Swiss Country Resort

3 Star  

Mahabaleshwar Panchgani Road, Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra - 412 806

Swiss Country Resort, Mahabaleshwar - Guest Reviews & Ratings

2.9/5 Average
(Based on 35 reviews)

65.7% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (2.7)
  • Service Quality (2.9)
  • Dining Quality (2.9)
  • Cleanliness (2.7)

Swiss Country Resort - Individual ratings and reviews:

PRAMOD from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Aug 2012

3

The rooms were totally packed without any ventilation. The toilet roof was leaking heavily. Food was much much expensive.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.SHAILESH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 12 Feb 2012

1

Hotel located in the good area but the rooms are not at all good and not well furnished. They are not having good services and the dining options are also not good. Staff is not well trained, I am not happy with the hotel and with there services. In future I will not suggest this hotel to anybody.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

BINAY KR from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2012

2

The hotel staff are friendly and location is also average but the rooms are under renovation and presently not good against the rates.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SHASHI from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jan 2012

3

The room decor was good, but house keeping was terrible. Pillows and bed sheet covers were dirty and unclean. We booked 2 rooms and have to pay Rs.1000 extra to upgrade to deluxe room to get them adjacent to each other. Breakfast was worst meal we had in our trip.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANOJ from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jan 2012

3

Room: I did booking for 3 deluxe rooms for 2 nights hoping to checkin to a pleasant room. However to our horror the rooms provided as deluxe rooms were below standard. The size of the room was very small. The Bed provided was small and cranky. The TV in the room was barely visible as it was so small. There were no chairs in the room. We paid an average of almost 7000 per night for that room however it was not at all worth it. It did not feel like a deluxe room at all and would not recommend the room especially at that exorbitant price to anybody. The food options were average - quality was okay but there was no variety. The 31st dinner was a big disappointment. The crowd in the hotel on 31st evening had people who were not staying in the hotel and was uncomfortable for a family environment. All in all a big disappointment and feel like cheated.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SARIN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 27 Aug 2011

2

Room Quality: Terrible We booked a Standard Room during our 2-night stay at Swiss Country. We reached early around 5:30 AM and checked in right away. The first room that we got was terrible. It was smelly, untidy and had a lousy paint job. After spending the morning there somehow, we got our rooms changed. The second room was better being a freshly renovated one, but still it was smelly. There were no towels available and one cannot feel totally relaxed in the room. If you ever choose Swiss Country, choose the Super Deluxe rooms, which are far better in quality. Overall, the resort does not look attractive with tarpaulins and metal sheets covering most of the balconies, blocking the amazing views that one is supposed to have from those. Facilities: Terrible Although they have a swimming pool, pool table, TT table and discotheque, all these are below standards. The pool table is just an excuse for a pool table - It stinks, doesn't even have a complete set of balls, the cue sticks look like someone has chewed off their tips, the balls are all worn out. The swimming pool is a small 4-feet deep one, not cleaned well, may be because no one was using it due to rains. The TT table is a joke. Looks like it's made of plywood, with the table already out of shape. Restaurant: Average The food was average. Not too exciting, but not bad either. Alcohol is not served here. Staff: Friendly

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

ANSHUL from THANE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 20 Aug 2011

1

It's a pathetic experince in swiss country resort that all after booking a suite room. Wash room water is comming in the room. About room service biggest exmaple you order morning tea it take 1 hour to reach tea at your room.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

VARUN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Aug 2011

3

Condition of the room was horrible with rain water leaking near the bed. All windows were been closed with GI Sheet making wind sound whole night and waking & Scaring everyone. No towels, no napkins, no water. Rooms are not at all similar to what was shown in the pictures. it was my biggest mistake to stay at this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GANESH from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Aug 2011

3

The room was really pathetic as there was mosquitoes & insects all around the room. The staffs at the hotel was polite and kind. Food served at the hotel was appreciated as it was tasty and delicious. The hotel should improve on its cleanliness as it is a major concern to maintain hygiene at its location. Not really recommended as the quality of room is pathetic.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PREM from PUNE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 24 Jul 2011

1

I am very sad with the services, Worst hotel to stay... Definately will not suggest this to my family..

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

MAHESH from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jul 2011

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SIDDHARTHA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2011

4

Excellent Property in mid budget as overall. We had a splendid time. Only service specially room service response time needs to be further worked out by the property management as repeated followup is required & the approx. response time is 20 mins. I would strongly recommend for stay in this property.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SREENIVAS from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 May 2011

3

Proper room service not provided and was not clean. Room service was very slow, had to remind thrice on most occasions.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOHIT from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 May 2011

3

My stay in this resort was quite " bad". Room was just ok but bathroom was by no means of the 3 star catagory. Food was pathetic. Even in terms of location , it is very far off from the main market. So in nutshell not the right place to stay

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DILIP from GOA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jun 2009

3

Houkeeping was horrible. Bedsheets were not changed inspite of repeated requests. Dining room was full with flies.I purchased mosquito coil and lit the same on dining table to drive away flies. Plates used to serve food were durty. Breakfast was not ready till 9.00 A.M. Gyser was not working in the room. Room was having lot of mosquitos.Mosquito repellent was not supplied inspite of repeated requests.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MANISH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 18 Apr 2009

2

The hotel was on very good location & the room was quite good. The cleanliness was terrible & there was lot of mosquitoes in the room. After so many reminder we could not get the mosquito repellent coil on the first night. The services in the restaurant was very bad every time we had spent around an hour to get the breakfast & food. No body was there to pick up the baggage while checking in. Towels & bed sheets were in bad shape.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

ALPANA from PUNE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 16 Apr 2009

2

My remarks are as follows : When we reached the hotel on Friday around noon time, we were provided Room No. 902 which had one double bed and had no space to keep another single bed. As we had paid for two adults and one child, we insisted on a better room which would be more spacious and can accommodate three of us. We were then given Room No. 802, which was little better than the earlier one. This room too had only double bed but some place to arrange one single bed. When we insisted on placing one more single bed, only mattress was provided to us. The house keeping guy mentioned that the bed is broken and unable to be provided to us. There was no cupboard in the room to keep the clothes. Since we did not wish to make a fuss of all these things (as we were on a leisure trip), we agreed to stay in the room with the mattress provided to us. We would also like to bring to your notice that the room was not properly cleaned. We could see the dust/stains all over the floor. The toilets too were not cleaned properly. We went for lunch around 1.30 p.m. at the dining area. There were many flies. The hotel did not have any measures to keep the flies away. When we insisted for a mosquito coil, they did not have the same with them. They did not have any measures for whisking the flies away too. The lunch (buffet) was made available to us around 2.15 p.m. (Other families too were waiting for the lunch and were reminding the staff couple of times for serving lunch.) A sheer waste of time. The timings mentioned in the hotel for breakfast, lunch and dinner were as follows : Breakfast � 8.30 to 10.30 a.m. Lunch � 1 to 3 p.m. Dinner � 9.30 to 11.30 p.m. Never did we get all the above as per the time schedule. The breakfast was provided as late as 10 a.m., lunch after 2.15 p.m. and dinner after 10.15 p.m. (after rigorous follow ups by guests) The cable tv in the room was not working for the entire day (Day � 1). The a/c was not working post 3 p.m. When we complained to the receptionist, both the things got repaired around night time. The hotel has the habit of switching off the ac from outside in the night and also around afternoon time. They shut down the ac at 2 a.m. in the morning of 11th April and we could not sleep comfortably due to the same. When we complained to the receptionist around 4 a.m., they mentioned that immediately someone would be sent to check on the same. But it was not the case. We had to spend the full night without ac. This is really pathetic and not worth the money spent by us when we had paid for the ac room. The rooms were not cleaned every day. We had to ask for drinking water filling on frequent occasions, towels/soaps on second day (only one towel was provided to us, inspite of we paying for 3 persons). There was no promptness in the service. We had to keep on requesting for each and every thing. When we requested for chairs in the balcony, the housekeeping provided us two dirty chairs and mentioned that do not sit on the same as they are dirty and further mentioned that they would clean the same next day. (We had a jolly laugh on this stupid behavior of the staff). The site of the hotel mentions that there would be pool tables, etc. but when we inquired we were told by the receptionist that the table is sent to Mumbai for repairs but actually broken pool table was found behind the hotel area lying in very bad state. I really wonder why the hotel charges, Rs. 6625/day when they can�t even provide the basic amenities. The room service was not provided in time. There was always a delay of 25 � 30 minutes after couple of calls were made to room service, followed by reception. The room service no. 111, most of the time was not picked up and we had to call up the reception to give the order. The receptionist though took the order but kept on insisting to call up room service. We had to struggle between room service and reception to place an order�� We were not served tea at 10 p.m. in the night. When we had paid for all meals and were wishing to pay for the tea too. The hotel dining is open till 11.30 p.m. as mentioned by them on the board, inspite of the same tea at 10 p.m. was refused to us. At the time of check out we insisted for bill, the people on the counter gave us a look like as we are an alien and asking for too much.. but after some argument he was ready to give the bill and was furnished to us. All in all, I would say, except for the meals provided to us. I would rate this hotel as �2� i.e.; Below Average and no way a �3 Star� property. We have stayed in many good hotels in Mahabaleshwar and elsewhere across India and have never experienced such a pathetic service.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

MADHURI from BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 06 Oct 2008

1

We stayed in this hotel for couple of hours. There was water leakage problem in the room. The toilet and bathroom was not unclean and there were no towels kept in the bathroom. The mattress was not good and the pillows were not covered. We had food in the restaurant, it was pathetic in taste, but the staff was courteous and polite.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SUKESH from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Oct 2008

4

Above Average

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RANJITHA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 12 Aug 2008

2

It was a very bad experience with this property. The room quality was really dirty, not worth the price. But the staff and the food quality was fine. Overall experience was terrible just because of the room.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

PRABHAT from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jul 2008

4

Location was wonderful. Our room was clean with pleasant atmosphere. The staff too was very helpful with friendly nature. We had taken all meals in the restaurant it was lovely in taste. It is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KAUSHIK from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jul 2008

4

Location was beautiful. Our room was marvelous with pleasant atmosphere. Also the breakfast was lovely in taste. It was worth the money we paid.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANOJ from JALNA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jul 2008

4

Swiss Country is a good property to stay in. The quality of the room and the service was very nice. They provided us with both the Veg & Nov-Veg complimentary meals.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RITESH from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 03 Jul 2008

2

The food quality was unacceptable. Even the other things like room quality, service and the cleanliness was not upto the mark.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

PREMANAND from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jun 2008

4

I had a relaxed stay with this resort. The room was spacious and full of fresh breeze. The surrounding was serene and location was peaceful. The food was decent and staff was attentive. It was a big relief for me from normal life.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DR.RAVI from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2008

2

The surrounding near the hotel was very bad. We stayed in standard deluxe room the cleanliness was missing. Also the staff member were very slow in their service. The same food was served everytime and it was average in taste. Altogether this is a below average property.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR RAJENDRA from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jun 2008

5

The surrounding near the hotel was beautiful. Our room was excellent with all the amenities. Staff did their job wonderfully. The food was awesome in taste. Overall it is an above average hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR GUNJAN from pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2008

4

The rooms were spacious, very clean and well decorated with flowers. Staff was fantastic in their service. Food was amazing in taste. We had used all the amenities.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

KANAKALATTA from Nagpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2008

3

Hotel has good room service. All were available at a very reasonable price.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANAND from pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 May 2008

5

The room they provided me was a bit small. But on complaining the management here made the necessary amends. The maintenance here is appreciative. Also the food quality is acceptable. This is a recommendable property for sure.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RASHMI from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 May 2008

3

This is a decent property. My room quality was good but the maintenance could have been better. The food quality was decent. Everything was just normal.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANU from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 May 2008

4

On my arrival the room was provided was not up to mark but on complaining the management, they changed our room for a better one. The management, especially Mr.Ramesh, he was very friendly & cooperative. There were no complaints about the food either. Altogether an above average experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MAHENDRA from Pune, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 08 May 2008

2

Room was extremely small with dirty bed sheets. Bathroom was not clean not the floor. Dirty Blanket!

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

NITIKA from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2008

3

I had booked a deluxe room here, but the room they provided was not up to mark. It was bit dirty & i felt that it was a room which was not used for a long time. The TV was not working, on complaining they did change the TV. The exhaust fan too was not working. The room didn't have a view either. Apart from this our stay here was basic, as the ambiance was very good. Altogether an average stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

RAHUL from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 May 2008

3

We had a decent stay in this property. The management has maintained the place well. The room was comfortable, the room service was up to mark. A special mention of the food, it was high quality. I would say overall this is an average hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5