Fortune Resort Bay Island

4 Star  

Marine Hill, Port Blair, Andaman Nicobar - 744 101

Fortune Resort Bay Island, Port Blair - Guest Reviews & Ratings

4.2/5 Excellent
(Based on 48 reviews)

97.9% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4)
  • Service Quality (4.1)
  • Dining Quality (4.1)
  • Cleanliness (4.1)

Fortune Resort Bay Island - Individual ratings and reviews:

KIRANJEET SINGH from SAHARANPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jan 2014

5

Our experience at Fortune Resort Bay Island was mixed one. Hotel was clean, staff was courteous & helpful but the washroom in our room allotted on the first day was very old and not in a good condition,requiring immediate overhaul. On our complaint the management changed us to a better sea facing room next day.The staff was very polite and co operative.Location of this resort is beautiful.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BINEET from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Apr 2013

5

Room was good but bathroom was pathetic; space was very less and no bath tub: overall bathroom quality was worst

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PHALGUNI from Hyderabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Oct 2012

4

Location of Hotel Fortune Resort Bay Island, Port Blair is great and convenient. We had sea facing room as well. Room size and A/C is good. The light in the ensuite bathroom can be switched off only when Main supply is cut off. Whole day and night, bathroom light is on when occupied by guests. While we cry hoarse about Green environment, Electricity saving and reduction of carbon footprint, this is appalling. Staff is courteous and service is good. Food a la carte and buffet breakfast quality is average. Indian cuisine is Ok but Continental cuisine is not authentic. Sambar bowls etc. are not very clean and dry. Overall experience is satisfactory for short stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHAILENDRA from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jan 2012

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AMIT from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Mar 2011

4

I stayed in two rooms and checked in on two days respectively.The hotel was very conteous to offer me 1 night advance stay and amend my booking. Staff is really helpful and friendly. The rooms in this hotel are very old. I probably got the worst room which was having no gallery, non functional AC, broken flooring, etc-. While I was checking in next time in this hotel I requested a better room. This time I was offered bit better room but still the room was garden facing (not the sea facing) The rooms in this hotel are pretty old, bathroom needs renovation and are very small. AC and overall room equipment too is pretty old. So I would rate the Rooms and infrastructure as really bad. No value for money. The food in the hotel is a big plus and staff is really nice and helpful. I was very happy with their service.The view from restaurant is awesome. If you are ready to spend money for a great view and food then go for this hotel. But you may want to check out which room you are getting(sea facing or garden facing).

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOHIT from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Feb 2011

5

The hotel is very good I am highly satisfied that I chose this hotel for my vacation. Starting from the entrance in the hotel till the exit from the hotel the services was overwhelming. The staff is very courteous and hotel is spread over a huge space and it�s very well furnished.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VIKRAM from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jun 2010

5

Location � Fortune Resort Bay Island boasts a great location in front of Bay of Bengal. The sea view from the hotel is amazing. One can see the distant North Bay Coral and Mt. Harriet. Aberdeen Bazaar, Phoenix Jetty and Cellular Jail are very near to this hotel. It�s away from the noise of the city and is surrounded by ample greenery. Airport is also near at a 5km distance. Architecture � The resort has a beautiful architecture. It�s made up of Padauk wood, which is a locally available wood variety. The light wooden architecture gives it a good feel and is a suitable architecture for earthquakes. The hotel is perfectly ventilated. The structures are designed in a way that no rainwater enters within the resort. Maintenance of wood is difficult due to sea effect but still ample care is taken and maintenance is regular. Front Desk � The staff at the Front Desk was very helpful and courteous. We had got a non-sea facing room, but on our request they arranged a sea facing room. Miss Hasina at the Travel Desk was very cooperative. She arranged al our island and beach trips. Room � The room was clean and good but the bathroom was small. There was a small balcony with an excellent sea view`. There were all basic amenities in the room. The AC was effective. Restaurant - The restaurant of the hotel is considered one of the best in Port Blair. The restaurant is sea facing. We had buffet food on all days. The quality, variety and taste were excellent. The restaurant offers proper packed lunch for those who go on full day trips. The staff was courteous. Impression � Overall it�s a very good place to stay and is highly recommended.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. HEMANT KUMAR from Netherland, The Netherlands recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2010

4

The stay was very good and enjoyed

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANURAG from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2010

4

Travel to the hotel is flexible.Staff were courteous the biggest drawback is the quality of food which was pathetic.Hotel is situated in a very good location, but away from the city.Hotel gives you good view to the sea and a very calm & quite place.Property can be recommended to family travellers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MR. NAVNEET KUMAR from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2010

4

Our stay was quite comfortable. The room was comfortable only the toilet size was smaller. Hotel has only few rooms which are sea facing. The staff was really very nice and very friendly. Food quality was good but only limited food options were available as hotel has just one restorant. We will definately recomment this hotel to all our family and friends.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR.VINAY from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jan 2010

3

Average quality of hotel and average facilities provided.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIKRAM from INDORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Nov 2009

4

If u get the ground floor rooms then you are gone. Only sea facing rooms are good to stay. Better to go there on weekends only.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIKRAM from INDORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Nov 2009

4

If u get the ground floor rooms then you are gone. Only sea facing rooms are good to stay. Better to go there on weekends only.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SIDDHARTH from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Nov 2009

5

I stayed in the hotel for 6 days and had a very comfortable stay in the hotel. The room was not as posh as expected considering the rates but was clean and clear. I had taken a all meals package and the food was excellent. Both the veg and the non veg preparations were really good. the hotel also arranged the sightseeing tours for us for 6 days. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BIJOY from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Mar 2009

3

The hotel is run down. The lawn is unkept and in disarray. Uninviting views of plumbings and other mess under corridor. Rooms needs rejuvenation though housekeeping have done their best to upkeep it. The location and the view of the sea with the islands from the room and hotel was the only relief. The Nicobar (bar) and the pool was also a good place to relax. So overall it not a great place to stay but the option in Andamans are few. Good luck all.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR & MRS RETESH from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jul 2008

4

The staff here was very courteous. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and had clean linen, something which is very important for me and my family. The breakfast was really nice, had a lot more than a regular continental b/f (eggs, toast, etc).

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANASH PRADIP from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jun 2008

5

Hotel is located on the hills. We stayed in standard room, it was attractive with modern furniture. The management of the staff was really good, they always did their work with a smile on their face. The breakfast was awesome in taste. This is a recommendable property.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

IQBAL from New delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2008

4

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Our room was well equipped with the needful amenities. Also the food served was up to the mark. But the staff member were very slow in their service. This is a recommendable hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PURNIMA from kolkota, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 Jun 2008

4

We were in a awe of the location of this property, it was really beautiful. The beach was right next to the hotel, also the ambiance was blissful. But our accommodation was not upto the mark, we were given a corner room which didn't have a good view. On complaining though the management changed it to a better one. The staff members here are efficient, even the food quality was good. There is one flaw though, the hotel has a swimming pool which has salt water, moreover it is dirty. I think if they rectify this that then it will be a far better property to stay in.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MSS from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jun 2008

5

The surrounding near the hotel was excellent. The best part of this hotel was the staff, they were co-operative and helpful. Our room was spacious but the bathroom was bit small. Also the food was awesome in taste. It is highly recommendable hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

HARBAN from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jun 2008

4

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in this hotel. This hotel is located right near the beach, so the ambiance is very serene. The room service did a good job, also the food tasted good. This is definitely an above average property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MADHURA from MUMBAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2008

4

It was a magical experience and property was very gorgeous. The staff was well committed and always prompt in their work. Room facility was up to the standard and decor was outstanding. Food was world class and restaurant was clean and well arranged.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUMANT from New-Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Jun 2008

4

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel, beautifully located with an amazing beach view. The people here claimed this to be a 70 odd year old property, considering which this is an absolutely well maintained hotel. The room we were provided was very well equipped. The staff members were most friendly. Also the food served was delicious. This is an above average property definitely.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

UMESH from Bhopal, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2008

5

We stayed here 3N/4D and our stay was excellent. Our room was lovely and complimentary all meals provided was tasty. They provided us with good service, even the half-day sight seeing was very fine. Overall an awesome property to stay.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUMANT from New-, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 May 2008

5

As my daughter is fond of swimming pool we were in search of hotel having pool facility finally we selected Fortuna Bay Resort the only hotel in Port Blair having this facility. We are thankful to Hotel staff for allocating the sea facing room during our stay. Weather was cool during that period due to off and on rains. In the evening we enjoyed sitting in HOTEL lounge and playing carrom with daughter. Hotel lobby is excellent. We really enjoyed our holiday. Food was tasty and rooms conditions were good. This Hotel property is approx 78 years old as told by Hotel staff and in good maintenance. Next time definitely we again will go for Fortune Bay Resort.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ABHIJIT from Calcutta, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 May 2008

3

We booked two standard double room and our stay was average. Everything was just fine also nothing great about it.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAJAT from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 May 2008

4

The staff were quite understanding and helpful. The accommodation given to me was well maintained with all the necessities. We had all meals in the hotel it was superb in taste. Location was wonderful near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

HAIMANTEE from kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 May 2008

5

The room was well kept with great space. Staff was courteous and very calm to all the guest. All the dishes served were tasty. Overall the stay was great.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DR. A from kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Apr 2008

3

It was a well maintained and clean property. The room was well up to the standard. The staff was bit slow but polite and shown a great respect for the guest. The food was common and location was not an ideal one. It was decent stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHARAD from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Mar 2008

3

Staffs are nice in their service. Room was fine having all the facilities. I had my all meals in the restaurant it was ok. Overall an average stay in this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHARAD from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Mar 2008

4

We found room was modern, great staff service. Food was tasty and served well in the restaurant. We like ambiance.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUPRATIM from mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Mar 2008

5

- The resort is wonderful, overlooking the sea. Its the best place to stay in portblair. - We went on our honeymoon to this place and we had lot of fun. - The staff is good, and service was nice as well. - The food was especially good. - Also the guided tour fro m the resort was managed well. - Overall a very good experience. Value for Money.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SIVAPRIYA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jan 2008

5

Rooms were spacious with comfortable bed. Staffs were very kind and polite in their work. Hotel has restaurant I had my meal in the restaurant it was very good in taste. The location was excellent near the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NAYAN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jan 2008

5

It was wonderful stay in this hotel. Rooms were excellent well furnished with beautiful interiors. Staffs were very kind and always ready for any help. I can see the beautiful view of sea from the room. I had used swimming pool it was clean and neat. The food was fantastic of the restaurant. I would love to stay in this hotel again.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

VEIDYANATHAN from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Dec 2007

5

Excellent property I must say. Beautifully decorated rooms with modern style interior. Staffs are very pleasant and fantastic in their service. I had used all the amenities all were perfectly but the swimming pool was under renovation. The cook of the restaurant used to prepare the food as per our convenient taste. I'll highly recommend this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ABHIRAN from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Nov 2007

5

Experience was good. They have nice facilities. Food was tasty.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ANAND from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Nov 2007

4

Hotel made nice arrangement for our entire stay. Good hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHAMBHU LAL from Jaipur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Sep 2007

3

It was a good experience with this hotel. Not so very clean rooms with decent interior. But from the room you can see the view of swimming pool and sea which made it very beautiful. Staff were very nice and polite. Food was also very good of the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHAMBHULAL from Jaipur, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Sep 2007

4

Rooms were neat and clean and from the room I can see the view of swimming pool and sea it was very beautiful. Staff were very polite and good at work. I had my food in the hotel, the food was good and served well. The location was beautiful near the hotel. I felt good making use of their gym.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR.CHINMAY from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Sep 2007

4

Location is excellent near the hotel. They is a swimming pool and gym in the hotel but I did not use the swimming pool, had a light work out at the gym. Staff were very nice and polite. Room was good but not as clean so I told the room service people to clean the room (few lizards in the room) The hotel people cannot do anything as each and every room is having lizards. I had my food in the hotel restaurant the food was not so good.lean the room (few lizards in the room) The hotel people cannot do anything as each and every room is having lizards. I had my food in the hotel restaurant the food was not so good.lean the room (few lizards in the room) The hotel people cannot do anything as each and every room is having lizards. I had my food in the hotel restaurant the food was not so good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR. DEEPAK from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Sep 2007

5

They need to improve the size of their toilets.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. DEEPAK from New Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Sep 2007

5

It was a wonderful hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. RAJARSHI from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Sep 2007

4

It was a nice hotel. We stayed in standard room for 3 nights. Room was spacious and comfortable with large bed and cleaned bathroom. It is located near to the sea. Our meals were included in package and that was nice. Will recommend to every traveler.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAGHAVAN from Chennai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jul 2007

4

I was on work and stayed for only one night. Hotel was decently clean with spacious rooms. Will visit this place with family for a hoilday.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIRENDER from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Jun 2007

4

Lovely hotel to stay with family.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DINESH from Ajmer, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jun 2007

5

This is undoubtedly one of the best places to stay in Port Blair. The location is marvelous and is set on a hill slope with a wonderful view with most rooms facing the sea. It's mostly made of wood. The service is excellent and the staff are courteous and helpful. The front office is well managed. It was an ultimate holiday.staff are courteous and helpful. The front office is well managed. It was an ultimate holiday. Dinesh Goyal

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. RAMESH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jun 2007

4

Hotel has a wonderful location with nearby islands. Staff are friendly and always there to help you. Room was very very much comfortable.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MADHUR from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2007

2

If I wish to visit Port Blair once again, my hotel will be Fortune Bay? apart from the sad behaviour of the hotel staff.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5