Peacock Houseboats

3 Star  

Nagin Lake West, Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir - 190 001

Starting from Rs. 2,747
Choose Dates

Peacock Houseboats, Srinagar - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.4/5 Good
(Based on 8 reviews)

75.0% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (4)
  • Service Quality (3.1)
  • Dining Quality (2.6)
  • Cleanliness (3.9)

Peacock Houseboats - Individual ratings and reviews:

AMIT from THANE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 15 Jun 2014

3

Peacock houseboat is nice place to stay.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ADITYA from PILANI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 11 Jun 2014

4

We stayed on flora houseboat for one night only, the stay was wonderful and memorable indeed. Mr Bashir and Mr. Raja are there for your service on the houseboat all the time, we had specially cooked kashmiri chicken prepared by Mr. Bashir himself and was fantastic.He is a very cooperative and friendly person, along with us we also had a vegetarian family so he took them to a special veg-only restaurant and was quite helpful to them also. The view from this houseboat was wonderful, nigeen lake look so spectacular in the morning after a thunderous night. There are some restrictions on the houseboat concerned with the bathroom, water etc, but these are only to keep the boat in good condition. Again there is a generous tip culture in kashmir, and it will indeed take a portion of your planned budget so beware of that. overall this was a perfect end for our kashmir trip

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

ALEX from Auckland, New recommends this hotel - Posted: 04 Aug 2013

5

Everything was perfect but they try to overcharge for boat trips and taxi back to town. Need to bargain hard.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

NEERAJ from NEW DELHI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 19 Aug 2012

2

Servicing is extremely poor. There was no one except one attendant who was also serving 2 other houseboats. Breakfast was terrible and cold. We were given only cold toasts, tea, poha/upma in 2 days stay. Dinner was good but with limited choice. The HB is situated in nigeen lake which is almost 10 Km from dal lake and main market. Not recommended for stay.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ASHWANI from NEW DELHI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 05 Jun 2012

4

It was a nice experience to stay in the houseboat. But there is scope for improvement in the quality of room. Size of deluxe double room is no different from the deluxe room.Two beds placed in that room were different drastically, making it unpleasant to the eye the moment you enter the room. Bed sheets were shabby.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

SUBRATA from BAIKUNTHPUR, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 May 2012

3

We were expecting value for money but disappointed as the host not even bothered to discuss with us and fix the petty problems.During our stay the only T.V.of the houseboat could not be started.Food quality was also not up to the mark and we have to skip the meals served by them.I personally would not recommend this houseboat to anybody who wants to enjoy his holiday.I have seen many good reviews of the houseboat prior to booking but the fact is very much frustrating.I like to advice those who want to book the houseboat to think many times before booking a houseboat at nigeen lake as the lake is

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

PALLAB from GUWAHATI, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2012

2

There are at least five Peacock Houseboats owned by the same person on the Nigeen Lake in Srinagar. We stayed in one of them. These houseboats are located in a serene environment where you can have a good view of the hills and rainbows after a rain. Having said that, we must report some of the major problems which we faced in this houseboat. There was no TV service due to poor electricity supply. On the first day, we had mostly power cuts, and low voltage. The next day, the voltage was so low that we could not charge our mobile phones. There was a problem of getting hot water also. Finally, on the third day, after a lot of unpleasant exchanges, electricity was restored. There was no Wi-fi or internet service as claimed on the website of these houseboats. The most unpleasant thing happened on the final day when the owner of the houseboat asked us to leave at 9:30 AM in the morning because another party would come. We do not recommend this houseboat to anybody.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

ABHISHEK from PUNE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Aug 2011

4

Warm Welcome: After a pleasant stay at pahalgam, i was eager to see the summer capital of J&K, Srinagar. As i entered the town i did not see any beauty that i had left behind in pahalgam. I was really disappointed and just thought what lies ahead for me. The Peacock resort of Houseboats that i had booked had address of Nagin/Nigeen lake. Upon my search i landed in small lane with board of gevernment water sports, Nigeen lake. the path to my destination was through famous Shikara and my moment of joy was regained after few minutes of shikara ride. I was back in beauty of nature awaiting WATS next? The warm welcome by hotel manager Bashir will be surely my memories in future. He made sure he guided me till my room and i was comfortable. the housebout has all the comfort and beauty and cleanliness that i desired and paid for :-) Guidance:- After a cup of fantastic welcome tea with some pakoras i asked for guidance to travel the city. his quick reply was " You always travelk by road and vehicles, but since you are in kashmir enjoy the beauty by shikara rides by travelling to various points and floating market of Dal lake. and i do not regret accepting his advice as those 8 hours of shikara ride were most pleasant remembrance. Food n Service: The expectations were high and the poor food and service took away al the fun during dinner. Regular food with no local dishes. Even the service was slow and non attentive. Overall: I would rate it 6 on scale of 10. Not to blame the room, cleanliness but all blame to food and service.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5