Stay Simple Hotel Race View

2 Star  

Ettines Road, Ooty, Tamil Nadu - 643 001

Stay Simple Hotel Race View, Ooty - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.2/5 Good
(Based on 26 reviews)

76.9% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.5)
  • Service Quality (3.1)
  • Dining Quality (2.7)
  • Cleanliness (3.2)

Stay Simple Hotel Race View - Individual ratings and reviews:

TIRUPATHI RAO from VIZAG, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Nov 2013

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JAISIMHA from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Oct 2013

4

Worth The money paid for. Good Budget hotel. Little far from Bus stand/railway station but conveyance like auto/bus available. Complimentary breakfast was wonderful. Military rule for Hot water for bathing as 8am to 9am, had tough time the first day. As a whole, you can go for it. worth the money paid for. Regards, Jai.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

IKKURTHI from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Aug 2013

3

hotel is near to some sites like botanical garden,rose garden,ooty lake etc.shopping place als very neary by.but the food is very terible its much better to eat outside.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

K from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2013

4

It's a pleasant stay still the hotel can improve the service quite a lot. There is hot water availability only for 10 minutes. It is very short time to take a bath for even a single persons, then how could we take a bath of 4 persons. And the quality of the complimentary brake-fast provided by the hotel is very poor. Otherwise it is a good hotel to stay simple.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJESH from THIRUVANANTHAPURAM, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 May 2013

4

The hotel is a good choice for a budget conscious tourist. The roos are neat, service is reasonably good

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VAITHEESWARAN from COIMBATORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 May 2013

4

Toilet maintenance is poor. Otherwise, all are good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR RUCHIT from AHMEDABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Mar 2013

3

hotel is located in very conzusted area of the city..the reception service is horriable...one can find a better option than this hotel..

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AKHILESH from HYDERABAD, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 27 Jan 2012

2

Overall it was not good stay as all the rooms were stiinking. Bathroom was not good and I will never recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

JAI from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 29 Aug 2011

1

It was shocking to know that Hotel was under renovation ,still booking was made.The room was full of mosquitoes.Paint and even plaster was peeled off at several places.blankets were stinking.There was no hot water on the first day even though it was claimed that hotel had 24 hours hot water supply.There was no restraurant, even bed tea was not available.Almirah was not being closed.A plastic framed small mirror costing about Rs 20/- was hung in the bath room,which too was quite old and not worth to be kept in a hotel room.Even drinking water was not available. So overall we had a very horrible experience of staying at Race view hotel at Ooty.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

A from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Aug 2011

4

From station the hotel is not so far...the location is very good and also the services are good the rooms are very clean and precious...the staffs are also very courtious hence yes I will suggest this to my friends.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SREERAJ from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Jul 2011

3

The ambience inside the room was disappointing as it lacks proper maintainence. Service was satisfactory but needs improvement. There was no varieties in food item which is a matter of concern. The cleanliness at the hotel is unsatisfactory because of hygiene concerns. Hotel is certainly not recommended as it is not fit for staying purpose.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAM PRASAD from SHOLAPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Jul 2011

3

The room was quite good. There was only one guy for room service hence all my request s were delayed. The hotel staff were arrogant. They did not guide us for sight seeing. They were indifferent. If the staff people are more friendly I do not mind recommending this hotel to our friends as the hotel is good and location was also good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

HARISHANKAR from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jun 2011

5

I had a pleasant stay in Hotel RACE VIEW. The room is excellent, neat and tidy. Service also good.The only thing is hot water is available in the morning and night only.The receptionist is very friendly and we had a awesome experience. Overall good, satisfactory and worth for money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

S A from CHENNAI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 19 May 2011

1

Please don't suggest this to anybody. Restaurant is heavily terrible. Service is very very poor. Very worst Hotel in Ooty.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

PARAG from India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2011

2

Location is very good but service is very poor as well food and dining facility was very bad. It's not good to stay along with family having children. North indian dishes was very bad but south indian food such as idli or dosa and sambar, chatani supplied was not eatable.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DEEPAK from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Apr 2011

4

Hotel is far away from the airport and I am happy with there services. Also the rooms are very good in and around there are many market places. The staff are very co-operative and with very good service. I will suggest this to my family

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAKESH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2011

4

Over all rating was good.My stay @ the hotel was pleasant and location is centric ( 1 km from the railway station and bus stand), places of visit like Botanical garden and Boat house was within 2 km.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAVI from VIZAG, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Mar 2011

4

This being the first trip to ooty with my wife for a honeymoon I was a bit scared about the hotel room, but to my surprise upon the entering the hotel room she was the first to get excited saying that the room was pretty good and that was the first compliment heard for the best thing to take place regarding the room. Housekeeping was good and the floors are clean and tidy. One could definitely choose Race View hotel as the first option when going for ooty.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GYAN PRAKASH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Aug 2010

5

Access: Reaching Ooty by Toy Train was a unforgettable experience also a bit tiring (5hr joutney)but when I reached Hotel Race view I got a warm welcome and my room was ready and all service boy were ready to serve.....i felt as if I am all fresh . Its a big hotel and well connected to all famous sites, good Race course view from room and we can see very nice lights of Ooty at night. Location: The hotel is in a very convenient location for the Railway station. The Botanical Garden, Ooty lake, Rose garden, market and all other sites are just at walking distance. Hotel is not on the main road but a little way out of the main road this was an added advantage as we could not hear the traffic noise and can rest in peace there. Whenever we asked for Auto/Taxi for site view it was arranged in a minute. We also asked for a day long trip to Madumalai Century which was arranged by them, a pickup car came to take us from hotel to the bus which was supposed to take us on tour. It was a memmorable trip as we saw Pyakra fall, Pine forest, Pyakra dam, Kamraj Dam, Boat house and many enjoyable sites during the day. The Front desk: The staff was reasonably helpful. We booked a Deluxe double room and when we reached the hotel at 12.30 PM, the room was ready. The person at the reception gave us some good advice on planning for the sightseeing. The Room: We could get a room facing the Race course. The room was large, neat and clean and comfortable. The linen was clean, taps and flush were working. The bathroom was of big size and reasonably clean. Hot and cold water was supplied in morning and evening time for 3-4 hours which was enough for us and was very useful for my 1.5 yr old child. Food & Room Service: We did not order anything fancy. Food was Good in taste and quality. Service was fast. Whenever we want cold or hot water for drinking it was served with in 5 min. Everytime we ordered food or tea/coffee bill was not paid at that time the room service guy just brought printed bill and i just signed it. It was paid later at the time of check-out, this was really a gud service. For my child I asked him to prepare Maggie aroud 4 times and they prepared it without any charge, i even asked them at the time of checkout but they refused saying child service is complimentary. I was convinced with their hospitality. Room was cleaned everyday and towels and bedsheet was changed everyday. It was a worryfree stay at Hotel Race View. Parking and Lobby: There was a big parking area with in the hotel. On every floor there was a big lobby where Sofa set was provided with TV where we can relax and chat in group. Also there was a small balcony with chair to have site view and enjoy cold breeze of Ooty. Overall: On the whole, the hotel is a good option for the budget traveller and for a tension free stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SIDDHARTHAN from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jun 2010

4

over all hotel ambience is good, availability of hot water is insufficient. There is less parking space for car. Room service is good.dining hall is below average

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

EMRAN from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2010

3

The breakfast was included in the package, however it was not offered till the last day. when reminded,they said take it today ( day of check out ). But we had already planned to have it at the other restaurant for that day so did not accept the B F . BATHROOM and the Toilets were stinking and pathetic. Hot water only from 7 am to 7 pm. So when you come back to the hotel in the evening from sight seeing you get chilled water to wash your face or take a bath. Order a glass of milk at 8 pm and you will surely get it by 9.30 pm after calling them 5 - 6 times. Order food or milk at 10 pm. the reply will be good night!... The hotel is 2 - 3 kms away from the main market. so if you want to eat out , you need to pay 120 extra for the aUTO ...

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR. ATANU from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jun 2010

3

Please note that OOTY hotel, Race view was perticularly not good. Your booking person has not understood our requirement. Room was not at all satisfactory 7 locality as well, (locality was bad, 404 & 506).Rooms alloted was without proper view. Overall I was not happy. But hotel at Bangalore was good & that was most cheapest one. I have realised that if u book room in advance hotel person will not entertain u much,they were not at all interested to allot a good room. so you have to work on this issue or u may loose many client in future.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MAHESH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2010

1

Room was not properly cleaned and only one towel for a double bedroom without soap and shampoo, the shampoo and towel given only on demand.Room service was very slow and horrible, had to remind more than thrice on most occasions. Housekeeping and Room service was horrible. no dressing sense. only one sentence.... "Wrost Hotel, I ever seen..."

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

SUBAS from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 May 2010

3

Location is Good. Hotel Staff quickly responded while contacted before reaching the hotel. Rooms were ready, when we reached the Hotel. Quality of Room (Deluxe Double) was average. Room Service was poor. Asked for water when reached the room, only to get water in the evening, after couple of reminders. At around 7:45 am, we have asked for breakfast early as we wanted to check out early from the hotel. However, after 1 hour when we have checked with the reception, we didn't get any response.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ASHISH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2010

2

Arrival: We reached Ooty around 6AM and called the hotel for pick up as it was a complementary with the stay. The person said that the pickup can only be done after 8:30 so we took an auto and reached there. Room: The room was on the first floor and was quite small for a deluxe room. Hot water was given in the morning and on demand when asked. Room Service: That was terrible. We had to wait for almost an hour and call for almost 5-6 times to get some water to drink. Towels and extra blankets were given on demand so no issues. Food: We never went to the restaurant as it was always closed during our stay here. They were doing a buffet as a big group was there. We had no choice but to take what was there in buffet which I didn't liked. When we asked it to be served in the room, it again took a lot of time as the manager said that everyone is busy serving their big clients which were enjoying outside. Travel Assist: We asked for a car which they said has been booked for local sight seeing. The car was suppose to come at 10 which didn't arrived there 11. We didn't took that car and went on our own. Cleanliness: The room was never cleaned except the first day. Comments: We were given a room which was in a corner. the second day they asked us to change that room as they wanted to give it to some other guest. the new room was very near to party place and till 11 in night their were loud music going on which was very irritating. When we asked them to lower the volume they said it cannot be done as there was a party going on. Rather they asked us to change the room once again. IT WAS DIS-SATISFACTORY FOR US.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

RAMACHNADRAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Sep 2009

3

This hotel is just OK for an overnight traveller and well located close to central Bus stand. Need to walk for 15 minutes to a decent restarunt. Surrounding area is filthy and noisy. However good free parking for car is available inside. Hotel staff are polite, helpful and quick. Hot water is supplied by buckets on request. No room heaters and the planket provided is not good enough to keep you warm on the bed.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5