The Willow Hill

2 Star  

Havelock Road, Ooty, Tamil Nadu - 643 001

Starting from Rs. 2,378
Choose Dates

The Willow Hill, Ooty - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.0/5 Excellent
(Based on 25 reviews)

100.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.9)
  • Service Quality (3.8)
  • Dining Quality (3.9)
  • Cleanliness (3.8)

The Willow Hill - Individual ratings and reviews:

RIDDHI from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Jan 2010

3

The hotel is perfect for those who wish to have a leisure holiday away from the town. It has a beautiful view of the hills from the rooms. Quality of service is decent and the restaurant offers some good food options as well.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHARATH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Apr 2009

4

I booked the Superior room, that was good. The staff was courteous and well behaved. Food quality was good. Murli at the reception and Louis at the dining hall were the best there. Room services sometimes took more than an hour. Overall, it was a pleasant and memorable stay at the Willow Hill.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GOVINDDAS from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Nov 2008

5

The location of the hotel was very much on the top of the hills and is best suited for those who want to have a different type of stay at hill station. Away from the chores of the town total silence. The room was very much clean and giving a good landscape view from the window. The room service was undoubtedly exceptional. Food quality was too good. Also the hotel staff was very much helpful in arranging site seeing and food for the baby. Even in the afternoon the cold breeze was very much pleasant. Beautiful gardens and children play area helps you enjoy your stay in hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel for honeymooners.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

JAYANTA RANJAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Sep 2008

4

With a wonderful view outside our room, this was indeed a wonderful & pleasant stay that we had in this hotel. Our room was really well furnished. The room service & food too were lovely. I will like to recommend this hotel for a nice vacation outing.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PARAMITA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Aug 2008

4

The Location: Willow Hill is situated away from the main hub of the city, on a hillock. It affords great views of the mountains in the distance and also of the city down below. Since it is located away from the hustle bustle of town, on a quiet road, there is no disturbance form noise and the stay is very peaceful. One thing must be mentioned here, people having their private mode of transport definitely have an edge. I cannot imagine that hailing some form of public transport from this area would be easy. The Property: The hotel is multileveled, with the reception on the topmost level. It is a small property, having as they do, about 10 rooms approximately. They have beautifully maintained lawns and even a children�s play area. Our Room and Stay: Our room was small but fairly cosily furnished. The upholstery and the linen were clean. It also had a nice view. The room had wooden floors and walls, and since it was bitingly cold and damp inside the room, a rug on the ground would have been a nice touch. Unfortunately at this time I have to depart from the so far pleasant words that I had to say about the hotel. After checking in, we realized that the all the faucets as well as the pipes of the bathroom were leaking. Initially the housekeeping staff placed a few extra mats under the sink as well as the cistern to soak the leak. However after approximately two hours the pipe under the sink burst completely and the bathroom was flooded in no time. We called the Housekeeping, but could not get them to respond this time. After having waited for about 15 minutes, one of us had to walk up to the reception and get someone to our room. The staff managed to plug the leak and told us not to use the bathroom, till further arrangements were made. After half hour they got back to us requesting us to change the room. The room on offer, they said, was a standard room, as opposed to the �superior room� that we had booked in the first place. Desperate to move into some other place we wanted to take a look at the other room. Fortunately, the other room was opposite to our existing room. When we went into the other room we realized that the room was a dark and windowless one. There was literally no window or ventilation in the room. Additionally, there was water leaking from the ceiling onto the TV chest! Realizing that our stay was doomed, we had no choice but to ask to stay in one room and use the toilet of the other. Honestly, in all my extensive travels never have I had to face this kind of a unique situation. It gave us the feeling of staying in a dormitory. Additionally, though the hotel says it provides 24 hours hot water, in reality it is quite different. The hotel does not have geysers in their bathrooms, but supply hot water through a boiler. As a result, the water is never really hot, but is instead tepid. That became a challenge for us since it was already very cold and we had a small child with us. We also repeatedly requested the reception to provide us with a room heater. We even offered to pay extra for the same. Despite this, they hotel did not arrange one for us. The Restaurant: The restaurant is call Birch Cliff and it actually has the best view in the house. They even have the option of roof top dining, which must surely be a very pleasurable experience, when the weather is good. Unfortunately for us, we could not indulge in the same due to inclement weather. The restaurant offers an array of Indian, Chinese and Continental dishes. The food was reasonably priced and was tasty. Their sizzler deserve a special word of appreciation. Staff Behavior: All said and done, we had expected the staff to apologies to us for all the inconvenience that we went through. However, none came. Even if they had shown some gesture of apology, we would have been satisfied.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARNAB from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Aug 2008

4

Location was wonderful. Our room was clean and neat with all the facilities as well as we can see the beautiful views of hills and mountainsfrom the room. The service provided by the staff was quick and prompt. We had breakfast in the restaurant, it was decent in taste. Overall it is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

KUSHAL from BENGALOORU, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jul 2008

4

We spent 2 nights in Superior room, which was very comfortable. The ambiance was lovely and the service was good. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GAUTAM from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jul 2008

4

Had a pleasant stay in this property. The room we were provided was quite spacious & cozy. The staff members were helpful at all times. The food served too impressed. I am totally satisfied.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SRIRAM PRASAD from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jun 2008

4

The location was not so convenient but manageable. The management was not so decent as I booked Luxury room and they given me some other room. Apart from that there was no issue with the services or food quality.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ARUN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Jun 2008

4

Our room was well furnished with all the facilities. We had our food in the restaurant, and it was lovely in taste. However, the staff service was very slow. Definitely recommendable.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUSHIL from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jun 2008

4

The staff was decent and provide some good assistance .Food was also up the expectation and location was great. I like their room arrangement and the surrounding was very peaceful it was good place to hang out with your family.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

HANUMANTHA RAO from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

3

It was a reasonable experience and there was nothing extraordinary in terms of facilities or services. The room was manageable for families and food was satisfactory. The location was decent but not exotic.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VENKATESH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 May 2008

4

We have booked the superior room for 3 nights and our experience was very pleasant. The room comfortability was great and the food provided was delicious. Location was also convenient for us. Overall its a good choice.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SIJO from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 May 2008

4

We had a wonderful 4 Nights stay here. Superior room was great. The food was very good and the service provided upto the mark. Its located around 3-4Kms away from the main city. Overall its worth staying at this property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ATISH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Apr 2008

4

It's a very good and decorated hotel with excellent natural view. The quality of reception and co-operation was very good. Dining quality was very average. It was really a good experience in all. I will recommend all that this is a really nice hotel without crossing your budget. If you are 1st time in Ooty then the stuffs also help you to go for the right travel plan.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MRS. PRATIBHA from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2008

4

The room was spacious and the views were wonderful. Staff service was quite efficient and quick. Food was delicious in taste. We liked the property very much. Would come back again.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR PRITHVI from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Apr 2008

5

The experience was really excellent in this hotel. Room was fantastic in looking with beautiful interiors. Staff are superb in their service. Food was amazing in taste. Excellent stay in short.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MADHU from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Apr 2008

4

It was well located and the surrounding was peaceful. The room was luxurious and the ambiance was lively. The staff was obedient and very prompt with their effort. The food was fabulous. Its an ideal place for honeymoon couple.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ROHIT from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Mar 2008

3

The service was fine n room was nice. The breakfast was average in taste. It was an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MANAS from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2008

5

I had my breakfast in the restaurant it was amazing in taste. Room were spacious with all the basic facilities. Staffs were kind and co-operative in their work. Location was very nice near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MS. RUPIKA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Jan 2008

3

Service is great. No complaint about the room condition. It was perfect in size and very comfortable. It is very clean. Recommend to any all class traveler.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHITI from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jan 2008

5

Rooms were good with clean bed sheet and pillows. The location was very nice near the hotel. I had my food in the hotel it was great in taste. Staffs were very nice and prompt in their work. I would definitely stay hear again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AMOL from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jan 2008

3

Hotel was very nice Superior room category. Room was very comfortable with attached bathroom. Staff behavior was very nice. Recommend to a budget traveler.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MAHESH from Mangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Nov 2007

4

Overall our stay was quite comfortable. However, the superior room should have had heaters by default, since the climate is always colder in Ooty. Also, the cost of the food served were on ahigher side, but the quality of food and service was excellent.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MS. MANAMI from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Oct 2007

4

Rooms were very neat and clean with good room service. The staff are very polite and co-operative. The food was very good of the hotel but it was very expensive. From the room you can see the view of Nilgiri hills and Ooty city it was excellent. The manager is very nice of the hotel. Manami B

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5