MGM Beach Resort

3 Star  

East Coast Road, Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu - 603 112

MGM Beach Resort, Mahabalipuram - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.8/5 Good
(Based on 25 reviews)

92.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.9)
  • Service Quality (3.6)
  • Dining Quality (3.4)
  • Cleanliness (3.6)

MGM Beach Resort - Individual ratings and reviews:

SMILAN from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Nov 2014

5

Nice ... Very good service

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SURESH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Sep 2014

5

Location: This resort is located in ECR nearby Chennai which is very pleasant hangover place for most chennaites like me. Entrance: Entrance is attached with their Dizzy world's entrance which looks very attractive. The path to resort was maintained very neat. Parking: There is no covered parking. But has enough space to park our bikes and cars safely. The Front desk: Front desk staffs were very polight and friendly. I was surprised if it is really a hotel in Chennai. The receptionist recieved us very well and helped us to get on the battery car to reach our room. The Room: We got a room which is called ParkView. A beautiful park with lawn is maintained around the rooms and those rooms were constructed with artistic creativity. It was really pleasant to walk in the path between the rooms. There were fountains, lots of greenish plants which will take any tension out of us. The AC was already running, bathroom was very neat. The room boy showed us how to operate TV and explained about the mini bar attached and handed over the key. The room was wooden furnished with very nice indoor decorations. Food & Room Service: There is a restaurant attached with bar. We can also order food to our rooms if we want. But we did not order anything to room as we liked to roam around. We had dinner buffet which had many number of dishes with average quality. Beach: The private beach available here is maintained very well for guests. We were allowed to roam around until 11:30PM without any troubles that we could face in public beaches. There are small huts with benches to sit and relax. Overall: On the whole, this resort is a very good option. We really felt like a short honeymoon trip. It is really worth staying here. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a short trip to stay out of busy city life.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

T KAMALNATH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Sep 2012

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KARTHIK from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Nov 2011

3

The surrounding of the hotels is good,its too costly, Over all it was not good stay at the hotel. I may not recommend this hotel to my friends for future bookings it was a below average hotel.Room services are costly

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ABHISHEK from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jul 2011

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

RAJ SHEKHAR from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Apr 2011

5

Hotel is not so far from Chennai Airport,the staffs are very good and very coopratie,also there are good scenarios are there,I will suggest this hotel to my family.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

YOGESH from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2011

4

The Surrounding is very good of the hotel only this hotel should serve , vegetarian and and non vegetarian food separately , I will recommend this hotel to my friends for booking hotel overall it was a good experience for staying in hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KAVIKANT from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2010

4

Hotel location is quite reachable from Chennai city, so we didn�t face any difficulty to reach there. MGM is situated in one of the finest beach area. We stayed one night in club suite, and it was awesome, we liked it lot, it was situated quite near to beach area, room was really clean and so do rest room, only bad part was room service , we ordered for tea and it took nearly 45 minutes for room service guy to knock our door and present us tea, it happened twice. MGM resort maintained beach so nicely , pretty clean, near the beach there is coconut farm , reminding kerala natural beauty. Security service was good, near the beach security people were keeping on eye on all the people who were trying to reach near sea. Dining was little bit costly but food quality was good, and Bar situated just near the beach, gave top up enjoyment for the people, cold breeze of sea and drink, awesome combination to celebrate any holiday. overall i will say , the hotel is a good option for the budget traveller and for short stays..

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DILIP from VARANASI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 22 Sep 2008

2

The initial experience with the reception people was bad, they were not friendly & helpful. The food provided for all 3 days was monotonus and the service in the restaurant was poor. The room quality was just okay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

KUMAR from TIRUCHIRAPPALLI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Aug 2008

5

Location was wonderful. Our room was excellent with all the necessities. Staff was attentive and service was prompt. Food was fabulous in taste. It was an excellent property to stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ALOK from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2008

3

Resort was good. At the time of checkin there was some issue. They offered a room where next room was undergoing renovation. Lot of sound and paint smell. We had a small kid who was uncomfortable with paint smell. We requested the hotel for room change and they agreed for same. The new room given was spacious but TV was off and on blacking out. Overall average experience for money hotel charged. There is only one restaurant and prices were exorbitant. Since this resort is in outskirts no option of going to any other restaurant. So guys food part turned out to be really expensive for 3 days I stayed there. I used their Spa as well, I felt it was not hygienic.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GOPAL from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jun 2008

3

It was just an average stay with this property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

KUNAL from gurgaon, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 11 Jun 2008

2

Our check-in time here was supposed to be 12.00 pm but we arrived here an hour early. We requested the management to accommodate us as we had our baby along with us, but the management informed that our check-in time was supposed to be 2 pm & not 12 pm which was really surprising. They did accommodate us in a room, but it of poor quality. After some time the management said we can't provide you with the deluxe room & asked us to stay in the same temporary room. Only after having a big quarrel we were given a better room. This is not quite a well maintained property apart from the buffet area. The food served there too was good but then with the kind of welcome that we got here i don't think i will recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

RAJESH from amravati, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 May 2008

4

It was an awesome resort fully equipped with all the amenities and with a location close to a beach it was like a heaven on earth. The room was beautiful and ambiance was rejuvenating. The staff was professional and food was outstanding. It's a best place for the vacations.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PARESH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Apr 2008

3

The food provision and the room arrangement was average but service was impressive. The staff was well trained to assist the guests. The location was fabulous. It was comfortable stay altogether.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHARANJIT from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Mar 2008

4

Location was good with great views, however property is poorly maintained. The rooms were average. The clubhouse facilities (Pool table, etc.) were non-functional. Room service was quite prompt and the staff was friendly.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DEEPAK from Panipath, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Mar 2008

4

It was an exotic beach property. I didn't had and issue with the room facilities or the food arrangement. The staff was loyal and sharp. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRASAD from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Mar 2008

4

The food was fascinating. I like the north Indian menu. The staff was polite and really honest with their work. The room was well organized with the spacious bed and royal interiors. I will prefer this hotel next time is well.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VENKATADRI from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2008

5

Rooms alloted were spacious and well maintained. Dining option was good. Service and staff was perfect at their work. Its recommendable to every one.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KRISHNA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jan 2008

5

The stay was wonderful in this hotel. Food was delicious in taste. Rooms were clean and tidy with all the basic facilities. Staffs were carrying and quick in their work. I would certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DEEPAK from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Oct 2007

3

On the first day I was given really bad rooms that had lizards and where the water heater was not working. Seems like they had a conference and the hotel seems to be crumbling and not able to take the pressure. The restaurant was packed and there were many customers complaining about the delay in getting their orders. However on the next day we got a better room and the service improved. Seems like a decent hotel, tho not really value for money. The restaurant is not very good and expensive for the ...

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

FRANCIS from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Oct 2007

3

I discovered a RAT in my room on the 27th evening - was not a good experience. However the reception changed the room immediately - it was 2345 Hrs. There was not much variety in their Dinner Menu. Overall - GOOD

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MS. KASTHURI from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Sep 2007

3

The resort being promoted as a beach resort, should live up to peoples expectations and atleast let the people enter the beach. This is the biggest problem. After 6 in the evening, people are not allowed to enter the beach even if they want to just dip their toes in it. And during the day time, all one can do is dip their feet in the sea - guests are not allowed to swim or even sit by the beach. This is plain simple ridiculous. Katamaran rides for guests, but we were thoroughly disappointed to hear o...

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

DHANISH from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2007

3

The hotel could be great; it has a lovely beachside setting. Courteous and ever smiling staff, eager to help out. The food cooked in north indian style tasted more like south indian food but overall a good experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMDAS from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Mar 2007

4

Good hotel. The room gave me a good garden view.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5