Hotel Darshan

3 Star  

Woodcock Road, Ooty, Tamil Nadu - 643 001

Starting from Rs. 2,751
Choose Dates

Hotel Darshan, Ooty - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.9/5 Good
(Based on 148 reviews)

96.6% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.9)
  • Service Quality (3.7)
  • Dining Quality (3.8)
  • Cleanliness (3.8)

Hotel Darshan - Individual ratings and reviews:

SACHIN from DummyCity, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Nov 2014

5

it was a gr8 stay

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VENKATA NAGESWARA RAO from VIJAYAWADA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Apr 2014

5

Good in attending us helped in arranging car trips etc. with good hospitality

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MURTUZA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Mar 2014

4

Satisfied with hotel service. Disappointed: Pickup n Drop facility unavailiable.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DHAMOTHARAN from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Feb 2014

5

Its amazing stay hotel good view very need thanks.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SATISH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Feb 2014

4

Check In was pathetic, even after enquiring before booking the room about check in timings and they said it is 24 hour check in. However after reaching to the hotel, we had to wait for 30 mins. Hope will get the correct details from next time

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DARSHAN from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Oct 2013

5

The hotel was to good and it was located opposite to lake its very very beautiful and service and maintance also good and really we liked a lot and we enjoyed a lot.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SENTHIL from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Apr 2013

5

Pros: First of all I am very much impressed by the warm welcome that was given to me. Room is so neat & clean which I never thought looking at the old appearance of the hotel. House keeping staffs are friendly and I see them coming everyday asking for a need of a towel / soap etc which is a good one. Much appreciated one is the food. The quality is good. I tool my 1 year old boy and the food suits even him. Its less spicy and had no problem with the food. More over they do not have the menu card for the name sake. They have everything that is displaced in the menu card. The variety is also good. Cons: I stayed in room # 505 which is next to the prince suite and looks like once these 2 rooms were part of a single booking for a big family. They had a door in between. I could hear every single sound from the other door as its just a door in between these 2 doors. First day being so tired thought of sleeping early, but could not as I could hear noise from the other room and after some time got so much frustrated and had to call up reception and was told they would inform the other room to reduce the noise. Parking is also open and the road for the 4th floor parking is not so good, which needs improvement. Regards, Senthil.T

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SIJO from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Feb 2013

5

A very decent hotel to spend your holidays or honey moon.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NARASIMHA from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2013

5

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days. The location of the hotel is really beautiful. Its located exact opposite to the ooty lake. And it is just 1km away from the ooty bus stand which u can come by walk also. We enjoyed the location and had memorable days in our life time. If you get down in the ooty Bus stand in the midnight also, you can very easily make out the hotel and its just 3 - 4 mins drive from the bus stand. Hotel is at the excellent location for the nature lovers. And the Staff also are very co-operative and we enjoyed a lot during our stay.Overall I am very satisfied during my stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GURUPRASAD from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Aug 2012

3

The hotel is well located near the lake. (1) Room interior was above average..service was good from the staff.., food was above average.. (2)Worst condition is ,there is no LIFT service for a hotel of 5 floors. Not at all recommendable for oldage people, kids. (3) Bathroom tiles were slippery. Be very carefull. (4) Room no 505 and 506, has a common door in the wall seperating the two rooms., Whatever you talk or people speak from other roomn,can be listened..a disturbing experience.. (5) There was no heater in room..not available from hotel.If you are suffering from cold, your situation will be worst in so much low temperature.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RIMI from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Aug 2012

4

ALL ARE TRUE THINGS .THE HOTEL IS VALUE FOR MONEY.FULLY PAISA WASUL.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMIT from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Mar 2012

5

Access: Very easy to find. There are boards with direction at many places. From the lake one can easily see DARSHAN hotel. Parking: The Hotel has no covered parking but has space to park about six cars The Front desk: Geetha at reception was very kind. She gave us the best suites from where the lake view was amazing. neat and comfortable. The linen was clean. Taps and flush were working. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Bath tub was also there. Food & Room Service: We did not order anything Overall: On the whole, the hotel is a good option for everyone.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RUBY from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Mar 2012

4

The rooms have lots of flies. We killed 7-10. The hotel gave us some liquid to spray but could not sleep because of the smell. Asked for a change of room but the fly problem was there in the next room also. I have never seen so many flies in my life ! Rooms to be painted every year. The painted walls were dirty. Housekeeping need to look into hygiene and cause of flies in the rooms !

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NAVEEN from NELLORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jan 2012

3

My experience at the hotel was not at all good. The food offered to me was very bad and even the room ambience was quite old. Even the staff behavior was not at all cooperative and helpful. I will never visit nor recommend this to my family and friends.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

GURU from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Dec 2011

5

It was a wonderful stay at Darshan. Very nice people at Darshan who made the stay a very pleasant one.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AKASHDEEP from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Nov 2011

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BHAKTI from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Nov 2011

4

The hotel rooms should be equiped with the heaters. There are no fans, ACs or heaters installed. I think heaters should be provided to all rooms as the temperature is always low in ooty. Restaurant is in a bad shape. Needs renovation. The staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAURABH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Sep 2011

5

Hotel was really up to the mark. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The staff's were very courteous & kind. Only vegetarian food been served at the hotel but would be better if there are varieties. Surrounding's & location of the hotel is highly appreciated. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends & relatives if they plan there visit to Ooty.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

GURDARSHAN SINGH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jul 2011

4

View from the Hotel was reasonably good. Food was excellent, we really enjoyed dining over there. Hotel staff was also quite co-operative. Few things that I didn't like about the room are dirty carpet and sofa. Uncomfortable Washroom (but it was clean). Also there was a slight odour problem in the room, may be because of rainy season.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

P from GUNTUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jul 2011

4

Hotel is not so far from the staion, also the rooms are very good,the services are also good,in and around there are good senarious like Lakes,also there are a good market place, the staff are very courtious...Yes I will definately suggest this hotel to my family...

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MONA from PATNA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Jul 2011

4

Rooms at the hotel was of average quality as toilet was not clean & the ambience inside the room was not satisfactory. Staff was polite and kind at their service which appreciated. The served pure veg food which is also good. Location is good as it is close to lake boats and isolated from the city which was excellent. This hotel is highly recommended as we are quite satisfied with our stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ABDUL from city, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jun 2011

3

The Good.. 1)Excellent location, right opposite Ooty Lake, you can spend time taking in the gorgeous view sipping coffee on the balcony and if you are with kids for a longish stay, you don't have to worry about travelling far for the kids entertainment. The Ooty main market and shopping hub on Commercial Street is close-by. 2)Good Veg Food The Bad... 1)Some staff extremely sweet and couteous and some extremely cold close to rude. 2) The rooms are a little cramped and the dismal lighting adds to that feeling. Suggest bright lighting in the rooms , could make a huge difference to how the rooms look. The Ugly... Shocking to see some housekeeping staff dump garbage right onto the hilly slope next to the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ABHISHEK from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Apr 2011

4

Positives: 1) Beautiful location 2) Comfortable rooms 3) Friendly staff Negatives: 1) The room service is really bad. It takes quite a long time even for a cup of coffee. 2) The tour-options are almost 2 times the prices in the market. It is a total rip off. 3) No lift to any rooms. If staying with parents, it will be a definite problem. Overall, its quite a decent place if you make your own local-travel plans and eat out.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GANESH from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Apr 2011

5

It was a nice trip to Ooty staying in Hotel Darshan. The hotel is awesome, excellent and located in walkable distance from Bus stand. The room service was good. In fact, we reached there before check-in time, they arranged us separate room for time being, then we moved to new room. DRAWBACK: As I m part of Tamil nadu, I am crazy to eat South Indian meal but that was not available in Hotel Darshan.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SOMASHEKAR from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Apr 2011

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MAHESH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Aug 2010

4

Pleasant location, just opp to Lake. Hotel rooms (super deluxe) could have been better specially Cupboard and cliff to hang off the clothes etc. Overall its good budget hotel closed to City Center.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

THANVEER from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Aug 2010

4

The stay was pleasent, service was good and the view from hotel was excellent. Boat house was at stones throw distance and can enjoy the boating experience when ever we can wish for :).

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

OWEN from HIGH, United recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Aug 2010

3

This was not a good choice. Hotel is located by Ooty lake about 3 km from Charing Cross centre. The building itself is a bit dilapidated and the rooms were not up to the Super Deluxe standard promised. Decor dates from the 1980's I would say and the cleanliness levels were not good. Staff were friendly enough and the restaurant food OK but overall I would avoid.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

JAGAN from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2010

5

It�s been fantastic in Hotel Darshan. Thing is that it has only Veg restaurant if you are a non-vegetarian you need to go to Town.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MANAS from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jul 2010

5

Access: The hotel was easily accessible just in front of the Ooty lake which is a very famous spot in ooty, and lot of sign boards were there, so there was no question of missing it. The hotel itself was very famous people knew about it. Parking: The Hotel has no covered parking but has space to park about three cars, just in front of its entrance and 4-5 cars at the back, I left my car there for the night with an assurance from the hotel that it is absolutely safe. Location: The hotel is in a very convenient location and view from all the rooms are scenic. The city market was also very near to the hotel, the hotel itself was at relatively peaceful location. A very good view of Lake is available from the hotel terrace, you can sit on the swings/chairs on the terrace and enjoy the view. The Front desk: The staff was reasonably helpful. We booked two Deluxe suite when we reached the hotel at 12.30 AN, the room were ready, it took around 20 minutes to get the room. The person at the reception gave us some good advice on planning for the sightseeing. Hotel also offer site seeing facility though we had our car so did not use the facility. The Room: All rooms in this hotels are lake facing. The room were good spacious neat and comfortable. The linen was clean, air conditioner was running and taps and flush were working. The bathroom was spacious and reasonably clean. Food & Room Service: Hotel has very nice vegetarian restaurant. We did not order anything fancy. Food was good. Service was a little slow. Overall: On the whole, the hotel is a great option for the traveler who wants to relax, price was reasonable

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ANUBHAV from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2010

4

Hotel was easy to be located, Nice location, very near to OOTY lake. Hotel has 6 floors with no lift. Room service takes approx 45 minutes to deliver.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUMIT from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 May 2010

4

Hotel Location was very good and can view Lake from room terrace. But either bed or pillow was not comfortable, So couldn't sleep properly on 1st night. Room service is good but Dining is very slow. Over all HOtel is good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANOJ from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2010

4

The stay was fine

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.AMIT from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2010

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ABHIJIT from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2010

4

The Hotel is 3 to 4 Km from the Railway station, In and around there are good market place also good scenarios are there opp hotel only there in one Ooty lake which is very good, the staff are good and very co-operative�s can recommend the hotel to my family.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR AMIT from panvel, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Feb 2010

4

ooty is a kind of destination which is a second best hill station after Munnar. Hotel Darshan is located on the hill side good for honey mooners but for elderly people would find it quite painful as the hotel doesn't have lift. So one need to climb stairs everynow and then. Room service and hospitality would get 9 out of 10. We had a guest one night guess who, RAT, who ate our coconut oil bottle. Thanks we were spared. Food was average, they need to improve upon. Overall stay was good as my 10 months old daughter was attended quickly.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ABHIJIT from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Feb 2010

3

The hotel is far away from the Airport and also railway station, As the hotel is located in the hilly area so there are very beautiful scenarios and also the market place, The staff are not like professional, In my life I can not recommend the hotel to mu friends or family

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DEBARIYA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Feb 2010

3

It was a good stay i can say its not prper hotel its a guest type of property. but i really like it. the food was excellent .the rooms are clean and service also good. staff was very helpfull. i love to visit again i will definatly recomand my friends and family.out of 5 i will give them 3 n half

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUPRATIK from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Feb 2010

3

the hotel is very good but kitchen service needs improvement.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DHEERAJ from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2010

3

overall ok hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SACHIN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Aug 2009

5

Stay was comfortable and calm, location of hotel is good, and view of lake is excellent. Food is also good there, south Indian and north Indian. Staff is courteous and helpful. Only problem is that we got room on 5th floor, but no lift so we have to climb up 5 floors but it has excellent view of Boat House and Lake. Overall a comfortable stay rating.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JITENDER from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Aug 2009

3

Overall experience was not good compared to high cost paid Hotel Booking: It was my second visit to Ooty in last three years. Approx 15 days prior to the departure date, i booked two Mini Suites in �Hotel Darshan� We were going with my parents and our 2 years old kid, I didn't want to take any chance by experimenting, even though it was off season. Location: Located on the lake road, hotel is approx 2 km from bus stand and there is no public transport available outside the hotel. To take an auto, one need to walk till Ooty Lake, which is approx 1 km from the hotel. But the view of the lake is fabulous from the hotel terrace. The hotel also arranges for the Taxi but that will cost you Rs50 per trip. Hotel check-in: We reached the hotel on 13th July morning at approx 6.30 am. As I have already confirmed my booking and arrival time to Ooty eith the hotel staff, so hotel staff didn't took much time in completing the formalities and soon we were sent in our rooms. Cleanliness: Cleanliness of the rooms was fine and bathrooms were also clean and spacious. But there were no toiletries (soaps, towels, etc.) in the bathroom. But the second day, nobody came to clean the room and change the bed sheets, etc in spite of us reminding this at the reception. There were dead flies lying on the window but tactfully covered with the curtains and on request that was cleaned. Even they didn�t provided toiletries the second day. Food and Other Services: As we travelled previous night whole way from Bangalore to Ooty, we were very tired so want to refresh ourselves by taking tea before getting ready for the sight-seeing. I picked the phone available in the room to connect to the reception/pantry to order the tea. When i picked the receiver, there was no dial-tone and it is then when i realized that the wire of the phone is broken. That was very old-fashioned kinds of the phone and the worst thing is that it is not functioning also. Then i went to the room in which my parents were staying to use the phone and to the much of my surprise the phone in that room was also in the same worst condition. Somehow, I managed to go to the concerned person and order the tea. In 10-15 min, waiter came with the tea. When we started drinking it, we realized that its taste was too bad and it seems as if they served previous day tea. It was not even tolerable. When we complained at the reception, those people didn't responded properly and simply told us that since the waiter which served the tea already left and therefore they can't make any enquiry regarding it. They tried to pacify us by simple argument that it was served at 7 am in morning and it was mistake by the waiter. Anyways, we left for the sight-seeing and next morning as it was raining in morning, again we didn't have any other option but to order the tea in the hotel itself. This time we ordered Pot tea with the hope that it might be somewhat better. After some time, the waiter came and he literally slammed the tray on the table. The corner of one cup was broken and also the quantity of the tea in the kettle was very less. It is slightly more than one cup; in spite of the fact that in Pot tea, they were suppose to bring two cups of tea. But the taste was better this time. Hotel Check-out: While checking-out the hotel, we gave our feedback to the hotel manager but he seems to me least bothered. The way he was reacting was really very surprising and disappointing. Overall experience: At last, I can say that my overall experience with �Hotel Darshan� was not at all good. I recommend if you are looking for a good budget hotel, then do not opt for this hotel. There are plenty of other options available. The overall service and stay of hotel is not worth the cost I paid. The location is also not good as it is far from the main city. I request all travelers to please avoid such hotel for such a price, even in offseason. I also urge travelers to give only genuine feedback and that too comparing the cost paid with the services got; else the review will not benefit others.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VISWAJIT from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jul 2009

4

Rooms are less spacious. Serive was good. Situated near Boat house. Very Pleasant

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SEETHARAMA MURTHY from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jul 2009

4

Access:I went down from Bangalore to Ooty, Hotel Mentioned it�s just 1 Km from Railway Station and Bus Station, but turn out to be more. We got an auto near Station and reached the Place. When we needed to return to Bus Station, it was hard for us to get an Auto, at last we only got a local bus to reach over there. Location:The hotel is in a very near to Boat House and view into lake was fantastic from there. The room we got had a view to Lake it was wonderful.The Front desk:The staffs were reasonably helpful. We booked a Mini Suite double room, when we reached the hotel at 1.30 PM, the room was ready. The person at the reception gave us some good advice on planning for the sightseeing and arranged a good taxi and an excellent driver within scheduled time. The Room:We got a room facing the Lake. The room was nice for two and also neat and comfortable. The linen was clean, air conditioner was running and taps and flush were working. The bathroom was compact and reasonably clean.Food & Room Service:We did not order anything special. Food was average. Service was bit slowly. Restaurant in the Hotel was not so clean; They were not changing the Tablecloths regularly. We changed 2 to 3 tables to see good table and clean cloth over it. The room service guy was rude and doesn�t understand what we want.. Overall:On the whole, the hotel is a good option for the budget traveller and for short stays.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DIPAK from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jun 2009

3

The room lay out and furniture gives a cozy feel, however I have doubts if regular vacuum cleaning is done . I found the service good and location was excellent . I was disappointed by the restaurant , however the staff was communicative .The major plus was fantastic location however absence of lifts may cause a worry for those with arthro issues. Overall a good budget hotel at brilliant location.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMAKANT from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Apr 2009

5

I found this a decent hotel with a good view to the lake. I liked the food and room service. Parking space was not sufficient for more car to park. Overall I enjoyed staying at this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARIJIT from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Mar 2009

4

This hotel has a nice view of the lake. The rooms are clean. There is scope of service improvement...

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMIT from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Feb 2009

3

Our room was small and stuffy however the service and the housekeeping was quite good. The variety of food that we had at the restaurant was very tasty. The hotel stay was very good and we would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOULIESWARAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 01 Jan 2009

1

How To Reach The Hotel: Hotel Darshan is hardly 2 kms from bus stand. If you take an auto then don pay more than 50rs. Its very close to the lake and walkable distance from the lake. Check-In: It was not that smooth & fast. I had to wait for more than 30 minutes. Communication: Those who are in the reception can understand Tamil,English & Hindi but they dont speak good English. Room Condition: Room is not that good at all. In the December month, inside the room its very hot as though you are in some dessert. Room looks so small and no lights come into the room. Really the room is only for those who want to sleep nothing more than that. Food: Taste of the food is ok(not good, not bad).You wont get non veg food. Its only for veg. Restaurant: In the restaurant you have to wait for the longest time that you wont even imagine in your wildest dreams. If you have kids then plz skip this restaurant as i saw lot of kids were crying in hungry as they were made to wait for hours. Service: This is the worst service ever I have come across. I booked for Super deluxe room and they gave me mini suite(which costs less than super deluxe) and they lied me that its a super deluxe. When I confirmed that the room they gave me is mini suite & I went to reception there they were arguing that its a super deluxe room. Most of them are great liars. Finally they accepted its not a super deluxe room & refund the difference in the amount also. Check Out: This is next worst thing. This is the first hotel where they are charging 2.25% extra for credit card. So don try to use credit card. They didn't even give a bill copy to me and saying thats the hotel policy. Conclusion: Avoid this hotel if you want your travel and stay to be good. Only good thing about the hotel is the lake view nothing else. You can try this hotel if all the good hotels in Ooty are sold out.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

TARUN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Dec 2008

3

The Room was good and neat but the quality for service was pathetic. They used to take lot of time for every request. They will make you wait for something a whole day and in the night they would tell it is not available. e.g. We had asked for room heater and change of room which was promised in the morning but in the evening they denied for the same. Location wise this hotel is too far from the main market and station and there is no local transport available from the hotel. To make things worst we had booked a Luxury Swaraj Mazda bus for Mysore which was suppose to pick us at 8.30 am but the bus which finally came at 9.45 am was an ordinary bus and bus driver asked us to shift to Sumo since he didn't have enough people in the bus. However when all of us fought with the driver he took us in the same bus but had a very inhuman treatment with us. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUBHAJIT from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Oct 2008

5

Everything is excellent but front office is a bit slow.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANTOSH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Sep 2008

3

Location was prime. The room was clean and neat with all the facilities. Staff was courteous and polite towards the guest. But the food was average in taste. Overall an average stay in this property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRADEEP KUMAR from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Sep 2008

5

It was a wonderful experience with his hotel. The hotel food was fantastic and the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was co-operative and helpful. Also the food was superb in taste. We liked the property very much.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

H S from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Aug 2008

4

Perfect property for all kinds of travelers. Service was outstanding and staff was well mannered and know the guest needs and requirements. Food was delightful and room was clean. It was worth to stay over there.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUMAN from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Aug 2008

3

It was a nice hotel with perfect service and decent room facilities. Staff was helpful with friendly nature. But for non-veg food we had to go out to eat as the restaurant of the hotel was only serving vegetarian food. We were also impressed with the ambiance and cleanliness in the hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMAKRISHNAN from THANJAVUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Aug 2008

3

We have stayed in Mini Suite, it was just decent. The service quality was good. Overall value for money.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GAURAV from VELLORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Aug 2008

4

Location was wonderful. Our room was clean and neat with all the necessities and also with beautiful view. The service provided by the staff was quick and prompt. But the food was average in taste. It is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SRIKANTH from VIJAYAWADA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2008

4

Location was good. Our room was clean and neat with all the facilities. The service provided by the staff was quick and prompt. We were very happy with this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIRAL from BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 30 Jul 2008

2

I had booked 2 rooms in this hotel. We reached Ooty before their check-in time, so they gave us spare rooms till our rooms were vacated. Their check-in time is 12:00 pm. The spare room was pathetic. Before we could take bath, the current went off and their bathroom was too dark. The bathroom was not clean too. The TV in the spare room was like a dumb box with no good channels. The rooms were smelling of dampness. By 11:00 am we got ready to go out. The staff at the reception informed us that they will keep the room ready by the time we come back. We came back at around 3:30 pm. The receptionist said our room is ready and gave the key to our room. We noticed somebody else's luggage kept in our room. We informed the staff about it. They tried to convince us that it is our luggage and their staff has shifted it from the spare room. Later, they suggested us to keep the luggage as it is and occupy the room. We insisted them to shift the luggage. After about 10 minutes, the manager came and said that the guests of that room were supposed to check out but still haven't. Such things may happen in a hotel. However, we got bugged by the staff saying that the luggage kept in that room was ours. Then the manager offered us a different room which was the best category but was on the 6th floor and there is no lift. This room was good but our other room was on 2nd floor. I and my wife had to occupy the room on 6th floor and my parents occupied room on 2nd floor because my mother can't climb that long. The restaurant could not offer most of the items written in the menu. Most of the items were expensive comparing the quality. It took too long for the waiters to bring our order every time. The restaurant staff would also confuse us by offering a different dish than the one ordered. They have an item called pot coffee. Once we ordered it. Next day, when we ordered the same, the waiter brought 2 cups of coffee. We argued saying we ordered pot coffee. The waiter said he is serving the same thing in cups. In the bill we were charged for cup coffee. Though there is negligible difference in price of pot coffee and 2 cup coffees, there was a confusion. Since the waiter was in trouble, he started talking to other waiters and was invisible for a while. Then the restaurant manager tried to clarify that they serve the pot coffee only in the hotel room and not in the restaurant. Overall, it was not a very satisfying experience for us.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANURAG from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jul 2008

4

Location was beautiful. Our room was marvelous with all the facilities. Staff was caring and courteous towards the guest. We had our meal in the restaurant, it was amazing in taste. It is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JOYDIP from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jul 2008

3

Lodging was comfortable but dining was not upto our expectations at all. The bathrooms looked apparently clean but should be better facilitated in future.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. HARSHUL from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jul 2008

4

Location was beautiful. Our room was clean and neat but there was no ventilation in the room. But the staff especially were nice, they were very cooperative. Even the food was amazing in taste. It is worth the money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR RAMCHANDER from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jul 2008

4

Location was beautiful. Our room was well furnished with all the amenities. Staff did their work honestly. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Overall an above average hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

J from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jul 2008

4

Location was beautiful. Our room was very clean & comfortable. The food served too was of good quality. The room service were professional too. We would love to visit this place once again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANAS from Thane, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jun 2008

5

Hotel darshan is in exotic location, facing the ooty lake. The hotel staff is very cooperative and they were always ready to help in planning the sight seeing and other stuff like two wheeler booking. The hotel is absolutely value for money. Mini suite was fantastic with Bath tub as well. The concept was unique. There were common big balconies with every floor and from where one can enjoy the lake view. Excellent service, food, location and support makes it the most sought after hotel in Ooty. I will recommend this to my friends and relatives and will again stay there if I visit ooty in future.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ASHUTOSH from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Jun 2008

4

Our room here was clean and neat. all the facilities. The staff member were average in their service. Only the food was excellent in taste. Altogether this is an above average property. .

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRAKASH from BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 23 Jun 2008

1

I had the most horrible experience of my life in this property. As soon as we entered the our we found that it was a mess, the carpets were terribly dirty. On complaining the management changed our room, but that was not good either. The service was pathetic as well, we had ordered for only one biryani & the person in-charge noted down approximately 13 biryanis. On departure we were charged for those extra biryanis too. This is not it, we were all set to depart at 7am & requested for the bill, it took them literally 4 hours to do so inspite of constant reminders from our end. I am not at all recommending this property.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SOMNATH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

4

I had a delightful experience as the property was quite fantastic and arrangement was superb. The staff was obedient and always ready to serve. The room facility and food provision was also prompt. The service was instant and location was outstanding.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DRECK from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jun 2008

4

It was best hotel for the price offered. In fact I have recommended this property to my friends also. The room quality,service and food facility was amazing. The management seems to be well prepared for the clients.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ASHUTOSH from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2008

4

We booked Mini Suite for 2 nights in Hotel Darshan & our stay was very good. The quality of the service and the food was also fine.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DARSHAN from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2008

3

Staff service was very nice and courteous. The rooms were very much comfortable, neat and clean. The food was fantastic of the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. RANDEEP from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jun 2008

5

The staffs were fantastic in their service. Room was excellent with stylish interiors. The food was amazing in taste with different varieties. The location was beautiful near the hotel. We would love to visit this hotel again in future.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR SHABBIR from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2008

4

Room was very comfortable with decent furniture and large enough for families. The attached terrace makes it even more spacious. The staff was disciplined and always willing to serve. The food arrangement was satisfactory and location was exotic. It was really worth the price charged.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMIT from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2008

3

We had an average stay in this hotel. Every facility was basic. Our room was decent, also the room service & the food served were acceptable.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SANJEEV KUMAR from Hyderabad,, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2008

4

It was a convenient hotel for families. The staff was caring and assisted us promptly. The room was clean and bathroom was well equipped. The location and food arrangement was also desirable.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KANNAN from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 May 2008

5

Room was clean and quite spacious with all the necessities. Staff was helpful. We had our food in the restaurant it was superb in taste.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANIL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2008

3

There was no arrangement for the driver compartment which is usually available in the normal hotel. Otherwise there was no issue with room quality or food service. The staff was bit slow and used to delay most of the time but overall experience was satisfactory.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

P D from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 May 2008

4

We really had a great stay here. Our room was well maintained with good lake view. The service was fine & the food in the restaurant tasty. Overall it can be easily recommendable for others.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NAVEEN KUMAR from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2008

3

Had a decent stay in this property. My room was basic, the room service were accurate. Also the food served met my needs. Its value for money.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJESH KUMAR from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 May 2008

4

Staying in Ooty is always a pleasant experience and it just got better with this hotel. The surrounding was silent and ambiance was soothing. The staff was helpful and food was delightful. The room was relaxing and facilities were sufficient.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAVISHANKER from Cochin, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 May 2008

4

The room service and restaurant waiter are very poor in their service. The room was clean and neat with beautiful lake view. Food was was prepared very well with different varieties.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SATYANARAYANA from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 May 2008

3

ROOM SERVICE IS POOR. FOOD AVERAGE.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SANJAY from BELLARY, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 May 2008

3

The hotel is in good condition. Hotel is marvelous. I found that there was a good assortment of food and drinks.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUDHANSU from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 May 2008

4

It was a decent property. The room was clean and well arranged with all the facilities. The food was hygienic and delightful . The staff was friendly and efficient in their service. The location was also nearby. It was a good choice.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PARUL from Nagpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2008

5

We were highly impressed by the spacious room. The staff was exceptional with good knowledge. Staff were warm, friendly and also very caring. Food was awesome in taste.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAMANATHAN from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Apr 2008

4

Hotel's location was good within 2 km from railway station & bus stand and with a scenic lakeview on the front. We checked in at around 2 pm and were allotted room in 4th floor. We thought we can have a good view of the lake and mountains, but were shocked to know that the hotel did not have a lift. Then, came another shock that the water heaters will work only in morning & evening and in between there is no provision of hot water. The positive points are staff are courteous, rooms are clean and the food is good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PALANIVEL from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2008

4

We stayed in a mini suite here. The room was value for money, it was really well maintained. The room service did an appreciative job. The food too was exquisite. Given a chance i would come back again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAVI NARAYANAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Apr 2008

4

The staff are outstanding and will organise anything you need. Room was well maintained with all the necessities. The food was really wonderful of the restaurant. We had a very good time in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SRINIVASU from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Apr 2008

4

This is a decent hotel located near to Ooty Lake. Quality of room service and cleanliness are good. It has got attached Restaurant but not much dining options. Otherwise it is a good budget hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PAVAN KUMAR from Melbourne, Australia recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Apr 2008

4

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

JAMES from Ahmedabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Apr 2008

3

Dining facility was nice. We are very satisfied with variety, quality and quantity of the food. Room service was excellent. Arrangement for our local picnics were nice. Having a very good climate they could have maintained a very good garden. The room which we stayed was not well maintained; when we checked in, there were no night lamps, no TV connection, lock of the the room was troubling us every time. Surroundings of the rooms were not at all taken care. There were no sufficient light in the bathroom for a safe shave. All together it was an average stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR.FAHIM from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2008

4

This is a very wonderful property. The service they provided was above average. There were no complaints at all. I would recommend this to everyone.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SARBASHISH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2008

5

The location was good near the hotel it was very easy to locate the hotel. Room was beautifully maintained. Staff are so well trained with prompt service. The food was awesome in taste.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PAUL from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Apr 2008

4

We had a comfortable stay in Hotel Darshan. The rooms were neatly maintained and we enjoyed the freshness all through our stay. Staff were very courteous and extended warm reception on all occasions. Food was tasty and served hot. Needs improvement:The facade of the Hotel was looking bad as it was not maintained well. Bath towels were washed and hung in all places across the Balcony and hand rails. This could have been avoided to maintain the look and feel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PAUL from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Apr 2008

4

Already given below........We had a comfortable stay in Hotel Darshan. The rooms were neatly maintained and we enjoyed the freshness all through our stay. Staff were very courteous and extended warm reception on all occasions. Food was tasty and served hot. Needs improvement:The facade of the Hotel was looking bad as it was not maintained well. Bath towels were washed and hung in all places across the Balcony and hand rails. This could have been avoided to maintain the look and feel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUBRAMANYAM from Hydarabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Apr 2008

4

Checking in took some time. Thereafter No complains. The room was well maintained and the service was regular. The food arrangement was convenient. I think they should prepare themselves in an advance in order to attend the guests.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PAUL from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Apr 2008

4

We had a comfortable stay in Hotel Darshan. The rooms were neatly maintained and we enjoyed the freshness all through our stay. Staff were very courteous and extended warm reception on all occasions. Food was tasty and served hot. Needs improvement:The facade of the Hotel was looking bad as it was not maintained well. Bath towels were washed and hung in all places across the Balcony and hand rails. This could have been avoided to maintain the look and feel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

R K from Bhpoal, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Apr 2008

3

The cleanliness was not up to the mark. The toilet was dirty and drainage was not proper. The water was unhygienic and there was no shower or hot water facility in the bathroom. Otherwise the rest was considerable. The room was comfortable and the staff was co-operative. The food was also fine and location was convenient.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

KALYANBABU from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2008

5

Room was excellent with beautiful lake view. Staff are helpful and friendly. Food was fantastic in taste. I would stay here again with my family.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

B.SARATH from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Mar 2008

4

We stayed in Mini Suite it was small but neat and clean. Service was great and we really enjoyed the Food. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

REAGAN from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Mar 2008

5

This was certainly one of the greatest staying experiences I've ever had in a hotel. I opted this after seeing the ratings and review comments on this hotel by others. Truly one of the best budget hotels in OOTY with a breath taking view of the lake right from the hotel room window. I'd certainly recommend this property for others.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ASHWANI from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Mar 2008

4

It was a gorgeous property. The staff shown the true professionalism. They were perfect in their service. The room was well arranged. The food was also delicious. It was a recommendable hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANOJ from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Mar 2008

5

This is the hotel u shud stay in Ooty, just in front of the Ooty lake it has a fabulous view of the mountains and lake, service is excellent and food is too good, sight seeing places r not far away from it so for me it was an excellent experience to stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VIRAL from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Mar 2008

4

MISTAKE IN REVIEW- VIRAL KAMDAR.. Our Room was great with beautiful hill views. The food was tasty in the restaurant. Staffs are good in service.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BHUSHAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Mar 2008

4

I stayed in mini suite room it was well maintained having all the facilities. Staffs are prompt and quick. The meal was very tasty in the restaurant. I liked the hotel very much.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KARTHIKEYAN from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Mar 2008

3

It is located at very wonderful place. The room was neat and clean but the room service was very slow. Food was tasty but no varieties.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KIRAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Mar 2008

4

Hotel is good with a nice lake view. Room service was really bad first day, i was frustrated with that service, i don't know what happened to them later from second day it was really good service but.. still nice place to stay coz of the nice view.. i prefer this..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GULSHAN from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2008

4

Everything was fine, except my pair of trouser and shirt was missing from my luggage when i reached back home. I am yet to receive the same from hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUPRATIM from KOLKATA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2008

3

Staffs were helpful with friendly nature. The Superior room was spacious with clean bed sheet and pillows.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARUNAVA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Feb 2008

3

Rooms were clear staff co-operative service good. Cleanliness was good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VARGHESE from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Feb 2008

4

The ambiance is great and the staff were courteous and very friendly. Service was very good if not excellent. The food was tasty and there was a wide variety to choose from.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AMIT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2008

5

Excellent property with great staff. Location was superb with the beautiful view around. Food was very delicious. Service was quick and prompt. Room alloted was large and well equipped.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ABHAY from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jan 2008

3

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Located just behind boat house you can have good view of lake and nilgiri mountains. commercial spots are about 2 kms from here so you have complet peace of mind.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

GOPE from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Jan 2008

3

Staff were very polite of the hotel and they used to clean the room every day. Rooms were big and comfortable of the hotel and the interior was also good of the room. Food was very tasty and it was served hot very well by the staff. I was very much happy with the hotel and I enjoyed staying their.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAVINDRA KUMAR from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jan 2008

5

It was a great experience with this hotel. The view from the bedroom window was beautiful and room was very large with good hygiene. Service was quick and prompt. Food was very delicious and well served. Staff was polite and well trained. Its highly recommendable property.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ROSHAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2008

5

The experience with this property was fantastic. The manager was very polite and was attending each guest personally. Location was fabulous the beautiful nature was just around us. The chef was very good he prepared all the dishes according to our taste and demands. Rooms were well maintained and finely cleaned. I will surely stay in this hotel again. Its highly recommendable to others.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ANIL from Karad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jan 2008

4

The Darshan hotel is a real good place to stay. It is very conveniently located near hill area. The room gives a beautiful view of the sunrise and sunset. Rooms are really neat and beautiful. The hotel staff is also very helpful and caring. Food is also good. I enjoyed my stay here thoroughly.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANIRBAN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jan 2008

4

Service was very poor there was no one to get drinking water in the room. Any thing asked was brought after long time. They had only veg menu it was ok in taste. Room was very spacious and was finely cleaned. Its an average property.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

GAURAV from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jan 2008

5

Service was not perfect if we ordered for 2 roti they will get 3, if we ask for water glass they will get some thing else. Room was big and well maintained. Food was very good in taste specially North Indian dishes. Highly recommendable.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

YOGESH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jan 2008

5

Room was spacious and well maintained. Service was quick and prompt. Food was delicious to taste. Staff was polite and helpful. Over all it was a fantastic stay. Surely will recommend to others.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NISHANT from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jan 2008

5

Hotel Darshan, the location was very good , near the lake. But if you need to be near the city, then a vehicle is a must. The food was good, service very courteous and staff was extremelly helpful. The AC Super delux room were very good and commanded a nice view of the lake. The cottage in the other block is some 200 m away from the main premises and hence for food you have to come to the main hote.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MS. SHILPA from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jan 2008

4

The hotel is very ideally located besides the Ooty Lake. Rooms are a bit old and few leaks were noticed on ceiling walls. The room's temperature is maintained very well by heating and hot water is available round the clock. The restaurant is excellent and all food items very reasonably priced. I was really satisfied with this hotel and will recommend it to all my friends and relatives.It is real "value for money".

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJESH K from Vasai, Ooty recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jan 2008

3

Room was large and well maintained. Entire property was neat and clean. Food was good with quantity of options. Service was very slow needs to improve a lot. Except then this a best value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BHARGAVI from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jan 2008

5

The location of the hotel was very good. Room service and the staff were very good. It was a memorable experience staying in that hotel. No dining option for non-vegetarians. Good value for your money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AJAY from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Dec 2007

5

I stay here for 3 days and it was an excellent stay, i recommend people to be there, food was delicious and room service was good. The thing i like most is the hotel lake view and your personal security in terms of disturbance.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

TAMOJIT from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Dec 2007

4

The Hotel is in excellent location and with an excellent view. There was no Lift and if your room is at 5th or 6th Floor, you need to climb up through the stairs.The restaurant serves good quality of food but the service was not satisfactory because of less number of Stewards. I have booked a cab for sight-seeing through Hotel's Travel Services, the driver came 2 hours after the scheduled departure time.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUPRATIM from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Dec 2007

5

The best part was the service and the quality of food. I am a thorough non-vegeterian, but I enjoyed the veg dishes in hotel darshan. The hotel is a stone's throw from ooty lake and very near(Rs 30 by auto) from the bus station and toy-train rail station. Overall, I was satisfied with the stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAVI from BANGLORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Dec 2007

4

Need to improve on privacy factor.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANANDA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Dec 2007

4

Room has an excellent view of the mountains. Amenities were very good. Breakfast was really great in the restaurant.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ABHAY from Dahanu, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Dec 2007

4

Room was good and spacious one can also enjoy the beautiful lake views. Modern amenities were there like swimming pool, health club and Internet access only in a restaurant. I had ordered my meal in the room the food was delicious. Service level was great of the staffs. Its a very good place to relax and like to recommend this hotel. of the staffs. Its a very good place to relax and like to recommend this hotel. of the staffs. Its a very good place to relax and like to recommend this hotel. of the staffs. Its a very good place to relax and like to recommend this hotel. of the staffs. Its a very good place to relax and like to recommend this hotel. of the staffs. Its a very good place to relax and like to recommend this hotel. of the staffs. Its a very good place to relax and like to recommend this hotel. of the staffs. Its a very good place to relax and like to recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ABHIJEET from jaysingpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Nov 2007

3

Super deluxe room in which we have stay'd was comfortable & clean. Staffs are slow in service comparatively. We didn't liked the food much.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

KAUSHIK from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Nov 2007

5

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel. Room quality was good, service was excellent, location was perfect. Food was great and its very economical as well.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VIJAY from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Nov 2007

5

Good hotel, room quality & service was excellent. I would recommend the hotel for stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NILADRI from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Nov 2007

4

The mini suite we stayed in was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANIL from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Nov 2007

3

it is a reasonably good hotel. From a distance, the hotel building looks ordinary but rooms are good. Staying on the 5th floor is inconvenient as there is no lift and you have to climb the stairs. The location is very good just opposite the lake.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOSES from Secunderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Oct 2007

4

The phone in the room was not working and they could not fix it throughtout the stay. Otherwise the hotel is fine.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KAVITHA from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 09 Oct 2007

1

It was a very bad stay. The room was very congested with no light in the room. I booked for 3 night but I stayed only for 1 night. I will not suggest this hotel to anybody.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

RAJAT from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 03 Oct 2007

1

This hotel is pathatic to stay in ooty, as it is under maintanence and most of its room has dampnesss and stinks. The bathrooms are not good and the hotel staff is not at all friendly. Location of this hotel is also not good and the roads are very bad d has a lot of dust all over.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

S from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Sep 2007

4

Lovely hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRADEEP from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Aug 2007

5

It was an excellent experience with this hotel. Rooms are clean and the staff service good. Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was very nice and tasty of the hotel. The hotel is located very close to railway station and bus stand. I was very happy with this hotel. this hotel. Location was fantastic of the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DIVYESH from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Aug 2007

4

Rooms are clean only problem was that the blankets were not washed properly. I liked the food of the hotel. We had breakfast in our room, lunch and dinner we had in the restaurant - there was Punjabi dishes. From the room the view was excellent as we could see the Ooty Lake and the pine forest.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SIDHARTH from Lucknow, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2007

4

Its picturesque lake view location make this hotel different from rest... room service is very good n the quality of the veg food was terrific too... our 4 day long stay in ooty was more beautiful just because of the ease n comfort we get at hotelrongly recommend this hotel...

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAMA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Jul 2007

4

The room was quite good and service not up to the mark. No 24 hrs hot water in the hotel. Location of the hotel was excellent, we enjoyed our stay. Food provided in the hotel restaurant was excellent in taste and well served. We had uttapam and pulao in the hotel. Will recommend to all my friends.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. RAJESH K. from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jun 2007

4

What we first liked about the hotel is the location. A view of the lake, that is the main feature of hotel Darshan. The hotel is situated on a sloping hill and entire hotel is designed like a stadium. Just in front of the hotel you have a beautiful lake w here you can go for boating and other fun items. Food was tasty but a little costly. It is located a little far from the city and in a quite place, we enjoyed there. here you can go for boating and other fun items. Food was tasty but a little costly. It is located a little far from the city and in a quite place, we enjoyed there.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHRAVAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2007

4

Good service and fast response.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANOHARAN from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2007

5

Good hotel. There was lot of noise due to construction going on in the hotel. The rooms were clean. The food was also very tasty. The rooms were large and spacious. The staff was helpful and the service provided was really excellent.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRASHANTH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2007

4

What we first liked about the hotel is the location. It is so well designed that it does not matter in which room you stay. You will get a broad terrace with an awesome view of the lake, that is the main attraction of hotel Darshan. The hotel is situated on a sloping hill and entire hotel is designed like a stadium. We stayed in a Super Deluxe bedroom, the service was a little slow, room was however great. For food paratha with murg masala and chass was tasty but a little costly. The best part is the...

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAVI from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2007

5

The food tasted simply great in every aspect.... but the quality of the service was a bit of a dampener.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5