Munnar Rock

2 Star  

Munnar Road, Munnar, Kerala - 685 612

Munnar Rock, Munnar - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.4/5 Good
(Based on 24 reviews)

79.2% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.5)
  • Service Quality (3.5)
  • Dining Quality (2.6)
  • Cleanliness (3.4)

Munnar Rock - Individual ratings and reviews:

SHEIKH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Nov 2013

5

Extremely good hotel with very friendly staff and very good location. I really enjoyed my stay there and look forward to visiting it again on my next trip to Munnar.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RUBEN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Dec 2011

4

Munnar Rock Resort is a good option for those who are looking for a Cottage experience. Munnar Rocks is 8 kms away from the Munnar city. Room was quite good and the staff was also quite helpful. Also was getting a good view from the hotel. Breakfast and dinner was also good, the only complaint that we had was food was quite cold when served to us. Also we had to search for staff as there is no intercomm service available. Bathroom was average, but clean. Overall I would rate the service as 3 and a half out of 5 and would definitely recommend this resort for those travellers who are looking for economical, confortable cottage stay with a good view amongst the rocks and tea plantations

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MRS K from parganas, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Oct 2011

5

This is a nice place away from Munnar town. We liked it. Staff are also very friendly and helpful.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

YUVARAJ from VELLORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Aug 2011

3

The hotel is 6-7km away from the Munnar town in the Cochin highway and it is not in the place where the google map shows. Since most of the tourist attractions is not towards this route so you have to travel back and cross munnar town each time you go for a visit to any place. I booked for a "Delux double room" but they gave "2 room standard cottage" and which was a quite surprise (with reason stating, we are doing a favour to you sir). Its a separate cottage and the nearby cottage is 15feet above our cottage and no one can hear even if we shout (inside). There where two rooms and the size was "okay". common bathroom and toilet for those two rooms. Two single bed in the main room and one single bed in the separate room with a single dewan (quite ugly) and four plastic chairs and one big plastic table and one tea-pai. I asked for two extra woolen blankets and they gave but the Blankets where dusty. The blankets that covering the bed was clean but it became chilled at nights (make sure you ask for extra woolen blankets to cover the bed). The ceiling where covered with a the polished sun-mica sheets and due to the wet climate you can see a lot of black formations (algae/Fungai?) and have seen 1 spider of one inch size on the wall. The windows have transparent glasses and the scenic view will be okay. The curtains lacks to cover the windows fully so the privacy in the nights is challenging. There was one small size TV (14" or 17") with cable connection. They have rubber mats in front of the bathrooms and the maindoor and which is not comfortable when you are wet. Parking is challenging. Hotel is located 20feet above the highway so you have to drive in a steep road (10-15 meters) to climb up and which is too incline. Again its challenging to turn your car on the top because it lacks space and no problem if you have small segment car and there is no chance of turning if there is two more cars and you have to climb down in reverse. In overall, this is a "well constructed" hotel in a moderate place with "Okay" maintenance.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHIVASHANKAR from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jul 2011

3

hotel is placed at a good location. It is a very good choice for people looking for low budget hotels. everything was clean other than the blanket. the TV was very old. it has a very steep entrance might be a problem for old people and to park vehicles. 24*7 Hot water in chilling weather outside is really appreciable. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a low budget hotel in munnar with average service and quality needs.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

PRASHANT from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Apr 2011

3

Location wise Munnar Rock was the Best. Room which was offered for us was very spacious. Hot water was available for 24 Hrs. No call bell or Intercom in the room which makes one very uncomfortable. There is lot of scope for improvements such as small Dining could be added and Intercoms to be provided.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

KISHOR from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Mar 2011

4

HOTEL WAS GOOD MY RATING IS 3.5 OUT OF 5

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHANTANU from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 05 Jun 2010

2

1. Recption: As soon as I entered the hotel, there was no office or no attendent to attend any guest. I found a phone number written on a closed door. I started calling and finally one person came from some where and I could enter a room. 2. Cleanliness: The place was not at all clean and full of ants and other insects. After multiple feedbacks, no one bothered to spray some insect killer I asked for. Bed covers and blankets were dirty and torn. 3. House Keeping: There was no house keeping service at all. I managed to get their phone numbers and tried to get the things done for me. That too only taking the used plates and bowls out and getting the next set of plates and bowls. No one changed the bed covers or towels. Safty: Safty was horrible. Any one can break open the doors easily. We could nor sleep whole night both the days.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

PRAMOD from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 May 2010

4

Our stay was a good one though!! Its great idea for big families to book this hotel, Location was 8km from bus stop, had quite faclities.. Only thing was no food served here, you have to go for outside eateries.. On the whole avarage hotel..

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SOUMENDU K from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2010

3

The stay was good as per the hotel its a budget hotel, but still the location is good. Ateek Sayed

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PUNEET from Gurgaon, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2010

1

I do not find this hotel good one .my overall experience is bad.water was dirty room was stinky please do not promote this hotel

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SAI PRASAD from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Feb 2010

3

My overall stay at the hotel was average. The rooms were quite nice and I liked them. Service was ok and its a clean hotel. Would recommend this hotel to people who travel with their families.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ASHISH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 29 Jan 2010

2

all the services good...

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

VISHWANATH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 27 Jan 2010

2

Need to improvement in the hotel

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PARTHA KUMAR from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Dec 2009

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

KAPIL from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Dec 2009

3

not a good service i can say but the place was good only meal option was not their in the hotel thanks regards kapil dwivedi

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJEEV from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Dec 2009

5

Nice resort with good location. Perfect for honeymooners , and those who want to relax in the lap of nature away from the noise. Tea garden the one of prime attraction of munnar is in front of the resort and u can walk their in 5 minutes. room service is very good and staff is supportive. Only one thing for which u have walk down that is lunch and dinner but that is not a big problem u can order it and the staff will arrange it for u. so happy traveling

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

FARHAT I from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 22 Oct 2009

2

As I was not aware of this before, but when I reached Munnar from Ernakulam and asked some of the persons around about the address i.e. 2nd mile and I amazed, no one knows where this 2nd mile is. The address was Munnar Rock, 2nd Mile, Munnar. No one in city knows even about its name, then I tried the phone number provided by travel guru, and got another shock, a recorded computer message was telling me "this phone number is not in use". I wondered that whether this hotel really have an existence or not. Luckily I find an internet cafe, search for the phone numbers and got one fax number, I tried it and luckily this time my call received and I get to know that the hotel is on the same road using which I arrive Munnar but 8kms down the hill. To reach hotel it took around 30 minutes as it is 8 kms away from the town. Another great surprise, no Food Service.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. HASMUKH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2008

3

Room was nice having all the facilities. Staffs were average in their service. The food quality was also average in taste. It was just an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIKRAM from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Feb 2008

4

Though the hotel is 8 km short of Munnar town it is a wonderful place especially the location is in midst of a tea estate..They also have a log two bedroom rocktop house for people looking for like home and is highly recommended for people with kids. Support staff is very friendly and courteous and serve good home made warm food.Two bedrooms are exactlyood on time. Overall I will say it is value for money if you can book it.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. HARSHAL from Securderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Feb 2008

5

The view around was very beautiful. Room alloted was big and well equipped. Service quick and fast. Staff was polite and helpful. Food quality was great, and was very well served. I will definitely recommend to my friends and family.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAMAKRISHNA from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Dec 2007

5

Really it was quite good experience. And we enjoyed the service.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ABHISHEK from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Dec 2007

3

This is a new hotel and i feel its been put on operations too early and hence lot of services are not available which otherwise be a must in a hotel with tariff as high as 2000/- per day per room. for eg one can not imagine a hotel room without a intercom but that is the reality in Munnar rock rooms are not equipped with intercoms. Only two human beings take care for the entire resort. Although i did not faced any security issues but there is no gate and no security guard. two gentlemen available at munnar rock take care for everything right from ad min to cooking and cleaning. All and all i can say that the hotel is not worth more than Rs 600/- per day. Also travel guru should verify the details of hotel before putting up details on their official website. Munnar rock description on travel guru website says that hotel is in the heart of the city but actually munnar rock is 8 KM from the city where city itself is not more than a KM in size. i don't know if heart is portable in this case and kept at the far outskirts. So take care before booking Munnar Rock for holidays.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUMAN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Dec 2007

4

This is a nicely built property surrounding a rock. However, it is staffed by amateurs and has a long way to go. There were only two staffers when we reached who tried their best to make our stay comfortable. There are no phones in the rooms, neither any bells. At night it is scary as there are no guards. I do not think I will go back to this place any time soon -- not unless they hire a full staff.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5