Hotel Gulmarg Regency

2 Star  

The Mall, Shimla, Himachal Pradesh - 171 003

Starting from Rs. 2,023
Choose Dates

Hotel Gulmarg Regency, Shimla - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.6/5 Good
(Based on 41 reviews)

82.9% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.7)
  • Service Quality (3.5)
  • Dining Quality (3.3)
  • Cleanliness (3.5)

Hotel Gulmarg Regency - Individual ratings and reviews:

VIVEK from BARODA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Mar 2014

3

average hotel. not as good as shown in images on your site. heater was also not provided.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NITIN from bathinda, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jun 2013

5

#This hotel is perfect for a family. #The room was exactly the same as shown in website. #Hotel is only 5 min walking distance from Mall #Parking of the Car is covered and safe #Bathroom was neat and clean #only minus is view is not available from my room which was offered me to change next day when it was vacant. #overall satisfied

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MAINAK from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2013

5

Access: The Hotel is centrally located in the city and everyone in the city knows its name. Its very easy to reach and ask any stranger, He/She will let you know the location point. Parking: The Hotel has a parking area for small cars Service: The Hotel Service is just EXCELLENT. I was touched by the hospitality of the Hotel. I had my room booking from 12 o Clock in the afternoon and I reached the hotel approximately around 8.30-9.00 am. The Front Desk helped us in getting our room early without any extra cost. Not only that, at our request they have provided us a room for our refreshment after our check-out for half an hour.We wished for sightseeing and the Hotel had arranged for that too. I and my wife went with great reliability and comfort. All total, personally, I am very much satisfied. Food and Room Service: The food quality of the hotel was good and I got everything on time. So, I feel that the food and room service is good. Room: The room was well maintained and we were given a mountain view room. we are fully satisfied. Overall: It was a great experience for me and my wife and we personally feel it will be a nice experience for those who wants to travel and stay there. Thanks and Regards, Mainak Majumdar

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PARTHA SARATHI from JAIPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 May 2013

4

This is a decent hotel for the budget traveller. The location of the hotel is its x-factor and it is about 100 metres gentle walk down from the Mall road just beneath the Shimla Kalibari temple. It is about 10 minutes walk from the Shimla railway station. The access by vehicle to the hotel is from the Cart road side. The Taxi fare from Shimla station to the Hotel is Rs. 200/- (fixed rate as per the taxi union guys out there at the station) which seems to be pretty high compared to the distance. However the climb from the station on the Cart road to the Mall road is quite steep and it is not advisable to try reaching the hotel on foot with luggage. The hotel has parking facility at the owners risk for few vehicles. But as common everywhere in Shimla, the parking area is quite congested and you have to negotiate back and forth in forward and reverse gears to find a suitable place for your car. The staff at the reception is prompt and they allotted our room and shifted our luggage almost immediately. The hotel check-in register duly filled in with all details is sent to your room shortly afterwards for your signature. The room had good wood work on the walls and ceiling with a big glass fitted window and has a traditional look. The first impression on entering the room is a "wow" but on looking around it can be seen that its furniture and fixtures lacks maintenance. Things look good but its not so cozy and clean. Perhaps it needs a date with heavy duty vacuum cleaners. The bed mattress and pillows are not covered type and are not changed before every check-in. The window and glass covered balcony of our room however provided a good view of Shimla. Once you step out of the room, the corridors and common areas seem underprivileged and lack attention of housekeeping staff. With lots of eating-out options in and around Mall road and Ridge area, only once we availed room service for dinner. The food tasted decent though it is costlier than restaurants outside. The cup of tea we ordered in the morning every day was disappointing and equals the ones served by catering staff on trains. Anyway there is no other better option to start your day. Overall it is good budget hotel for your stay in Shimla. Go out as you like and hang around at the most happening places in Shima, namely The Mall and Ridge.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

KAMAL from Sundernagar, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Feb 2013

4

Gulmarg is located at a very nice location adjacent to mall road. rooms are well furnished and room service is also good. fooding is not that good, but if this is ignored.. its a nice hotel to live at an affordable cost.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

BALBIR from LUDHIANA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Dec 2012

4

except for unavailability of dinning place , all is good in this hotel . we enjoy to stay there in two days as it is very near to mall road .

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAJIV from CHANDIGARH, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 14 Jun 2012

2

If you are going to Shimla to have a pleasant and comfortable stay, please do not stay at this hotel. There is virtually no free space, rooms are closely packed. often there is jam of cars outside the hotel on the road as there is very limited space there. Our taxi driver almost had a fight with another tourist standing on the road outside the hotel as there was very limited space for the car to move through. Bed sheets, blankets and quilt in particular were dirty, housekeeping staff said that they have no extra blanket to provide. room service very slow. quality of food average but quality of tea very poor. HOTEL MANAGEMENT NEEDS TO IMPROVE THE SERVICES OF HOTEL.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

HARISH from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2012

4

It was a nice stay best part is near to mall road and near to Army unit for safty point of wiew,overall nice stay hotel staff speasily reception staff was co-oprative,Thanks

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NITIN from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 10 Jun 2012

2

Few points which I want to share: 1. I was stayed in room no 225 and the first horrible thing was that there flush was not working. 2. The TV they were having doesn't have remote. 3.Food was of very bad taste. 4. Power cut was a common problem.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

PRAMOD from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 May 2012

4

I had booked a super deluxe room in Hotel Gulmarg Regency at Shimla. We reached there 7.30 pm in the evening.It make me very surprised that,they provided a Honeymoon special room without extra charge. The rooms are well cleaned and decorated. The views are also fantastic. The toilet was clean and modern facilities. They regularly cleaned the room and toilets.The location of the hotel is also best, near to mall road, bus stand and Railway station. Centrally located. We are very happy by booking the room in this hotel.And we decide that we always stay in this hotel in time of visiting Shimla. I am glad I got a hotel with minimum cost.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AJESH from CHANDIGARH, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 Aug 2011

2

This has reference to my itinerary no. 515448. I had booked Gulmarg Regency hotel in Shimla from 13 to 15 Aug 11 on your website and paid thru my credit card. Upon checking with the hotel about my reservation two days before check in I was told that I had no reservation with them. IAfter doing lot of arguments with the hotel staff, I was told that my reservation was confirmed. My mind began to think twice about the service level of the hotel. When I checked in the hotel on 13 Aug, I was amazed to see the pathetic condition of the room I was given. It was stinking like it had never been cleaned. The linen and pillow covers were smelling as if they had not been washed for many days. The toilet gave such an ugly look that you wouldn�t dare enter it no matter how urgent it was for you to be there. I spoke with the front office. The attitude of the staff there was � we have this only, take it or leave it. I told them that I wish to check out from the hotel, the manager immediately called his staff and asked them to bring my luggage so that I could move out. This shows the attitude of the person, how serious he is in dealing with customer. I called up your helpline number from the hotel and registered my compliant and requested for cancelation of my reservation as the hotel was not upto the standards mentioned on the web portal. The hotel is actually doing fraud by charging its customers three times more. I paid around Rs 2800 per night for the room where as they are charging Rs 800 per night for the same room. Without going into anymore discussions, reasoning�s and arguments,

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

AMRIT from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 01 Aug 2011

1

It was a bad experience. The conditon of the hotel was not that good. Service was poor. Bathroom was dirty and stinking. Will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

ASHIMA from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jul 2011

5

We went to Shimla in the peak season.We already knew that hotels there are packed and we'll have to spend hours searching a decent budget room.But when we reached there we couldnt find any rooms for an hour. I searched the net,and got the family room(2 double beds)for 2400rs whose original cost was around 4000rs when we asked directly.This was like a blessing at that time. When we got there at Gulmarg,the best thing was it was 5min walk from the mall.Parking was not very spacious but they had their guys for helping our driver. When we saw our rooms we were taken aback.They were far more beautiful than expected at this cost during that time. We are very impressed by the cost effectiveness. The service boy who was treating us was very hummble and quick.Our stay was only for 1night but seeing such an attractive offer we increased our stay by one more day.Though I did not find the guy at the reception very happy with this as that was the peak season. The food at the hotel was delicious,which was not expected.It was even more tasty than the local Shere punajab's punjabi food.We were happy with the service. In a nutshell we all were very satisfied with the deal.I would love to go for another booking soon.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

MOZBUL HAQUE from GOALPARA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 06 Jul 2011

3

It is an average hotel.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VIKAS from GURGAON, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 19 Jun 2011

4

It is an average budget hotel. Location is good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NITAI from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Jun 2011

5

Everything was good.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

KAMAL from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 01 Jul 2010

2

good location

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

PAWAN from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Jun 2010

5

We went to shimla from delhi by Shatabadhi Express and then by kalka Shimla passenger. Our check in time in Gulmarg hotel was 12 noon. We inform the hotel on the way about our check in time about 6PM. Reply from hotel was quite convincing and tension free. Hotel was just walking distance from shimla railway station and near the famous mall road. Hotel desk staff were gentel. They asked booking voucher but it was not provided by travelguru. Then also after some formality matter solved. But it is advisable to travelguru to provide booking voucher to all its customer. Rooms were extra large,clean and with all the facility. Food was also well prepared and of slightly high rate. Taxi service of reasonable rate was also available in the hotel itself. After a nice picnic and sight seeing we returned back to delhi by HPRTC deluxe Bus.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PARSHOTAM from Jammu, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 12 Jun 2010

4

The Hotel Gulmarg is ok but with out balcony and you can not see the outside view. The reception staff was not cooperative might be they are busy as hotel has 135 rooms.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AMIT from NOIDA, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2010

4

LOCATION WAS GOOD. ROOM SERVICE WAS GOOD. ROOMS WERE CLEAN WITH GOOD ENOUGH SPACE. HOTEL CHECK-IN TIME IS 12:00 PM but they provide room for getting fresh as i reached there 7 AM TV WAS WITHOUT REMOTE. BATHROOM WAS JUST OK

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NAGESHWAR from HYDERABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 09 May 2010

5

THis Hotel is really an excellent hotel to stay in.The room service cleanliness everything was really great.We have taken a Corner Deluxe room.Had a good view of the mountains outside.Nice location to view from Hotel. It was at an elavation so had a problem to walk till the hotel,if you travel by Vehicle till hotl then there is no other Problem at all. The Food was also really very very good.The Cleanliness was also very nice,except for that the Blankets were not changed. The TV remote did not have option to navigate to next channel,we had to manually change it.But for the cost paid it was a reasonable and Worth payable Hotel. I will recommend this hotel for Family and especially couples will have a great time.Also the Hot and cold water was provided. On the i stringly recommend this hotel,as it is near by the Bus stop and Mall road.Mall road is a good palce for time pass if you get bored and also you can do lots of shoping there.An excellent Hotel to stay in.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUBODH from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 May 2010

4

Hotel is located near Mall Road. Approach to the hotel is quite tough due to the steepness. Food quality is just average. No other decent restaurant nearby as other food option. Hotel staff approach lacks discipline.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

THANGARAJAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Apr 2010

4

Location is good. Rooms are well maintained but the TOILET looks very BAD. Also there is no bright light available inside the room, everything looks dull.Except these everything else is fine. Good value for money.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

RAINA from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 28 Feb 2010

3

Overall OK experience.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ROHIT from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2010

2

Bad hotel ,would not recommend to anyone, the rooms were not good ,its a old bulding hotel, Only good thing is the location of the hotel.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

AMITESH from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Feb 2010

5

The hotel is near form the railway station, overall its a good hotel,everything was perfect ,its a family hotel, its near the Mall.Overall i would rate 4/5 for this hotel.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SAURABH from SAHARANPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Feb 2010

5

very good experience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AMIT from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Feb 2010

3

Hotel is placed in main city and its a very basic property like all others in surroundings.Room was ok and the basic ammenities were provided.We have visited Khufri & any other temples around which were approx. 25 kms.Location around is pleasing, but cannot be recommended to family would be good for friends and business travellers.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ASHUTOSH KUMAR from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Feb 2010

3

Dinning not applicable

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SUBRATA from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Jan 2010

3

Reception is OK, no one available during checkout luggage from room to reception, which was available during check in. Towel, Toilet soap was not given initially, so over all rating experience is not good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

NAYAN from RAJKOT, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 04 Nov 2009

2

In Hotel Gulmarg room which they gave us was Deluxe cave not room no window in room and I was worried if fire in this hotel where I will get oxygen and couldn't not sleep for two nights. No window but only mirror and all over room even on roof also I was feeling like climax seen of Enter the Dragon.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOHAMED RIDVAN from SURAT, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Oct 2009

3

I am not happy with this hotel at all.... It was average stay here. Its also very difficult to reach here. Provided towel was very dirty. I managed with this hotel bcz had to stay for night only. Food was terrible.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

VINOD KUMAR from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 18 Sep 2009

5

Hi i had a very good experience booking my hotel on travelguru. It was the first time i utilized it. I was in dilemma whether it would be success or not, and i booked the hotels based on reviews only. so i was little bit fearing that whether the hotel will be fine or not. But wat i taught was totally wrong. The hotel was superb and perfect. we cant search hotels by walk. I suggest this is the best way to book hotel. at Gulmarg we had a pleasent experience.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

PANKAJ from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Aug 2009

5

Mainly Room Service is too good and very fast really i have never seen before in any hotel in Shimla. Arrangement for taxi is also good.Only one problem is there that we have booked 4 romms and there is no towel provided us in any room. But overall is so nice and best hotel.I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler and also for me i have ever goes to shimla will definitely book only GULMARG HOTEL in Shimla.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 5/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

AMIT from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 03 Aug 2009

3

Stayed at Hotel Gulmarg in Shimla, first they alloted a room that on the underground floor, where not the slightest little bit of natural light never came into the room. Also there was no range for mobile phones, but they shifted me to a better room the next day. Decent budget hotel.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ARVIND KUMAR from gandhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 Jun 2009

4

THIS HOTEL WAS AVERAGE IN ALL MATTERS

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

GAURAV from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Jun 2009

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NILAY from GHAZIABAD, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 22 Jun 2009

4

Our stay at Gulmarg was average though our expectation was higher because of the higher charges.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PRATEEK from KOLKATA(CALCUTTA), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 Jun 2009

4

good to stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

AJAY from Noida, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 May 2009

3

Rooms were not properly cleaned. Bedsheets and towels were changed only on demand.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

RAJINDRA from Delhi, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 May 2009

3

It was a good hotel to stay but the neatness was not proper in the hotel, guest had kept their clothes for drying on the stairs and it was not looking good.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5