WelcomHeritage Calve

4 Star  

Vysial Street, Pondicherry - 605 001

WelcomHeritage Calve, Pondicherry - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.8/5 Good
(Based on 19 reviews)

89.5% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.6)
  • Service Quality (3.9)
  • Dining Quality (3.4)
  • Cleanliness (3.7)

WelcomHeritage Calve - Individual ratings and reviews:

ANN LIS from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2012

4

Good breakfast, good friendly service. They were open to accommodate, so we were satisfied; there was a misunderstanding so we got the room upgraded and were then more comfortable. The hotel is in general in a poor shape because of the recent cyclone but also because of lack of maintenance. You can see it has gone through a fantastic renovation and it has a beautiful Heritage atmosphere but lamps are broken, floors and walls are dirty, extra beds all over in the corridors, toilette in restaurant in poor shape.. It is located in the busy, not so clean area of the city.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

GOKUL from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Sep 2011

4

1. Calve is a very centrally located hotel. Just off the main market street (Mission Street), many eating options within walking distance, the beach & the french town is a 10 mins walk away. The street where the hotel is located is very residential and peaceful. 2. The Hotel staff (especially the manager Mr. NandaGopal) is very helpful and welcoming. They were willing to provide us breakfast early in the morning at 6AM when we had to depart. They even gave us a juice carton for our journey without our asking for it. 2. The hotel being a heritage hotel created in a old tamil style home feels very homely. 3. All in all we are very satisfied with the hotel and plan to stay at this place on our next trip as well. Gokul Rachuri

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NAVEEN from KOCHI(COCHIN), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Sep 2010

4

The staff were excellent.I would definitely recommend this for everyone who need comfort of home even @@ a hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUJAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Feb 2010

4

Over all the hotel is excellent . The only concern is that hotel dosent have accmodation facility for the driver's. Room was preety good and the hotel is good value for money.Food was good but hotel should have more varities for breakfast.Location wise hotel is in the heart of the city.Hotel is at walkable distance from the beach.I will definately suggest this property to all my family member's

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

TEJASWEENI from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 31 Aug 2009

1

This is a Heritage Hotel really worth avoiding at all costs. We loved the pictures on the internet of the hotel, rooms and ofcourse the description, but we werent prepared for the terribly bad experience we had here. The hotel is located in a small Alley, really difficult to find. You wouldnt know it is a hotel except for a small sign. No doorman, no bellboy or security. It was more like arriving at a Lodge but the price they charge is nowhere near that of a lodge. The only beautiful thing was the facade of the hotel. It is freshly painted white, with lovely architecture, small balconies overlooking the street. The good and clean part ends here though. The lobby is real, dark and dingy and the reception area is nothing but a small desk with a couple of chairs at one corner. The staff has no uniform, speak broken English and you dont know who is the guest or the staff, no uniforms or name tags you see. Check in was easy, simply because we were the only people staying here. The reception staff doubled as the bell boy and carried our bags up rickety stair and handrails which shook. This was supposed to be a Heritage restored bunglow!! We had booked the best room here, The Grand Calve. The first thing that caught my eyes, was beautiful antique furniture with loads of dust and perhaps not ever cleaned or scrubbed. The yellow and green old style floor tiles had turned brown or black with layers of grime and dust. The antique telephone at one corner of the room perhaps had never been polished let alone cleaned. I didnt know Heritage meant dirty and dusty. The bathroom was another story altogether. The copper bathtub was impossible to get into, and if you want a shower you have to, no separate shower area. The tub was going green at the corners and again needed a good scrubbing. The toilet we discovered would not flush right. The towels and napkins were not fit for a hotel charging this amount. The linen was old and looked as worn out as the room. Blankets were like ones provided in a Lodge service or railway Sleeper class. The AC had a mind of its own and wouldnt work at times. The rooms had no glass panes just wooden shutters so if you wanted the AC you had to shut off the whole room which was very claustrophobic. If you open shutters, you risk insects getting in. The worse part was the door of the room did not have a proper lock. Just one dismal latch and perhaps someone kicking the door hard enough would be able to get in. Loud noises in the lobby and/or restuarant kept us awake all night. The breakfast which was complimentary, was dismal. Again the reception staff doubled as the "dosa chef." We decided to check out and asked if they would refund the remainder of our stay, which of course they didnt. so this was a roundabout. When we asked to speak to the manager, we were told he was on leave. The receptionist cum bell boy cum dosa chef was the one running this hotel. The only best part was this person was polite and helpful, helped us with maps, directions and made us feel comfortable that we felt bad complaining too much or arguing. We finally decided to forgo the refund and moved to another hotel which was much better, near the beach and had cleaner better rooms at half the price. I would think twice about staying here unless they are able to at least scrub everything clean and wash and dust everything.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

G from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Nov 2008

4

The hotel has an old-worldly charm to it. The street on which it is located is the typical ancient Tamil street with houses joined with each other and each house having a hospitable 'Thinnai' or a stone seat and pillars. We liked the ambiance in the hotel complete with Chettinad portico, huge pillars and a very pretty terrace to look at the stars at night. Staff were friendly and we were pleased to see some of them donning many caps. Restaurant had a decent menu and we just loved the walls of the Salle e mange that were painted in aqua marine blue with an aging effect to it.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUMANDRA from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Aug 2008

5

The hotel is conveniently located. The food is excellent and room is very good. Hotel need to eliminate the description of standard & deluxe room.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

S from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Aug 2008

4

Our room was clean and neat with all the facilities. We had breakfast in the restaurant, it was average in taste. But the staff was helpful with friendly nature. It is good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR SISHEER from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jul 2008

5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stayed in this hotel. The location was absolutely amazing. The room we stayed in was absolutely fantastic. The room service did their job wonderfully. Many varieties were available in lunch, every dish was delicious. Altogether this an excellent property.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

LALIT KISHORE from patna, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jul 2008

5

It is a beautiful & well maintained property located close to the beach and the ambiance was lovely. The Standard Room was well appointed and the views was good. The upkeep and the housekeeping was prompt. Wonderful hotel to stay at for the price it offers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DIWAKAR from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jun 2008

4

Calve, A Welcome Heritage Hotel is a Period House, a Chettiar Mansion converted to a hotel. Location : Very attractively located, off Mission Street - the hub of activity in Pondy. When you drive down the East Coast Road from Chennai and enter Pondy, take the straight road from the signal junction and this hotel is strategically posited in a quiet street. Beware, the hotel does not have parking facilities and the car has to be parked in the street. A five-minute walk takes you to JN Street, the main commercial area of Pondy. Additionally, the Aurobindo Ashram and Beach are all a few minutes walk away. Check-in : Couldn't have been smoother. The efficient front office staff whisked me away to my first floor room in no time with minimum paper work. Full marks. Rooms : My room # 111, was quite small and had a very high ceiling, perhaps about 20 ft. The room had a Split AC, LCD TV with a good choice of TV channels, a Fridge, a double bed and a desk with chair. The bed was again a Period furniture with antique tiles on it. However the absence of any window or view made it claustrophobic. Toilet : Well furnished toilet. However the tub had no screen. Result - water spills during bath and soils the toilet floor. The shower in my room's toilet behaved strangely and started spraying the water on the ceiling, leaving me flummoxed. I had to twist myself into impossible positions to have a bath from the spout. However a call to the front office resulted in a technician fixing it immediately. Room Service : Had only a coffee and Chili Cheese Toast. Quite filling and tasty. Check-out : Very swift and no surprises in the bill. Overall Experience : Great Location. Efficient and Warm Service. Good value for the money. However would have certainly liked a larger room and a window.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GOPI from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Apr 2008

4

The location was excellent near the hotel. Room alloted to me was well equipped with all the basic facilities. Staff are excellent in their service. Food was well served with different varieties.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VAIBHAV from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Feb 2008

3

Staffs were very nice and courteous in their work. The food was also very nice of the hotel. The room and bathroom were neat and clean. Average stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

G S from Banglore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 10 Feb 2008

5

Its an excellent property. My stay was simply superb. Food was average in taste can be little better. The room alloted was very spacious and finely cleaned. Staff was well trained and service was quick and prompt. Its highly recommendable to every one. Location wise its very convenient to travel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

OTTMAR from Munich, Greece recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jan 2008

5

Excellent

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BEHZAAD from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 10 Jan 2008

1

It was a worst experience. Room given was a horrible i have booked for standard room but the bed was so congested it was not a double bed. Nothing was clean. Just not happy with the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

BINU from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Dec 2007

3

Experience with the hotel was good it is located in very nice place. The room was good. The staff members were extremely polite and very helpful.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR MAHESH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Nov 2007

3

It was a typical heritage kind of hotel. Room was tidy and clean but bed & telephone was at a higher level. Every time we want to go to bed or do a call we need to climb up, there was no staircase but ladder, since we booked for Duplex Suite. Service & location was fair. There was no buffet system but they brought whatever we ordered - which was good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. GIRISH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Nov 2007

4

Pretty nice stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5