Hotel Charring Cross

2 Star  

Garden Road, Ooty, Tamil Nadu - 643 001

Starting from Rs. 906
Choose Dates

Hotel Charring Cross, Ooty - Guest Reviews & Ratings

2.8/5 Average
(Based on 33 reviews)

66.7% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (2.7)
  • Service Quality (2.7)
  • Dining Quality (2.8)
  • Cleanliness (2.8)

Hotel Charring Cross - Individual ratings and reviews:

ANUJ from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jun 2013

4

I booked a double room for my one night stay in ooty (thanks to 12 noon checkout time). This is a budget hotel and recently got its name changed to Hotel Bluestar. My stay in the hotel was fine, it is near to the market area, have a well furnished veg. Restautant. There is another restaurant (pankaj bhojanalya serving Jain food nearby). The helpdesk was very good and was prompt to all my queries. There is a travel desk which helps to customize your travel plans and provide multiple options to explore ooty :) over all my trip was memorable and will look forward to stay again here.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAYANTHI from CHENNAI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 05 Jun 2012

1

One of worst place we have never checked in so far. Very unhappy about the cleanliness, quality and service.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SHYJU from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2012

3

It was OK there.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMANI from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Mar 2012

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARUN from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jan 2012

4

We had a nice stay in the hotel. We did not expect much because my friends told that the hotels booked online wont be upto the mark as shown in the photos. Tarrif is also moderate and services are satisficatory. Unforgotable stay for us.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GANESH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Oct 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUMIT from JAMMU, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Sep 2011

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ZAHID from city, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Sep 2011

3

Hotel is in good condition,I can say that this is an economic hotel also the staff were okay. The rooms are good but we can not say that this is the best hotel they still have to improve their service so I think i will not suggest this to my friends.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHIV KUMAR from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 15 Aug 2011

1

I am now repenting why I did not believed the bad reviews earlier given.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

RISHI from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 08 Aug 2011

2

Hotel is not very good, I am not happy with the services.the rooms are not so good so I will not suggest this hotel to my family

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

AKBAR from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jul 2011

3

The hotel room was not up to mark as they were under renovation. Service provided to us was not appreciated. Food was okay but not adviseble. Cleanliness was not maintained as they were under construction and dust was all around.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BALASUBRAMANIAN from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jul 2011

3

The room was stinking as painting works was carried out inside the room. The hotel was under renovation & was very pathetic. Staff too were not so cooperative as there were only limited people employed. Food was arranged from outside by was okay. Not recommended until they complete their renovation work.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

CHAITANYA KIRAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 14 Jun 2011

2

Worst hotel i ever stayed, quality of room tooooo bad, behavior is worst.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

KANKAHHALLI from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 May 2011

3

i checked in to the hotel by 12. Room was booked as standard which was a disgusting place. So I checked into an executive room by paying 750 extra. Service was average. Rooms was without lights, toilet flush not working they responded by putting lights but flush not repaired. Only plus point it is centrally located with ample parking car parking space. Overall an average experience

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ROHIT from MATHURA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 May 2011

3

Unclean balcony with black dust sticking to our feet, no foot mats.There was no separate hot-cold water line for rooms. Rooms not properly cleaned. No socket for mobile charging, telephone not working. However the front desk service was good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANISH KUMAR from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 28 Apr 2011

2

Hotel is located at prime location in Ooty but it is very poorly maintained. Room size was fine but furniture was in very bad condition. There was TV but no cable connection. Bathroom did not have hot water facility and they used to supply it through bucket. Management seriously need to take care of the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DHAMOTHARAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Jul 2008

3

It was a horrible experience. There was no hot water facility in a city like Ooty. The room was small and service was also not up to the mark I had to remind them several times. I t was totally mismanaged hotel not recommendable for any class of travelers.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

A.N. from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2008

3

Stay was very satisfying. Room was very comfortable with all the basic facilities. Staff were well trained and helpful. Service provided was excellent.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

HIRIYANNA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2008

4

My stay was comfortable and there was no issue with the service or room quality. The food arrangement was also desirable and location was convenient. Staff was friendly and provide decent assistance.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANANTHAM from CHENNAI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 24 May 2008

2

Room was dirty and their was a leakage of water in the toilet. The service was very slow of the staffs. Food was tasteless. The hotel is in the town itself.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SANDEEP from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 May 2008

3

I like the hotel because it was situated in the center of the town. The room quality and service was admirable but breakfast was terrible. We used to take food outside so we didn't mind that otherwise I had a great time.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUNDARRAMAN from new delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Apr 2008

4

We stayed in two executive rooms in this hotel. The property is old yet well maintained, the cleanliness is appreciative. The rooms, service & the food were all satisfactory. I would recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PARVEEN from Coimbatore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 18 Apr 2008

2

I never expected this bad experience.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

V U from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2008

3

Good hotel also big rooms. Nice place for the tourist who is looking for the decent stay. Rooms were as per expectation.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

B from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Feb 2008

3

Hotel is nice, had a pleasant stay. This is value for money. Location is convenient. Rooms are very clean.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOHAMMAD ZAKIR from Banaglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2008

5

I was very satisfied with the stay. Room alloted was large and well maintained. We had our breakfast it was very good to taste. Service was quick and prompt. Staff was well trained and helpful.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MANISH from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2008

3

Wonderfully situated with friendly staff also very polite, helpful and they were well dressed. Rooms were pretty nice and good. Overall we enjoyed our few days there.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHUBHAM from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2008

2

The experience with this property was not so good. They didn't had room service. Room was good but there was no hot water for 24 hours. Food was good to taste. When we asked them in which language they will conduct 31st program me they told it will be in English and Hindi we buy'd the tickets but entire program me was in Tamil it was very disappointing. Staff didn't understand the language communication was a big problem.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SACHIN A from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 15 Jan 2008

1

The experience with hotel was very bad. The room were so suffocative. The property is so old entire hotel was smelling full of air fresheners. I checked out with in 2 hours.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SARAVANA from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 31 Dec 2007

2

No carpet, no hot water, no help from reception, no laundry service. Except that it is right in the heart of the town, nothing is good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

BUDHIRAJU from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 May 2007

4

This hotel is in a great position just above one train station and close to another. The rooms are nice. It is extremely quiet even though it is a busy street. The lifts are really quick so you do not wait long. The service can get better and quick.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAGHAVENDRA from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 10 May 2007

2

Had a real bad experience with service which the hotel need to pay attention to.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

G from Vishakhapatnam, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Mar 2007

3

A good budget property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5