Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort

4 Star  

Ladys Seat Road, Yercaud, Tamil Nadu - 636 601

Starting from Rs. 10,035
Choose Dates

Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort, Yercaud - Guest Reviews & Ratings

3.6/5 Good
(Based on 16 reviews)

81.2% of our customers recommend this hotel.
All reviews displayed below have been submitted by customers who stayed at this hotel.

Average Guest Rating

  • 15
  • Room Quality (3.7)
  • Service Quality (3.8)
  • Dining Quality (3.3)
  • Cleanliness (3.2)

Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort - Individual ratings and reviews:

RAGHAVENDRAN from SALEM, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 25 Feb 2014

5

suggestion was very excellent and discount which provided by you also very good. We were enjoyed the two days very safely. Thanks to Sterling Holidays.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

SUHAS from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 08 Oct 2013

4

Overview: Rock Perch in Yercaud is in a fabulous location, literally on a cliff. It is located about 3KM from the city center and a bit diffcult to reach as there are no proper sign-boards. What with the language also being different, we had a challenge ahead of us locating the property, but ultimately did. Ambience: Rooms feel dated but really comfortable with most amenities being convenient (and working). The main dining-cum-reception area is very nice and overall, the property has been maintained very well. People: The resort staff go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The best service I have seen in a long while which nowadays is missing even in 5-star hotels. Beware!: #1. Monkeys! Always keep your doors and windows closed during the day. #2. If you are not really fit, then you are in for some real exercise: Steps! To get anywhere, one needs to negotiate the innumerable steps to-and-fro. I do not advise this place for old people or people with heart/arthritis conditions. Parking: Very limited parking facilities and open air as well. The occupancy digits far outnumber the slots Food: The resort menu has decent options and the taste is also good. Buffet breakfast came complimentary to us and I daresay we simply enjoyed the spread. It is typically local cuisine and nothing fancy. A'la Carte has some good options. The room service menu, though expensive, has a wonderful range of options and available 24/7 Facilities: Nothing to complain in the room itself. They have a play area for kids as well. They even arranged bonfire and games in the evening on one day! Miscellaneous: I was tired of driving and requested the resort people to arrange for a taxi to see places for that day and it was arranged in a jiffy and quite reasonable as well. Do not: Miss the fantastic view of Salem city from the resort as well as that of the valley and the sky in the night. Conclusion: A nice place to stay and plan sight-seeing. Yercaud itself does not have too many attractions and merits a one-time experience. Do not miss the Kiliyur falls at any cost (more walking, but worth it). Happy holidaying!

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAYANTH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 16 Jun 2013

4

The hotel location is perfect seated on the face of the cliff.Give you a spectacular view of the valley,especially in the night when the view of the town with the lights lit up is beautiful the room service was very slow- needs to be better, anything ordered takes 30-45mn - too long a wait check in experience was not great, i arrived at the destination after 1300 hrs but was still made to wait for a good 30mn for the room to be ready- given that the hotel chech-in time is 12noon !! Strongly advice people who want to travel to Yearcaud to avoid weekends - the place gets very crowded where even walking becomes difficult.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANISH from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2013

5

A very good experience indeed. Reception was very warm cordial. Stay was very comfortable, room spacious and clear. Excellent view from our room have a large sitout area. Would visit this resort again if possible.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

ANITHA from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Aug 2012

4

The hotel is located at a view point and the view is excellent. The rooms are clean and neat and the service is good. However, it is not good for elderly people as you have to navigate many steps to the rooms, dining area and car park. There are no lifts. But the hotel staff were very helpful when they found we were travelling with elderly parents. They upgraded us to a 2BHK closer to the car park at no additional cost. The food at the resort is expensive.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

MANOJ from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 31 Jul 2012

4

it was a fun filled holiday. Hotel is at the nice location.

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

SONY from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 17 May 2012

3

The Sterling Holiday resort - Rock Perch in Yercaud is good in terms of the the view from the property. We can see the whole of Selam and good greenery and mountains from such a high altitude was a good experience. However, the property is not well maintained. Veranda and the lift area were not cleaned for a while. Lift was so old and poorly maintained that, we were scared to get inside. The reception staff did not know much about the site seeing options and did not have even a brochure about the places to visit. Food options were good and tasty. Staff at the restaurant was very courteous too. However, sometimes there were hardly only two staffs to serve and they were struggling to satisfy everyone and that was leading to delay and mistakes in billing. I must agree that they acted quickly on our feedback and service improved the next day. Evening entertainments were good. As there were nothing much we could do that in the night, these entertainments were very appropriate to keep the evenings interesting. Overall I would rate it as average.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

PRAVEEN from BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 01 Nov 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAIDEEP from CHENNAI, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 02 Oct 2011

5

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 5/5
  • Service Quality: 5/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 5/5

RAGHURAM from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 07 Jun 2011

2

Place: Yercaud Location: Sterling Resorts Hotel at Yercaud is located in a beautiful place right next to one of the tourist spots "Lady's Seat". You get an excellent view of the valley. The view at night is superb as you can see the lights of Salem Town. Parking: The hotel provides uncovered parking. Even though there is a security guard, the parking is hapazard and your vehicle could get stuck behind some one else who has gone out on foot for a trek or sightseeing. Reception: The staff at the reception try to be friendly. But language is a barrier as their are not proficient in English. They struggle to communicate. If you know Tamil, you will have a better time. Rooms: The rooms are very sparsely appointed. The housekeeping is atrociously bad. Both the rooms in which hwe stayed had bed bugs. After we complained they sprayed Bagon but did not even offer to shift us to other rooms even though many were vacant. All the taps (in both rooms ) leak. There is leakage even from the commodes. Room Service: Terrible! We had to wait for at least 1 1/2 hours for the food to arrive and that too after several phone calls and with the intervention of the manager. We asked for additional blankets and got woolen rugs. Being non-tamilians we had tough time explaining that we wanted plain blankets. By the time the house keeping staff understood what we wanted 1/2 hour of our holiday was invested in it. Over All: We booked Sterling because it is rated 4 Star. And ... having been charged a good amount we expected at least a friendly demonour and good service along with infrastructure on par with a 4 star property. Our struggle to get even the smallest of things after surmounting the language barrier made this holiday forgettable. And the icing on the cake was teh parting gift from the lady at the reception when we shared our terrible experience - Sir, What do you expect from a property that is 18 years old? Restaurant: The buffet meal we had on the day of our arrival (Jun 4) was very, very average. In fact we decided not to have dinner at the restort's restaurant after having lunch in it. The breakfast spread in the morning was surprisingly good. Being in South India, we expected Idlis wood be good. However, we found them to be hard and sour. I asked for a masala omlet and was told that it was not available. When I asked the restaurant manager (hopefully he was!) why masala omlets were not available when they were serving boiled eggs, fried eggs and had steamed tomato, I got my masala omelet. I had to eat it with normal bread as the toaster was not working and the butter (nutralite not real butter) was rock hard.

  • Room Quality: 1/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5

ABHIRUP from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 29 Apr 2011

4

It was a family trip three of us driving down from Bangalore. Overall experience - definitely above average but perhaps a few notches below Excellent. Best part was the layout of the hotel - the way they have designed along the slope of the hill that was pretty unique. You get a lot of excellent views of the hill from different view points and even walking through the intricacies all alone is an experience indeed. For that matter, the area just outside the hotel is also excellent for a comfortable walk around - all the ladies seat and gents seat and so on. We used to go for a walk in the morning. The area gets a little ghostly for a night walk we tried that also for a while. General hospitality is good, the staff are warm and helpful. In fact they arranged live screening of World Cup 2011 final in the conference room and it was great to watch with their staff and other boarders. The restaurant is small, and the menu is even smaller. Buffet breakfast had a pretty decent spread. Highly recommended for family trips, in particular if you are looking to stay close to nature and feel the mountains in your heart.

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5

JAYASHREE from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 01 Apr 2011

2

First of all the rooms were not confirmed and we have to wait before the rooms were alloted. Very bad maintenance of rooms. Had to put with loud noise of lift day and night. food quality bad. breakfast started only at 830 whereas schedule time was 730. Front office staff are equally inexperienced. Never have we faced such problems like in this trip.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 1/5
  • Dining Quality: 2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

ASHAKIRAN from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 14 Mar 2011

4

The guest has not left a written review for this hotel

  • Room Quality: 4/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

AMITAVH from BENGALOORU(BANGALORE, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 24 Aug 2010

3

We drove from Banglore starting at 7 am , with the idea that will reach the Sterling Resorts before noon, to allow a nice shower before lunch. The front desk is being managed by people who are not very profesional. Took some 15 minutes to get the room. Once we were inside the room it was bad, agreed the property is 18 years old but not maintained at all , the sifa cum bed was full of stains. Had to go back to the reception and requested for change of room. They obliged and the new room was little better. The hotel is located at a vintage point and one can enjoy the nature and Selim city at night looks beautiful from the top. There is one resturant and service and quality of food is average one can manage if not very fussy. The travel desk person is not available at his seat most of the time so you have to try your luck by calling a few times before you get him. Also when electricty goes the generator back doesnot run the geyser so if you have plan to go out at a particular time and electricty goes you have to wait till it comes back before you can take a shower.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 2/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3/5

MOULIESWARAN from Bangalore, India does not recommend this hotel - Posted: 15 Nov 2007

2

Food is pathetic. Even a road side restuarant will serve quality food. Room condition needs to be improved a lot. But above all there is one reason still why I prefer this hotel is the location. Its really a gifted location.

  • Room Quality: 2/5
  • Service Quality: 4/5
  • Dining Quality: 1/5
  • Cleanliness: 2/5

MR UTTAM from Bangalore, India recommends this hotel - Posted: 20 Sep 2007

3

It was just an average hotel, and the kind of cleanliness standards they have, wish it the best.

  • Room Quality: 3/5
  • Service Quality: 3/5
  • Dining Quality: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 1/5