X

Book Rooms at Shelter Beach Resort

  •  
  •  
  •  
1 Person in 1 Room
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age(s) of Children
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age of Children

Chennai

Sun, 27 Oct – Mon, 28 Oct (1 Night)  |  1 Room  |  1 Guest

Shelter Beach Resort

275, East Coast Road, Vadanemmeli, Chennai , 603104  |  Show on map

REVIEWS

  • TRAVELGURU REVIEWS
  • VIEW HOTEL REVIEWS
  • VIEW ROOM REVIEWS
  • Overall Rating

    • 3.3 Average  

      (based on 12 reviews)


      83% of our customers
      recommend this hotel

  • AVERAGE GUEST RATING

    • Room Quality 3.2
    • Service Quality 3.3
    • Dining Quality 2.8
    • Cleanliness 3.6

Bhuvanesh from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: May 10 2010 Room Quality: 5/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 5/5

The hotel is located on the Scenic ECR. It is about 14 Kms before Mahabalipuram. The hotel has sufficient parking space. We had booked for Costal Cottage. The cottage was spacious and clean. The Beach was also very clean. The best part was that they had shower at gate, thus reducing the sand that comes in. The rooms service was slow, but the food was ok. The tariff was inclusive of Breakfast. The bad part was that there was no specific information that the complementary Breakfast was only for 2 persons per room, we had kids with details in the booking. I would recommend this hotel for those who want a peaceful time by the beach.

DIPTENDU from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Sep 20 2011 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

The rooms at the hotel was good and well maintained. Staff's were helpful and cooperative towards us. Food items was not satisfactory as they had limited option which was a concern. Cleanliness was maintained as hotel premises and surroundings were clean and tidy. Hotel should improve on bringing more variety in food items.

Suresh from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Mar 11 2011 Room Quality: 2/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 3/5

Just could not sleep with window AC making so much noise. Toilet flush did not work. Service guys had no idea of making it alright. We were just two occupants in such large property giving insecure feeling. We had to wait for bearer to come from home to take our order and serve Complimentary Breakfast. As if this was not enough, reception was quoting higher tariff Wish I never had booked this place.

rahul from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jan 21 2009 Room Quality: 5/5 Service Quality: 4/5 Dining Quality: 1/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

Dining options are terrible. Also, quality of towels can be improved. The hotel can also take initiative in keep the beach clean. There was not drawing stand to hang wet clothes and hotel did not provide any despite the request. Staff was prompt otherwise. Location is good - hotel is on the beach.

Shibabrata from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: May 04 2009 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

Pros: The hotel was clean and good looking and we had a nice experience in general. The hotel is very near to the beach and we had a memorable experience dining on the beach. Cons: But one of the flaws was that the quality of food served was average and doesn't match up to the price. Also service for the restaurant is pretty slow. I think that the hotel is slightly overpriced.

Manish from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jan 02 2012 Room Quality: 1/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

I had taken the deluxe cottage and all deluxe cottages are supposed to be sea facing, but seems like there are 4 of them, 3 are sea facing and one is in the middle of the property, facing their grounds where they hold company outings. This seems to be the worst room (and the most expensive) and was offered to us. Not to mention that the other sea facing rooms were available but were not given, argument being that someone has come to their property, have a look at the rooms and booked that specific room. Given that I had made my booking 5 weeks earlier that seems a bit far fetched. Booking was clearly for 2 adults and 2 children and mentioned in the contract. Breakfast was included. On top of providing their worst room possible, they asked for payments for extra beds even when 2 children are on the contract, and for extra breakfast, even when on the contract. It required a lot of yelling and screaming to get these charges off. Service was pretty decent, apart from the above issues and the rooms were reasonably clean. Food options were very ordinary, and given that there is nothing close by, you are stuck with the food there. Location was very good, right next to the beach and could be reached easily by taxi. Water is a bit rough, so people going with kids, please beware, it is not a friendly beach and the guard will not let you enter the water. Given the price of the rooms, they can make a bit of an effort to hang some hammocks, put up some chairs on the beach with umbrellas and make it more of a resort. The current state of the affairs is, this is a hotel next to a beach, not a resort. Given the price and for what they offer for that price, would not go there again, unless there is nothing else available.

Prem K from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jan 03 2009 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

The hotel surely needs to improve on the maintainince. The a/c was not functioning and the gyser was not fine. But over this the staff was very kind and helpful. They escorted me to a better room in no time. The hotel is located at a decent distacnce from the beach, so our stay was very nice. The continental food served in the restaurant was very tasty. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I would definately like to recomend this hotel to other people for their leisure trips.

D N from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: May 18 2007 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 2/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 3/5

Hotel service was very poor. The staff do not listen to the guest. The masala dosa for breakfast was good. My sea facing room was really beautiful. It is close to the bus stand and is easy to reach by taxi.

Mr Shankar from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Oct 25 2007 Room Quality: 1/5 Service Quality: 1/5 Dining Quality: 1/5 Cleanliness: 1/5

Staff were not behaving properly they did not respond to anything. The room which was given to me was the shelter club room it was not sea facing. After request then they shifted me to a cottage room and that room was sea facing but in that room the T.V was not working. Rooms were dirty and the service was horrible.as not working. Rooms were dirty and the service was horrible. Shankar

Surekha from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jan 04 2008 Room Quality: 2/5 Service Quality: 2/5 Dining Quality: 2/5 Cleanliness: 3/5

Complaint case.... I have sent an email to service@travelguru.com, but no one replied back. Booking IDs are TGU0000051191, TGU0000051054. Travel Agent name is Shraddha. After I booked I had to call atleast 20 times to get the confirmation email. After booking I called the hotel as well to confirm the booking and they mentioned there are no Coastal cottages available. I called the agent again asking about this and she said not to worry and all the bookings are confirmed. I thought Travel Guru blocked the cottages for peak times. We went to the hotel and realized that there are no coastal cottages available and ended up in 5 regular rooms. We spent about 2 hrs talking to the hotel management. But it was just a waste of time. Please refund the difference and extra amount for the inconvinience. I am really disappointed with this experience and I would think twice to use Travel Guru next time. I am sure all my friends would feel the same way. Thanks Surekha.

Mr.Jagpal from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Feb 29 2008 Room Quality: 5/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5

It?s very good beach resort all the the basic fecelities also dining option were fantastic. Room was very comfortable. Service was quick n prompt. It's recommendable to everyone.

padmanabhan from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Nov 09 2007 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 2/5 Cleanliness: 3/5

My experience was just fine.

Demo Trip Rooms that face the sea

by karthikm5 on September 15, 2019

Demo Trip Nice place to stay with family.....

by Subhiksharamesh on March 16, 2019

Demo Trip Access to beach

by SrinivasanN2 on February 24, 2019

Demo Trip The sea & sand lover should insist for the rooms to the east near to the beach. .Privacy is also maximum there.

by Saurabh S on December 31, 2018

Demo Trip Deluxe Rooms seems to be good but very less in numbers. If Deluxe is not available then go to some other Resort.

by Antonyraj Naren... M on July 10, 2018