X

Book Rooms at Palace On Steps (A Heritage Guest House ) - Prices Rs. 1000

  •  
  •  
  •  
1 Person in 1 Room
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age(s) of Children
Room 1:
AdultsAbove 12 years
Children Below 12 years
  • Age of Children

Varanasi

Sat, 21 Jul – Sun, 22 Jul (1 Night)  |  1 Room  |  1 Guest

Palace On Steps (A Heritage Guest House )

D 21/11, Rana Mahal Ghat, Banagali Tola , Near Godowlia, Varanasi , 221001  |  Show on map

Save Rs. 250 Rs.1,250

Rs. 1,000

REVIEWS

  • TRAVELGURU REVIEWS
  • VIEW HOTEL REVIEWS
  • VIEW ROOM REVIEWS
  • Overall Rating

    • 4.0 Very Good  

      (based on 5 reviews)


      80% of our customers
      recommend this hotel

  • AVERAGE GUEST RATING

    • Room Quality 4.0
    • Service Quality 4.2
    • Dining Quality 3.2
    • Cleanliness 3.8

IS from Varanasi, India recommends this hotel Posted: Mar 22 2010 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 4/5 Dining Quality: 4/5 Cleanliness: 3/5

On arrival from the railway station to the hotel the staff was very helpful (otherwise we would have lost in the endless narrow lanes old city of Benaras.)The approach to the hotel is through narrow and not kept clean lanes of old Benaras.One has to go on foot from the main road (approx half a km.). But the hotel staff was very helpful in carrying our luggage from the road head to the hotel. The location of the hotel is ideal for a pilgrimage visit to Varanasi since it is located just on the banks of holy river Ganga and all the important Ghats are very near to the hotel.The rooms were reasonable. However basic necessities such as bucket and mug in the bathroom, door foot mats were missing and provided on demand. House keeping left much to be desired as it was not regular. Fittings in the rooms were not standard that is in one room there was no TV but fridge was provided, whereas in another room no fridge but tv was provided (here no remote control was given hence the tv was useless.)Hence the room rates appeared to be on the higher side considering the quality of rooms. Food was good and reasonable. Service was good. The best part of the stay was provision of local guide by the hotel. The boy was very courteous, punctual and helpful. Overall the stay was good and fruitful. Recommended for stay if one is going on pilgrimage.

ABHINABA from Varanasi, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jul 13 2011 Room Quality: 3/5 Service Quality: 2/5 Dining Quality: 1/5 Cleanliness: 2/5

The only good thing for the Hotel was its location right on the Rana Mahal Ghat on Ganges itself,which you'll reach through small bye lanes from the Daswasamedh Ghat. All major temples and ghats are very much accessible through the bye-lanes of Varanasi. Its an old palace of Rana of Udaipur which he built for stay at Varanasi which has been converted though unfortunately the rooms are not palatial, quite small. The staff was friendly but service was painfully slow. The Front Desk guy gave some nice tips on sight seeing. It was a Non A/C Double Room There was neither a mirror nor a telephone in the room so you can imagine the rest. The cook had fled hence there was nothing available to eat other than tea. If one wants to have a frugal stay for a day in Varansi on the banks of Ganges then its OK.

Krishna from Varanasi, India recommends this hotel Posted: Oct 20 2011 Room Quality: 5/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

The location of thew room,esp room no.507 is fantastic.The view of the Ganga is unbeatble.The staff are polite and helpful.Acess is by traversing thru the gullies and you should like the feel of olld Kashinagri rather than the modern Banras.Acess to all facilities is there.Restaurant need improvement but they will go the extra mile to accomodate your request.Very safe.Crowd is excellent and no drugs are allowed.Excellent for asafe stay while experining the Ganga and the Ghats at close quarters.

Raju from Varanasi, India recommends this hotel Posted: Aug 27 2014 Room Quality: 5/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 3/5 Cleanliness: 5/5

Great Place to stay right on the Banks of Ganga. Fortunately got the river view room as requested and it was just awesome. Clean rooms and great service. Dining options were OK.

Subhro from Varanasi, India recommends this hotel Posted: Jan 03 2015 Room Quality: 4/5 Service Quality: 5/5 Dining Quality: 5/5 Cleanliness: 5/5

We felt that we are in Home and did not feel any trouble during stay.The Room is specious and toilet is wide and clean with running Hot & Cold Water. Sufficient Toilet papers,soaps and towels and changed as and when necessary. Foods are of good quality and easily digestible and less spicy. The stuff members are really very co-operative and well behaved. They even allowed me to use their computers and internet for booking my Train Ticket. The only drawback is one cupboard is necessary in the Hotel room in order to keep clothings.The view of Varanasi from Hotel Balcony is very nice. So I would definitely recommend this Hotel if any one wants to visit Varanasi.

  • Overall Rating

    • 3.5
    • Palace On Steps (A Heritage Guest House )

      (based on 463 reviews)

  • TRAVELLER RATING

    • Terrible 72
    • Poor 39
    • Average 68
    • Very Good 140
    • Excellent 144
  • RATING SUMMARY

    • Location
      4.5
    • Sleep Quality
      3.5
    • Rooms
      3.0
    • Service
      3.5
    • Value
      3.5
    • Cleanliness
      3.0

Just over the River Just over the River

by Arunava4all on July 10, 2018

There are rooms that are just over the Ganges and you can sit on the veranda and watch the river, the boats, the people all day !! The food they serve is nothing extravagant but fresh and good. But the USP of this place is the location. Fascinating.

Short two night stay - did the job Short two night stay - did the job

by Heber D on May 15, 2018

Stayed here last Friday and Saturday night. Arrived at about 10pm and found reception, got the key - was told I could go sleep and come back in the morning to check in, nice touch. Location is perfect, right on the ghats and all the action. They upgraded my room to a river one. Room 506 I think. Was small but prefect for what I needed. Air con strong and bathroom functional. Didnt eat in the restaurant so cannot comment but the view was Great!!

Very welcoming Very welcoming

by Jeri T on February 20, 2018

Lovely staff, very welcoming. We arrived very late and allowed us to order food at restarunt when they were about to close. My mother has stayed on 3 separate occasions and has been well looked after every time. Clean food and room. Beautiful view of Ganges from balcony outside our room but watch out for the monkeys who can be out there in the morning.

Highly recommended for many reasons! Highly recommended for many reasons!

by Richard R on January 28, 2018

We stayed two nights in a room with a balcony and beautiful interior with an amazing view over the ganges. The room was very clean with a very comfortable bed, nice furnishings and good bathroom with 24 hr hot water. The location is excellent, just on the ghats but also peaceful. Our room had a turret type domed ceiling and beautiful light. The staff are extremely friendlg and helpful. The terrace restaurant does good veg and non veg options and breakfast was included. And the price of the room is extremely reasonable. Highly recommend. Emma and Richard

Wow Varanasi Wow Varanasi

by Suyog L on January 27, 2018

We stayed here in the heritage room. Had a great experience and awesome vibes. The Location is one of the best feature. Closer to the beautiful Ganga Aarti and away from the crowded cities and traffic. Will visit again. ...

Powered by:

Demo Trip Room no 203 and 205

by KolkataAnindita on December 20, 2017

Demo Trip The maharaja rooms are very nice. You can get good view from these rooms.

by Jagneswar G on December 1, 2017

Demo Trip Make sure to get a room with a view of the river

by Neil B on August 8, 2017

Demo Trip 507 or balcony room overlooking the Ganges are incredible

by Marian D on May 16, 2017

Demo Trip Don't know about suite but Maharaja room had a great view. Room 505 was our room.

by Tekriwal on April 18, 2017