The Monarch Hotel

3 Star  

Havelock Road, Ooty, Tamil Nadu - 643 001

Starting from Rs. 5,243
Choose Dates

The Monarch Hotel, Ooty - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.6/5 Good
(Based on 36 reviews)

91.7% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.5)
  • Service Quality (3.6)
  • Dining Quality (3.3)
  • Cleanliness (3.7)

The Monarch Hotel - Individual ratings and reviews:

GAGAN from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2013

4

Decent hotel with excellent location , breathtaking views and pictureous surroundings . Hotel has got nice standard of cleanliness and service orientation . Very friendly staff ,Food quality is OK ,staff is ready to customize basis your requirements also. Spa in hotel is also nice experience. Overall nice hotel to stay with family

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

HARSH from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 May 2012

3

The location is very good..it is almost the topend of OOTY. the hotel's atmosphere is very good, lobby, rooms, garden is very good. except the food.. breakfast was awful. out of 10 i would give it a 8 2 minus points for food

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAGNIK from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jun 2010

4

The property is excellent though old it is well maintained, the service is good,but food choice is less, the staff's are well behaved.I would definatly suggest others to stay at this property and even I would again think of staying at the property again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. SHAILESH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Feb 2010

3

It was a bad experience at this hotel as the rooms were spacious and clean but the rooms had no safety grills in the balcony and hence there was a theft taht took place in my room and I lost some jewellery and cash. The service was very bad and teh food I had wa sok. Would never recommend people to go to this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MRS SMITA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Oct 2009

4

Though the experience was'nt that extraordinary , but it was'nt bad as well . If you are looking for a very good service and restaurant then this is strictly no....no . But on an average basis its a good hotel and the staff is quite cooperative and even the location is close by to the city .

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

HARJIT from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2009

4

The rooms were OK, not very good. It was an average hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RP from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2009

5

Howard Johnson The Monarch, Ooty - Review I congratulate myself for choosing a wonderful Hotel at Ooty. Ooty have many Hotels, but most of them are budget Hotels. 1. Hotel Accessibility - The Hotel is situated at the top of up-Hills on Havelock Road, a 4-5 kms drive from the Main Market or Charring Cross (A Hidden mountain walking Short-cut is 1-2 kms). Rickshaws charge around Rs. 70/- (You will get a drop at the Hotel at any time, but while coming down you should be lucky to get a Rickshaw, The Hotel will always give you a drop at Rs. 150/- by car�very costly). The Roads leading here are very clean & in good shape, the Scenic view of the valley is very excellent (from the Road & Hotel as-well) with greenery all around & no Hassles of the city & its visitor�s crowd. Actually I discovered that instead of going-in for site-seeing it is better to enjoy in the Hotel itself as it is very secured & spacious. The Hotel is in Ooty itself & not out of the town. Hotel Situation & View gets full full Point 1+. (Mind you, if you need a market & crowd near you & are really not interested in the Calm Scenic beauty you should try some other Hotel. You take this Hotel if your objective is to Relax, be Lazy, Roam around and do Nothing. Of course, the Hotel has its own Swimming Pool, Shuttle Badminton Court (Indoor), a mini Theater, etc, which you can enjoy, instead of going out) 2. Welcome at Reception - Normally the Check-in Time is 12:00 Noon, we reached the Hotel at 9:45 a.m. we were immediately allotted a Room before the Check-in Time. [Here the Bell-boy expects some Bakshis from you, the Hotel should take care of the same keeping into view their star Ratings & the service charges (not taxes) which they take on food.] full Point 1+. 3. First Reaction of Hotel - It was very cold at Ooty, But the Hotel was pretty warm from inside as it has double doors, warm lightings & Carpets all over. The Reception Lobby is excellent & very spacious having large Sofa Sets which can accommodate atleast 35 people & if more chairs are arranged around 400-500 people can be easily accommodated. There are three shops inside the Hotel. 1. Travel Desk. 2. Artifacts Shop 3. A Shop for Souvenir, Toy, Oils, Sweaters, T-Shirts, etc. Here again the Hotel gets full Points 1+. 4. Hotel Ambiance - The outdoor open Parking space is pretty comfortable with a small garden next to it. Indoor - On entrance there is Big Lobby & at the Right side there is Big Reception table. In the Hotel Upwards there are Three Floors for Rooms & Suites with atleast 16 feet�s of Ceiling Height & on downwards there is a -1 Floor for Games, etc. Two Lifts are provided along with Two Sided Spacious Stair Cases. Just next to the Reception area there is a Big Multicuisine Restaurant, serving very delicious Food attached thereto is a Beautiful Garden having a Helipad (a unique feature about the Hotel) from there take a few steps downwards & you have a small garden with games for children�s. On the other lower end of the Hotel there is a The Mid - Night Cow boy Bar & Discotheque (Music is played at night till 11:00 but very very loud certainly not suitable for children�s, but what can you expect in Mithun�s Hotel) and an Indoor Swimming Pool with warm water (Depth 2-4 feets only, But good to enjoy with children�s & family). Overall the complete Hotel is really very spacious & beautiful with ample landscape & good scenic views. full Point 1+ 5. Rooms � The Rooms are very Big & comfortable with great Height & spacious feel. King Sized Beds having fresh Bed sheets / Spreads, nice warm double Woolen Blankets & very well-maintained room with wooden flooring. But require some renovations. The Room is equipped with a Phone, Bed-side desk with Lamp, 30 inch LCD TV, two sofa-chairs, a center table, a Dressing Table, Big Wardrobe & a Big Luggage Table. The Room does not have Fan & AC � don�t need them in any season at Ooty. There is an Electric Heater which will be powered if you pay additional Rs. 300/-. The Bath Room consists of a Large Bath tub, though old but in maintained condition & good shower. I wonder why you don�t get Hot water from 11:00 pm. to 6.00 am. The Toilet Pot & Wash Basin is also old but clean & maintained. You get towels, napkins & all the toiletries except tooth paste & Brush. Every Room in the Hotel has their own private small Balconies which is around 10 x 3 feet�s) the view from here is very excellent of the valley & landscape. The Monarch is on top of a long and winding Hilly road, from that altitude, the Nilgiris stare right into your face, in their entire splendor. full Point 1+ (I was about to cut marks for required renovations, but left the same as the Rooms were really spacious & well-maintained & had an LCD). 6. Room & Hotel Service. The Room service is very quick and efficient; they clean the Room & change the bedding, towels & toiletries daily or whenever you call for. The outside lobby is also very comfortable. We order for Tea from Room on two occasions & got the same within 3-4 minutes (Mind you the Tea is very costly Rs. 58/- Plus taxes costs your pocket Rs. 70/-, which they ask you to pay instantly-not good). Hospitality here is good - All the staff here is well-mannered & behaved, they should be as they have their own Management School as-well. But they should train their Bell & room boys to not to accept & expect for Tips especially when they belong to this category of Hotels. Anyway Point 1+ 7. Restaurant � The Restaurant serves very delicious & excellent quality food, believe me, we Mumbaikars are very good in judging the same. The Space here is pretty comfortable, you have a Music playing in the background, a Mobile Charger Stand & an overlooking garden having a Helipad is in one of the corner. On the other next side you can have view of the swimming pool which is at lower floor. The restaurant serves you all kinds of delicious foods here South Indian / North Indian / Chinese, Veg & Non-Veg, etc, but mind you here, the price tag is very High. No gravy dish comes below Rs. 180/- tag, Rotis are Rs. 25/- each & plain Rice costs you around Rs. 120/-. I didn�t mind paying this price, but here again you have a trick on this price you have Plus Vat: 12.5% and additional Service Charges (not taxes): 10% on all Food & Beverages, which is really inflated & you may feel like cheated, instead why not add the same in the price menu. At First day I had to pay Rs. 300/- for the breakfast for the other days it was included in my package. Here the Dinner or Lunch will cost you not less than Rs 600/- for a couple on lower ends. You have an option in Dinner � Buffet Rs.250/- Veg per person & Non-Veg Rs. 300/- per person, please don�t forget here Plus the above Taxes & guess what you have no option, but to pay the same as there are no Hotels nearby & going & returning from the market will cost you Rs. 140/- for Rickshaw or Rs. 300/- by Car. But on an occasion, you can try food at nearby Heritage Hotel Kings Cliff�s, which is equally priced & tasty, please don�t try the food at another nearby Hotel The Willow, The Hotel is good but the food is not. Points: 0.5 (Please Note that the deduction is for price & not for the food & ambience) 8. Recreation - At the Lower floor the Hotel is equipped with a Gym, Health spa (Steam & Sauna), Conference Room having seating arrangements for around 500 people & Four spacious Recreation Rooms. 1. Shuttle Badminton Court (Free). 2. Table Tennis Room. (Free) 3. Billiards (Chargeable) 4. Carom (Free). The Health Spa is not well equipped & the price tag here is Ok � Facial costs you Rs. 200/- & equal charge for Steam & Sauna. I didn�t tried anything here as I found it little shoddy & uncomfortable. But the indoor Shuttle Badminton Court is very spacious, airy & pretty comfortable as compared to my Badminton Court at a Stadium near my residence & I really enjoyed the same. full Points: 1+ 9. Garden � The Gardens & landscapes here are very good. Yes you have two � three gardens. One small Garden hidden near the entrance for your kids having regular activity games & Swings, another spacious one near the Restaurant having Helipad, with beautiful plants, grass & colorful flowers all over. The third one is besides the Parking space, but you will have to climb few steps to go there. Besides the Garden you can have a Pony rides for your children�s chargeable Rs. 70/- per kid. Point 1+ 10. Other Facilities - For travel in and around Ooty, the Hotel has its own Travel Desk, which can be contacted all through the day, upto 9:00 PM. But the charges here are relatively expensive as compared to the market rates. Sight Seeing by Bus Half-day is Rs. 350/- pp at market it is Rs. 175/- pp & Car Hire is Rs. 1400/- market it is Rs. 850-1,000/-. To reiterate Rs. 150/- drop at Market place, whenever you require. Points: 0.5 (Deduction is for pricing) Overall I found the Hotel Spacious, Courteous, Nice Rooms & food, Good service, but expensive (Remember they are strictly business-minded). The Room Tariffs are Ok, but the Extra costs are expensive. I think the Ex-season complete package (on MAP basis) with food would be great to enjoy this Hotel at its fullest. I will Rate this Hotel in between 3-4 Star Hotel Category. I will certainly consider this Hotel for second visit & recommend the same to all.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

LAXMAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jul 2008

4

The staff was professional and service was up to the mark. I was very happy with the room as it was fresh and nicely maintained. The food was not so great in taste but location wonderful and surrounding was magnificent. It was a cool place for an ideal vacation.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MIKUL from New delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jul 2008

4

The hotel was nicely located and surrounding was very peaceful. The staff was co-operative and room was decent. The cleanliness was well up to the mark and d�cor was awesome. I will surely visit this hotel very soon.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

S from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jul 2008

5

Hotel is located in a very peaceful place. Our room was marvelous, it had all the necessities. Staff was efficient and polite towards the guest. We had our breakfast in the restaurant, it was amazing in taste. It is worth the money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SANJIV from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jul 2008

3

We found it The Monarch, Ooty as a run down property beacuse its quite old and the bathroom fittings are out dated, the force of the water is teribly slow. When we wanted to unwind the games room was locked, also one need to pay for playing games. Food and the service was just OK. Overall not the one that we recommend for others.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAMNEEK from chandigarh, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jul 2008

4

Location was wonderful. Our room was clean and neat with all the facilities. Staff was caring and courteous towards their work. We had our breakfast in the restaurant, it was awesome in taste. It is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DR A K from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Jul 2008

3

Our room was not so great in looking as the interiors were not so appealing. Even the bathroom was not up to my expectation. There is no facilities available in the room like tea/ coffee maker in the room. The service was average of the staffs. Food was also average in taste. Overall an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR RAJKUMAR from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jun 2008

4

There was seems to be a communication gap between the management as my check out was bit inconvenient. Otherwise no issue with the property. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was helpful and food was also tasteful. I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BHAVIN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

4

This hotel is located bit far form the main market & as there are only few vehicles around the place, it becomes a bit inconvenient to travel. But then this was not a major problem for us as the service provided here was admirable. The queen room that we stayed in was very well equipped. Also the staff members were helpful & cooperative. Even the food served was good to taste. This is an above average property for sure.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARCHANA from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

4

I like the overall arrangement as it was quite systematic. The room was spacious and well facilitated. The ambiance was soothing and decor was relaxing. The food was well prepared and hygienic is well. I will definitely recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR V P from coimbatore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2008

3

The breakfast was very nice. Room was fine and spacious. Staff was quick and prompt in their service.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

R from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2008

4

Room alloted to me was fresh and well equipped with all the facilities. Service was excellent and food was awesome. The location was also comfortable. I will definitely recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MUKUL from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 May 2008

4

I had a great experience with this hotel. The room arrangement and service was quite impressive. The staff was polite and always quick. The location was awesome and surrounding was peaceful. It was a big relief from normal stressful life. I would strongly suggest this hotel for couples.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ASHWANI from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 19 May 2008

2

This hotel was not good at all both in terms of quality and service. The staff were mannerless and not trained properly. The management was not responsive and service was pathetic. The room quality and food was also not decent. We felt we made a mistake by booking this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

PAWAN from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 May 2008

3

This is an old property. My room was spacious but it was quite dirty. The room service was decent, also the food was appropriate. This is overall an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SHRIDHAR from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 May 2008

3

Staff was average in their service. Room was fine having all the facilities. Breakfast was nice in taste. It was just an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. RAKESH from Pune, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 May 2008

3

It's a great value, great location, and the staff and management were great. This hotel made me feel welcome. They had a friendly desk staff. I am very likely to return to the Monarch hotel. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GOVINDARAJAN from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Apr 2008

4

Ambience is very good. Food quality and taste is average.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SAYED IMRAN from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 14 Apr 2008

2

It was not well located. It was quite dark and congested. The room facilities and service was totally below standard. Even the cofffee was not tasting properly. The staff frustrate me a lot. I will never go back to this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ABBAS from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Apr 2008

4

The hotel is one of the best and affordable options at Ooty. Located on a serene hilltop it provides you with ample breathing space vis-a-vis other hotels on the crowded market area. Its quiet and breezy at most times giving you the feel of fresh air and a relaxing ambiance. The staff are courteous and the room upkeep is quite decent, though the furnishing is pretty old. Food undoubtedly is quite expensive at the hotel and the only discomfort is that breakfast is not served to your room and the guest has no choice but to reach the breakfast venue within stipulated timings. Local transport isn't available at the doorstep and is quite a distant away for those without own transport. Overall its a good hotel to stay with without too much to be hassled about.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHEKHAR from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Apr 2008

4

They could improve on their food and room quality. However it was an abv average experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AJAY from NAGPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Apr 2008

4

Room and service was very good. People were very friendly. Food was the only thing that requires improvement. There should be more variety and taste needs to be improved.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJIV from Jamnagar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2008

4

Stay was very nice in this hotel. Room were spacious with all the facilities. Staffs were prompt and quick in their service. Good food.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANURAG from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2008

3

Staffs were very nice in their service. Room was average having all the facilities. I had my breakfast in the restaurant it was also average in taste. Overall it was an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANAMIKA from Andheri, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Feb 2008

4

Its an average hotel. The room alloted was big and clean. Service and staff was average at their work. Food was not good in taste needs to improve lot. Location is convenient.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

S.K from Versova, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Feb 2008

3

Room was very small but it was neat and clean. They don't have any restaurant which was a big problem for us. Staff were not courteous. Service was ok. Over all its just an average property.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR MANOHAR from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2008

5

Room were neat and clean with modern style interiors. Staffs were courteous and quick in their work. I had my dinner and breakfast in the hotel it was fabulous in taste. I liked the hotel very much.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ROSALYN from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Dec 2007

4

Hotel was good. Room was very comfortable. I took juice and toast in breakfast it was good. I will recommend it to all friends.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ASHISH from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 31 Aug 2007

2

It was a very bad experience with this hotel. Rooms are not kept clean, the quality of the blanket was very bad. Room service was pathetic. Generally staff have to improve their service.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SENTHIL KUMAR from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jun 2007

3

We stayed in this hotel and had a bad experience. We and our family had food problems, and we had to manage our dinner in the nearby hotel. To travel you need to have your own vehicle as this hotel is on a height in the hills and very far from the commercial area. The surroundings of this hotel is great there is a big garden behind the hotel and a dumping ground behind the garden. Some people in the hotel have reported to have a bad smell in their rooms.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5