Hotel Sonar Bangla

3 Star  

New Marine Drive Road, Puri, Orissa - 752 001

Starting from Rs. 3,615
Choose Dates

Hotel Sonar Bangla, Puri - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.4/5 Good
(Based on 29 reviews)

93.1% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.5)
  • Service Quality (3.2)
  • Dining Quality (3.1)
  • Cleanliness (3.5)

Hotel Sonar Bangla - Individual ratings and reviews:

LOKESH from JAMMU, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jan 2013

5

NICE STAY WITH COMFORTABLE STAY IN WELL FURNISHED & CLEAN ROOM. STAFF WAS GOOD.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

IMAN from Chandannagar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Aug 2012

3

The location of the Hotel Sonar Bangla is perfect. It is just on the sea beach. The accommodated room which was good in the question of view. It was perfectly sea facing. >Room service was terrible. >Housekeeping was horrible. >Rooms not properly cleaned & maintained properly. > Floor was dirty, walls were very dirty. >The AC's remote was not handover to us, result was the room temperature was in constants to 17 degree all time. It effects cough & cold to US. > The dining was average. > Also had a horrible experience to eat cheesiness dinner with mixed of sands. >The lunch & breakfast was quite good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

RAKESH KUMAR from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Nov 2011

4

Hotel is around 4 Km from the station. The staff behavior of the hotel was good, this is very good hotel on sea beach, I will recommend this hotel to my friends for future booking over all this was very good stay at hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAMRAT from India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Nov 2011

3

Hotel is Far away from the railway station..the rooms are very good..but they need to improve there services..the location is good near there is one beautiful sea,also the main market is just 2 km from the hotel...staffs are very good..and co-oparative...yes I will suggest this hotel to my family...

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRODYUT from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Oct 2011

3

This hotel is located in a peaceful area. I had very nice experience in this hotel. Hotel�s staff was very nice and cooperative and the food given by them was also good. This hotel is very neat and clean. I would like to recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SHOVAN KUMAR from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Oct 2011

4

The ambience of the room at the hotel was really excellent as it was well maintained. Staffs at the hotel were average as they lack quick & prompt service attitude. Food too was tasty and served at the right time. Hotel maintained the cleanliness well and fine. This hotel is really recommended but at the same time service should be improved alot.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KAUSHIK from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Sep 2011

4

There is peace and silence maintained in this hotel and the best thing about this hotel is the staff who were very nice and helpful. I had a good experience in this hotel the rooms are well maintained and with nice furniture. I would recommend this hotel to my family and my friends.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PRASAD from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 15 Aug 2011

2

I visited Puri in Aug 2011. The price I paid for the room was around 1600 rupees for day. This was non-AC deluxe room. However, the room was not as expected. The bed cot furniture was sticky. The water geyzer doesn't work. We have to request to switch it on. It is controlled by some outside operator and it doesn't run when power goes off. Also, the dining room was not available to eat food as it was fully flooded due to the rains. it was in basement. Overall, the hotel wasn't maintained properly. The dining staff were courteous, but the reception staff barely attend to any room problems. The bathrooms are very congested and the location of this hotel is very far off from the main town (6km) and doesn't have good transport options. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. Moreover, there is an extra floor construction going on adding to messed up environment there.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SUNIL KUMAR from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Apr 2011

4

Away from the main beach, good for a peaceful stay and also near to beach.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

DARSHAN from Balangir, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Mar 2010

4

I had problems since the hotel had checkin and checkout time at 7AM whereas so we had to reschedule accordingly with the hotel and our trip was shortened.When u r Travelling with kids we have to adjust our time accordingly However rating the hotel the pros and cons would be as under, 1. The hotel is situated in the beach but is far at least 2 kms from the main puri beach. 2. A bit isolated place the area is developing but will take time. 3. Not for people who have kids. 4.The bathing area downstairs where you clean after having ur bath in the sea is not clean and smells a lot. 5.They had mentioned that they have a game room but it was not there.Now for the better part, 1. The hotel is perfect for honeymooners as well as elderly people. 2. The rooms were very clean and well furnished. 3. The Service was excellent and people at the front desk as well the house keeping staff were very helpful. 4. Food was good and the restaurant was also nicely maintained. Overall nice hotel good for persons who want to stay a bit far from the crowded main beach and enjoy the sea view.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JOYDEB from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 26 Feb 2010

4

Hotel is far away for the railway station as well as from airport also. Hotel room were good but the bathroom was small. A sea is near to this property and the room provided to me was sea facing. I had breakfast in the resturant and the taste was good. This property is suitable to family visit.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SHRI V C from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2010

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DR. R K from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2010

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

DR. MS. SONALI from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Feb 2010

3

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MR & MS KRISHNAKUMAR from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Feb 2010

3

Manaagement and staff was quick and good. Location was good, near to sea shore

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SIBAJI from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 18 Feb 2010

1

My worst experience staying at this hotel.Starting with the ambiemce & attitude of staff were very bad and casual.My room was a sea facing which yes had a good view, but on opening the window it was a dumping ground for the fishermens.Toilets in my rooms were uncleaned and stinking and the flush was not working on complaining to the hotel staff they never reacted and fixed the same.Hotel is placed in a good location, but very poor with their services.Not to be recommended.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

RAHUL from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Feb 2010

4

Property is at the end of the beach away from access to market and any other shopping places.We had a hard time with regards to availing meals as the hotel has no food variety / options at all, though the staff was co-operative.Hotel is placed approx. 6 - 7 kms from station.Its on the beach, but its very difficult to transit as you are completely away from the city.My room was good and clean, but the only drawback was that the bathroom was so small that alongwith a bucket of water one person cannot be comfortable.I would not recommend this property to anyone as there are better hotels around.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MR. APURBA KUMAR from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Feb 2010

3

As per the location is considered its just beside the sea beach and far off from the crowded place of Swargadwar (Market Place). From outside / inside it doesn't look like a 3 star property. We booked 2 months in advance for A/C Deluxe sea facing rooms, but they provided it in the ground floor though we asked for the 1st or second floor. The housekeeping service was good and the food was average. They have the doctor on call service, which is good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOHIT from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jan 2010

3

Quality of service was poor. It took more than 1 hrs for food to arrive after we had ordered. Happened several time when we called room service but nobody came.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ANGSUMAN from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Oct 2009

4

The hotel is just next to the sea beach. Rooms were sea facing - with excellent view. Room service was moderate. But we have to make them understand, that we have the offer of complementary breakfast. Overall it was a nice experience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

BP from BHUBANESWAR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Sep 2009

3

Not worthy of the money I paid, No car park , forced to keep it on the road, slightly away from the happening market area. But clean beaches.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

KC from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Nov 2008

4

The hotel is very well located on a quieter part of the beach . Room was also very good with a great view of the sea. Hotel service was very good and staff were very helpful in all occasions. Food quality could have been better ( we can only talk about the vegetarian options). Otherwise definitely recommended for any traveler who wants to enjoy the beach.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MAHESH from MORADABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Sep 2008

4

It was a terrific experience. Their room service was very quick and staff was very polite in their approach. Food was also tasteful and room was quite spacious. The facilities were also sufficient. I will definitely recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ALOKE from Ahmedabad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Jul 2008

3

The room in this hotel is of really of good quality. It was big in size, clean and comfortable. The dining in this hotel is very good. Overall very nice hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

JIGNESH from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Apr 2008

3

The management was co-operative. Property is not upto the mark. The room service were very slow in their response. The bathroom was too small as well. I would not recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ATUL from Guwahati, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Mar 2008

3

Room was spacious and very comfortable. Staffs were prompt and quick in service. Its a decent hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOHANSINGH from RAIGARH, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Mar 2008

4

Our stay was very good but only problem, there was no lift facility. Deluxe Room was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARNAB from kolkata, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 23 Jan 2008

3

It is located near to beach and our room was sea facing. Breakfast was included in our room rate. Room was good, having all amenities. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SIDDHARTHA from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Jan 2008

4

The hotel was very good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5