Hotel Sapphire Grand

2 Star  

Church Hill Road, Ooty, Tamil Nadu - 643 001

Starting from Rs. 2,369
Choose Dates

Hotel Sapphire Grand, Ooty - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.3/5 Excellent
(Based on 47 reviews)

95.7% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4)
  • Service Quality (4.3)
  • Dining Quality (4)
  • Cleanliness (4.1)

Hotel Sapphire Grand - Individual ratings and reviews:

PRADEEP from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Sep 2014

5

Good experience.All was as expected and told to us at the time of booking.Stay was a memorable one.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VARGHESE from VELLORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Aug 2014

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRALOBH from NEW, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Aug 2014

5

It was really good experience with hotel, excelant service.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SRINIVAS from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Aug 2013

4

Hi Travelers, We stayed 2 days in this hotel and it is very good hotel. Hotel has both pickup and drop facility to the travelers from station to hotel and hotel to station. Management is very friendly and they are ready to help for every aspects in any time. Service is good, Food is good. I definitely recommend this hotel as one of the best economic hotel.hotel has it's own parking. Hotel is very near to Botanical garden.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRASHANTH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Mar 2013

4

As i went from banglore and reached ooty morning. I called the hotel manager and the car was there to pick us in 5 minutes and it was a very good hotel with great view and room was clean and well furnished. The Breakfast was good with many options and Room service was also pretty good and also had option on Cab for nearby places with an reasonable price. overall a very good budget hotel and recommend to stay there.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAHUL from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Feb 2013

3

Room is not worth its cost at all. Room is not clean and even the washroom is not good. Though the service was decent. We checked in before time and there was no issue with that. Even pickup and drop facility is good. But their Travel desk is expensive, so never book any tour from the hotel travel desk.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUBHASH from BARODA, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 15 May 2012

2

This hotel is worst exprience of my entire trip.Very dirty hotel.staires are smelling very badly.Rooms are dirty.Bedsheets provided are teared oneand not clean at all.People are very arogeant.I booked this hotel for two days for two rooms for 6 persons.It was agreed for additional bed but after lot of arguments and lot of waiting i got additional bed but cloths on it were very dirty again after arguments they changed but not up to mark. Service is also very slow.Food quality is average.Seeing all this and for not want to my entire trip mood I changed this hotel next day by bearing additional cost of other hotel. Person there speaks big things but things are excatly opposite.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

PATHIKRIT from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2012

4

Hotel staffs are very helpful and the location of the hotel is also not too far from taxi and bus stands. Power backup is a problem, but I guess it's a problem for most of the hotels in Ooty. Food is good, can't say extraordinary but the immediate service of the hotel staffs are appreciable. All in all a nice experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRANAY from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Feb 2012

5

The stay was memorable. Although it is worth mentioning that the approach to the hotel is a bit confusing as the directions given are hardly visible.Otherwise the hotel is a viable option for the budget traveller and i'd definitely recommend this hotel to any traveller who wants to stay in Ooty. Special mention of the dining options which was truly excellent

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

M PAVITHRAN from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2012

5

We have taken 2 rooms, one 3 bedded and one 2 bedded room, the 2 bedded room was excellent with good lighting, but the 3 bedded room needs improvement. Restaurant and food is quite ok. Location is also very good. Altogether pleasant to stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KIRAN from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Dec 2011

5

Hotel is located in city centre. They have provided me free pickup and drop facility till bus stand. My reservation was for Super Deluxe room I must say the rooms were very spacious, clean and tidy; bathroom was kept clean Hotel has provided me sightseeing in hotel cab at competitive rates also the room service and food was excellent...Hotel also has few rabbits, ducks and love birds.. I would say. Overall all I strongly recommend this hotel for all who travels to OOTY...

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KAMLESH from BANSWARA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Dec 2011

3

Location of the hotel is not so good, rooms are spacious and good. The staff behavior was also good at the hotel. Overall it was a good stay at the hotel I will rate this hotel as above average hotel I will recommend this hotel to my friends for future bookings.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

C K from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Nov 2011

4

The atmosphere at the hotel was really excellent mainly because of its artistic nature. Staff's service at the hotel is really appreciated and recommended. Food was of limited option as they only servce vegetarian food. Cleanliness was very well maintained and location is also preferable.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GS from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Nov 2011

4

The ambience of the rooms was excellent with good interiors. Staff's at the hotel were kind and cooperative. Food too was up to mark and tasty. Cleanliness was maintained at the hotel and around its surrounding. The hotel is definitely recommended because of its prompt service.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SACHIN from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Oct 2011

3

This hotel is far away from the station but I was happy with the services. The location was good there are market places around. Rooms are good and clean..Staff is also good

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NILESH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Oct 2011

4

Overall a good place to stay for few days. Hospitality excellent.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJA from HUBLI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Sep 2011

5

Really enjoyed my trip and accommodation with Hotel sapphire grand when i want go back to ooty i will stay there only if it is room not available i will postpone the my trip they provide the very goooooood service

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANJAYKUMAR from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Sep 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

EHTISHAM from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Sep 2011

5

We had a long weekend and wanted to cool of some stress from our busy office schedule so we packed our bags and headed to ooty a.k.a the queen of hills and boy was it an awesome experience...Hotel sapphire grand and its helpful staff made our stay very pleasant indeed and added just that extra bit which would change the experience from a 'good one' to a 'great one'. The manager and staff were very warm and helpful. The room was pretty spacious and surprisingly luxurious for the rent which they charged. All the scenic locations were easily accessible and all in all we had a great time..i would recommend to this hotel to all those people who want to have a great time at ooty and also not burn a hole in their pockets

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PANKAJ from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2011

5

Pleasant enjoyable stay

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KRISHNA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jun 2011

4

Although the road/lane that leads into Sapphire Grand is very narrow, once we reach the premises, its a whole lot different. The premises is pretty well maintained with a good garden in the front. The room that we stayed was very neat & tidy. The staff were very courteous and guided us well. All-in-all a good stay for a couple of days to three. Experience was hassle-free.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAJAN from THIRUVANANTHAPURAM, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Apr 2011

5

It was a very good experiance to be there in the hotel for 2 days. The hospitality is excellent. I recommend Hotel Saphire Grand for those who are planning to go to Ooty.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BALAJI from MYSORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Apr 2011

5

This hotel is most suited for those who want to stay and feel at home away from their home. The hotel rooms are designed like perfect bed rooms at home, the staff is very courtesous and makes all the attempt to make us feel at home. The hotel is centrally located and is very convienient to visit key places in and around Ooty. Perfect budget place to stay with family and enjoy the vacation and destress. Food is good and service is best. We enjoyed our short stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

EZHIRKO from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2011

5

In general the environment was very good. Sports gadgets were provided in the evening like shuttle cork. The birds and small pet animals were creating pleasant environment. Services are very good. Every body was cordiall. No cheating and complaints.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SAMEER from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Mar 2011

5

Access: We have reached to Ooty station and car was there to pickup for hotel. nice view around the hotel. access to city area within 5 minutes walk (cherring cross road) for shopping. we shopped for chocolates and masala tea Location: The hotel is in a very convenient location from the ooty railway and bus stand. it is very near to market area cherring cross road. you will find some ducks and rabbits around hotel area in the park. must say a nice location The Front desk: The staff was reasonably helpful. We booked an deluxe room and when we reached the hotel at 12.30 PM, the room was ready. The manager at the reception gave us some good advice on planning for the sightseeing and arranged a good taxi and an excellent driver within 15 minutes. The Room: the room was neat and clean. importantly very spacious. hot water available as we are traveling with our baby. Food & Room Service: we have ordered paneer tikka masala and few chapaties and that were nice. we paid the bill during checkout. they had 10% service tax. Overall: On the whole, the hotel is a good option for those who wants to stay in ooty

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MAYANK from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Mar 2011

5

Hotel is located very close to the city. (Charring Cross). The food was really superb. Breakfast was fabulous. Hotel service was also very good and had options for recreation like Badminton, carrom, garden with birds and 2 cute rabbits. On request they allowed me to use internet from a computer near to the reception. Our room was a more cozy than I expected.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUNESH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Mar 2011

4

Room was good however the hot water was available only between 6.30 to 10.30 AM. It is mentioned that this is a 3star hotel but never felt like it's a 3 star.Lack of professionalism by the reception. Food was not good and the options were very limited.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANUP from THIRUVANANTHAPURAM, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Aug 2010

5

I am short of words to explain the most incredible moments of my stay in this hotel. I poked around different travel sites for over two weeks & read many customer reviews before finalizing this hotel. I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights from August 21st to 23rd 2010 with my spouse & 2 year old child and believe me this hotel is truly GRAND as the name suggests and a home away from home for family & honeymoon Couples alike. Such was the experience that I wanted to be there for many more days. Excellent room, very courteous, always helpful & well behaved staff, 24hr hot water facility, calm & quiet location and finally talking about the service, I bet that for this rate, you will not get a better service from any other hotel in Ooty. Hats off to TRAVEL GURU & SAPPHIRE GRAND HOTEL. Thanks indeed for a memorable holiday experience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SRITHARAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jul 2010

5

We had a great time and enjoyed. Hotel is very good and hopitality is excellent. Regards G.Sritharan

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRITAM from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jun 2010

4

The Hotel nice. The rooms are very clean and well furnished. location is good, staff is very good.Overall it was nice stay at HSG.I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler who wants to stay in Ooty.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SIDDHARTHA from BHOPAL, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jun 2010

5

I really enjoyed my stay in this Hotel.I will definitely recomonded this Hotel to every body.Front Desk staff are very helpiful & guide you about your Ooty Stay & travel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

Y from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jun 2010

4

Expected cleanliness is not available otherthan that rest is OK.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ASHISH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2010

3

If somebody is looking for a budget hotel in Ooty, Hotel Sapphire Grand is a good option. Hotel service is good. They pay individual attention to all guests. Room quality and dining options are also not disappointing

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

C from CHENNAI, Haiti recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2010

5

It's good hotel and pleasure to stay in this hotel again I will come and stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

CS from RAJAHMUNDRY, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2010

4

Front desk officers has to be more professional in his/her approvch.There is no hot water after 7PM to morning 6 PM.services are excellent if given another opportunity it will prefer to stay in this hotel because of the good service.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAMPRASAD from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Apr 2010

4

We stayed for 2 days in Sapphire Grand at Ooty. We did not feel like a hotel rather you can feel it's like a guest house. Rooms are decent, clean and spacious. Room Service is excellent, but only one thing they will take minimum 30mins to deliver the food order. If you are in a queue it may take more time. Really they can focus on improve here. Location is very near by to the center market, you can just walk through in 5mins. If you have child below 10 years really they can enjoy the hotel environment. Overall we are felt happy about our stay at Sapphire Grand.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NARAYANAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Apr 2010

4

It looks like more of guest house than hotel. Cleanliness is ok. The best part is the hospitality and the free breakfast.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SANTOSH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Apr 2010

5

Good place to stay. Very good hospitality. Love the breakfast, ambiance, kids park. Price is bit higher side though....

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AJAY from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2010

4

It was nice to stay in Hotel Sapphire Grand. Staffs and specially honour Mr Kannan were very good and friendly.There Brakefast(South Indian) was very nice, however for Lunch/Dinner food taste was not so good, i may say because i was trying to find North Indian test.But excluding this i can say all other services were nice. All together i can say stay was comfortable and it's a preferred stay option in Ooty.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KRUPA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Feb 2010

4

This is an excellent hotel if you want to just stay there but there are minute problems with it like they dont have more veg options they dont have snacks options for eve if you want to have something light for dinner there is no option at all hotel garden is very beautiful one can spend couple of hours seeing the scenic view and playing some games there. In the room they are spacious good sitting area and nice layout patter but their bathrooms lack shower there is no shower in their bathroom for comfortable bathing and also the geaser is a problem once u use it then u will have to wait for 20 mins to reuse. and its chilling in ooty so if they understand that and provide hot water in all taps then its a wonderful stay at saphire grand. The manager Mr. Kanan is extremely cooperative and with a attitude to make your experience special so that is what attracts people to stay there again.Location wise its best as it is some 5 mins walk from main market.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DEEPAK from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jan 2010

4

Half a Km away from city and would re-commend the hotel for spending holidays as the services of the hotel was excellent

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ABHINANDAN from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Dec 2009

4

It was very nice to stay at Sapphire Grand. The food is very good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VENKATESH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jul 2009

5

Excellent service, food varieties, helpful service and useful suggestions.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

Y N from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2009

4

I felt that the hotel is at the center of the city. The staff was reasonably helpful. We booked an AC Deluxe double room. The room was small but neat and comfortable,and well furnished. The bathroom was compact and reasonably clean, but if there was 24 hours hot water line then it will be still more comfort for people with babies. Food was average. Service was fast. Children's play area is good. The Hotel has no covered parking but has space to park. Unclean balcony with black dust sticking to our feet. Overall it is a nice hotel, but corridor and staircase should be kept clean. 1st impression is the best impression so entrance should be clean.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SWAGATA from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 May 2009

5

This hotel is an excellent choice for the lovebirds / honeymoon couples who prefer to stay in a calm and decent place. Location - This hotel is just outside the centre of ooty, so it gives you a calm environment. Room - The rooms are very well maintained. The housekeeping stuffs are always ready for service. Reception and Stuff behaviour - All the receptionists are very professional, and yet cordial. They really show that they care for their guests. Dining - The breakfast has mainly south Indian dishes, but bread+omlet+fruit juice etc all are available. In lunch and dinner, they cook good rice / paratha and all types of non-veg and veg curries. The food were tasty and clean. Room Service - We got very prompt service whenever we asked for any help. Overall, I am very happy with this hotel, and will strongly recommend people this one.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VIREN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2009

2

Room hygiene was extremely bad as rooms were stinking, hot water was not available in cold temperatures of Ooty. Extra money was demanded for breakfast & drops, which was supposed to be complimentary. Hotel is more of like dormitory rather than hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

RAGU from MADURAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Mar 2009

5

I really enjoy this trip and everybody was so friendly specially general manager Mr.Durai Kannan very friendly and helpful.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5