Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel

2 Star  

Charring Cross, Ooty, Tamil Nadu - 643 001

Starting from Rs. 3,441
Choose Dates

Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel, Ooty - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.9/5 Good
(Based on 102 reviews)

92.2% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.8)
  • Service Quality (3.7)
  • Dining Quality (3.8)
  • Cleanliness (3.7)

Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel - Individual ratings and reviews:

HARISH from \, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Dec 2014

5

Me and My family ( 4 of us) stayed in this property from 25th to 28th Dec 2014.. Great Hotel,Clean rooms, great service, courteous staff, 3 restaurants, great food, great site seeing arrangements by Travel desk, me and my family enjoyed the stay very much.. I would surely recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants to visit Ooty.. On the flip side, its a little expensive Hotel and no concessions for people who pay for longer duration. One suggestion to anyone visiting Ooty, just don't forget to visit Garden restaurant which is a part of this Hotel.. Very tasty food... their Idlies are world famous !!

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

CHIRAG from KOLHAPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Nov 2014

4

The Nahar's Niligris Hotel is one of the best known in Ooty. The access to the hotel is good as it is situated in the market itself. I have previously stayed there, so there was no doubt about it. The parking area was not sufficiently big, but I could accommodate my car any how. It was uncovered, but it was not a big problem. The staff was very co-operative and helpful, we got help at any point of time. The room I booked was called a Deluxe Suite, but The so called "Deluxe Suite" could not match its standards. The size of the room was very small, a mid sized double bed and a small bed squeezed some where in a corner and two sofas and a table some how fitted in the left space. I have stayed there in the past before I had children, in a double room much spacious and rich looking. The TV was pathetic. In the 21st century, we still get to see TFT monitor TVs with cable connection having hardly 50 channels, out of which only 2-3 where national channels other all regional. The bathroom was very old fashioned, reasonably clean but not hygienic looking. The food quality was good, but unreasonably priced and the most expensive in the town. They had three different restaurants with different cuisines, that was still the best part. But still the things we ordered where good in quality and taste. Overall my experience was not that bad, but I got less than I had expected and booked accordingly

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SRIRAM from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2013

3

The Rooms are pretty old. Initially allotted room stinking smell. Later after complaining got a better room. Electrical problems lights, TV did not work later it was rectified. Overall the experience is not so great. But the hotel is located in good accessible locality.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

RAVI KUMAR from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jan 2013

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SREE KRISHNA from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Aug 2012

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SREENATHA from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2012

3

This hotel has good access to main areas in OOTY and main advantage is location. The rooms are average and there is absolutely no ventilation for some rooms. Staff is good and they respond to your requests quickly. The dining options are there but it is a PURE VEGETARIAN food. Food is very costly. I am not very satisfied with Restaurant rates. On a whole, This is an average hotel suits for short stay only

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ATUL from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Feb 2012

3

Overall it was a good stay at hotel as this hotel is an average hotel and I will think before recommending this hotel to my freinds for future booking.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SARABJEET from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jan 2012

4

A decent place to stay. Professional staff.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANKUR from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2011

4

I had a great experience in this hotel. This hotel is located in a market. Hotel staff was very nice and cooperative and the food given by them was also good. Then best thing about this hotel is its cleanliness. This hotel is very neat and clean. I would like to recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANCHALI from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Nov 2011

4

I had a good experience in this hotel the rooms are well maintained and with nice furniture�s .this hotel is located in the center of the city and the best thing about this hotel is it staff there are the very nice and helpful and the foods were too good.. I would like to recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NITIN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 30 Oct 2011

2

My experience with this hotel was not that good. The staff people are not all cooperative, the ambiences in the room was also no that great. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone because of its bad services.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

NATARAJAN from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Oct 2011

3

This hotel is located in a main market. My experience in this hotel was Ok. I did not like the staff behavior they are not at all cooperative. Therefore I would think before recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMESH from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Oct 2011

3

My experience in this hotel was Ok. Staff behavior was very good and helpful. But the food offered was no that good. Hence I shall think before recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIKRANT from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Oct 2011

3

The room which aws provided had cocroaches, flies and mosquitoes and when I asked for extra bed, they provided me another mattress. But at the time of booking the hotel it was committed that I would get a BED. The support which is provided is very pathetic.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

VIKAS from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Sep 2011

4

A very nice option to stay in that buddget hotel. It was a pleasent experience in staying in this hotel. I reached 2 hrs. late in Ooty & the Room which I was booked, it was not available at that time. Even after this situation the Hotel Staff has shifted us in Heritage Suit rather than Deluxe Double, which I have booked. I didn't felt even a single problem in services or Quality also. Heartly thanx to Nahar's Nilgiri Hotel Overall nice stay in a nice Hotel with having nice time in Ooty.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJU from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Aug 2011

3

My overall experience was very bad as the hotel was really pathetic with its room ambience & service. The room service is not well appreciated and as there was limited staffs appointed. Food served were only veg as there was no variety in menu. Cleanliness is more concerned as hotel is not hygienic for stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AMIT from Bidar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2011

4

Location of the hotel is average. Room was not very spacious but it was comfortable. Staff were cooperative. Food was excellent. All the dishes were really good. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DR.GURTAPPA from Bidar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2011

4

Location of the hotel is average. Room was not very spacious but it was comfortable. Staff were cooperative. Food was excellent. All the dishes were really good. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GAJENDRAN from CHENNAI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 24 Jul 2011

1

I booked for Hotel Nahar's Nilgris for my vacation in Ooty from Apr 21 to 24. I just wanted to highlight my concern about the hotel. I was not satified at all with the hotel room provided for the price I paid. The Restroom was not at all up to mark and it was so much dirty and ugly. Since I heard from your representative that it was a nice hotel to stay, I went ahead to book for it. But since room is not upto mark, please let me know how you wanted to take this forward.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

JAIMIN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2011

3

Food was the only issue. Most of the things on the menu were not available whenever you give them a call. I had a frustrating time.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

V RAVI from city, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 May 2011

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANP from NEYVELI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 May 2011

4

SIMPLY SAYS EVERYTHHIK IS OK

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SURESH BABU from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Mar 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SIVA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 May 2010

3

Good hotel to stay. Clean and nice room. Worth the money..absolutely no problem. Room service was never delivered but i was billed...took 1 hour to fix the charge of Rs.66/-. The staff never seemed friendly...but i guess they also humans frustrated managing the huge crowd during the peak season. I will excuse them this time..

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAMAKRISHNA from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 May 2010

5

This stay was remarkable. I am someone who travel length and width of the world sevearl times and I am particular about the hygene standards and the attention hotel staff provide for the details. I must say the standard in that sense is top class. The food quality is possibly the best in Ooty. I cant think of any other hotel which can boost boost such class in Ooty. The room service is excellant. The rooms are kept very clean all the time. in terms of the value for money by Ooty standard, I would say, you can't get another hotel which can match this hotel in ooty. During my 5 day stay in the Hotel, the restaurants in this hotel are the most sought out ones in the entire Ooty. The boarders have the advantage of room service and can enjoy the food with the rush in the resturant. One of the resturant works 24 x 7 round the year! Anyone planning a trip to Ooty, this could be the first choice. The hotel has a spa not too far from the hotel and anyone interested in an ayurvedic massage, this spa could be the best among the best. I will recomend, dont miss the the ayurvedic massage. That would be, for sure, once in a life experience. The manager in this resort M/s Rajkumar and Kushal are delight to work with. The travel desk would be pleased to take you and bring you back conveniently for a small cost. I would say, the Ooty experince was a delight.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ALKESH from HYDERABAD, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 16 May 2010

2

Location: Hotel is located at very congested (mostly one way) full blown commercial road nowhere near scenic Oooty. Front Desk/Reception: On arrival did not get any welcome. On service staff to unload luggage from Car have to do it myself. Also have to remove may car urgently as reception is located on the road which is used by many vehicle. Room: Room was in pathetic condition of cleanliness. Lots of flies and mosquitos. Also bath area water was coming to wash basin and comode area. I requested front housekeeping to clean it which took almost 2 hours and then i requested front desk to change room which was rejected. Parking: Parking in hotel is nightmare. Very small space and lots of vehicle. Also water tanker and garbage picker truck coming in the parking area very frequently to add chaos. I requested a guard to get my car washed after 3 days and next morning he was knocking at my room for money. He even argued to get more money. Room Service: Room service was average, staff was not very customer friendly and prompt (Only for tip). Final day when i gave tip to them they even argued to me that tip was not enough. Food : Truley 3'rd class service which lots of free flies sitting on your food. Rates are too high (50 Rs. for a tea, If i recall 35-50 Rs. for a roti). Food is pathetic so we ate half the time to some nearby hotels. Alsolutely no curtsey by staff. Overall : Pathetic, 3'rd class experiance. I will never suggest anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

CAPTAIN SHAILENDRA KUMAR from BAHYINDER, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 May 2010

4

Rooms are good and clean. Room service is pathetic, takes 1 and half hours for service and that too wrong orders.When called up Room service repeatedly but ready answers from them is order is on the way, complaint to hotel management but of no use. As per my views Cannot recommend to anyone specially if some one with kids as you have to be prepared to make them sleep hungry or starve.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

LEENA from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 May 2010

4

The good : The room was clean and well-furnished. The bathroom was clean too and was well decorated using green granite. Accessories like shampoo, soap, hair dryer etc. were present. The bad : The size of the room was too small for a family of 4 though. We had to somehow squeeze the extra mattress in the area between the bed and the table. The terrible : Service was terrible. Every time we wanted to have a bath, we had to call housekeeping and then hot water would start coming after 5 minutes. My husband realized that there is no hot water only after starting his bath, so he had to take a bath with lukewarm water in the Ooty cold. Also, there was no drinking water in the room and I had to call for it on 2 occassions. Even the person at the from desk was not very courteous when we were checking out. Also, the toilet flush was not working properly, as in water used to keep flowing forever. So one had to pull the button out to stop it. Overall experience : Not good. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody who can avoid it. But another fact is that if you want to stay in the Charring Cross area, then this is the only decent place.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VINCENT from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 10 May 2010

2

The ameneties / facilities displayed out in your website were not offered by the hotel. Very high disappointment as we did not carry such things. Ex. Locker for every room.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SRINIVAS from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2010

5

We went to Ooty for sight seeing (Family with 2 kids from Bangalore). Hotel front desk is very nice. We reached Hotel at morning 6AM. Even though the check-in time is 12 noon, they provided the room straight away, really nice appreciated. Hotel is located in central place. It has good access to shopping places (like Hotels, ATMs etc). We stayed in Heritage double bedroom. We picked up rolling bed for Kids. Room is maintained very well. Room service is good. Food is good & tasty in in-house restaurants (Garden & Chandan vegetarian restaurants). In-House Tours & Travels is very good. We stayed 3 days in Ooty. Overall, it was a very satisfactory tour. Kids loved it. I recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ANIL from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 May 2010

4

The club class rooms are only very good. The heritage rooms are not a run for the money. Food and hotel location is great and that�s what for they have priced the hotel costly.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PAYAL from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2010

4

everything was good, we were very happy.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHANTA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Feb 2010

4

whenever i go to chennai i always stay in this hotel only. This is one of favourite hotel for stay. The room was clean and even the toilet and bathroom were clean. The restaurant was fine and food was good.I will recommend this hotel for business travellers and family trip as well.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANTOSH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Feb 2010

3

The hotel is terrible: 1. No internet connections 2. No cable for almost entire day 3. No hot water at about 5am when I was checking out 4. No non-veg food in their dining options. 5. No bar options (for those who may need) I think for the price of rs. 4k per day, they must provide these minimum facilities.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAGHAVENDRA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Dec 2009

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VINCENT from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Oct 2009

4

They did not provide a decent room. The room was stinging. The parking area is very small. This one is convenient to access the picninc spots. It is right in front of business area so all necessary things are available.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAMBIT from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Sep 2009

3

The room options was not clear. I was not sure what does it mean for one kind of room option over the other. The photographs were deceptive. The room had no heating and a heating for a night was about 20% of the cost of the hotel. They did not even give me a check out slip so it was not even clear to me actually I stayed in the right room for which I payed for. The room had no view no ventilation and not even a fan for circulation. If something got wet there was no means of getting that dried up. Bad experience overall. If this room was deluxe double I dont know what is an oridinary room.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MANJUL from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Feb 2009

4

Overall good experience. Hotel location is excellent.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PAWAN from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Sep 2008

4

I was extremely happy with the arrangement. Service was incredible and staff was efficient. Room was big in size and well furnished is well. Food was also quite delicious and offered in different varieties. I will definitely recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIJAY V from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Sep 2008

4

The stay was satisfactory. Staff provided excellent service. Their restaurant was clean and well arranged and we enjoyed the food over there. Room quality and location was also desirable. I will definitely come back here again.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VENKATESH from PONDICHERRY, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Sep 2008

5

We had pleasant stay in this property. The room given to us was well equippped with all the necessities. The management of the staff did their work very well with a good smile on their face. We had food in the restaurant, it was amazing in taste. But the south indian dish was the best. It is highly recommendable.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SHIJU from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jul 2008

5

Very good experience. I reached Ooty in the morning, called up the hotel and asked if I can have a early check-in. They readily agreed and guess what. They also upgraded my room to Heritage one at no extra cost!. Service was excellent so was the food. Only wishlist would have been a heater or heating system as it was pretty cold. Overall good stay and recommend this hotel to others as well.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DEEPAK from delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jul 2008

4

The location was awesome and surrounding was serene. The hotel was also quite royal in terms of facilities and service provided. The room was spacious and food was tasteful. I like this hotel a lot.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

K S from Thane (W), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jun 2008

3

Our room was not so great in looking, the interiors were not appealing and the room was also sticking very badly. Even the staff were average in their service. We had breakfast in the restaurant, it was decent in taste. Overall just an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

N from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jun 2008

4

Management was superb as they arranged everything perfectly. The staff was well trained and shown great respect for the guest. The room quality and food facility was also desirable and location was wonderful as it was full of nature beauties.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SREENIVAS from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jun 2008

5

Had a pleasant stay in this property. The hotel is located in the heart of the city. We stayed in club suite room, it was excellent with all the necessities. The room service did their job honestly, even the food served was up to the mark. We would love to visit this place again in future.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRAVEEN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jun 2008

5

Our stay in this hotel has been excellent. Hotel staff is very good at service, they made sure that we are comfortable. We booked for Deluxe Double, however when i checked the room it was not upto my expectations. I asked for them to move me to Heritage double for which they kindly accepted after me paying the difference amount. They are not very strict at the check-out time, provided there are no guest waiting. For us they agreed to extend beyond normal 12:00 noon checkout timing. Also, this hotel is in the heart of the city and easily accessible to all the tourist spots. Overall we are very satisfied with the service and quality of rooms. The dining options are good, the only issue was there is no Non-Veg restaurant within the hotel premise.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR PRAKASH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2008

4

The ambiance was good near the hotel. We stayed in deluxe double room, it was clean and neat with all the facilities. We had our food in the restaurant , it was amazing in taste. But the service provided by the staff was very slow. It's quite a nice hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SEGAR from Singapore, Singapore does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2008

2

There was no 24 hours room service, I can't get help from room service at 3 am. When alternative guys came, they expect "gift" in return. Terrible! My 3 kids were sick and vomiting badly. The front desk can't given get me a doctor. Poor service from hotel. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to any of my Singaporean & Indian friends.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

S K from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

3

It was an useless stay with nothing to share actually. The room was terrible and it was close to the basement. The staff was irritating as they didn't listen to the guests. I just left that hotel on a second day as it was unbearable for me.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NISHITA from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

5

The surrounding near the hotel was wonderful. We stayed in standard room, it was quite spacious with all the basic facilities. Even the food was fantastic in taste. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KUMARAGURU from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

4

We had an awesome stay here.Our room was just the way we had expected it to be. Room service were efficient. Also the food served was up to the mark. This is an above average property.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NARAYANAN from sikandrabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jun 2008

3

The hotel is located in the heart of the city. The room provided to me was not cleaned properly. Also the food served was average in taste. The staff members were very slow in their service. This is an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AKBAR from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2008

4

We stayed for 3 nights in this really fantastic property. The service provided was indeed high quality. The room we stayed in was neatly maintained. The room service did an accurate job, even the food was good to taste. This is an above average property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ROHIT from bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2008

5

The hotel is located in the heart of the city. Our room was well furnished with modern amenities. Staff was efficient and polite towards the guest. Even the food was awesome in taste. It is highly recommendable hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KUMARAGURU from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2008

4

The room was not so comfortable as it was not providing any good view. Apart from that service was admirable and staff was attentive. The food quality was also desirable and location was fantastic. It was a cool place for vacations.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR ULLAS from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2008

4

Had an enjoyable stay in this property. The room we were provided was really good, it was just as we expected it to be. The room service was up to the mark, even the food served was hygienic. We will recommend this property for sure.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIVEK from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2008

5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Our room was well equipped with the needful amenities. The food served was really tasty, also the staff members were friendly & guided us accurately. It is value for money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRADEEP from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jun 2008

5

The hotel is in the heart of the city. Our room was marvelous, it had all the necessities. Staff was efficient and polite towards the guest. It is worth the money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUPRIYA K from Vasco, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2008

3

It was good hotel to stay for a long period because rates are reasonable and room was also specious. The staff was attentive and location was good. The food was also tasty.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUMITA from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2008

4

We are satisfied with our stay here. Our room was not as expected but it was convenient. The staff especially were nice, they were very cooperative. Also we liked the food served, it tasted good. This is decent property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUMEDH from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2008

5

Staffs were kind and polite in their work. The room was well equipped with modern facilities. The food was amazing with big choice.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANUJA from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2008

4

The staff was quick and prompt in their work. Room was stunningly clean and neat. The food was great in taste with many varieties. The location was wonderful.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DR ANUJA from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2008

4

It was a gorgeous property with beautiful sight. The room was spacious and the cleanliness was maintained very well. The service and food arrangement was really pleasing and staff was supportive. The management was superb and reception was friendly. Overall a great hotel for families.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ATUL from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 May 2008

4

Hotel was just right... no complaints everything was good abt it.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANAND from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 May 2008

5

The room was upgraded very well with all the facilities. Staff was courteous and polite. The food was superb in taste. The location was beautiful.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJ from bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 May 2008

5

The room was excellent with stylish interiors. Staff was superb in their service. The food was very tasty in the restaurant. Location was very nice near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RANGARAJAN from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2008

4

The stay was good. Rooms were clean and food was good. Sight seeing arrangements could be better organised, it was slightly expensive. On the whole the stay was pleasant.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SASIKUMAR from coimbatore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 May 2008

4

Room was simple but pretty decent. The people are very kind and polite in their work. We had all meals it was prepared very well. I would definitely recommend this property to my friends and relatives.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MAHESH.U.N. from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 May 2008

3

The only letdown was the service which was very slow and they couldn't manage the crowd in the restaurant, as it caters even for outsiders. Otherwise food was good and room quality up to the mark. It is really a run-down with the service being slow, else its a good property to stay without any hassles.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BASKARAN from chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 May 2008

5

The quality of the food is good and hygienic. Very prompt service. Nice travel arrangements. House keeping was excellent. It Can be awarded 5star rating. I dint find any negative points at all. I have stayed in many hotels in my life. Never seen such a nice hotel with excellent atmosphere. The waiter Mr.Kumar was assisting us like his family members. If i want to stay in Ooty in future i will not go any where other than Nahar's.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JITENDRA from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 May 2008

3

It was an average property. I booked a deluxe suite but it was a normal room. The staff was bit slow and service was not so impressive. I didn't checked the food as I used to eat from outside. The location was comfortable but I was not satisfied with the overall stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIPUL from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2008

4

This is a fantastic property. The view outside our room was picturesque, the ambiance was peaceful & soothing too. Our room was just the way we had expected it to be. The room service did an appreciative job, the food was divine as well. Overall this is an above average property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KARTHIKAYAN from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Apr 2008

4

The hotel has three restaurants. We had eaten Italian, north/south indian, and chinese. The italian and south indian food was really amazing but the north and chinese was not so good in taste. The location was good and convenient. The room was clean with soft bed. Staff were professional towards their work.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAKESH from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2008

4

It was a grand property with such a royal reception and peaceful surrounding. The ambiance was cool and room was fabulous. The staff was disciplined and service was respectful. The food was not that good but still it was a true value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

KRISHNA RAO from Visakahpatnam, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Apr 2008

4

The ambiance was serene and the place was quite soothing. The room was relaxing and food arrangement was up to the mark. The lunch and dinner was delightful. The service was quick and staff was professional. It was really a peaceful experience helped me to calm down from hectic routine.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SULTAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Mar 2008

5

It was a wonderful experience with this hotel. Room was very spacious and finely clean. Service was quick and prompt. Food was delicious & staff was well trained and polite. View around the hotel was very beautiful.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KASTURI from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Feb 2008

5

The hotel is very good. Service and staff was just average. Room alloted was large and well maintained. Food quality was very good. Its recommendable to others. Location is very convenient.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KELAPPAN from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 15 Feb 2008

2

Staffs were very slow in their service they used to take 1 hour to serve the food in the room. Rooms were not so good as the interiors were of old style. The food quality was bad.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

M NILESH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Feb 2008

4

Staffs were helpful with friendly nature. Rooms were spacious with clean bed sheet and pillows. The food quality was also very nice of the restaurant. On my next visit I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BINIL from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jan 2008

4

Centrally located hotel with very good Deluxe Suite Room but with no view. The Room Service was good and never took more than 5 minutes to respond . It is a good place to have breakfast but for a non vegetarian like me lunch and dinner are a big NO. Nice place to stay in Ooty.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRABHAT from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Jan 2008

4

The hotel staff was very courteous and nice. The food was good and the room service was prompt.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAVISH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jan 2008

4

Rooms were spacious with very good interiors. The food needs to improve a lot as it was not so good in taste. Service was average of the staffs. Location was very nice near the hotel I can see the beautiful view from the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AKASH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Jan 2008

5

It was a fantastic experience with this property. Food was great to taste specially the pasta. Room was large and fantastically maintained. Staff and service was outstanding. Location was simply superb with cool views. Its highly recommendable to others.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ASHISH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jan 2008

5

It was "Could not be a better" experience overall. The hotel had excellent services. I had small baby who needed milk every now and then. They provided me that even on new year's eve at 12 in the night when everything was closed and the total hotel staff was busy in the new year's party. They have pure vegeterian food in their all three resturants( cafe, muglai and south Indian respectively). the service was very good, fast and above all food was very good. we tried having food at other places few times but finally came to conclusion that Nahar Nilgiris was the best place to have food. The staff was very helpful all the time. I would recommend the hotel to everybody.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MANOJ from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jan 2008

4

Parking facility needs to improve and quality of milk is very poor.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR.AMIT from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jan 2008

4

It was a pleasant stay in Nilgiris Hotel. We opted for Heritage Double Room which was comfortable for 2 nights. Service was great. Food options need to be improved.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. RAKESH from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jan 2008

5

Excellent hotel with good facilities in Ooty. Best thing is multiple food options in the hotel itself. It is right in the market area so you can walk around leisurely for general shopping. Suggest you to book a cab from the taxi stand right outside the hotel as that's cheaper compared to option given by Hotel travel desk.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

S.SAKTHIVELAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Jan 2008

5

South Indian Vegetarian restaurant is good (taste as well as service) Option available for North Indian food. However not managed well during peak hours. (waiting period of 2 hrs is too much).

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

OMPRAKASH from Rewari, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Dec 2007

4

It was a great experience here, we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights stay. Heritage room was much comfortable. Food and the location was too good. It really worth staying. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VINAY from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Nov 2007

4

Hotel was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would come back again but probably its better if they price down a little.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJESH from Thane west, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Nov 2007

5

Excellent

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR ESWAR AIAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Nov 2007

4

Our stay was good in Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel, it was outstanding. Everything was perfect, above our expectations.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMIT from Amritsar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Nov 2007

4

We stayed in the Deluxe room in Nahar's Nilgiris for 4 Nights which was an awesome experience, room was neat & fresh and service was great also the location was superb only draw back was restaurant will be closed @ 9pm!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHARATH from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Nov 2007

3

Over all hotel was good, rooms were decent with basic amenities. There was some construction going on once we checked-in. Restaurant needs to be improved in terms of cleanliness & taste.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANIRBAN from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 Nov 2007

2

Facilities promised in the room were not there. Top floor room promised but not provided. Very bad service as well as attitude of Reception and Travel desk. Overall, very disappointed with hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PANKAJ from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 14 Nov 2007

1

Not happy with this hotel. Room was not maintained well, bad doors, bathroom was terrible & dirty though location was good. I do not wish to stay here in future.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SHANTANU from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Aug 2007

4

The hotel is centrally located but the services are not commensurate cost. Non vegetarian meals are hard to find and hence the hotel is not self sufficient. The room was excellent. We were expecting an average room but were pleasantly surprised to see a very neat and posh room. We will surely stay in nahar if we happen to visit ooty again. South indian snacks and breakfast were excellent. Chinese and North Indian cuisine were ok.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SARAVANAN from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Jun 2007

5

The room was excellent. We were expecting an average room but were pleasantly surprised to see a very neat and posh room. We will surely stay at Nahar if we happen to visit Ooty again. South Indian snacks and breakfast was excellent. Chinese and North Ind

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

IAN from X, recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jun 2007

5

There were several small dead flies scatered about the room, including the bathroom, which was otherwise fine. There was a car for me at my arrival at Coimbatore Airport.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

P S from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2007

5

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. No kind of odour or smell in the room. The shower area in the bathroom must be a little big. Its a lovely hotel well decorated and well maintained. The food was delicious specially the thali. A very clean and tidy hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VALLINAYAGAM from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2007

4

They were unable to deliver on the food choices listed for night service (10:00 pm thru 7:00 am).

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5