Hotel Fortune

3 Star  

Dhobi Talao, Mumbai, Maharashtra - 400 002

Starting from Rs. 3,953 Rs. 3,633
Choose Dates

Hotel Fortune, Mumbai - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.2/5 Good
(Based on 47 reviews)

83.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3)
  • Service Quality (3)
  • Dining Quality (2.9)
  • Cleanliness (3.1)

Hotel Fortune - Individual ratings and reviews:

GOVIND from GOA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Feb 2014

5

I had gone for surgery of eye. The hotel staff was very courteous and always helpful even at odd hours Though the room was compact it was well arranged

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAKESH from WADHWANCITY, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Nov 2011

3

Hotel fortune is not good, they charge more and service is less. room condition is very bad. Please do not suggest anyone for FORTUNE.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SHASHIKUMAR from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Mar 2011

3

Hotel can be given an average rating. Rooms are very small. Since hotel was located near Crawford Market, Fashion street, Gateway of India it was helpful for us. We were not in the room most of the time so It wasn't a problem. If you are planning to stay in the room then not a good place that i would recommend.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AMIT from RANCHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Sep 2010

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DR. TAMAL from GUWAHATI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2010

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ARIF from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Feb 2010

4

I had booked 2 Rooms & I have already submitted my review yesterday in response to your mail.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARIF from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2010

4

I have been staying at this hotel singly since last 2/3 yrs. This is the 1st time I have stayed with my family. Overall Hotel is Good for single person stay as their STD & DLX Rooms are quite small. During this time stay I found shower was not spraying water properly, insufficient space for clothe storage. Overall Staff is very corteous, However, though I had put a special request that we shall be reaching at 6 AM & request for early allotment of the room, the person on duty at reception allotted the Service Room on Ground Floor next to the Reception but subsequntly the Manager Mr Nirmal Das insisted on Payment of Full Day charge just for 5 hours of occupancy. I requested him that I am your permanent Guest & should not charge or atleast charge for 1/2 day but he was Absolutely Adamant, hence I had No other Option but to pay separately for the Full Day. This has left me Totally Disappointed & changed My Opinion of the Hotel Staff's Courtsey Behaviour. I advice Travellers to ask specifically of such Extra Charge so that they do not have to face such a situation. However, inspite this bad experience, I would still recommend this hotel to budget travellers as it is avalue for money budget hotel & is located in a very nice & convenient location at Marine Lines, exactly Opp to Metro Cinema, Dhobi Talao. All your requirements are easily available at a stone's throw away. Taxi Stand is just Opp to the Hotel. The Hotel does not have a Restaurant of its own but provides Room Service with Full Menu but You have Excellent Dining Options near by at a walking distance, especially Mumbai's one of the most famous Mughlai chain of Restaurants - Delhi Darbar. Overall Ambience & Cleanliness of the Hotel & Rooms is also quite Good

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANOJ from NOIDA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Feb 2010

4

I have been to bombay before but wanted my wife to see the same . The good thing about the hotel is location of the hotel. If you are interested in seeing mumbai then this is located a stone throw from all important modern and old landmarks of the city. The hotel being a 5 min minutes from Mumbai Victoria Terminus - Railway Station now called Mumbai CST . So if you are coming by rail then it will take you 5 minutes to reach here . Gateway of India , Nariman Point , Marine Drive are within 2 kms. Fashion Street is mere 500 metres away . The hotel is short on space . The rooms are small in size. The beds are meant for 10 year old kids and not for adults. The width of the bed is very small for a person of averge built. The attempt has been to to build maximum rooms on one floor leaving room size small. However, all hotels in this area are on similar pattern due to high real estate prices. Service is good . The food is good and pricing of food items is most reasonable . Lift is iron shutter type of the sixties era it cannot accomodate more than 2 persons at a time . Using stairs is better option. The hotel has a roof top dining area a good place to relax and dine. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly and helpful . Overall I had a satisfactory experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KRISH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Feb 2010

3

There was a cockroach right on top of the bed when I entered. Plus the room had no windows, no ventilation even in the bathroom. It was stuffy and claustrophobic. The phone was not working and I had to get it fixed. Also the shampoo was not replenished in the room the next day.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

KRISH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jan 2010

3

Its a functional hotel and is ok for buisness travellers and are value for money....

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

NIPUN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jan 2010

3

overall ok experience

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARIF from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 May 2009

4

Hotel Fortune is a good value for money hotel in a very good location at marine lines, just opp to Metro Cinema. The location is a great advantage for business travellers. Rooms are small but comfortable neat & clean. Service is also good. I have stayed at this hotel earlier & i didn't find much of a difference in their standard & deluxe room. One can stick to the std room.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BHASKER from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Feb 2009

4

Room was small but comfortable. The bath room was very small. The quantity of complementary break fast to be increased. The location is good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NISHANT from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 28 Jan 2009

2

The Surroundings of the hotel are very shabby however the rooms were neat and clean but very congested. The service was not satisfactory as my issues were not addressed on time. There was no restaurant in the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

RUCHIR from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jan 2009

3

This is a value for money hotel with small rooms though rooms are usually small in South Mumbai. The bathrooms lack enough water even though they were clean The phone in the room was not working. I did not use the restaurant. The service was very slow as order once placed took a lot of time and to add to that they took only cash payments for those orders though I told them that will settle the bills later. The stay was average as the hotel is not great but because of its location which is very close to Gateway of India it is recommendable and I would stay again as my office is in south mumbai and hence it is convenient for me.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANURAG from Muzaffarnagar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Oct 2008

4

Rooms : The superior room is quite decent and spacious, but the standard and deluxe rooms are too small. only good if you are traveling alone. Cleanliness is good in all rooms and hotel. Restaurant : There was no restaurant in the hotel and they only had room service which was limited to non tandoori items as their cook was on leave. But there is a very nice restaurant nearby on walking distance named "Jaffar Bhai's Delhi Darbar" serving delicious veg & non veg food. a real treat for non veg lovers. Attractions : Very close to some major attractions of mumbai eg Girgaon Chaupati, Marine Drive, Crawford Market, Manish Market, Hira Panna etc.. Metro Adlabs is on walking distance from the hotel and the staff can help you in booking your tickets in advance. Secretarial Assistance : No secretarial assistance available for business travelers. Even Internet facility is not available in the lobby or room. Staff : Courteous and friendly. Service is good but slow. Travel Desk : No travel desk. No vehicles available on hire. But lots of Yellow/Black Cabs available just outside the hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

UDAY from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Sep 2008

4

Hotel is located in the heart of the city. Rooms were huge and extremely wonderful with all the facilities. The staff was co-operative and helpful. Even the food was fantastic in taste. We had a great time in this propety.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. PARAS from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Sep 2008

3

It is situated very close to delhi darbar. Our rooms were bit smaller in size but it was well maintained with all the necessities. It is basically a newly hotel. The staff did their honestly. Overall it's a nice property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRIYANTHI from Sharjah, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jul 2008

4

The hotel is conveniently located. The room service was helpful, however, I wasn't satisfied with the restaurant staff. The room, even though small was satisfactory. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler who wants to stay in Church Gate, looking for a budget hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DEBAMALYA from Indore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2008

2

I booked Standard room. But they kept the worst room for me. All the rooms were having split AC, where as my room was having a small window AC, whose cooling capacity was very limited, we had to use fan with AC. Overall it was a bad experience with Fortune Hotel.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHIVEN from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jun 2008

3

This is a decent property. Our standard room was basic. The room service was quite active. Also the food served was good to taste. This is an average property

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DEVENDRA from ahmedabad, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2008

2

My room was in a poor state, it was not at all cleaned properly, also the size of the room was very small. The staff members were very slow in their service. I won't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ARUN from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 May 2008

4

Room was decent with simple interior. Staff was efficient and polite towards their work. The restaurant was good with clean table and chair and the food was very hygenic and tasty.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARUN from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 May 2008

4

Standard room was quite comfortable but the bathroom and toilet was tiny & stuffy. Extra towel was provided after demanding. The food was reasonable and tasty. Its good deal for budget travellers.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PREM from DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2008

3

This is a basic property. My standard room was a bit small in size. At one instance there was a power cut-off but then the hotel didn't have any back-ups, they were using candles. Also the lift was not working. The room service though was decent. The same goes with the food. Apart from the location which is very convenient, this was an average stay altogether.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

UDAY from Baroda, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 May 2008

3

Location wise it was a comfortable hotel. The surrounding was not so great but manageable. The room was fine and service was satisfactory. I didn't checked any food but I was happy with overall stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PIYUSH from Surat, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2008

2

The stay was horrible in this hotel. Room was not cleaned properly. Staff were very rude in talking. Food was pathetic in taste. I won't come back n recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MAHESH from DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2008

3

On our arrival here the lift was not working so we to carry our luggage to our room. Apart from this we had no problems whatsoever. Our deluxe room was decent, even the room service & food provided were up to mark. I think it is an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ROHIT from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2008

4

The standard room was well equipped with all the necessities. Staff are helpful with friendly nature. The hotel is located in the centre of the main city. I did not had my meal in the hotel. Overall its a pleasant stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIPIN from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Apr 2008

3

We are satisfied with our stay in this hotel. The room, service and food provided were up to the mark. Altogether an average stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRADEEP KUMAR from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Feb 2008

4

The stay was very good in this hotel. Room was clean with all the facilities. Staffs were helpful with friendly nature. I had my meal in the hotel it was very good in taste. I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JOHN NINAN from Abudhabi, United Arab Emirates recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Dec 2007

3

Average

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MUTHU BHASKAR from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Dec 2007

3

Room was small, clean and tidy. we didnt tried the food. Staff was very helpful & quick in service.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SRINIVAS from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Dec 2007

3

Ok Value for Money Place.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJESH from kotayyam, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Oct 2007

3

Value for money.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

BALASUNDARAM from Coimbatore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 12 Oct 2007

2

As per the room price it was not at all good. It was very small in size. We are three adults and there no place to put an extra bed. The bed which was already in the room was a single bed. How can we adjust in a such room. Service was worst.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

DR ADARSH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Oct 2007

4

Hotel is satisfactory. Room price was the main reason which attracted me. I booked this for my brother too.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRASANNA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Sep 2007

3

Room was not clean and when I did complain at the reception counter then only did they clean the room. On the T.V., channels were not being aired which I wanted i.e Zee TV, Star Sports and Sony Entertainment Television etc. Staff were very good in their service. I had my food outside the hotel. Hotel Fortune is very easy to access.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MINESH from Nagpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Sep 2007

3

Hotel was good property and located near to airport. However, there are certain things which hotel has to improve with regard to rooms i.e. some rooms were very dark, some windows was falling. Some room location was not good. I was here only for one night.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. KUSHWANT from New Delhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 16 Aug 2007

2

Hotel room is very small but clean (Standard room), spend only a night. I had my food outside the hotel. Overall not a nice experience with this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

TARANJIT from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Aug 2007

3

The rooms are very small, the staff used to clean the room and change the bedsheet everyday. They do not have any restaurant and not even the kitchen in the hotel. Tea and food they used to bring from outside or else we used to go out for having food. Forthe food from outside they used to charge more.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

YOGESH from Vadodara, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Aug 2007

3

Room was nice, but the flush was not working in the toilet, so they shifted me to some other room and that was perfect. The hotel is does not have any restaurant and they do not provide any food. Staff was nice of the hotel but their service was not very prompt.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DIPAK from Ahmedabad, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2007

2

This hotel is not worth staying at all. The rooms are too small for people to go with their family of four. The service definitely needs to improve a lot. The order placed comes only after an hour which tests your patience. The thing that needs most attention is food. That was their one big failure. They need to have much more variety in their spread especially the vegetarain fare needs immediate attention. I would not visit this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ANKUSH from New Delhi, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 28 Mar 2007

1

Room was in very bad condition. Wall was wet with paint falling off. After complaining to the hotel manager they shifted me to another room.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

JOEL from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Mar 2007

4

The hotel was good and like to book this hotel in future.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SURESH K from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Mar 2007

3

Clean room but the rest room was small. The hotel staff need to get more efficient though they are friendly. If I stay at this place again it will have to be due to its price.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

LEMUEL from Navsari, Gujarat, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Mar 2007

4

The rooms are clean. Room service is good. You cannot expect much as the hotel is a steal for the price you pay in this part of Mumbai.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5