The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa

4 Star  

Near Bus Stand, Shimla, Himachal Pradesh - 171 001

Starting from Rs. 6,222
Choose Dates

The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa, Shimla - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.2/5 Good
(Based on 13 reviews)

69.2% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.4)
  • Service Quality (3)
  • Dining Quality (3.1)
  • Cleanliness (3)

The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa - Individual ratings and reviews:

SHAILESH from PUNE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 23 May 2011

2

OVERALL Convenient location, easily locatable. substandard rooms, unacceptable hygiene standards. FRONT OFFICE When I called for bus stop pick up as mentioned on web site I was told that I should take a porter from bus stop since it is very close. My room had no toilet paper, no coffee sachets & there was a dead cockroach on the floor. On my way out to dinner I requested reception to rectify these points , yet on my return I had to ask for toilet paper. I was told that since there was no demand they did not stock coffee sachets, when I insisted they sent me coffee powder in a bowl. The fruit basket contained a mango with no knife provided to cut it, it did not come in spite of asking for it. HOUSEKEEPING- The wall outside the room toilet had stains of some liquid which had spilt on it & the drip stains were still not washed, The bedside table has dust under thglass top, the telephone had stains on the dial. The toilet in the common area next to restaurant had no lockable fixture & the seat was filthy. The manager said he was aware of the situation. FOOD & BEVERAGE They could serve me hot milk with cereal but not COLD milk - the manager said there was no supply of milk in all of Simla that day

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

DR ABHAY from MUMBAI(BOMBAY), India recommends this hotel - Posted: 13 Dec 2009

4

overall stay in this hotel was pleasent. staff was healpful and food was good.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

VIJAY from Gurgaon, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Jul 2009

3

Hotel Him Leela Regency (Shimla) : CHEATS _Rated as ***. I seriously doubt the criteria that decides on the rating. The many freebies offered with the package were simply not there : No pickup from railway station inspite of three calls I made to the hotel, no fruit basket, no evening cookies. Not as if I was dying for these, but it certainly left a very bad taste and a sense of betrayal. The staff had no clue as to the sightseeing options that are offered by Shimla. Overall worth avoiding,there are many better ones in Shimla at a comparative price

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SURENDRA SINGH from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 30 Aug 2008

2

Not satisfactory

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SANDEEP from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Aug 2008

4

I was not much impressed with the property but hospitality was impressive. People were very courteous and staff was well trained. Room was also decent and food was tasteful. Location was awesome and it was surrounded by the scenic beauties.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GAURAV from Ludhiyana, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 Jul 2008

4

Our room was very well maintained. The room service were helpful. Also the food quality was good. This is an above average property for sure.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

DR SATPAL from Khanna, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 09 Jul 2008

2

It is not a grand property and not a worthy place to stay. Everything was below standard & we left the property after 1 night stay.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

SANDEEP from Aurangbad, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 30 May 2008

3

We are unhappy with the stay here as the service provided was terrible i must say. There was no warm welcome, the staff did not obey any of our requests. The house keeping was very poor, also we are not provided with the complimentary benefits of welcome drinks, fruits & bed tea/coffee . Even after several reminders nobody used to turn up. Otherwise the room was okay & food was fine.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

GAURAV from Mumbai, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 21 May 2008

4

Service throughout the hotel was excellent. The rooms were very clean with clean bed sheet and pillow. Food was fantastic in taste with different varieties. It is worth the money.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

RAHUL from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 May 2008

3

This property didn't meet my expectation. The management said that the A/C was supposed to work centrally but then it was not effective. Also the lift here was no working. Apart from these i don't think that there was any inconvenience, my room was decent. The room service were prompt, also the food was up to mark. Overall this is an average property.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SIDHARTH from Mumbai, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 30 Apr 2008

2

This Hotel was big disappointment to me and my wife and we suffered mentally and physically during whole of stay there. The first thing which strikes you at Hotel is "DIRT". The Hotel is not at all clean and Hygienic. You can smell dirt at all times in your room. We have booked mini suite there, which was supposed to be the best room. We had series of surprises once we entered in the room. I am listing them point wise below: 1. They claim that they are four star hotel. However once you enter in the hotel you will realise that it is not even a single star hotel. I am not sure which agency has awarded them four stars. 2. Our room was not prepared even when we reached around 3 hrs late after the standard check in time. The room was smelling and i can feel Dust all around. The towels were in abysmal condition. 2. Next morning i thought to use the coffee maker and I was horrified to see that it was not cleaned that it was not cleaned since last guest used it. 3. Next comes the dinner part - I ordered for chicken tandoori and to my surprise i received the Tandoori which was completely raw and uncooked at few places. When I complained about the same to the manager than he replaced the same with another one which again was of same state. 3. The prices for room services are exorbitant and should not be paid for hotel of such standard 4. I can always see pile of clothes, unwashed utensils, old papers lying the alley. It gives me feeling that I am staying in some lodge. 5. Coming to the last point- The reality is that this Hotel is situated next to main bus stand and you can not sleep peacefully here given the noise of traffic in the road comes straight to your room.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

MANJUNATH from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 27 Apr 2008

4

We had a satisfactory stay here. I had no complaints with the management. Our room was equipped with all the basic amenities. Also the breakfast was of good quality. I would like to recommend this property.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

NIRAJ from Patna, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 07 Mar 2008

5

Perfect!!!

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5