothing to offer other than the buffet meals.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

RAIHANA from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 May 2010

5

Location: Water Scapes is located in a place called Kumarakom on the bank of the very famous lake called Vembanad and Bird sanctuary. Location is rally superb. Resort: The resort is among the tall trees and gives the feeling of staying in a forest. Since, it is located very close to the bird sanctuary, The chirpping sound of the birds in the morning and evening gives us refreshment. Small streams are running all around the resort between every cottages. Only negative is that the water in the streams are not neatly maintained which gives us the dirty feeling. Rooms: All are individual cottages built on a different style. All over the experience was nice.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIVEK from NASHIK, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Apr 2010

4

Rooms were very good. But the a/c was not as powerful as it should be.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SARAMMA from SNELLVILLE, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Apr 2010

4

It was really a good experience and my sincere thanks to the staff at Water Scapes.Cool!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIVIAN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Feb 2010

4

The hotel is very good,and also near by there are good scenarios also good dams are there, there is also Taj just 10 Min from the hotel, The staff are very good and also I defiantly recommend the hotel to my family and my friends.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

BHARATH from HYDERABAD, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 05 Feb 2010

2

Water Scapes is Kerala Govt owned property. one look at the Water Scapes website am sure anyone would be falttered and book the accomodation right away. But, when you actually see the property you then realise that you are mercilessly cheated. The accomidation are all single hut shaped and a lot of wood has been used in the room which gives a stinking smell. I found 2 lizards in the room and I had to change my room in the middle of the night as I can't sleep when a lizard in around in my room. The curtains cloth has got many stains on it not sure if it had been used as a door mat. The rooms really SUCKS. Now the land scaping outside the room. There is small man made canal which runs through the entire property. This canal has become a breeding ground for the mosquitoes and you dare not go close to canal. You can see lots and lots of dried leaves around covering the grass. Not sure if they clean atleast once in six months. The top of the rooms are covered with dried leaves and junk pieces of wood and when you shut the door you can see few leave and other stuff falling down from the roof like flowers falling on hero shown in the movies. The tariff is very expensive and I am sure at such rates one can experience a royal treatment at other properties. I would definitely not recommend this property to any one.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

ATUL from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Jan 2010

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MS. ADITI from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2010

4

Average quality of room and good facilities inside the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. CHINMAY from SURAT, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Sep 2009

5

The stay at Water Scapes,Kumaarkom was truel enjoyable and the kids and my wife were just stunned at seeing the location.The concept of 1 room in one cottage is a unique one.The dining as well as swimming and boating facilities too were up to the mark.The staff was humble and allowed me to stay till 3pm even when I had to checkout at 12pm.Overall it was an unforgettable experience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KALIM from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Aug 2009

4

the location of the hotel is great. service was also good. but the cleanliness was a problem, we had a problem with lizards in the room & one of them fell on our bed from the wooden roof above. it sort of became an adventure after that.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

DANISH from MORADABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jul 2009

4

Hotel is about 16 km from Kottayam railway station very easy to get taxi/ auto,very scenic in big green area at backwater of Kumarakom with bird sanctury with in the campus. Rooms are wooden huts made about 6 feet above ground. All cottages seprated with water canals with access through nicely connected walking area and bridges. Its really a unique stay probably difficult to forget.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRABHANJAN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Oct 2008

4

We checked into this hotel arriving from the Houseboat & it really was a nice experience. The hotel is beautiful, we had taken a canal view as we felt there was no point in paying extra for the lake view, you can enjoy the lake view from the restaurant as well. Another advantage is thats its adjoining to the bird sanctuary, though you can hardly see any birds (you can hear a lot of them). We also took a boat ride in the adjoining canal, which my 3yr old daughter & wife enjoyed a lot. The hotel is worth the value, its clean, beautifully designed cottages - exterior as well as interior. They are spacious with all necessary requirements. The service is timely & good as well. they have table tennis, carrom & pool table as recreation, I did not like the fact they charge rent for the pool table (50 rs) though nominal, seems cheap. I have rated the dinning options as average cause they have a small list of menu & are not open to flex to your choice (beyond whats listed in the menu card. Overall this was the best stay experience in the whole of kerala trip. The swimming pool is well maintained & it gives a view of the vast lake make it more enjoyable. Highly recommended for a nice resort experience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ATUL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2008

4

I was totally happy with the stay. The room was spacious and decor was fabulous. Staff was co-operative and well aware of guests needs and requirements. The food arrangement was up to my expectations and location was also convenient. I will recommend this property for couples and families.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GAURANG from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Mar 2008

5

Service was simply superb. Room was fabulous very clean and comfortable. Food prepared was very delicious. Staff was helpful and friendly. Overall it was a lovely stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUBHAMOY from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2008

4

I stayed in canal view room it was clean and neat with all the basic facilities. Staffs were quick and prompt in their work. I had my breakfast and dinner in the restaurant it was superb in taste. Location was fabulous near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DINESH from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jan 2008

4

Our stay was wonderful in this property. Canal View Room was comfortable, neat and tidy. Ambiance was great. Service was very good, only negative feedback was about food in the restaurant, breakfast was pathetic as it was tasteless & they do use to add salt for the food however dinner was ok. Overall, except food everything was above average.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAVIO from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jan 2008

3

Less than expected though I had the lake view room, i think the resort needs lots of maintainence. Overall an average experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

BUDHADEV from Cuttack, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Dec 2007

4

Food was great. Staff was friendly who were always there to help. Room was very very much comfortable.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5