The Promenade - A Sarovar Hotel

4 Star  

Goubert Avenue, Pondicherry - 605 001

Starting from Rs. 5,995
Choose Dates

The Promenade - A Sarovar Hotel, Pondicherry - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.1/5 Excellent
(Based on 19 reviews)

100.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.9)
  • Service Quality (4.1)
  • Dining Quality (3.8)
  • Cleanliness (3.9)

The Promenade - A Sarovar Hotel - Individual ratings and reviews:

ANAND from NEW, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Nov 2014

5

a very well located hotel, the service was very good

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

GIRISH from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jul 2014

5

The stay was very pleasant. Ideally located and had a great view of the sea. The food is quiet good and the cleanliness is great. The toilets attached to the bedrooms need some upgrade. While it is spic and span and clean the wood is aged and it looks like they need some attention if not replacement. And if you are taller than 6 ft like me, then the shower is an issue as it would be below your eye level. Overall I would rate them 4 on 5 with 5 being the highest

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

HINGLAJ from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Dec 2013

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SURESH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Sep 2013

4

I Booked the room out as i was recomended by someone. Did not do much research on the hotel and did not expect much in return. The Hotel surpassed all my expectations in terms of Ambiance, - Location - about 5 mins from anything worthwile in Pondi ( as a tourist) - Staff - Room - View - Overlooking the Bay or Bengal ( try and take the Sea Facing rooms - though it is visible from all rooms) - Did i mention Location. We drove down from Bangalore and reached there only by 4 (after spending about 3 hrs at Auroville). Location is right next to the Promande walk way and busy with early morning walkers and evening walkers & chat. By far the only destination worth going in Pondy. The Sunrise is absoluty breath taking - try not to miss it The Room was ready and staff helpful enough to explain things to us. The entire process took not more than 4 mins - which for any hotel standard is very good. Though a small hotel, the number of staff to take care of your needs is high. You can say 2:1 is what i felt. Anything i needed, i just had to look up and could catch someone eye to help me out. Room i got was on the 1st floor, full wooden flooring ( a bit too smooth for walking), AC working when i got in an d room in optimal temprature ( not like i had to wait for the room to cool or something - after a long ride, it really helps) Bathroom was neat and clean - no musty smell ( if you know what i mean) Car parking is allowed in front of the hotel only from 730am - 6pm. The car will be parked about 100 feet away in the next street. Best to give valet the car, they will move it around without any hassel. Breakfast - The only drawback of the hotel. Good range and selection - but felt a bit stale and not that enjoyable - especially the south Indian food. The European Breakfast selection was also not that great. You can however order for some fresh hot eggs or dosa if you want. Rooms Service - A bit of a setback. Though service is good, they tend to knock on your door at least 4 times a day asking if you want the room "freshened up" other than that no trouble what so ever. Overall a good and pleasent stay Billing was quick and smooth. No mis billing or excess billing and issues. PS: Try to keep your hands off the sweets at the front desk, else you will end up eating at least half a dozen every day - simply irresistible

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GIRIDHAR from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Oct 2012

5

Location, Accessibility to Market, Ashram, Temple, Room, Food & Staff were very good. My 4 year old daughter loved the swimming pool though it was small. Bath Tub was not working (not holding water) which she missed.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SURESH from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Mar 2011

4

Toilets were below standard. It was struggle with tub & shower plumbing, to make it work. Quality of buffet food was okay but was repetitive. Though the location is good, wish it was a bigger property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BELAVADY from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Apr 2010

4

The rooms were nicely kept and service provided was also good. Breakfast, included int he price, was also very good.. The hotel needs to improve on one thing though- Cleaning of the car taken by the Valet service for parking in the night. When the valet got my car in the morning, it was completely covered in dust.. If the car was wiped clean, it would have added to the brownie points of the hotel.. Overall, a nic ehotel to stay...

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR ATIT from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Feb 2010

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUNDER from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Dec 2009

4

Great location. Close to beach, clock tower. Good dining & shopping options with in walkable distance. Comfortable staying conditions. The dining options are limited and nothing special about it.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DR SAURABH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2008

3

Had a decent stay in this property. Our room was not so great to look at; the interiors were not appealing. The service provided by the staff was good. We had our food in the restaurant, it was average in taste. Overall an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NITIN from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Jul 2008

4

Hotel is located centrally in the main city. Our room was well equipped with all the necessities. Staff was caring and courteous towards the guest. We had our breakfast in the restaurant, it was awesome in taste. It is worth the money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUNIL from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

4

The buffet breakfast was delicious( best Smoothies I ever had) & healthier also with good varieties. Overall it was a great experience with The Promenade. However the charges was on higher side.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SANDEEP from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 May 2008

4

The service was impeccable. The staff was well trained and polite in their approach. The room was absolutely amazing with some class interiors and well equipped bathroom.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MUKUL from Kanpur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 May 2008

4

Service was very good of the staffs. Room was furnished very well with all the facilities. Breakfast was tasty with different varieties. The location was beautiful near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. RAHUL from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Feb 2008

3

Staffs were average in their service. Room was nice with all the facilities. Hotel has restaurant were I had my meal it was ok in taste. It was just an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VINOD from Coimbatore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Jan 2008

5

Staffs were very courteous with friendly nature. Rooms were excellent of the hotel with all the basic facilities. Location was wonderful near the hotel. Restaurant was clean and neat and I had my meal their it was lovely in taste.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NANDITA from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jan 2008

3

Good room and a very nice location. However the service and staff are not upto the mark. Service is slow and the desk staff have a perpetual sneer on the faces. Given a choice, I would not stay there again. When you are paying for luxury, you don't expect shoddy service and you don't expect to be asked everyday that "are you staying with us?" at the breakfast and at dinner.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SHIV from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jan 2008

5

Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was large and clean. Dining option was good. Location is very nice. Its highly recommendable to others.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ALOKE from Kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Sep 2007

5

Its actually really nice. The bathrooms was ok. The place is really clean. Overall, we had a really good experience in this hotel. The location is really wonderful, right on the seafront. The staff were really helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was among the best that we experienced in three nights. It was our totally traditional stay. the best that we experienced in three nights. It was our totally traditional stay.the best that we experienced in three nights. It was our totally traditional stay. Aloke

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5