X

Book Rooms at The Park Chennai - Prices Rs. 3499

  •  
  •  
  •  
1 Person in 1 Room
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age(s) of Children
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age of Children

Chennai

Sat, 21 Jul – Sun, 22 Jul (1 Night)  |  1 Room  |  1 Guest

The Park Chennai

601, Anna Salai, Chennai , 600006  |  Show on map

Save Rs. 876 Rs.4,375

Rs. 3,499

REVIEWS

  • TRAVELGURU REVIEWS
  • VIEW HOTEL REVIEWS
  • VIEW ROOM REVIEWS
  • Overall Rating

    • 3.8 Very Good  

      (based on 18 reviews)


      100% of our customers
      recommend this hotel

  • AVERAGE GUEST RATING

    • Room Quality 3.5
    • Service Quality 3.7
    • Dining Quality 3.7
    • Cleanliness 3.9

Saurav from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Dec 02 2007 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 2/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

Our stay was good in The Park. Deluxe room was basic & fine. We observed that the service was slow and staffs were not efficient, which was not acceptable for five star hotel. Otherwise everything was perfect.

RVR from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Sep 13 2007 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 3/5

It was my official visit. This is a great looking hotel, with excellent interiors. All arrangement was good.

Thomas from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jun 09 2007 Room Quality: 2/5 Service Quality: 4/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 1/5

Although this hotel bills itself as a boutique hotel. It appears that the upkeep of the rooms is exceptionally poor. Cracked windows, moldy caulking around the shower, filmsy towels, nothing comes close to the pretensions set by the lobby and the decor. Overpriced cosidering how far it is, slipped since it was first opened.verpriced cosidering how far it is, slipped since it was first opened.

Mr.Harsh from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Aug 27 2007 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

The bed was so comfortable that we actually slept better. The food was excellent, especially at the Thai restaurant. I had an excellent stay mainly because of the rooms and the food. This hotel is new, and will probably improve over time. I would expect it to be a great experience in future.t to be a great experience in future.

Suvrangshu from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Mar 12 2008 Room Quality: 2/5 Service Quality: 4/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 3/5

The property was excellent but the room provision was poor. I was embarrassed with the uncomfortable bed and toilet facilities. The staff was attentive. The room service was fast. I checked the breakfast it was average in taste. I stayed in the same group of hotel in bangalore and it was excellent. But this was probably below standard.

Mr.Sunil from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: May 09 2010 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5

Overall, a pleasant experience.

Mohammadali from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Aug 21 2010 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

Problems: I was surprised when I realized that swimming pool was not reachable due to maintenance, and the hotel not only did take any action to provide free of cost facilities in another location, but also did not refund the money which earned in this regard as a 5 star hotel. One of the most important things in any trip is relaxation in swimming pool and my first priority in selecting the hotel was the same, that unfortunately destroyed my two days off for getting rest.

Rajesh from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jul 13 2011 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 4/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

Pleasent stay and comfortable staying there.

Kyle from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Feb 03 2010 Room Quality: 5/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 5/5

The stay was very good

Prakash from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Feb 05 2010 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

The hotel is good,its a business hotel,basically all is average in this hotel like service, quality of food.its a average hotel

Tejasweeni from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Aug 31 2009 Room Quality: 2/5 Service Quality: 2/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

This place has a 5 star rating but I would equate it with a 3 or 4 star hotel. The hotel is located on a busy street and this is good for business travelers and short stay but if you want some quiet time and leisure this is not the place stay at since it can get quite noisy even at night. I mean you can hear street sounds all the way up the 5th floor where I stayed at. The security and doorman are dismal. Cleanliness of doors and lobby is average. The room they initially assigned me was a back room and the view was blocked by an incomplete run down building, so when I open my windows there is no sunlight but a dark rundown monstrosity looming. There was work going on in the room right next to mine and on the floor. When I requested the reception via telephone to change my room, they flatly refused saying their rooms only face buildings and they have no rooms with a "view" and in general there were no rooms available at all. I wasnt looking for a "view". I was aware that it is in a business area and room view was not their strong point but I didnt want to look out some huge monstrous gray, ominous building and have the sunlight to my room blocked, besides the noise from the work next door was unbearable. To get their attention, I had to walk to the reception and complain loudly enough that the other guests sympathized with me and the reception staff had to reconsider and magically they had rooms available. I wasnt the only one complaining at the reception though. There were guests with other concerns there too, smoking rooms filling up with smoke for example was one concern I heard. My new room was a bit better and a whole lot less depressing. They had no Wi-Fi per se but a plug and play device which allowed me to use the internet smoothly, although the rates were very steep. Room service was dismal. The coffee we ordered though highly priced was horrible, the milk had gone bad. The staff speaks very basic English and just nods or "okays" at everything. I had to call twice and thrice for someone to collect my laundry. The breakfast had a good spread. Again this 5 star place which is frequented by world travellers has waiters and staff finding it difficult to understand English in a neutral accent. My husband ordered eggs and they were served at the wrong table. So we had hot toast waiting for eggs to show up for quite a while. The buffet dinner was a wonderful spread but very expensive. The room and the hotel decor was lovely and contemporary. There are old film posters everywhere including the rooms. The best part of the room is there bed or rather the mattress. This is the very very best mattress in all of the hotels in India. You just slip down into it and get comfortable. The bathroom is separated from the room by opaque glass but with the lights on one can see the silhoutte of anyone in the bathroom. A little quirky I think but not too disturbing unless you share the room with someone other than your spouse. The pub is very happening place of Chennai and is quite loud and crowded. I think it could be a wonderful place if they could fine tune their service, give English lessons to their staff and have a stricter cleanliness in common areas.

Jibin from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Aug 01 2009 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 2/5 Cleanliness: 3/5

Not worth for the money

Vikram from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jan 18 2009 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 5/5

The Park is one of the hotels in Chennai that I stay in a lot. I usually stay in the Residence floors because the service is very good and you get free refreshments in the evenings. The rooms are decent, although we did notice some warping off the laminated wood flooring. But it was not a big deal. The service at the hotel has always been exceptional - definitely better than at the Park in Bangalore. I have tried room service several times and would definitely suggest that discerning palates should avoid their South Indian fare and instead go for their European food. I particularly like their Greek salad and Italian food. I have never had breakfast at the Park even though it is included in the room rate because I know a place in Chennai that serves the very best South Indian snacks. Finally, I need to mention that the Park probably has the best location of all hotels in the city - right at the junction of two of the most important roads in town. (It is across the street from the U.S. consulate, so that's a big plus for those who have to go to the consulate.)

S from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Mar 08 2009 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 5/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

The hotel was over all OK. I stayed here some 3/4 years back and at that time it used to be better. I had a sort of different experience in the bar. First, they did not serve any menu card, instead simply asked what I would like to drink. After insisting on the menu card, I ordered normal Chivas Regal double given in the menu card. The bartender told me that there was no normal Chivas Regal and only 18 years old was available which was some three times the cost shown for normal one. I asked why this was printed on the menu when it was not stocked. There was no answer. I ordered a Talisker double and as soon as he poured, he immediately put some 5/7 ice cubes in the glass with out checking with me the number of ice cubes required. When I told I needed only one ice cube, he removed the remaining from the glass. After this, I told him to pour soda. He immediately retrieved one soda bottle which was having only 25% of the remaining and he poured the remaining liquid into the concoction. That soda did not have any fizz and definitely, must have opened the previous day or so. When I told them that there was no fizz in the soda and I did not want that drink, he only looked very helpless. This bar was one of the best in Chennai as claimed by many local magazines and travel write ups. The experience was totally disappointing. This kind of treatment is not expected from a 5 star bar where we end up paying the price of the bottle itself for 2 large drinks!!! Anyway, this is The Park, Chennai for you.

Vikash from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Dec 15 2013 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 4/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

Intially i was told by hotel that they have not received any booking on my behalf from Travel Guru, however let me check in since i was a Park Prefered member. On check-Out they billed me for the stay staying they haven't received any booking confirmation from travel guru and it took them 35 mins to sort out the matter after finally they accepted that yes they have received confirmation from travel guru. I was on the verge of missing my flight, but luckily i managed to catch the flight on time, it was a terrible experience booking through Travel Guru, it was the first and last time i would book on travel guru.

Balasubrahmanyam from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jan 08 2014 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

This hotel is perfect for the busy biz traveler. There is an issue with the toilets. Water gets stagnant even with a slight usage. Bathrooms definitely need a facelift. Otherwise, closer to the consulate and other parts of the city. Very nice to stay. Reception and the house keeping staff are very friendly. Plug points are not proper. Most of them are in loose condition and coming off. These should be repaired on a priority.

Pawan from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Sep 26 2011 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 3/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

I had high hopes for Park hotel, after all it was a known hotel for biz traveller. But the moment I entered my non-smoking room, I started coughing as the room was stinking with cigaratte smoke. I shouted at the reception and they upgraded me to a superior room. That was a good part. The breakfast was included in the tariff, but the quality of service was not of a five star hotel. Go there if you do not find anything in the city, else you may want to utilize your money at some place else.

Sumeet from Chennai, India recommends this hotel Posted: Apr 29 2013 Room Quality: 5/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5

I usually stay at the Park in other cities also, as I like the vibrant colours that the hotel uses in its decor. The design is very avante-garde & modern. The service & rooms is usual is excellent. I would love to stay again at the hotel. At the price which they offer it is good value for money.

  • Overall Rating

    • 3.5
    • The Park Chennai

      (based on 1846 reviews)

  • TRAVELLER RATING

    • Terrible 197
    • Poor 192
    • Average 340
    • Very Good 459
    • Excellent 658
  • RATING SUMMARY

    • Location
      4.5
    • Sleep Quality
      4.0
    • Rooms
      3.5
    • Service
      4.0
    • Value
      3.5
    • Cleanliness
      3.5

Disaster! Disaster!

by omniadubitare on July 14, 2018

First the only plus - in room dining was good - tasty food and quick service. I travel to Chennai regularly and thought of giving the Park a chance on this trip - what a big mistake! We checked in at midnight and the first room smelt of drainage and the carpet in the corridor outside the room was covered in dirt and vomit stains. We asked for a room change and were shown another room on the same floor claiming this was "an upgrade" which was equally smelly and unliveable. Finally we were taken to another floor (again filthy smelly carpets in common areas) and since it was almost 1 AM by then and we had an early meeting the next morning, we gave up and went to sleep. The next day our room was changed to what was touted as the "renovated wing" - again, filthy carpets in the common areas, blood on the curtains, smelly bedsheets, drops of urine near the toilet seat and a damp smell in the room. So - 3 room changes and no solution which leads me to conclude there is a systemic failure of housekeeping staff in the entire hotel and nobody cares to fix it. I don't know what housekeeping does in this property but I am sure it is everything other than their job! I only wish I had checked on TA the many other reviews that I now see complaining about cleanliness at this hotel! The lobby gives off an extremely shady vibe - constantly filled with drunk old men accompanied by women less than half their age (put two and two together) especially at night - and whilst I do not judge at all, I certainly wouldn't want to stay in a property where the housekeeping is so poor that it's quite possible I may be sharing unwashed bedsheets with such people. The 90s technotrashy music played 24/7 in the lobby certainly doesn't help matters. If you're a single woman traveller, definitely steer clear of this hotel. Even otherwise, there are tons of better options - I've never gone wrong with Taj Clubhouse, Park Hyatt, both the Raintrees or the Grand Chola - all safe options to consider until such time as the Park takes a long hard look at their standards and fires every single member of housekeeping staff!

My stay here on the night of 1st July to 2nd July morning. My stay here on the night of 1st July to 2nd July morning.

by HariJayanthi on July 13, 2018

Was flying in from mumbai on the early morning of 2nd july 2018. Stayed here since my grandchild's first birthday celebrations were held here. The quality & cleanliness & comfort of the room were top class. Most importantly the bed/mattress quality was too good, which greatly helped in having very good sleep quality. The morning buffet breakfast had a very good spread and the noteworthy item was vadacurry. Wish I could have stayed here longer. Thank you The Park, Chennai.

Bad housekeeping support but good breakfast Bad housekeeping support but good breakfast

by vangaalgaurav on July 13, 2018

The hotel has poor housekeeping support. I stayed for couple of nights however both day I felt lack of housekeeping support. You need to call couple of times and need to wait approx 1 hour for your request to get fulfilled. Reason I guess that they do not have adequate resource. For an instance there housekeeping shifts changes around 9 pm nd morning staff may not like to fulfill request coming after 8 p.m...So wait till 930pm for your number .. Secondly, let me give you another example of bad housekeeping.. I ordered dinner in room on day 1 and till the time I left hotel on day 3 nobody came to take empty plates...even though they made bed on day 2 but dint bother to clean the table. Thirdly,I think they are short of towels too nd they dint bother to replace both towels. They replaced only 1 nd when I requested 2nd towel... It's like another 30 -40 mint wait... ... So let it be... But only one thing I like in this hotel. The breakfast taste nd spread.... Specifically local taste tea coffee... full Appreciation to the chef

Terrible Experience! Would never recommend Terrible Experience! Would never recommend

by Praveen J on July 12, 2018

Ok so I think all hotels in Chennai treat their guests much better than The Park. I was just standing with my friend waiting for another friend to arrive near their parking. Suddenly a staff of pasha (the park)came and asked us to vacate the place in the most disrespectful and uncouth manner. A. I have no clue why they asked us to vacate the place and B. The language they used. And to point out we have been a regular to this hotel. But lately their standards have become so low that they even forgot to teach their staffs to how talk to their customers who are billing in lakhs. Zero code of conduct and extremely rude behaviour. And the best part was the person who behaved Inappropriately never gave us an apology even after we escalated the issue to their superiors. Because he had ego issues and apology is not an option for him. This is not the first bad experience for us with the park as my other friends have experienced the same time and again. So would never recommend the park for any travellers who are traveling to Chennai. There are good hotels in the city which provide such basic services. I would highly recommend the management to take a look into your companys code of conduct. I run a technology company in chennai and this is not what we teach our employees.

Not a great experience Not a great experience

by ashwini p on July 10, 2018

The hotel is centrally located and at a walkable distance from the US consulate. Also has a good ambience and quite a few restaurants/bars to choose from. I liked the breakfast buffet spread too no complaints there. That said what ticked me off is their hospitality. I am not sure if they give a warmer welcome to only their regular customers and VIPs or it's just that they don't really care as much for reviews as it's an old hotel and already a well known name. In terms of hospitality and service even 3 star hotels are way better than these. We had called before hand to enquire about an early check-in as we had an early flight we were told we'll have to come to the hotel and enquire for that. No room was available when we did come and had to wait for our room. Thankfully we got the room an hour earlier than their check-in time. We weren't shown to our room just handed the key card and neither did they offer concierge service and we didn't ask for it either. Checking in I didn't like the odour in the bathroom and I actually wondered if they had cleaned it even. On complaining they said they'd send someone over with a room freshener. No one came even on complaining twice to the reception desk and house keeping. Finally evening on my third try they came by and that too just because they happened to be next door cleaning. So a cold reception and a dissatisfactory service is why I gave it 3 stars. Am sure many would probably have a pleasant stay here but wasn't great for me.

Powered by:

Demo Trip Rooms at higher floors are quieter

by singhupendra84 on July 3, 2018

Demo Trip better not to take any room in 3xxx series for non smoker guest.

by TRUST006 on June 7, 2018

Demo Trip Don’t give room at the floor where renovating going on

by sudas33 on June 5, 2018

Demo Trip Awesome room

by drselsha on May 17, 2018

Demo Trip For Indian travelers, some suites do not have a health faucet. kindly check with the staff for details

by ANirudh G on May 4, 2018