Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

4 Star  

Fern Hill, Ooty, Tamil Nadu - 643 257

Starting from Rs. 6,691
Choose Dates

Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, Ooty - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.0/5 Excellent
(Based on 16 reviews)

87.5% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4.1)
  • Service Quality (3.9)
  • Dining Quality (3.8)
  • Cleanliness (3.9)

Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort - Individual ratings and reviews:

JAYARAMA from Mangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Mar 2014

5

Gorgeous and beautiful hotel cum resort located 5 km from main town of OOty on a wonderful location the Fern hill. Extremely polite and courteous staff to welcome and guide us. They were very helpful, The superioro room was no less luxurious than the 5 start marvel at mumbai Rennaissance but actually bigger. Sterling has tried to cut on toileteries although other amenities like a coffee maker a Fridge and a locker are available. The linen is just clean ans\d crisp. Brei\akfast is great and sumptuous with a South Indian bias (We liked teh Idlis Vadas, Dosas and ....every thing) We had all our lunches in the ;city on all dayss and had light food at night in the hotel which was alright. ONly drawback is that the travel desk is not offering off season tour options. Over all it was a memorable experience thanks with one of the best ever discount package.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SURESH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Oct 2013

5

WoW, what an experience! Right from the cost of booking until the checkout procedure, everything was so perfect. Sterling resorts made my holiday the most memorable one! Clean and spacious room, Great housekeeping service, Quick in-room dining service, yummy yummy food at restaurant, a warm welcome with the flavor of nilgiris, the buggy vehicle for in hotel transportation, the view from the lawn outside our room - everything was so fantabulous. Who said Sterling is losing business? I will sign up membership with them. They are simply amazing. I will give them a 5 star rating on everything that I can.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

HEMANT from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jun 2013

5

Going There: Reaching Fern Hill, Ooty, is a pleasant experience all through except for the last 1 km or so. The last 1 km public road is horrible and as it is on a very narrow steep incline it makes it even worse. Once you enter the hotel premises it is another steep climb of a few hundred metres on a paverblocked path. Any loaded vehicle has to shift to first gear to get through. The Hotel is situated about 6-7 kms away from the main bus stand/railway station which will cost you about 120/- by an auto which will give you a fair idea of the distance. All the way from the bus stand to the hotel there are markers put up by the hotel at key points which lead us to them easily. Hotel Location: As one can easily guess by now, the hotel is located on a hill top, which makes the view awesome, from almost any area of the hotel. The hotel is neat and clean when it comes to the front desk and surrounding area and maintains the 3 star standard. Room and Amenities: Moving to the superior room, those are neat and well maintained too and have all the modern amenities like your LCD TV (without a DTH connection - I'll get to that later), the tea-coffee maker, hair dryer and the bathroom has Kohler fittings all through which makes it really classy. One strange thing about the room we stayed in was that, it had a balcony with no access door to it. I mean why would you have a balcony in the first place, if you do not plan to give access to it? On inquiring about it with the front desk, I was given a rather sedate reply that only few of our superior rooms have balconies with access to it and the room that we had got , unfortunately wasn't one of them. No logic in there. We did not order any room service so no comments there. Overall housekeeping experience was decent. Food and Dining: Unfortunately, our trip timing was exactly matching with their restaurant renovation plans so we had a limited menu on offer and the restaurant sitting area was shifted to a (still to be renovated )conference hall of the hotel. There was a wide ranging buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They were also offering a-la carte options through the day. The menu was very limited, restricted to a single laminated A4 size paper with both veg and non veg options. We had a mixed experience with the quality of the food. So I would rate it 3 out of 5. Travel Desk: We received good and in detailed information on sight seeing and packages available from the travel desk person, Prikshit. He was very courteous and suggested packages as per our preference. The hotel also has a range of daily activities with a timetable and a dedicated activity area. We did not participate in any of the activities so no review comments there. I am sure though, that a big family on a vacation would enjoy these activities. Checkout: Check out was smooth and fast and had no problems there. Overall: A very nice and pleasant stay and I wish they open up those balconies in the superior room to make it absolutely value for money experience. The on-going renovation work needs to be completed soon to reduce the amount of dust and noise in the staying area of the hotel. And ofcourse the work on the approach road has to be taken up on priority.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAJEEV from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jun 2013

5

I stayed at OOTY with my family on 7th June, 2013 to 10th June, 2013 at Sterling Holidays #73, Kundha House Road Fernhill, Ooty 643004 & it was very nice to stay their. This was my first stay at Sterling Holiday Resort. I can not expect that I will get such kind of support. All over stay was excellent & staff support was excellent. I did not get any kind of problem. I would love to stay their in future if I get chance.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRABHU SANKAR from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 May 2013

4

The food is too costly. The children activities are chargable and not worth for money. They are conducting the Camp file activities which is really terrible and boring. The location of the hotel is good.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIGNESH from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 May 2013

5

We already checked in 2 hrs late, and they took another hour to provide us a room. Wifi not in room.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PAVAN from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2013

5

the hotel room (superior) is very good and clean. Food is slightly costlier (lunch 450+tax, dinner-550+tax). On negatives, 1) they don't have lift yet and I had to walk to 3rd floor. 2) I would have loved if they had one king size bed. They had 2 small beds joined and they were slipping away all the time.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VINOD KUMAR from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2013

3

Very Bad experience on last day 5th May, 2013 due water supply failure in bathroom since morning, no water for going fresh and mouth wash, checked out without bath at 11.10 AM.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

REUBEN from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Feb 2013

4

Wonderful stay , clean rooms , courteous staff , prompt service . Esp Holiday Mgr Michael , was wonderful . Breakfast buffet had a good spread, infact my 2 yr old daughter enjoyed the company of hotel staff . We had the renovated rooms & it gave us a pleasant stay , microwave , cutlery , hotwater , heater, comfortable mattress , excellent hosuekeeping , esp bala's services . Infact when we wanted to extend our stay for one more day in the same place, travelguru executive - Parth , asked us for an exorbitant rate. But Janice the Front Office Mgr gave us the best rates & we extended our stay for one more day . Infact its the 6th time , that we were going to sterling fernhill , and this was the best of all our trips . I would Thank all the hotel staff , esp Michael , for the pleasant stay in Ooty .

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KRISHNA from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Nov 2012

4

We had travelled down from Wyanad on Diwali day to Ooty. We reached by evening and had received a compact room. The room was a newsly rennovated space - very compact indeed. Furnitures and fittings were eally new but the bathroom was really conjusted. One can not move around. There was a good surprise that night - the staff entertained us with Dance and Drama and there was sufficient fire crackers for a great Diwali firework that ended the night Food was really great and had plenty of variety Overall the stay was good, except that you should not choose a compact room as its too small for a family of 2 adults and 2 childen

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VISWANATHAN from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Jul 2011

4

The staff behavior of the hotel was good,already recommended this hotel to my friends for future bookings. the rooms verynice, at night the dance party was excellent over all it was a good stay at the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAMPURNA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2011

2

It is a horrible experience at sterling even after booking for 2 rooms we didn't get the rooms whereas we had the confirmation of hotel booking sms and email.We had to fight for the rooms after spending 18K for room charge.After travelling from bangalore to ooty with old parents any body can guess. It is better to avoid this kind of hotels .I will never refer any of my friends to this hotel in my life.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

AMAN from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 02 Feb 2009

2

very bad experience.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

RAGHU R from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Nov 2007

4

The rooms are fine and comfortable. The staff is what makes this place; very friendly. Property is maintained well. The restaurant serves great food. R R Gowda

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAGHURAMAN from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Sep 2007

3

Overall a good hotel. Food must get better, as taste was not there.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. PAVITHRAM from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Aug 2007

4

The food was very good of the hotel as they used to serve different varieties of food every time. From the room you can see the view of the hill, it was fantastic. Staying at this hotel was a great experience.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5